Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Group Wants Buhari To Remove Newly Appointed NNPC Director

Friday, September 11, 2015

Group Wants Buhari To Remove Newly Appointed NNPC Director

The Civil Society Network Against Corruption has demanded the removal of Babatunde Adeniran, the newly appointed group executive director, commercial and investment, at the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, over a perceived clash of interests.

In ‎a petition dated September 7th, the group said that Mr. Adeniran ought to have declined the appointment.
Mr. Adeniran was among the four NNPC Group Executive Directors appointed ‎last month to man the four new Directorates approved by President Muhammadu Buhari.
“As the Senior Technical Adviser on Oil and Gas Commercial of Total E & P Nigeria Ltd for over 22 years, Dr. Adeniran has fundamental disagreements with NNPC over the interpretation of the AK1 Carry agreement,” CSNAC, a coalition of anti-corruption organizations, said in the petition signed Olanrewaju Suraju, its Chairman.
“The dispute which arose over the agreement is currently pending before a panel of arbitrators. Dr. Victor Adeniran had recently given damning evidence against the NNPC before the Arbitrators.”
On June 30th this year, Mr. Adeniran, according to CSNAC, deposed to a witness statement on behalf of Total E & P Nigeria Ltd. where he attacked the interests of the NNPC.
“It is the case of the NNPC that at the time the Agreement was legally terminated, about $91 million Carry Capital Cost was outstanding,” said Mr. Suraju.
“The NNPC proceeded to show how Total E & P had fully recovered the outstanding carry cost by December 2010 through tax relief contrary to the evidence of Dr. Adeniran.

“By giving evidence in favour of Total E & P Nigeria Ltd. which is at variance with the interest of the NNPC, Dr. Adeniran has placed himself in a position whereby his official position is in serious conflict with his private interest as a former employee of the opponent of NNPC in a pending litigation.

“Since the matter has not been determined by the arbitrators there is likelihood that Dr. Victor Adeniran will use his newly acquired position in the NNPC to ensure that the case is compromised and won by his former employers, Total E & P Nigeria Ltd.”

Mr. Suraju also stated that Mr. Adeniran had deposed in his witness statement that his office was situated at ‘Plot 247, Herbert Macaulay Way, Central Business District, Abuja,’ the head office of the NNPC.
“It is the height of abuse of office on the part of Dr. Adeniran to use the address of a public institution to serve his personal interets. In any case, why did Dr. Adeniran use the address of the NNPC before the announcement of his appointment as a top official of the NNPC?”

“In view of the foregoing, we urge your Excellency to remove Dr. Victor Adeniran as an official of the NNPC on ground of conflict of interests which has been prohibited by virtue of Paragraph 1 of the Code of Conduct for Public Officers in Part 1 of the Fifth Schedule to the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria which provides as follows:

“A public officer shall not put himself in a position where his personal interest conflicts with his duties and responsibilities.'”

NAWAH!

22 comments:

1. Let them go to court.

2. Dis is so stupid though, if u want to bring a conflict of interest claim. The conflict NEEDS TO BE PRESENT. He was working wt Total plc so of course his interest would be d bottom line of Total. Now hes a director wt d NNPC, as they said themselves his FORMER EMPLOYER was Total.

Ignorant set of peole. So dt means no one can work for their competitor, once they leave a company. So if i was a director in fidelity, i cant quit & be a director in skye bank or a director in CBN - just cos my firm had a lawsuit wt CBN once & i happened to be d spokesperson for my former company. In dt case sanusi shld not have bn made CBN governor cos he would have favored first bank his FORMER EMPLOYER. If a company wants to avoid dt they would have a noncompete clause in d staff contract. If dt doesnt exist, sorry anything goes.

-Bisola

2. People can go to the end of the earth to bring someone down. Oga what did you do that they want you out there. May God help you. Buhari is a no nonsense man.

1. Ur illiteracy and ignoramus nes is on another level loveme jeje u don't always have to comment, most time you yarn Opata, big bullshiit

3. Jokers!
    Pdp plz give it up already...Hian!

4. This pure witch hunt and bad belle join.

5. Nt even up to 6mnth of appointment

6. Loveme Jeje can you read at all, or you did not bother to read the article but you felt you must just comment for the sake of it as you always do. What he did is stated there in black and white.

1. Na her way na. She dey ever read? Na to beef people about she sabi.

2. What did he do? He didnt do anything. Dt whole argument is one long conjecture. Doesnt even make sense.

7. Anon 11:36. comment your own and stop menstruating on my own comments. Inugo

8. I agree. He needs to step down and resolve these legal issues.

1. Step down for what? The president's special adviser on Media Femi Adesina should also step down. No be the same thing?

9. People are evil,keep writing petition when your mates are going higher

10. They should settle their things biko!

11. go to school illiterate, english is your problem @loveme jeje.

12. Please google that address, it says it's the Total Nigeria Plc branch in Abuja. I don't understand these enemies of progress

13. Please google that address, it says it's the Total Nigeria Plc branch in Abuja. I don't understand these enemies of progress