A French economist,Tiécoro Diakite has published an open letter to President Muhammadu Buhari in which he tells him to beware of France and be warned that the French President, Francois Holland has a hidden agenda.
According to Diakite, who is originally from Mali, the real goals and objectives of France in Africa is rooted in neo-colonalism and greed. He accused Holland of being a hyprocrite who backs the wicked deeds of corrupt African leaders as long as they suit his interest.
Diakite holds a Ph.D. in Development Economics and says that when the French say they support Nigeria in the war against corruption, they probably mean the exact opposite.
The full text of Diakite’s letter is translated from French below:
“Dear Mr. President!
The majority of Africans greeted your election to the Supreme post of Nigeria. The Federation of Nigeria, the largest truly independent African country is the matter of pride and dignity of African people. Your predecessor had relegated Nigeria to the level of Francophone African countries under neo-colonialist French rule with such domination tools as the French army and the CFA franc [currency used in Africa guaranteed by the French treasury].
After more than fifty years of formal independence, Francophone Africa remained under French rule. Except for the reigns of [Guinean] President Sekou Toure, [Malian president] Modibo Keita and [the president of Burkina Faso]Thomas Sankar, Francophone Africa has seen only “virtual independence.”
The Federation of Nigeria which fought to preserve its territorial integrity and its position vis-à-vis sovereignty of the colonial powers, must avoid any allegiance to France, which has tried once to destroy its unity by supporting the secession of Biafra. Nigerians should bear in mind the detrimental policy that France pursues in the Sub-Saharan Africa.
In the war against Boko Haram, France is positioned as saviour of Nigeria and its neighbours by inviting you and its neo-colonialist lackeys to the meeting in Paris. Why in Paris? Why not in Africa? France despises the African people and supports the corrupt presidents and stateless persons. Its military intervention in Mali which France seems to be proud of, has served and serves only its neo-colonial interests (uranium in Niger, protecting French nationals).
Accordingly, you should not be fooled, when France manifests its concern in the fight against Boko Haram.
The French intervention in Mali is becoming a nightmare for the country. Given the actions of France in this political and military crisis [in Mali], peace is not forthcoming in this country.
France’s intervention in the Nigerian will bring nothing positive in that country, on the contrary, it will only serve to stir up hatred between ethnic groups in Nigeria. Divide and conquer has always been the policy of France in Africa.
France has not enough military power to be able to provide the sustainable resolution of the armed conflict.
The only thing France is good at is adding fuel to the fire as seen in Syria and as we have seen in the Western-Iranian negotiations. The Nigerian and African people ask you not to get involved in the French political game that will only tarnish your presidential image and the patriotic feelings which the Nigerian people credited to you.
Yours sincerely,
Tiécoro Diakite.
culled from trentonline.
What do you think of this letter.
The letter belongs to Buhari not me. So Stella please direct your question to him. LMAO
ReplyDeleteOlodo, it is directed to every african. The guy speaks truth
DeleteIf the old man will listen.
DeleteBuhari should keep running from pillar 2 post.
Ignorance. Educate your mind! Stop dancing shakiti bobo and eating gala
DeleteThe French foreign policy has never really favored Africans. They give with one hand and take with another. Their assimilation aka association policy in the colonial Era was just a front to cajole the Africans to willingly accept french culture in its entirety. Their dependence on France even after they gained independence rests in the claws of this genius idea. Francophone Africa is still tied to their apron strings. As for Hollande's hidden agenda, that's the order of the day in international politics. So leave Buhari to make his decision. He's also got his own agenda. That's diplomacy in action.
DeleteHmmm this is deep. But let's face it, there's some home truth in this letter. I especially like his opening statements. However, I trust our president to see through any vague alliance intended by the French or even Americans. Although I absolutely agree that this particular meeting should have taken place in Nigeria, or at least a part of Africa. But because we are somewhat vulnerable at the moment, due to the insurgencies, Buhari thinks that going out of his comfort zone to meet other presidents is a sign of willingness and seriousness to convince them that he truly needs their help to conquest terrorism. Which has got its up and down side.
DeleteIt doesn't mean that he's a puppet or a stooge to the foreign entities, and no, they wouldn't dare hold us to ransom.. he just needs help to deliver his promise to his people (Nigerians).
Anyone who doesn't know that the French are racists par excellence needs "political revival". Not just towards Africans, but to other select countries. Their countenance as a country is sometimes played out sparingly, through the average French man that you would come in contact with at their airport. It is only in France, amongst other countries where English isn't their main language, that a French man who works at the airport will insist on speaking french to u, knowing fully well that he's around tourists who probably cannot speak or understand french.
Hence, intentionally making communication impossible to frustrate u. They enjoy it. This is just by ordinary interactions. So imagine having to partner with such on any level. Anyway I trust Buhari to see through any gimmicks. His military intelligence would come to the fore.
Sisi Eko, u are neither buhari's spokes person or in his inner cactus, stop acting like u live in his mind and know all of his plans. Geez!
DeleteEka Joy don't be silly. Like seriously? So I cannot speak or project according to happenings in my surroundings? Do u live in the mind of those whom you've ever passed comments about on any topic or forum? Am I not a Nigerian who has the right to speak as I deem fit irrespective of the discourse? Look, u do not have to misplace your aggression on sisi eko.. I can't help u. And don't forget that everyone reserves the inalienable right to speak as they wish. If you Eka aren't opinionated, why don't u skip it over and let others the floor? See me see wahala o.
