For people with multiple sex partners who solely rely on condom for protection against sexually transmitted infections (STI), this latest study should be a note of warning. Experts have discovered that STIs such as Human Papilloma Virus (HPV) and a new strain of gonorhea can be transmitted through skin to skin contact even with condom use.
At a cancer meeting held recently at the University of Nairobi, Kenya, Cancer specialists revealed that contracting one of the deadly viral infections, HPV can no longer be prevented by condom.
One of the speakers, an Obstetrician, Gynaecologist and a principal research scientist at the Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI), Nairobi, Dr. Nelly Mugo, said that even as we take protective measures using condoms against most STIs including HIV/Aids, the rubber sheaths cannot provide 100 per cent protection against the Human Papilloma Virus (HPV).
“Condoms offer 60 per cent of protection against HPV thus the virus can spread through skin-to-skin contact with infected areas of the skin not covered by the condom such as the scrotum, anus, or vulva,” Dr Mugo said.
The 2014 Kenya Demographic and Health Survey, released during the meeting, shows that male condoms are the most popular preventive method against STI among sexually active unmarried women.
Unmarried men too were found to prefer condoms as the popular method to protect against STIs. But for a virus whose disease has no symptoms, the inefficacy of condoms allows for faster and wider spread, especially amongst those with multiple sex partners, the experts revealed.
“The only 100 per cent effective way to prevent HPV transmission is abstinence from any sexual contact, including oral, anal, and vaginal sex. Women can have the virus without having any symptoms but the chance of females infecting men is estimated at less than five per cent of the rates of male-to-female transmission. There are more than 100 types of HPV and about 13 of these are cancer causing, with HPV types 16 and 18 causing approximately 70 per cent of all cervical cancers worldwide, Dr. Mugo said.
He however advised couples to be faithful to their partners if in a relationship, while suggesting vaccination and screening for women.
Sadly, it Is physically difficult to tell whether your partner has the HPV virus unless they have private part warts, yet those who do not have visible signs can also spread the virus, the experts said.
-National Mirror
UNA DON HEAR?
Tell them!
ReplyDeleteAm a very faithful woman, others make una hear oh,until they produce something that can stop the spreading of HPV,please abstain from multiple sex partners
DeleteFor those who belive almighty condom can save them. Say no to premarital sex. One faithful partner is all you need.
ReplyDeleteYou are confused. See how you are contradicting yourself
DeleteAnony 11:39 you are the confuse one o
DeleteGhen! Ghen!
ReplyDeleteFor all you that love playing away match, be warned...
Odiegwu! Sickness and infections everywhere. God help us.
ReplyDeleteAbstinence is the best.God is wiser than human that is why he commanded us to flee fornication.
ReplyDeleteHumm only God will help us.
ReplyDelete*Larry was here*
Oh, Jesus fix dis!
ReplyDeleteGood news!!
ReplyDeleteKeep your wandering 3rd member in check o!
For the ladies, tie your legs.
It's not that hard.
Fornication is a sin, una no go hear
This isn't new na...iv known for some years now
ReplyDeleteMr Yesterday Chronicle,Mr Oral,u don hear?.
ReplyDeleteAnyways,i dont know what to say.
Let me tell them for FB
Abstinence or noting.
ReplyDeleteGod save women that their husbands jump from skirt to skirt.
Ok o
ReplyDeleteWe don hear!
No be small una don hear. so woman no go dey gbensh even with condom. Na wa oo. I need to hold body. Let me tell my dear to go for protection.
ReplyDeleteNa bagco bag sure pass!
ReplyDeleteSay NO to pre marital sex!
Lol
DeleteWahala don dey naa!
ReplyDeleteNa to dey wear boxers or jeans, commot prick from the zip hole, then double the condom.
Deletethe thing wey toto and prick dey cause eeh...
ReplyDeleteO GOD pls save we wives ..
i immunise my self with the blood of JESUS
Nsogbu di! God please help us.
ReplyDeleteCondoms are not safe too...This new types can tear for the world.
ReplyDeleteNa razor u carry?
DeleteYou are not wearing it properly if thats the case.
DeleteDear God, help my hubby to remain faithful and give me too the grace to stay faithful in marriage. Amen.
ReplyDeleteTank God say condom still dey work wen we still dey town.
ReplyDeletena wa o, how oloshos go come do now?
ReplyDeleteKweshiun
DeleteJasmine you dey gbongbolo ciga
DeleteOld news. Condoms never protected against HPV. Africans be reporting stale news and discoveries. Nonsense
ReplyDeleteNa Serious wahala be dat o!!
ReplyDeleteAlright.
DeleteI'v heard!!!
So no more kpanshing all those sweet preeks anymore?
What a life sef!!!
Na wa!
ReplyDeleteAbstinence is better na,who knows what river their partner swims in,...protected or not.
#....pretending to be a mermaid
hmmmm
ReplyDeleteTotal abstinence
Ooooh Fuck....
ReplyDeleteThey've spoilt show for u abi?
DeleteWe know
ReplyDeleteGhen ghen!!
ReplyDeleteThis is bad news biko
So we should all stop having sex.
ReplyDeleteHian
XOXO MYSTERY
Na so o
DeleteThis comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
ReplyDeleteOnuku
DeleteI sure say u no hold shishi for pocket
Chei.
DeleteA stubborn grasshopper .............
Skin to skin sweet die!
DeleteGood to know
ReplyDeletethat means people can contract this disease in public places (bus, church e.t.c).
ReplyDeletewahala dey o
Lmaooooooo. Na Ebola?
DeleteLol
DeleteHahahahaahahhaahaaahahaha @ Ebola
Deletehehehe e don be o
ReplyDelete#GODWIN™
Only God know why he put those sensitive parts for center of human body. In between 2 limbs of doom. Nawa
ReplyDeleteI just hope people will learn to zip up with this
ReplyDeleteThank goodness for a guy like me that's sticks to his only woman, she's my superwoman, my friend, and my everything. So, we're good.
ReplyDeleteIt pays to have a monogamous relationship, guys play smart yall, ladies if he isn't worth it close ya damn legs, alright?
Your girlfriend is yours when she is with you, be wise
DeleteI know so. G
DeleteThis is end timeoo. Disease will be plentyoo pls God help us. Researchers enter lab and develop something else pls for innocent people.
ReplyDeleteFor your cakes, small chops and co, call idealcakes on 07054561379
Chen ghen.kasala don burst....
ReplyDeleteLmbo!
ReplyDeleteWon't stop some people though.
hian!!
ReplyDeleteHeheheheh....bad news for guys o..wich one be HPV again....wen I was even jubilating the drug for HIV is out
ReplyDeleteNa wa ooooh dis one na really bad market.
ReplyDeleteLolz.
ReplyDeleteBad market for runs girls and oloshos.
Make dem hear, pple wey no fit put dir d**k and p***y for one place.
ReplyDeleteInteresting...be faithful 2 urself or your partner.
ReplyDeletePrayer to keep to your SPOUSE and your SPOUSE keep to you FAITHFULLY
ReplyDeleteWetin big prick and sweet pussy dey go com dey do na?
ReplyDeleteDouble wahala for ashewo, hw dem go survive now...maybe jazz sha
ReplyDeletereason why people need to stop being promiscuous..... runs girls una don hear?? females get the worst hit when it comes to hpv