Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: British Airways Passengers Fled A Burning Plane With Luggage - Here’s Why You Shouldn’t Do That....

Friday, September 11, 2015

British Airways Passengers Fled A Burning Plane With Luggage - Here’s Why You Shouldn’t Do That....

Your plane is on fire. You can see smoke billowing outside the windows. Flight attendants are screaming to evacuate. So you unbuckle your seat belt, stand up, open the overhead compartment and make sure you grab that nice piece of luggage you brought with you.

I mean, you can’t possibly let it burn!
Wait, what?

That scenario might seem like something straight out of a “How NOT to Evacuate a Burning Airplane” guide, but it is very real. The terrifying scene unfolded on a Las Vegas tarmac when the engine of a British Airways Boeing 777-200 burst into flames.

Instead of running for their lives, passengers did something that is unconscionable in the eyes of flight attendants: They grabbed their bags.

And not just the purses beneath their seats (though, you should leave those too). Some people could be clearly seen evacuating the plane carrying roller suitcases that had been retrieved from the compartments overhead.

The danger is obvious, say flight attendants.
With a plane on fire — or, really, in any emergency situation — flight attendants are trained to help passengers evacuate as quickly as possible.
Specifically, they want to clear the plane within 90 seconds.

That’s impossible if even a few people on a full plane stop to grab their bags.
An engine fire is particularly dangerous. Luckily, British Airways Flight 2276 was far from full, allowing passengers to evacuate more quickly. And the fire never pierced the fuel tank or the cabin.
But it easily could have been worse.

“Absolutely selfish and pathetic,” commented one flight attendant who was not authorized by his airline to be quoted. “You are hindering the person on the window side from quickly evacuating. And what if they panicked and trampled you to death?

“Leave it! Not worth your life, it can be replaced.”

The fears go beyond just the time it takes for people to evacuate if they are also, perplexingly, trying to bring their bags with them. What if their purse strap gets caught on the arm rest? Or the roller board suitcase punctures the massive plastic slide that is virtually the only hope of getting to safety?

And finally, flight attendants are understandably concerned about their own safety.

They undergo mandatory training on how to help passengers save their own lives should something go wrong on an airplane. They and the pilots are also required to be the last people to exit the plane in an emergency.

Evacuating a plane in 90 seconds isn’t just a matter of pride for those who are able to accomplish it; it’s a matter of life or death.
According to Sara Nelson, international president of the Association of Flight Attendants, passengers should heed the commands of flight attendants during an emergency — and leave their bags on the plane.

“We expect the [National Transportation Safety Board] investigation will show that the bags slowed the evacuation and may even have caused some of the injuries,” Nelson said in a statement.

In the case of the fateful Flight 2276, all passengers and crew survived. But according to the Associated Press, 27 people were hospitalized with minor injuries — including all 13 members of the flight crew.

Culled from Washington post.

29 comments:

1. Maybe their life savings were in the bag. Or what could be the rationale behind risking your life for a luggage? Not everyone has basic instincts

1. Ehen b4 nko? If I can grab my bag.n I grab am if I can't..i leave am and so? I needed dose stuffs that's why I dey travel with am

2. Did i hear you say that they should be the last to get out of a burning plane? Then flight attendant job is not for me!I will be the first to fly out through the window self.Who wan die for unknown passengers, abi Jesus?

3. Lol! Humans and their material possessions. It's a reflex action I guess coz I'd do the same.

4. It happens everywhere o. As far as u can save urself, u will want to save the luggage too.

5. lolz.if it was in Africa it happened, CNN and Aljazeera would have called us uncivilised and materialistic.

6. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Nna this people really gather mond shah... If na me i for don forget say i carry something come shah.....

7. Wow! Pilots & cabin crew members are brave.

I can't even begin to imagine the scene. I get very jittery as soon as I board an aircraft & nothing helps my frayed nerves till get off the aircraft.

If it were in 9ja the pilot & cabin crew will be the first set of people to pick race. Against airline policy? Pls don't tell me nonsense. Hahahaha!

8. why will they leave their luggage when it comes handy.

they are just behaving like our brothers na. dont blame them at all. may be they have important documents and money inside. left to me i will not leave anything at all. I will even go the back of the plane to carry my load self.

9. Hmmmm that's bad, thank God no life was lost.

10. I tot its only Nigerians that can do this. Oyibo people sef.

11. You see it's a general thing. If this happened in Nigeria they'll say Africans are illiterates. But I doubt in this situation one would be able to think straight.

12. Me I will carry my purse o but not my hand luggage sha.

13. One might say some people literally carry their lives around in bags...I know its safety first!

14. lmao.
    I will carry my bag abeg, my handbag and my small luggage in the overhead compartment biko. I no fit shout... any other extra luggage is on its own.

15. In a fire incident truth be told i will leave all things but my phone

16. In an unplanned emergency like this one a portion of the evacuation command says "leave everything behind". Guess they were just lucky, the devil seemed to be busy elsewhere that day.

17. In an unplanned emergency like this one a portion of the evacuation command says "leave everything behind". Guess they were just lucky, the devil seemed to be busy elsewhere that day.

18. In an unplanned emergency like this one a portion of the evacuation command says "leave everything behind". Guess they were just lucky, the devil seemed to be busy elsewhere that day.

19. If my overhead compartment luggage is not heavy then i will carry it

20. I wonder why people will have the time to take a luggage from a compactment of a burning plane that could explode in that moment. Me that like to seat at the window, I would just have to push anybody in my way and make my getaway. Though, I might take my hand bag that I always place on the floor right in front of me but the compartment luggage can wait.

21. If I can carry my bag n still make it out, y not? They did the right thing to me.