Wednesday, September 16, 2015

El-Rufai Orders Closure Of Churches And Hospital

Kaduna State Governor, Nasir El-Rufai, has ordered the closure of two churches, a seminary school and one hospital in Saminaka, Lere local government area of the state.

The governor ordered that the institutions be closed down immediately to prevent breakdown of law and order in the area.

The closure, according to the governor, was as a result of prolonged leadership crisis in the Assemblies of God Church (AGC) in the area.
A statement issued by the governor’s Special Assistant on Media and Publicity, Samuel Aruwan, on Wednesday indicated that the measure was taken at the end of the state security council meeting.

El-Rufai said the step taken by the government was to forestall any form of sectarian crisis in the local government and by extension the state.

He gave the names of the affected religious institutions as – Theological Seminary of Northern Nigeria, (TSNN) Saminaka, Shalom Comprehensive College, Saminaka, Assemblies of God Church, Nmbare, Saminaka and Assemblies of God Church (Jerusalem) Saminaka, and the AGC Evangelist Hospital, Saminaka.

The governor warned that his administration would not tolerate the use of religion and ethnicity by any individual or groups to cause crisis in the state.

Thenationonline extract.

48 comments:

1. What is his business with church matters???!!! Is it true that they are trying to islamize Nigeria??!!! What is going on??!! GOD FORBID!!!!!!!!!!!…Nigerians shine your eyes…hmmm…I hope Nigerians won't regret voting for Buhari. I heard the church in the villa has also been closed because it is too close to the president's kitchen? Like really??!!

1. Look at how ignorant you are. Who is islamizing Nigeria. The VP who is a Pastor or the Christian appointees or the fact that he shut down churches that were acting up and embarrassing themselves?

2. And you didn't read that he closed an hospital too? Hospital is islamizing nigeria too? Make some of una dey think like educated people sometimes biko

3. Stop talking nonsense, so he should allow chao to happen in a church that may affect other citizen or dis stabilise his got because he is a Muslim abi. Senseless fella, be reasonable. Am a Christian but I support him. As a Christian why should they fight for leadership. Do u know d extent d quarrel will have gone for d Governor to know about it.

4. He got, eranko, wowo

5. This is a democratic government. It's not possible for an individual to force or declare a secular state as Nigeria an Islamic State.
      ......and if the location of the church at the villa is too close to the presidential bedroom then, I am of the opinion that it should be relocated. Not everyone can tolerate high pitched sounds coming from speakers especially at night when one ought to be resting. Most of these religious organizations don't have reasonable time to hold programs. Some of the long night programs lasting till dawn should be cancelled and all speakers should be inside the church with lowered pitch, non should be hung outside. There is a need for religious tolerance.

6. Paragon7ven u've said it all....

2. I expect various Christian groups to scream PERSECUTION.

3. I can't imagine religious leaders fighting for leadership positions. It's only God that knows those serving Him indeed.

4. Nice 1! Cos ethnic and religious conflicts dey serious and too hard to quench. Prevention is better than cure

5. Lere L.G.A.......... those days in Black Gold Camp, Kaduna, the mention of that local government as your possible PPA sends a cold shiver down your spine.
    That place is still in the BCs o. Probably 190BC.
    Stone age people

6. Why not warn them first before taking this final decision? Ok o.

1. Because we don't condone that. Is it when they kill each other you will ask why he didn't act first. Abeg keep such lazy and reactive behavior out of tense regions.

2. Anon 04:51,who are the "we"?

3. Biko, they aren't Muslims that kill anyhow. They will not kill each other. Has he finished closing d mosques that are teaching violence?? It's some churches with some unfounded allegations he's closing down. You idiots can keep defending this act. Stupid people.

7. Replies
    1. You can't read so I would give you a pass for your comment,

8. Oga El-rufai pls take it easy.

9. Stella this is not detail enough but he took the right base on the situation on ground, our churches are loosing focus.

10. He is not suppose to close down any church. If he wants to do that, he should speak with CAN first. Same goes for closing of any mosque. He shouldn't go pass his boundary abeg. Dis one won't show dat he's working. There r other important things to do

1. If truly he doesn't want religion ND tribe to cause crisis in his state den I support him. The church is turning into a joke this days.

2. More important things than curbing a security issue? You think Kaduna issues are only Muslim Christian?

3. When he speaks to can he will bring it to the news first abi? What do you even know about governance? So this is passing boundary? Think out of the box for once biko. Security is not important thing right?

4. Stop jumping into conclusion do u know if he had done all does you stated and no result before he decides to make such move

11. Stella.i would love to read your input on this. Let the religious war begin...3,2,1..go

Aeegurl...

12. Stella.i would love to read your input on this. Let the religious war begin...3,2,1..go

Aeegurl...

13. Somebody pls tell me how church conflict is his business, I know he is the governor, but closing down the said church is wrong on so many levels............Islam/Moslems are always fighting and quarrelling, but nobody closed down any mosque

1. Yes they do actually. He closed them down because they were about to cause issues in the community. You do not know that a lot of crises in the region comes from within the same religious community.

14. Correct govnor! But I don't like d headline cos it gave a wrong impression like it's entirely all churches.

15. Bastard governor.

16. Assemblies of God so you people have not rectified this problem of yours? E get as e be ooooo. El rufai you re too fast to close it down. Whatever happens to letting CAN know about it or better still warn them before taking this action.

17. But this report did not state how the activities of the church could lead to the break down of law and order.

18. Ntoooooooooooooooooooooooor to the christians. Go and die.
    Kikikikikikikikikikikikikikikikikikikiki.
    Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha.
    Eka Sorrow and Shit maker flame on.

1. Zuwo did you read that mosques we're closed?

19. I tire ooo, while closing down churches, has he ever ordered closure of mosque? God is watching.