Kenya's Supreme Court has said that the government should abide by a lower court's decision to give teachers a pay rise of at least 50%.
The teachers' pay body had argued that it cannot afford the increase awarded by the industrial court.
The dispute over teachers' pay goes back 18 years, with a pay deal struck in 1997 only partially fulfilled.
The government has not yet reacted and it is still not clear where the new money will come from.
The BBC's Abdinoor Maalim in the Capital, Nairobi, says the teachers were happy about the court's decision, which means that the lowest paid teacher should now get $240 (£150) a month.
Teachers had threatened to strike if the pay rise is not included in their next salary payment.
BBC.
hmmmm
ReplyDeletethey deserve it.
DeleteCool.
DeleteYour comment will be visible after approval
Nice step
DeleteThis is the kind of thing we should copy!
It's good. Nigeria should try and emulate this. Teachers are poorly paid here hence you see them bringing groundnut to sell in school and breaking melon in between classes.
ReplyDeleteTeachers in public schools you mean right and those road side private public schools. But good private schools pay well o. Infact I don't mind teaching in one of such schools.
DeleteCase study. Lol
DeleteLWKMD. Now this cracked me up. @selling groundnut and breaking melon in btw class. Lmao
DeleteThat's nice
ReplyDeleteNice one....Teachers deserve more...
ReplyDeleteNice one. There's Dignity in Labour.
ReplyDeleteNigeria should emulate same. Only few states in Nigeria pay teachers about the same amount mentions here.
Teachers should be highly regarded please!
It will be a great joy if the government should abide by a lower court's decision to give teachers a pay rise of at least 50% because teachers are not well paid at all.
ReplyDeleteGood. hope they keep to the promises and give teachers their dues. No more your reward in heaven because heaven far for some teachers oo
ReplyDeleteI feel so happy today,i thank God for adding another year to my age,thank God for the wonderful gift of life,do i have a birthday mate in the house.#team happy gal
ReplyDeleteIt's necessary. I wish Naija will also do same.
ReplyDeleteVery nice.
ReplyDeleteTeachers deserve better remuneration.
Nice one this should be done here in Nigeria teachers are poorly paid and it is affecting d quality of education.
ReplyDeleteWow! Perhaps I should port to Kenya! Going to dust my papers now!
ReplyDeleteTHELMA ENEMUWE said...
ReplyDeleteGood for them!
*faithful BV enemuwe thelma*
We need this in Nigeria. NCE graduates are paid as little as N5,000 per month. It's ridiculous!
ReplyDeleteThey better pay those teachers.
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
ReplyDelete.
Congrats to them teachers though.....
Hey,you forgot to add "no doubt"
DeleteNigeria, always behind advancement in social upliftments of her people. Can't wait for the day a teacher will tell me I'm fixing to buy a house.
ReplyDeleteNice to hear. Naija should also make such law. N also avoid all dis contract staff things, it's just extortion.
ReplyDeleteContract staff things is just cheating,the height of it
DeleteThis should also be the portion of Naija teachers
When will Nigeria do the same? Imagine being a teacher for 20 30 years and a child you taught is recieving 5 times your salary. Smh.
ReplyDeleteWhen will Nigeria do the same? Imagine being a teacher for 20 30 years and a child you taught is recieving 5 times your salary. Smh.
ReplyDeleteSame should happen to Nigeria
ReplyDeleteNaija should do the same and encourage teachers. Haba! They'll employ a graduate as a clerk in a government school and still give u a class to handle like a normal teacher and pay you peanuts. Rubbish
ReplyDeleteNaija should do the same for Doctors oh abeg