Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Marriage And Why Most Nigerian Men Run Away From It.

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Marriage And Why Most Nigerian Men Run Away From It.

There have been questions why there are so many single women of marriageable age in the country who aren't in any relationship let alone a serious one and why eligible bachelors seem to be decreasing in numbers by the day. Infact it seems the more readily available single ladies we have, they less number of eligible bachelors.

When it comes to romance, Nigerian men are known to be actively engaging. Apart from their culture of carrying the financial burden of relationship with women, they harness every opportunity to appeal to their lovers, be it on social-network sites, in their respective offices, religious organizations, gym centers, parks, clubs among others.

Despite the many romantic attributes that could be said of men in Nigeria, women still hold a contrary account about them. Predominant among the contrary views women hold against men here is that no matter how romantic they are, getting them to the altar for marriage could be very challenging.

So, what are those factors that scare Nigerian men away from marriage?  Here are some reasons that might be responsible for most men's jittery feelings to the Marriage issue.please after reading through,add a reason you feel might be missing.....

1. - No wife materials

Common among some men is the reservation that there is scarcity of ‘wife-materials’ in Nigeria. In this case, they are not referring to ladies not being in quantifiable distribution among men, what they are complaining about is that most ladies of this generation lack the necessary attributes that will qualify them for the lifetime commitment called marriage. If this is the case, time of quality search can help heal the wound of such man.

2. - They get sex freely without marriage than in time past

Realizing now that they can get sex more easily than in times past, when ‘virginity’ for women was a pass value to marriage, some men now feel lot of women today have lost it when it comes to keeping themselves whole. But, this might not be the fault of women as promiscuity is not an exclusive act that can be carried out without the consent of either gender.

3 - Nigeria weddings are expensive

In a country where a man is expected to marry a woman in three different kinds of wedding- Religious, Traditional and Court, the cost of marriage no doubt is something men find very intimidating. As of last year, the average Nigeria wedding cost something like N500,000 and the it goes upward from that to more unimaginable cost. For most people, especially in this economy, that’s a lot of money. But all we advise is that men should try and cut their coat according to their material

4 - In search of a ‘working class’

Today, most Nigerian men are in search of a wife capable of  sharing financial responsibilities with them. Gone are the days when men marry ‘full-house-wives’, the increasing cost of  living has tilted most men in favor of ladies who have a means of livelihood and willing to share  with their man, the burden of building a home.

5 - Fear of freedom ending

There is a common belief among some men that marriage puts an end to one’s freedom. Single men today are much more proud about not being dependent and being on their own. They fear marriage because they will become answerable for every action they take to their spouse. That is one big responsibility some men are not ready to take up.

6. Career

One of the predominant question most men will secretly ask themselves before making the decision to marry are, Will my partner be agitated about me being in office for long hours? Will he or she understand my love for my career? These are cogent questions and answering these questions could slow the decisive actions to be taken on marriage plans.

7. Unrealistic Expectations from In-laws

Some parents have set certain standards for anyone who will marry their child, either be it that such expectations are from the groom parent’s or bride, the regulations sometimes affect relationships. If the expectations are behavioral, the challenge might be little but are some discouraging situations where parents decide the profession qualifications, properties, etc that must be acquired by the suitor before they can give out their child to him in marriage.

8.Trust issues

Most times, people fear to get committed into a relationship because of trust issues. Some men have been bruised in their past relationships and therefore they don’t want to put themselves out there.

9.Bad Testimonies from Married couple

Generally, most men get intimidated by marriage as a result of the testimonies they hear from those in marriage. Before getting into marriage talks, it is a common thing among men to ask their brothers, friends who are already married on how the social institution is and the testimonies they get are most times discouraging, as such they fear their marriage will be a replica of the testimonies they have gathered.

10.Cultural limitations

Nigeria is a country with diverse culture and The diversity sometimes create challenges for men who are in search of women with similar culture. The good thing though is that those who endeavor to explore inter-cultural relationships get the opportunity to gain an in-depth appreciation of other customs.

