Many governors, who spoke with The PUNCH, on Thursday, out rightly rejected the suggestion that looters of the nation’s resources be sentenced to death.
Organised labour- the Nigerian Labour Congress and the Trade Union Congress-at the beginning of the week said looters should be given the death sentence in order to serve as deterrence to others.
Labour said it was only by killing looters that the anti-corruption crusade being championed by President Muhammadu Buhari could succeed.
But most governors, who reacted to the labour suggestion on Thursday, said the death sentence would be too harsh.
Ogun State Governor Ibikunle Amosun said he would rather canvass that looters be sentenced to life imprisonment, rather than the death sentence prescribed by the organised labour.
He however said that not only politicians should shun corruption but every Nigerian.
"I will say that anybody that is found wanting, whether you are governor or any other public officer should be jailed for life.”
His counterpart in Plateau State, Simon Lalong, also said he would rather prefer life imprisonment to death penalty.
Lalong’s Director of Press Affairs, Mr. Emmanuel Nanle, told Punch correspondent that “in all his discussions, Lalong has never mentioned death sentence. He has always preferred life imprisonment to taking human life because to him life is sacred.”
Also both governors of Ekiti and Rivers states, Ayodele Fayose and Nyesom Wike respectively, out rightly rejected death penalty for looters.
Fayose, who reacted through his Chief Press Secretary, Mr. Idowu Adelusi, said jail sentence was better and capable of reforming thieves.
“In countries where death penalty was introduced, it has not stopped looting. In advanced countries like US, jail sentence is the penalty.
Wike said that Nigeria had enough laws to deter people from fleecing the nation.
However, Governor Olusegun Mimiko of Ondo State on his own path said he was comfortable with whatever the people want in relation to punishment for looters.
-Edited from Punch
Looters should be sentenced to death? Let's be since please. A murderer is sentenced to death together with a Looter? Same judgement? While a rapist will be given just 3 years if at all there's a sentencing? Lol. Interesting
ReplyDeleteLife imprisonment should do.
DeleteYour comment will be visible after approval.
Rapist should be sentenced to death by firing squad...
DeleteLife imprisonment with hard labour should be ok!
DeleteHahahahahahahahaha!!!!!! Why won't they reject it when they are the looters???? Hahahahaha!
DeleteDeath sentence it should be! Their looting causes the death and lifetimes of suffering for countless others. So an eye for an eye it should be.
DeleteJail? Where are people like Tafa Balogun today? Do you know how many policemen are unable to provide their children/wards the basics? You blame them when they stop you for 1K? Do you know what suffering they go through? Well Tafa Balogun is roaming free. his children? They have the best education and homes money can buy!!!!! You want pictures?
Rapist should be sentenced 3years you said hmmmmmmm
DeleteMax 25yrs
Na so
ReplyDeleteHmmm....We Nigerians are so funny, can those people that brought the idea stand with their heads high and prove that they've never stolen before? especially from the country with the "na where man dey eat he dey chop" mentality in Nigeria now?
ReplyDeleteFor me, it's too extreme. Jail time would suffice
DeleteHaba death penalty is too much na, they should at least spend 5 -10years in prison that would teach them a better lesson (kirikiri prison oh, no special treatment).
ReplyDeleteIf it's that, it won't stop corruption.
DeleteThey would manage the years knowing fully well their loot is waiting for them at the expiration of their jail terms.
A case study is Bode George.
Jail term with the confiscation of their loots would be just fine.
DeleteTheir facial expressions must have been epic
ReplyDeleteLmao.
I dey tell you. Lol
DeleteWarrever mehn...
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
Even me i follow disagree abeg... Fifteen yrs jail tym is preferable.... #NowPlaying high notes: banky w....
See all them getting afraid. they dont want to die but continue to loot. looting for generations yet unborn.
ReplyDeletegovernors una cup don full tail tail for God's hand.
Of course they will reject it..ndi oshi
ReplyDeleteAre they not among the biggest looters?
ReplyDeleteEven the so called organised labour and trade union congress cannot say their hands are clean in this matter. Nigerians can be so sanctimonious. Death penalty ko, death penalty ni. Even Buhari go reject am sef, who knows if he wont get his hands soiled before his time is up...
ReplyDeleteI have been campaigning for dis for a long time. Corruption should be treated as a FELONY offence. Corruption is contagious "cancer" in Nigeria. It's in the DNA of every single Nigerian. Pple are bunch of hypocrites.......many well let's say 90% of Nigerians will be corrupt if they found themselves in power or at corridor of power. That is why I have bn campaigning that the only solution to corruption in Nigeria is if Treated as a FELONY offence punishable by death or mutilation. In addition to the DEATH sentence, their should be a forfeiture of their properties such as houses, lands and goods. I know pple might say Death sentence is barbaric, but the pple committing such crime as looting govt fund, embezzling, stealing govt money are committing a social & economy genocide. Many families are deprived of good life, socially or economically by the acts of dis corrupt pple in govt.
ReplyDeleteLife imprisonment is OK. Haba!
ReplyDeleteDeath sentence is too harsh abeg. Life imprisonment is a little bit better.
ReplyDeleteLooters should be sentence to death period. Looting public money is a crime against humanity. If that money is injected into the health sector we all know how many lives that would be saved.
ReplyDeleteWhy won't they reject it?
ReplyDeletePersonally though, I think it's too extreme
I just hope there'll be no house arrest or special prison arrangements. Let all criminals, whether politicians or armed robbers be locked up in the same cell with the same treatment.
ReplyDeleteDeath sentence is much nah haba!!!! 10-15 yrs or more will serve a very big lesson to the looters.
ReplyDeleteThis will never happen.
DeleteWe have looters even in the Labour group gingering for death sentence.
They should be realistic biko.
What will dey say b4.they re all bloody looters I no dey can't even do it they re jst trying to scare dem
ReplyDeleteSee how scared they are
ReplyDeleteHmnnn! Whoever that is innocent should cast the first stone.
ReplyDeleteDeath sentence for looting in 2015?
ReplyDeleteOoh puleeezz people have to start sounding realistic if they truly want change.
@ 11 September 12.11 God bless you, his sons are living like kings,yes I agree death sentence is harsh but so are these looters and this law improved things greatly in China,we need the same here even if it's repealed in 20/30 years when hopefully the fear of the hangman's noose will have put the fear of God into the public servants elected to run our affairs
ReplyDeleteThe death penalty is the only way things can truly start to CHANGE in this country.
ReplyDeleteWeasel