Wednesday, September 02, 2015

Akpabio Flown Abroad For Treatment After Car Crash

A former Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Senator Godswill Akpabio, was on Tuesday afternoon flown out of Nigeria to receive medical attention abroad.
It was learnt that the senator, in company with about five of his aides, left the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja aboard a regular private jet that he usually travels with.
Sources at the airport reveal Akpabio and his team arrived at the General Aviation Terminal, local wing, of the airport around 12.40pm.

It was learnt that the former governor was conveyed to his aircraft by a tarmac bus and was fit physically when sighted at the airport.
An official of the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria, who saw the senator while he was about to board his aircraft, said, “He (Akpabio) was at the GAT local wing of the airport and one of the tarmac buses was used to convey him to his aircraft. He left around 20 minutes to 1pm.

The accident occurred around 7.25am near the Bolingo Hotel, along Abuja Airport Road, in the Central Business District of the FCT, and Akpabio was immediately rushed to the National Hospital, Abuja for intensive care.

Akpabio, was allegedly travelling outside the country on Monday to visit his wife and children when the accident happened.

Edited from Punch

57 comments:

1. Stupid fool like him. Wasting tax payers money for something that is avoidable. What happens to the people he crashed into?

I don't blame him, he has two legs to go abroad, if he was dead I wonder if he will go abroad to get his life back.!!!
      Make sure you beat traffic light in that abroad you are going oooohhhh!

2. Me too. Didn't believe it was that serious.
      Wishing you quick recovery Mr Akpabio.

3. What of the guy who got killed in the accident? Was it his fault he obeyed traffic n Akpabios convoy did not? God will pay you all evil politicians double double amen.

1. Why didn't he fly to Akwa ibom stadium and get treated by referees. He is lucky it wasn't an emergency abi he will beg the injury to wait till he lands for abroad. Na his corpse go touch down!

1. I dey with you on this your blog ID. May God hear our prayers .

2. thanks @ mrs cake Nd anonymous, may God have mercy quickly,!

4. That's How they're all flown abroad instead of them to build better hospitals here.
    Wish him quick recovery.

1. Its not about building hospitals o..what about getting qualified doctors to run the hospital. I swear many doctors in Nigeria are chewing gum doctors. If you have the money,seek treatment with qualified docs and hospital.
      You go to a clinic and complain of headche,without testing,they say its malaria and typhoid. Abeg many of our doctors na 1+1 doctors.no human sympathy. Abeg i dey vex.people are dying anyhow in our so called world class hospitals.KEL rip jare..God will judge those nurses and doctors on duty that day.

5. Akpabio flown abroad for treatment. driver from abroad to Akwa Ibom for treatment. so no wahala

6. I remember some bvs stating that yday, so predictable!

7. Good for him...
    I don't trust some of those quacks in Nigeria that calls themselves doctors...

I pity the poor in that country...

1. Lindos baby, you don finally relocate from naija?

Nothing do you.

2. I'm not poor, but I can't afford to fly abroad for medical treatment each time I fall ill. I have a job and it must go on. Besides the report states he wasn't in a critical condition. So he can't trust our best hospitals to do proper xray and give painkillers? Ok naa

3. Fool! ' I pity the poor in 'this' country. That's correct english.
      As if you are not one of the poor church rats living. A fake life online.

4. Loooolllllllsssss anon 13:57. It is people like you that go to rat infested hospitals in India in the name of abroad flying abroad to treat headache and say thanks to them after harvesting your kidneys for sale.
      You all have mouth in Nigeria but can't even say no to a "abroad" doctor that confirms you dead while you are still alive.
      "The oyibo doctor said am dead, so let me keep quiet and just die. Afterall na oyibo doctor"

8. Why abroad? Is he not the governor that was bragging about having the best infrastructure and most improved health care system... Chei. Why didn't he fly to akwa ibom. Idiot, they haven't started... Nemesis is only starting it's engine.

9. So he wasn't treated properly here?
    Build good hospitals here, na lie.

10. I thought he has 'uncommonly transformed' Akwa Ibom State? Abi e no reach the health sector? That such a monor injury sef still warrants him to travel out leaves much to be desired.

Another school of thought is of the opinion that he's merely using this as an escape route to evade EFCC's summon as regards to the embezzlement of over N60b of his state's fund. This is according to a suit filed by a certain Leo Ekpeyong. He's escaping under medical reasons.

Thief! Ole!! Barawo!!!

Ghanaman signing

11. Na wetin money fit do be that. Get well soon Okpa!

12. And he commissioned a state of the art hospital not too long ago? When are we going to learn that there no apc or pdp.just bunch of thieves. Leaving us the masses to fight and kill ourselves on top political parties while they jolly away

13. What happens to the other road user that he collided with? What if the occupant of the Oda car cannot afford to go abroad for proper checkup. So Nigerian hospitals are not good enough to treat him? Smh for this country. Or is he trying by all means to cover his HIV status? Just asking.

14. Is there no good hospital in this country? Believeall

15. But he built a state of the art hospital in Akwa Ibom why can't he use that one? Anyways I wish him speedy recovery

16. I wish Quick recovery sir, but make una try upgrade our medical facilities here to standard abeg. Atleast your accomplice in the said accident can have access to better treatment too. Oga abi I lie

17. MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o

I wish him all the best.
    ^
    ^
    ^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

18. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    Money speaking,lagos today,london tomorrow..so he cannot get berra treatment here in 9ja eh kwa?...who dem dey leave 9ja hospital for??...yeye people..
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma*

19. And someone rightly said it here yesterday that from the hospital he'll head straight to the airport to get medical attention abroad. Thank God he's ok but when will they do things right here? When?

20. he built a world class stadium but forgot to build a hospital.

21. Ha! Witches in his village are pursuing him.

All the innocent teen blood he has been using are crying out for justice.

22. He's got the cash. If Buhari can stop Nigerian politicians from flowing abroad for medical treatment, it'll be one good step towards curbing corruption but I know he won't cos they're all the same and what is good for the goose is also good for the gander. In other words, what is good for PDP is good for APC.

23. Why is a senator with 5 aids for goodness sake. that is how they spend our money o.

24. Where are all the Hospitals he claimed he byilt, God will punish you surely,,,,
    Now lets assume a normal civil servant that voted had this accident ?? will he also be able to take himself abroad,,,

25. thank God for his life

26. I know it will come to this, so m not surprised at all.

27. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Mehn... Our politician no dey try at all for us i swear..... Criminal..... #NowPlaying>> as e dey hot: biglittle....

28. As usual, that's their method

29. Someone mentioned it here that as soon as he is discharged, he will be flown abroad. Hope he went along with his driver abi that one no get cut too?

30. When there is money what did you think will happen,I can't insult you but try and give us a good hospital and employed people that are ready to work.

31. Na because money dey now,may God save us from all this cheats

32. Thank God he is ok. But come to think of it dis politicians neva treat themselves here.

33. Didnt he commisssion a world class hospital in Akwa Ibom in May 2015? Why didnt he go there for treatment since he said its d best? Hmmmmm,may God deliver these politicians from lies IJN. Wicked people