Vanguard Reportage.

Let me also add unemployment As a factor. Most of our men/bachelors are either unemployed or underemployed. So how can marriage even cross the mind of a brokeass brother? Dont ask me!

108 comments:

1. Stella, husband isn't scarce,what is scarce is husband material.
      Another thing is lack of funds......you think all this men parading up n down don't want to marry.........money no dey 2 marry.

2. Men with their ish..Thank God i got the best man to my self *feelingblessed*

3. Virginity ko virginity nI.. ow many of em men can boast of being a virgin yet dem go deh find virgin to marry.. tsssst

1. Knock virginity out of it patapata. No time has it ever being said to marry a virgin man. It's always a virgin man. Nowhere not in the bible not in your village. Each time proof of virginity is mentioned is the girl not the boy and girls couldn't do anything about it nor can they today. A man crazy or sane can openly declare virginity as a condition, no woman can declare that a man that is not a virgin should not present himself to her for marriage

4. I don't agree with the first ooo "No wife material"... Wife material dey but most guys' eyes dey up looking for artificial girls.

Good girls dey but most men dey look for beautiful, elegant infact miss World, forgetting the key thing CHARACTER..

Most men dey run away from responsibilities.... They don't want anybody to control them, monitor them or tie them down, they want to be free as bird...

1. Some guy looked at me sometimes ago and said u are a good wife material but not flashy enough. I couldn't make sense out of the statement so didn't bother getting him to explain it. I just tire

2. U don't use make up ?@anon12:49

3. Where d wife material dey?
      What yardstick do u use to qualify someone as wife material? For me, u have 2 be versatile. Some of u think being a virgin and a good cook makes u wife material, u r soo wrong. Soo many girls are unmarriable. Its like saying cos u have a1 in a course makes u a good student. Rather having c4 in all courses makes u a better student. I still dey find my own material

4. Anon 12:49 even if u were as flashy as Regina askia a man who has his eyes is on d road will look 4 a reason to leave

5. Chikito a.k.a FinalSay28 July 2015 at 14:55

@Tuscany - lol. Are u a husband material? Can u beat ur chest and let your sister marry a man like you? If you can't, then you're not a husband material too.
      You people think being a fine boy, with swag and money and popping champagne and speaking English or having a successful career makes you a husband material.
      Most Nigerian men lack basic communication skills. They don't even know how to talk to a woman. Or get to her soft side so she can listen to them. Or treat her nice in front of people. They don't even listen to their woman's advice or do things to make her happy. They are stuck up in this 'husband scarce' mentality. So they dish or whatever they like.
      These are the things that made the western world create laws to favor women and the men sat up!! The things Nigerian men do to women, they can't try it to the same women in some countries.
      They want u to cook like Chef Jeff, dress like Kim kardashian, walk like Naomi Campbell, sit like Kender Jenner and be hardworking enough to be as rich as Folorunso Alakija. Meanwhile they are stuck on their butt after drinking rounds of alcohol with pot belly and trying to gather change to chase girls all over town.
      She gives birth to children that bear your name and you will be talking to her as if it's her fault that she's fatter than when you married her- did she impregante herself? Or u tell her to leave her job to cater to YOUR children so you can be roaming around and chasing girls
      Anybody who gives these Naija men space to do rubbish will always get rubbish. If only Nigerian women would focus on making money and making themselves happy first, these men won't come here and writing rubbish.
      Who even uses 500k to marry wife? Is it a single canopy wedding on ur street you want to do? Joker!
      I've seen badly behaved, vain, lazy, flashy, daft runs babes marry and have EXPENSIVE weddings. And men who spoil them silly not allowing their pretty wives work. If your money no reach, find a girl in your class and stop trying to squeeze all of us inside one box. Water get level Biko!!

6. Indeed Chikito, on this matter, you ARE the FinalSay.

You said it all, nothing more to add.
      Chop knuckle abeg!!

