One of Us has a problem and if my brother is in trouble,so am I .....
Hi Stelz and BV's, i am an ardent silent reader though i comment once in a while with anonymous or vee krested. I have once sent a chronicle sometime before as a mother of one and complained about my hubby.
Now to the issue at hand, i already married him before i realized he married me for my nursing certificate as an easy ticket to travel out, its never my dream to do so but i oblige but has things were not working as he wanted he changed.
We now both wanted out has the marriage is not working. I now stay in Lagos and him in nasarawa because of work though we were once in ondo state and that was were we got married. He sent a lawyer to drop a court summon for me at my working place on friday(18/9/15), i was not at work as my duty roster stipulated and so i won't get it until monday (21/9/15). The letter now wants my appearance in court in nasarawa state on the 30/9/15 with only 8 days notice. My problems now and where i need advice and helps includes;
1. I don't know any lawyer(divorce) or have money to retain one(not receive salary since june, newly employed with the fed.).
2. The court that summon me, can't i request for the proceedings to be done in the state were we did our registry (ondo state) since i can't ask him to come to lagos and i can't travel to nasarawa, never been there before. Moreover am newly employed at my working place (federal govt), on duty on the said date and can't request for leave for a long distance traveling because am still on probation.
3. The letter that was dropped in my office was not handled with confidentiality and privacy as it was not even put in an envelop since the owner was not there, is it allowed for lawyers to act like that because the person who received the letter in my stead had to read it to tell me the content since it was even folded or stapled.
Please help me out Stelz and lawyers in the house, i don't want to be punished like this after having suffered through it all.
Over to you lawyers. She 'has' spoken.
ReplyDeletePeople now Come to blogs for lawyers.
DeleteOn the issue of poor service of court summon: such court processes ought to be served on you personally not through another person. Your lawyer when u retain one can take objection to service of the summon.
Delete2. I have lost my nasarawa contacts, sorry I can't help u in that regard. But if u can make it down to nasarawa it will be better to brief a lawyer there. This is because it will be affordable to brief a lawyer with that jurisdiction than a lawyer coming from another place.
3. When u finall y brief a lawyer she or he will know how best to apply to court to change the location. But u should know that if the marriage u contracted with ur husband is a statutory marriage, matrinonainal causes (for example the divorcé proceedings) can be head in any state high court in Nigeria.
I pray u remain strong in this trying time. All the best. Thank you
Omah Cindy
I can remember vividly the way my sister got over 20 suitors bcos she red nursing.........all of them came bcos she was a certified nurse. .......all of them were in different country looking 4 a nurse 2 use as an escape route.
DeleteNawa ooo
Wrongful service,service of jurisdiction for divorce matters is within 30 days n must be personal except its a substituted service. Pls col Cletus Aloke on 07037144993,he is based in Abuja but he will help u at least to get sum1.
DeleteThe court in nasarawa has no jurisdiction to entertain da case,only a court where d marriage took place or where d couple lived can entertain da case..
DeleteEdit your write up properly pls!! Ahah!!!
ReplyDeleteMake you edit am for inside your head, nonsense. Somebody is hurting & you here, typing about editing. She has a bigger fish to fry than editing. Sigh. If you read it then you get the gist. If you cannot help then click the next post.
DeleteSomeone is passing through a challenge of this magnitude and this is the best you can spit out? Is this Waec? Are you the blog owner? Where is your sympathy as a human being? If you don't have anything helpful to say, please be quiet. Apply that principle both here and in your day to day interactions and you will be a better person.
DeleteIdiot! Lizzy T
DeleteWho english don help? Did u or did you not understand what she was trying to say? Madam corrector
DeleteYou stupid
DeleteVery stupid Lizzy T
DeleteLizzy T isn't stupid. I think all of you that commented below hers r daft! How difficult is it for someone to type a correct passage? Please stop making excuses for her. I could not understand some bits. How many minutes do you think it would have taken her to proof read? Please don't give excuses for poor grammar
DeleteSo this is the best you can come up with for someone that is going through such situation.
DeleteYou need help.
Then move over to the next post @ anon 20:04.
DeleteIs it compulsory you must read every post?
This is not the period for analysing grammar. Nonsense
@ Lizzy T and anon 20.04, u guys are leaving the issue and chasing shadows! If she corrects her write up, do u have any help or advise for her?
