The Lagos State Government on Sunday restated its determination to restrict trailers and articulated vehicles from plying the metropolis between the hours of 6 a.m. and 9 p.m. to prevent accidents.
Mr Oluseyi Whenu, the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Transportation, disclosed this at a meeting in Lagos with the leadership of the various transport unions in the State.
He explained that the restriction was to ensure strict enforcement of the Road Traffic Law, which, according to him, was often violated by the trailer drivers.
The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the meeting was prompted due to the fatal accident involving a container-laden trailer on Sept. 2 at Ojuelegba.
Whenu said the trailer contravened Section 2 (i) and 2 (ii) of the Road Traffic Law 2012.
He said that government would henceforth go tough on any trailer and long vehicle that contravenes the law and that such vehicle would be impounded and made to pay the stipulated fine accordingly.
The scribe, however, clarified government’s position on the new directive given to Lagos State Traffic Management Authority (LASTMA) to adopt the system of booking traffic offenders, rather than apprehending their vehicles.
He said the new directive would pay more emphasis on flawless flow of traffic, while traffic offenders would be expected to pay their fines within the stipulated period.
Whenu, therefore, solicited the co-operation and support of all transport operators in ensuring the success of this laudable initiative.
“The State Government has also directed that all commercial passenger vehicles should obey all traffic rules and regulations by stopping only at designated bus-stops and close bus doors while in motion,’’ he said.
Responding, Alhaji Musa Muhammed, the State Chairman of Road Transport Employers Association of Nigeria (RTEAN), expressed the unions’ readiness to comply with the laws to prevent accidents.
Muhammed, who spoke on behalf of other union leaders, pledged their members’ readiness to cooperate with the government in maintaining law and order as well as sanity in the transport sector.
NAN also reports that other union leaders at the meeting included Mr Tajudeen Adetoro, State Chairman of the Taxi Cab Operators, and Alhaji Musiliu Akinsanya, State Treasurer, National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW), among others.
(NAN)
OMG best news so far.
ReplyDeleteMademoiselle Juliet
This is great!
DeleteI just hope they will adhere to this!
It's really about time esp wiv d recent accidents occurrences. Hope they really do stick to it
DeleteGbam.
DeleteGoodnews.
DeleteHope they stick with it.
Good news
DeleteI beg let them kindly tell the police. 200 Naira and they will close eye
DeleteGreat initiative...
ReplyDeleteAbout time.
DeleteThis is the beginning of severe traffic cos the foolish truck drivers would start parking by the roadside.. way to go though!
DeleteAnd people had to die before the law is enforced. Nigeria my country, I hail thee.
ReplyDeleteI know it's sad but at least they didn't die and it was business as usual with the atrocities
DeleteGood News!!!
ReplyDeleteThank God. #onenaija but dis only happen in Lagos.
ReplyDeleteGood move
DeleteVery good
ReplyDeleteThey should have made it to 10
ReplyDeleteGood
ReplyDeleteCos Dangote has cut short thousands of soul in Naija
I thought I was the only one who has noticed that.Dangote truck drivers have killed more people than HIV has done in this country.
DeleteThank God! Thank God! Thank God!
ReplyDeleteAnytime I hear of those trailer accidents, I immediately have to call my sisters to make sure they aren't in any of those areas.
I sincerely hope this would drastically cut down the number of accidents abeg and I hope they do this at d federal level to.
N traffic in some areas
DeleteFinally !
ReplyDeleteDid they see my mind?
DeleteHonestly not only in lagos but around the country
And not only trailers but tippers (without brakes), big trucks causing pollution nuisance with unsecured and dangerous loads
Lmfao @ tippers without breaks
DeleteI am so happy about this news and I pray they comply.
ReplyDeleteNice one...if only it is true ooo!
ReplyDeleteGood news, people!
ReplyDeleteI just hope they stick to it,and not allow bribery seep in..
Bribery go definitely take place..na today yansh dey back?
DeleteNice one. E be like say Amboooo don wake up
ReplyDeleteThis is great
ReplyDeleteThey should do fast and extend it to federal level especially that abuja road that is bad.
ReplyDeleteThat's how dangote truck killed my uncle travelling with GIG motors last year.
Very nice.
ReplyDeleteI hope it will be implemented.
This is a welcome development. Better late than never. I work at Tin-can Island and everyday that I go to the office and come back home safely, I give thanks to Jehovah. I pray they enforce this law and that it last
ReplyDeleteI'm sure Fashola made the same rule sometime back, but they didn't listen. They should start penalising the companies that own any truck that violates this rule. Not only that, their trucks and goods must be confiscated.
DeleteGood but they can do better.
ReplyDeleteBut how does this stop the accidents? Won't they just be happening at night now?
ReplyDeleteEven if they happen at night, at least these will be no casualties. It will just be them and their vehicles. If you had looked critically at that Ojuelegba accident, it seemed there a bit of traffic under the bridge and the cars were held up. So when the trailer fell, they couldn't go anywhere. Not like they saw it coming on them though.
DeleteHallelujah.
ReplyDeleteI hope they would listen sef.
It's one thing implementing a law and it's another seeing to it that it is being adhered
This is fantastic, but let our govt.improve on our railroads ,so as to replace the use of containers'.
ReplyDeleteThank God
ReplyDeleteHmmmmmm..anyone with a bucket of water
ReplyDeleteBest news so far!
ReplyDeleteBest news today. Finally thank God
ReplyDeleteYaayh!!!! Now we are talking .Ambode I have started appreciating you for this. This is more like it. Wetin sef, their wahala is too much abeg.
ReplyDeleteHehehe, 9pm eh, they go use vexation come out. Who no move early enough e own don finish.
Good news!
ReplyDeleteGood news !!!!!!!!
ReplyDeleteGood one
ReplyDeleteIt's about time, plus trailers should be properly pinned down to the vehicle. It's such a sad way to die - being flattened like pancake, the thought gives me the shivers.
ReplyDeleteLiflblog.wordpress.com
Am so elated!!
ReplyDeleteOnly if this law was enacted in time, unnecessary causalities would ve been averted.
ReplyDeleteTrailer drivers sha nah don hear so...if u like disobey ooo, l trust LASTMA dem go chop nah head of with fine.
Goodnews.
ReplyDeleteGreat news!
ReplyDeleteGood to know, its only in Nigeria that tragedy resets our brain.I pray they do this at federal level too
ReplyDeleteGood news.pls vote 7 to306, for deinde mtn project fame
ReplyDeletenice one!
ReplyDeletePraise God
ReplyDeleteNice development.5am-11pm would have been better though...
ReplyDeleteNot only restrictions, they also need a liability insurance.
ReplyDeleteI think 9pm is too early because workers would still be on their way home from work. If they say the trucks are banned from 6am - 9pm, it means that these truck drivers will be on the roads from 10pm - 5:30 am, and some workers would still be on their way home even by 11 pm. In the mornings, some workers leave for work as early as 4am or 4:30 am too. They should have banned the trucks from 12am - 4am.
ReplyDeleteAnyway, half bread is better than none. Let me just be grateful that they have placed a ban at all sef. It is well.
They should have banned them from 4am - 12am, I meant.
DeleteWay over due.
ReplyDeleteHope the drivers are made to comply with this new directive .
This should also be implemented nationwide, not just in Lagos.
I hope they listen
ReplyDeleteThe latest bride how are you. God will meet your heart desire. You are 28 and you will rejoice very soon. What a man thinketh in his heart, comes to past. Just continue praying to God for it but dont be desperate.
ReplyDeleteAmbo ooo ambo. hope it will end well. these trailers are killers sent by the devil
Good. Lagos is working