7. High 5 chikito! You murdered it!

8. Nne! U hit the nail on the hummer. Tru talk

5. Unemployment is the number one problem for guys in nigeria

6. Blog Analyser: fear of freedom ending

7. They want decent girls, when dey have spoilt and slept wit all d young girls in their neighborhood.

1. I wonder why the neighborhood girls will agree to sleep with someone who has not married them in the first place.

They are actually the dumb ones making life more difficult for the ladies who are ready for marriage.

If girls hold onto their cookies till marriage, the guys will be pushed to do the needful or visit disease infested brothels or commit rape and hopefully face the music.

Konji will assist many bachelors in making that gigantic mental leap to change their marital status.

Guess what, infidelity will also reduce. The girls are shielding their cookies from whoever is not their husbands, remember.

Dear ladies, a lot of the power is in your hands.

Raise the value of womanhood again. The men will find a way to become responsible men again.

2. Chikito a.k.a FinalSay28 July 2015 at 15:10

So why are many virgins still single? And runs babes marrying.
      That's how they be looking for virgin and still enter trap of runs girl who has gone for vagina reconstruction.
      Look, it doesn't matter. People make mistakes. A Virgin won't make her a better wife or make more men marry her. It won't keep a man, cos men easily forget. Even my mama wey marry as virgin, my papa still show am small pepper. There are other attributes a woman must have, asides being a virgin that will prepare her for womanhood and marriage - one being a sharp brain!
      There is no straight cut blessing to being a virgin. Yes you are cut off from STDs, HIV/AIDS and the spiritual hazards of fornication. But don't make babes think 'because I am a virgin, I will get the perfect best man on earth as a reward' let girls remain virgins because they have decided to keep themselves as commanded by God. Because this mentality has ruined a lot of virgin's lives.
      I know a virgin who was chased for marriage and after one year of marriage the stupid husband chased her out of the house that her father even helped to pay rents, coming up with all sorts of excuses. We knew he was only looking for the tight pussy and he got it. This marriage was dead on arrival but no one could convince her cos she would say 'I am a virgin, so my marriage would be the best'
      The girl went suicidal and she was even pregnant at d time. I pity her no be small. But I can't blame her it's the mentality passed around.
      Dear 'I am a virgin' babes, do not get carried away by the guys who tell u they are marrying you because you kept yourself for marriage. MANY times their attitudes change. For him it's just to brag that 'I was first' to friends and family. So whether you are a virgin or not, shine your eye. Or you go still enter one chance.
      And the fact that you're not a Virgin doesn't mean you can't clean up your mess. You can decide to close your legs and pretend to be a mermaid and ask God for forgiveness. He is merciful.
      By d way, real men no dey even carry this virginity matter for head. They look for the main qualities, as long as d babe isn't a loose whore. She may have had a few relationships that didn't work out - big deal??

3. Mehnnnn... This Chikito... See as you de make my head de plait dada on top your comments.

Comments making sense.

4. @chikito, preach sister! I'm officially a fan.

5. Dear Chikito, kindly note that I never mentioned virginity as the only qualification for a blissful marriage.

I still stand by the fact that if all normal women in general decide to sleep with only men who have fully married them (their husband), it will make more men aspire to marry on time as married sex will be something worth looking forward to and infidelity will reduce.

Women have so cheapened sex nowadays that pre-marital and extra-marital sex is so common giving the male folks the laxity to handle marriage anyhow.

As long as guys can get free sex from ladies they are not married to, why would they bother about giving up that freedom on time.

Then if all women magically decide to sleep with only their husbands, who will the cheating men sleep with except their wives? A situation where a man can step out of his marriage to bang outside is helped by the fact that there are women out there who can offer them sex without marriage.

Baby mamaism will be nonexistent.

I'm simply just stating it the way God created it to be. Sex ought to be enjoyed only within a solid relationship like marriage.