DeleteAnon 20.04, I gave up on correcting people's grammar on blogs a while ago. The rabble are very defensive on that subject and will attack you like piranha for daring to correct them. Products of a failed educational system.
DeleteIt is well
ReplyDeleteHow is it well??
DeleteLearned gentlemen here ngwanu oo
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
No go nw simple....
Divorce lawyers fall in here
ReplyDeleteOne of the things that scared me in marriage.. Can't they resolve the problem and live together? Divorce case everywhere. Fix it Jesus
ReplyDeleteBarristers of the law pls step in here.
ReplyDeleteNo charge and bail lawyer here please o!.
This matter is not within your jurisdiction.
Am gonna read comments on this. Dunno what gives on the matter
U sha... .. u can like talk anyhow atimes
DeleteNot only her. Na all of these ppl. All of dem don full this page yet, couldn't offer a solution!!
DeleteWhat has she said now that is so terrible. Bitter fools
DeleteNa waah.
ReplyDeleteMadam ,
U can't get a lawyer.
What of the person gbenshing u presently ,can't he help u hire a lawyer?
And
don't u ve ur ex hubby s number?
Like seriously?.... you think someone must always have gbenshing mate? Gosh! Just grow up already and think straight. Not everyone is sex conscious as you. She most likely may have lost all libido from this trauma. And many in this situation don't even want to have anything to do with any guy.
DeleteYou are just a fool, I thought you had some common sense but I guess I was wrong it's not common after all. You better fix yourself up lifeless ape.
DeleteStupid reply. Very stupid. Wat concerns gbenshin nw????
DeleteYou really are a low life. Everything about you is xes, xes and more xes. Do you think of anything else except xes? Do you have any aspirations in life except xes? AIDS IS REAL DOUCHEBAG
DeleteYou are damn stupid.
DeleteBut he's right. For a lawyer to show up in court is about 5k. Just go there and pick dare. Adjourn and adjourn etc till you figure out what to do
DeleteNa waaaa. Ife ne me
ReplyDeleteIt's very easy...
ReplyDelete1. Any State High court can hear matrimonial matter no matter where the marriage was contracted. You may however request that your lawyer stand in for you if you don't want to appear personally due to the reasons given above. Matrimonial matters are very easy especially where the two parties are ready to separate. Is your marriage above two years? How long have you been living apart? Do you have children between you two? All these the court will look into before your case can be determined. Any lawyer in Nasarawa can help...I'm in lag,i would have assisted free of charge!
Pls, ask your other colleagues if they are acquainted with any barristers in Nasarawa who can pick up her case. At least to be represented at this first hearing on the 30th. God bless you.
DeleteShe also reside in lag though...Plz help if you wanna?
DeleteSome men are so fhucking mean gosh!
ReplyDeleteSee ehn I will suggest u send some heavy looking boys to beat the demon out of him after the divorse is finalised, it will help u heal fast. God be with u
ReplyDelete@stephly stephly,how old are u again?Olosho
DeleteSeriously?
DeleteIt will help her heal fast?
How informative
....you can't even spell divorce correctly which depicts your mental state hence your beating up suggestion! ABERO.
DeleteYou have just spoken, especially the 'divorse' part. Well, it's actually divorce.
Delete*Larry was here*
Very funny
DeleteLol..pls i need contacts of ''Heavy looking boys" I want to beat up 'linda eze', the blog sycophant.
DeleteNa wah oh...
ReplyDeleteIf ur husband can't come to Lagos to meet you then forget it. What rubbish arrant nonsense.
ReplyDeleteIt won't work like that. The man served her first so she has to respond. The only way she can "ignore" is if she is abroad. Infact she can't ignore still because its a court order. The letter will be posted to her where ever she is. If she doesn't respond, the judge will rule in favour of the other party after series of adjournments.
DeleteOrder for your very affordable wedding & birthday cakes. Send surprise cakes 2ur loved ones in Abuja.We deliver 2homes and offices.Click on my name to see pics.
1) pretend and act as if you were not informed, as you were not duly serviced. That lawyer or bailiff should know the proper method of service. Ur last known address and personal. And for substituted service, the law provides the means to it. 2) the court in nassarawa state lacks jurisdiction. However, you as the respondent and your lawyer can file a reply raising the issue for the case to be struck out.