DeleteBuhari take note!
ReplyDeleteWe don't need these MFs in our nation
We good being alone
Aswear down....We goood without no help from no fucking hypocrites...them fuck boys....thank you for this lil info Mr Economist...
DeleteAswear down....We goood without no help from no fucking hypocrites...them fuck boys....thank you for this lil info Mr Economist...
DeleteFrance and their bankrupt economy..just a bunch of takers. Reaping Where thay didn't sow
DeleteI've always thought France was a green snake under the green grass.
ReplyDeleteThey are only second to the U.S. in terms of covert operations against the promising African Nations.
I hope Buhari is smart enough to dine with a long spoon, hopefully he still has enough of the military training not to be gullible.
#FingersCrossed
Interesting
ReplyDeleteIt's not today now, I wonder why African leaders depend so much on Europe and America to do things. This is why I still like Mugabe
ReplyDeleteLA France?
ReplyDeleteWhen your testimony (from your name comes)
DeleteLet us know
Really! Such hate from Mali. Well he knows better
ReplyDeletehope it gets to him....tomjerryswit
ReplyDeleteHnmm he might be right about the hidden agenda of the french. I pray God helps PMB take the right decisions.
ReplyDeleteHard core truth
ReplyDeleteWell I do agree with this article and think the US & UK and other suppose world power are guilty of the divide and rule in Africa .
ReplyDeleteehen
ReplyDelete#sep 16
Me too, truthfully I don't trust all these two faced countries forming they are coming to help when they actually have devious plans..
ReplyDeleteI go with him
ReplyDelete#sep 16
He is absolutely right. Not only France. All western nations are not honest towards Africa. Knowing how to play the game of of global politics is a good resume for aspiring Africa leaders. They western nations knows that if we are united we as continent will move mountains.
ReplyDeleteI hope he listens
ReplyDelete@Galore
Ghen! Ghen! A word is enough for the wise !! Buhari, trust no one. Not even France! Tread with caution
ReplyDeletehmmmmmm...deep! this shouldn't be ignored sha.. I know all these foreign counties are just pretending to be helpful. my question always is, at what price do they want to help? cos they won't help without wanting something in return. our president needs to thread with caution!
ReplyDeleteEveryone is looking for something be it positive or negative... My darling BUhari pls be careful.
ReplyDeleteAll these oyibo people dont do anything without getting kickbacks and kickfronts
ReplyDeleteDeep
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
Buhari was a military man so he is aware of anything negative thing coming to him.
Story for the gods
DeleteI ve always tell eni1 dat wish 2 hear dat no human can love u more dan urslf except God Almighty.
ReplyDeleteDis idea of running 2 dis super powers 4 efritin is vry dangerous. Nothing dey say goes 4 notin. Even in Freetown notin is free.
Not just the French, but oyibo pple in general. They give & take back ten folds. They're like drugs...they give & give till u get hooked, then they withdraw & let u come to them on bended knees. So the writer is not far from the truth. He's just stating the obvious!
ReplyDeleteGhanaman signing out!!!
Hmmm!!! Dnt rily know much abt international politics but am open 2 learning thru comments!!! Merci!!!
ReplyDeleteGhen ghen,Bhu bhu she you don hear bah, na sofrey sofrey den go dey tell you till you go hear. In oga drivers voice.
ReplyDeleteI come against any ulterior evil plan France has or may have for my beloved country in Jesus name.It will be dead on arrival and it wont prevail.Amen
ReplyDeleteHe might be right after all.
ReplyDeleteHow true is this write up
ReplyDeleteWhy are you people surprised they will definitely have hidden agenda
ReplyDeleteBuhari can also play the game. Never give more than you get. 1812report.blogspot.com
ReplyDeleteIts well known that francophone africa are the ones sustaining france but really cannot do anything due to the one hundred years pre-colonial agreement they signed to. Buhari on the other hand i believe is smart what he should be wary of is Western interest partnering with dubious elements like Akpabio and Saraki or Tinubu to cause his government to fail
ReplyDeleteUhm uhm
DeleteHe might have a solid point,but what I don't understand is ,he is a French economist,who is based in France. Such an hypocrite. I also guess all his degrees are not from Mali. Its like cases of Nigerians who advice other Nigerians to go home from abroad and settle down,and they themselves are living abroad. He might be right to an extent but I think Buhari should be smart enough to deal with France. I know a lady who has all 7 children in the UK,no job ,collecting all available benefits,then she advised me to go back to Nigeria with my 2 children???
ReplyDeleteIt's called Imperialism. If you read the book Confessions of an Economic Hitman, you'll never take the west at face value again. Africa with its corrupt leaders is like pawn in their hands to be played however they wish. It will only take idealist radicals to free us from their clutches.
ReplyDeleteRather than align with France, Uk or USA, it would serve Nigeria's interest better if we aligned with 'opposing' blocs like Russia and China. France, UK and US been whom they are had do everything within reach to lure us to themselves so that can continue the economic exploitation whereas Russia and China and others like them had work had to keep us to themselves and even offer protection against theirs foes. At the end of it all, we remain in the middle and enjoy all benefits that comes with that.