8. Talking about the freedom part, well, I don't understand the I won't be free part. Free to do what? To still hang out with your bachelor friends when you have a family waiting for you at home or what? I dare say that if you're really into the person you call your wife, you'll be willing to spend much time with her.
    Staying long hours in the office, oh well, when you don't have issues, you should look forward to going home after work.
    It's good to marry a woman who has something doing career wise but truly, there are some women who are hardworking but are not business savvy and have not gotten the white collar job.
    Well, there's no manual on how to get a good partner... Put God first and other things will fall in place.

9. I SAY YES TO ALL DES POINTS...DEY R TRULY THE REASON, GOD HLP US ALL, BOTH MARID N SINGLES...TOMJERRYSWIT

10. I concur with d writeup..Ngwa single guys,brothers and uncles gwegwegwes over to una..
    Will read comments!

11. Hmmmm

Sensible something

I read everything for the very first time

12. Wife material plenty abeg and saying Nigerian wedding is expensive is a no for me, you do what your purse can carry. I have seen just family and friends wedding in a parlour. The pastor blesses them on Sunday and that's it....the rest I can agree

13. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    Nodding in total agreement with the listed points.
    *faithfil BV enemuwe thelma*

14. Toh
    KD blog visitors say yeah.....

15. Economic reasons....d guys that are soposed to marry the ladies are either unemployed or not earning enough. We did d study/survey recently. D employers are not making it easier too.some of Dem will only employ male applicants with 1st class or 2:1 ,while females are employed in d same companies with 2:2 or 3rd class.

Anoda reason is d cost of d wedding...a guy had to lie to his fiancee whose genotype is AS dat he's also AS when he saw d engagement list from d ladies family,meanwhile he's AA ...d guy run.later d lady had to threaten her family to reduce it ot she'l elope with him.
    Den,na ashewo full town. Again,wen u read some comments (esp chronicles)u'l realise most ladies r not marriable..Dem go do single n mingle tire,no be curse

1. Ashewo full town? Who are those people sleeping with them? Men or women? And what do u call them?

Bitchpls u should be sitting on somebody's middle finger for writing dis crap.

2. Chikito a.k.a FinalSay28 July 2015 at 15:12

If he can't get a job can't he do business? Excuses for lazy men.

16. Lol.
    Stella, you sure you are a nice woman?
    What exactly do you mean by a brokeass brother?
    But I support men making money first b4 marriage. To avoid bringing in children into this world to come and suffer unnecessarily.

1. Don't forget that money has wings.

2. She means you, YOU ARE A BROKE ASS BROTHER! !!

3. Bwahahahaha..Why d brokeass brother pain u pass? Are u one? Are u nolonger a money maker?

17. Lol.
    Stella, you sure you are a nice woman?
    What exactly do you mean by a brokeass brother?
    But I support men making money first b4 marriage. To avoid bringing in children into this world to come and suffer unnecessarily.

18. Laziness....Wen men refuse to work hard enough to take care of responsibilities

19. Thank God am off the market. Aunty gwes them better be worried. Don't even try to cuss me.

20. Generational Curses: This is another factor.Perhaps,one of d biggest one sef.
    Some men are cursed dat even if u Bring a lady of marriageable Age,with d Face of A Goddeess and d sex appeal of Halle Berry,combine it wit d domestication of XP baby,my Crazy humour.Let d said Chick be as slim as Linda Eze.As God-fearing as Lady Buchi.

Let her be as financial independent as Ollie baby or as gentle and meek like ChyAdaJesus.If she like,Let her papá get money like Ezenwanyi's hubby.

Let her be as witty as Charismatic Diva,Quickie and Olori combined together and as peaceful as an Ángel.if she wants Let her be as a Tiger in bed like Irene.Or as sophisticated and posh like Roseflower.Maybe as smart as Bloggie and She might be as Beautiful as Qutie.Or as well-learned as Sabo.If she wants Let her be as Wise as Iphie or as good as Sparkles and D Duchess lady put together. A cursed Man wil Still see Such a lady and tell u "The girl is not my speck"

Hahahhahahaha and he wil stil go ahead and do d "dumping" o.Upon all his shortcomings o!