ReplyDeleteThe court in nassarawa does not lack jurisdiction ooo.pls it's a state high court
DeleteThe court in Nassarawa has Jurisdiction... the Matrimonial Causes Act regards the whole of Nigeria as 1 jurisdiction...
Delete"Duly Serviced"? Ahn,ahn!!!
DeleteYou didn't receive the letter yourself you can as well feign ignorance. Shikena
ReplyDeleteI am greatful for the comment so far. *Sigh, i don't anyone gbenshing for me right now @moneymaker. I don't know any lawyer here or in nasarawa @anon15:51 and i can't afford to retain one. We are 3yrs together and we have a son of 2yrs old together currently with my parents.
ReplyDeleteThe Court has Jurisdiction. It can however be argued that u were not served properly (except their motion 4 substituited service was granted due to multiple inability to serve u personally, if there was any at all.)
DeleteUr hus is smart n did that on purpose knowing hoe inconvenient it is for you. I wish u how petitioned for the divorce 1st though. Dont know any Lawyer in Nas.
But u def need someone to rep u in the Court.
U rly need a Lawyer so u can get custody of ur Son. Asides that i would have said u shudnt worry, no be say Nign courts respect gvn reasonable alimony or maintainance like that. They would just send u the judgement, but get representation 4 ur son's sake
The case shouldnt take long, when u get a Lawyer, let him or her reiterate all u said. Swy
But madam your English na wah oooo. Please try and improve.
DeleteShe sef! Why didn't she file in Lagos first?
ReplyDeleteYou Have to respond. Hearing can be done inany high court of law.
ReplyDelete@steffysofynsofly! Your comment cracked me up! Hehehehe Buh I agree with you tho *runs away*
ReplyDeleteDon't feel threatened dear its a simple case u can miss out n even order him to come over with reasons, money maker!! I c u d 1 fucking her abi?
ReplyDeleteAnon16:51,
Deletepunctuation marks,please.
If you don't have properties, kids or money together. I will advice you as a lawyer ad long as you don't have anything to lose. You can ignore the summons, default judgement can be given. That is divorce can be granted since you did not show up. Just tell him to send you the copy of the divorce papers.
ReplyDeleteThe originating process(summons) should ve been served personally to you not to someone else in your absence. That's wrong.
ReplyDeleteIn the eyes of the law you ve not been properly served. (that is assuming there is no order for substituted service from the court, which I doubt).
Just get a lawyer, preferably one in nasarawa state to save cost. Yes, the high Court there has jurisdiction to try it.
Reechie
Pay for my services
ReplyDeleteI am not a Lawyer but can tell you how I handled my own. We were married in the UK and my ex-filled for divorce in Oyo State. Since we had no children between us and I do not want to claim anything from him, I briefed a Lawyer in Abuja where I was living who replied to the summons and send it to the court with copy to his Lawyer. The case came up three times with me not attending and I did not send any representation to any of the hearing. On the third hearing the judge granted him his request and we are both free to go our separate way. I asked my Abuja Lawyer to request a copy of the divorce judgement for my records. (Good riddance to bad rubbish). But if you have children and wish to claim you have to brief a Lawyer that can attend on your behalf. Divorce is bad when you have children. Are your families not able to intervene? Please try this option of reconciliation as the court will still ask you to do so children or no children. Marriage is sacred, I gave mine my ALL but he married me for his purpose and file for divorce after achieving his purpose. I am not bitter I still believe in the sacredness of marriage. GOOD LUCK TO YOU. By the way Lagos Lawyer, you can still help the lady if you wish to do so, see my example above, you do not have to appear all it will cost you is few hours to take her brief, fill the forms and DHL or EMS it to Nasara court and the husband Lawyer. Total N....,,,,
ReplyDeletejeeezzzzzz
DeleteAm soo sorry ma'am
ReplyDeleteGod fix it
ReplyDeletesome people just open their dirty mouths anyhow! @Moneymaker, u are so dense! u speak like a fool, someone came in here to bare her heart, if u don''t have a solution, just shut your diseased mouth and let people with sense speak.
ReplyDelete@Lizzy T, u gat misplaced priorities. Is grammar the purpose of this post? Please park well! If we research now u prolly attended one dead school!