Fore-father things. Ose aka things.

1. Bruhahaha
      General's wife no go kill me
      Generational curse kwa?
      Make them no marry we no beg them

2. Africans with their spirituality. What will u say about the western world that does not believe in generational curse.

3. U forgot to add...As pretentious and asslicking as The General'a Wife..Yimmu!

4. Assumption they say,is d mother of all fuck ups....dias a name on dat list u have to cross out...direct opposite of what u wrote about her
      Ur crazy humour?..must have lost mine not to notice den...hehehe

5. Very nice n funny comment using blog ID's. Niiiiccceee composition.

6. Ma'am pls chop kisses for this critical n funny analogy of some bvs' characters. This really crack me up!!!!

7. Chikito a.k.a FinalSay28 July 2015 at 15:13

You're sooooo right!!

8. hahhahahahahaha
      Nwuye G!
      Analyser of universe!
      E ku ise o!

9. Spontaneous,Golden Mummy,Better Pikin,Chikito,Iphie N Bloggie,i follow una laugh too. Hahahahhahahaaha

@ Chikito,nne kedu?Bn a while.Kedu ije?

21. This u ve pointed out is the truth! D real truth.. we as women must continue to improve ourselves, spiritually and everyway if indeed marriage iis on Urr mind!

22. Men dont run from marraige. they need it only most of them dont have money.

Then bad mouth women full town wey go abuse their ancestors if they dont meet up to the standard. who want to die for face me i slap you house.

1. Bad mouth women like u abi? No wonder u never see husband marry...Aunty gwegz.

2. Oloshi poverty stricken wife. So for ur mind u are married. How is ur agboro husband doing.ode oshi

3. Lmao....na wa o! Really missed this blog

23. Nice article. If an eligible bachelor refuses to get married for the above flimsy excuse, then he's such an a-hole. He should keep sowing his wild oats until he becomes an uncle gwegwegwe. Thats when he remembers Nkechi just turned 18 let him carry wine to her father. Men! I know their type. Unemployment might be a genuine reason, but a man will always find a way to cater for his family.

BTW Who's interested i'm a wife material 100% quality yard from the igbo extraction. Kikikikikikiki

1. Advert.
      Is this d same posh baby with gbagauns before.was it intentional or a typo error.

2. Go and look for dirty looking agbero yoruba men like u..Igbo men are too classy to marry rude bitch like u.

3. Okay, my first point is about your no3. Only nigerians of all the races in do allow themselves to be told that anything without western stamp is inferior in fact non exestent. Before I continue let me ask if this #500000cost you mentioned is the cost of making a woman your wife or the cost of celebration of making a woman your wife. Now there is nothing like religious,church or traditional wedding. Every wedding is traditional to the place where it is done and none is superior to the order. What people call white wedding is the traditional wedding of the white man invented by a certain royalty in england in the ......pls Google meaning and origin of white wedding to know it has nothing to do with church or christianity. Who can tell me where the marriage not the celebration of the popular men were conducted in the bible. Of course at cana in galilee Jesus attended the celebration not the marriage proper which was as normal done in the bride's home. My second point is that I tell all my guys and gals who complain about diffulty in marrying due to paucity of funds that they no point there because what it takes for a man to marry is not money but a gud functional prick. You will make the same remark the make but let me tell you what each woman without exception tell me. If I prove that the man has all the money on earth but his prick doesn't work I will immediately do Ben Johnson. However if I prove he has a solid productive and pleasure giving dick but has no 'money' yet very hard working, I will encourage him to bring even if one bottle of drink, that I will help convince my papa to accept anything,that even if my pipo say otherwise, they will come back to apologise to you when you hammar because am sure you will. That's one reason you c ppl who complete bride price after children. So any marriageable yet unmarried man is suffering either fear or ignorance because every type of wife is available even today....the voodoo, the not so voodoo and the outright bitch. It only takes the man to summon up courage and go.