@Lawyers in the house over to you
*dusts hands and walks away
Default judgement can be given in your absence and without legal representation but my fear is that he might be asking for custody of the child. Madam how long have you people been leaving separately.
ReplyDeleteIf there's a mutual agreement on the divorce, you may not appear, the judge will grant a summary judgment. However, with a child involved, the judge may perceive your non appearance as a sign of irresponsibility and grant custody of the child to your husband.
ReplyDeleteI pray you get the help you seek dearie. It is well with you.
ReplyDeleteAmen to that. Married people go through so much pain sha.
DeleteOkay, 1. It is unlikely that it was a letter that was dropped, it will probably be a court summons perhaps a petition for dissolution of marriage. Now if it is a court petition, it will not be in any envelope as it is the court bailiff that was supposed to have served you and it should have been served on you in person not through your office clerk or secretary but if it is a letter, well, the lawyer should have tried better than that.
ReplyDeleteThat said, under Nigerian laws, matrimonial proceedings can be instituted anywhere in the country which makes your husband right in filing it where he stays, however, since you are financially incapacitated, you may need to inform your lawyer to file a process that the suit be transferred to another judicial division that you can easily access and hopefully, the court may grant your request and your husband's lawyer might not object.
Another option is that if you peruse the divorce papers and you find out that he has not lied against you in the petition or you are not claiming custody or he is not trying to claim custody of your child, then you may leave the case undefended till the divorce is granted (I strongly do not recommend this though as you never can tell what will happen in court if you are not there, it is still better you put in appearance even if just for the sake of it).
I would have loved to help you but i am a lawyer based in lagos. If you can arrange travel allowance and accomodation, i may be able to not charge you professional fees but you will still have to pay for your filng of papers. Best bet, find a lawyer in abuja or nasarrawa to help...to properly advise you fully, more details will be needed not e-advice like this. You can call 07063916437 for my further advice. God help you
Madam if ur husband is nt asking for custody of d child or any ridiculous thing, jus ignore d summons. The matter ll go on accordingly wiv out ur presence nd d court can't penalise or do anything to u. Dnt waste ur money nd time in getting a lawyer as long as u r okay wiv d divorce. BUT if there's anything in the petition sent to u dt u want to challenge den of course u ll av to lawyer up!
ReplyDeletefirst of all, do u have kids? if u do, I tink u shld find a way to go to d court. if there are no kids, then d issue of custody would not arise. the two of you want the marriage dissolved, so u can stay away. I wish u goodluck
ReplyDeleteI wish she can get help from here. Pple have suddenly gone anonymous.
ReplyDeleteWe will not see not see fake liar sisi eKO now it is after comments has reached 199 that is when she bring her slutty self out.sisi eko stays in abuja and abuja is not far from nassarawa.sisi eko pls help the poster.
ReplyDeletePls anonymous who said he/she is in lagos and can help,pls drop your contact as it might be beneficial to others,thanks.
ReplyDeleteI am a lawyer.
ReplyDeleteI will try to keep this as simple as possible.
Yes the High court in Nasarawa has jurisdiction to hear the matter since the provisions of the matrimonial causes Act empowers every state High Court to hear same. That is why it is always advisable that you be the plaintiff in a divorce matter so YOU determine the court that has jurisdiction.
Secondly, did you go through the summons sent to you? were there any claims or allegations made by him that are untrue or that you wish to challenge? Do you have kids and do you intend to have custody of the kids? Is he seeking sole custody? These are the questions that will determine whether you need to enter appearance in the matter or not.
If you are not contesting any of his claims, then you really do not need to enter appearance as judgement will be given in default of appearance. But if your ex has raised any allegations in his claims that disparages your character or casts aspersions on your person or if he is seeking sole custody of the kids(if any), then you need to enter appearance to challenge same because the courts will assume that any claim not challenged is impliedly admitted to, and it is advisable to consult a lawyer for that.
I am based in Abuja which is not far from Nasarawa but unfortunately, I cannot represent you in court because I work in a government establishment. I could however help you make inquiries for lawyers that charge reasonable fees based in Nasarawa if you want, or you could approach FIDA(International Federation of Female Lawyers)Nasarawa branch for pro bono(free) representation.
My prayers are with you.