4. Ur own material na local satin.
      Kikikikikiki

24. The truth is always bitter!!
    Nevertheless; All written above is just the true fact as to why most bachelors ain't having marriage on their mind at the moment..

XTREME MIXTAPE VOL.2;CLICK TO LISTEN/DOWNLOAD

@MARTINS ABOY

25. I remember when i was still seeing my ex.. we met during our service year. then ut used to be rosy due to the fact dat our allawie money was still very sure.. infant, we decided den dat we would get an apartment together after service, continue with my business( cos i was running a business along side ) den he would look for job.
    But everything changed after some months.. i realised i was d one doing too much of d spending . bin d first born.of the family, he had responsibilities( 6 siblings + his parents oo) so d allawie money no ey even reach 1week sef .
    so, along d line i started getting tired.. My dreams of staying back to run my business changed cos i knew if i had stayed back, bobo go still dey with me nd he no go wan go home. omo ; na so i carry my things run comot after service oo.
    My point is, we women sef don ey act like men now oo.. nobody want marry husband ey be liability .

BigB

26. Wife material plenty abeg d guys just ain't ready to b husband material. Dey want to eat dia cake nd still have it. Most set unrealistic qualities on women when dey haven't improved on demselve one bit. For cost of wedding, why not do what u cn afford moreover d most luxurious wedding ain't d most successful. What do dey need freedom to do again, getting married doesn't mean dey are being enslaved buh dey still want d philandering act of a random bachelor. And wen dey have got free access to sex why wud dey want to get married wen it makes dia access limited.

God help our generation, we know d truth buh ain't willing to accept it! Cheers!

27. Let me add weird mindset. I just overheard a cab man telling his colleague that marriage is bad news for man, in his words "immediately a man gets married, bad bad thing go begin to happen, his business go crumble, things go begin go down... in fact woman na bad luck". I just shook my heard and told him to change his mindset.

28. Whether we make excuses now till eternity, people will still get married and make it work. All the above are not valid reason to scare people away. what i think has taken over is that we have gone or taken the institution of marriage in the wrong way and not the way God intended from the beginning.
    Every electronics comes with a manual on how to operate it, and if you fail to read and check the manual before using it,it might Mal-function or fail to work well.
    Let us go back to the word of God and ask him for direction before and during the marriage itself, He has the answer to everything.
    Her Majesty

29. I agree financially it's scary esp in Nigeria wit d high rate of unemployment but wen a man says he won't be free or have dat freedom is dat not stupid freedom to do wat or u talk of girls givin in to Sex easily den y is it every guy I meet say dey want a bad girl and marry dose girls and y is it most men marry runs girls knowin fully of dier past please dats not good enough reason and dey r a lot of wife materials everywhere ofcourse I am one and I knw a lot so dats also not a reason this marriage tin is jst God because most that are married are even unhappy even wit d money and some witout well it's jst luck u meet the one u were destined to b with

1. Chikito a.k.a FinalSay28 July 2015 at 15:35

You have said the truth dear. God will help us. But there's no real formulae to this thing.

30. The same men that rape 3 years old babies want to marry virgins. *hiss*

31. Fear of shouldering responsibilities.

32. The answer is simple most Nigerian men don't even know what they want. They just make up silly excuses, who is even going to wait for them when foreigners de lol

33. I strongly agree with all the reasons mentioned above together with the one added by Stellar!

34. Asin ehn, killing plenty marriages. Not easy at all, may God help us all.

35. Mmmmhh. This topic. It's a very serious problem for some ladies o.
    I have 2 friends, who are sisters.
    The younger sister is 36 years old, while the older sister is 39 years!
    Very embarassing ages to still be unmarried!
    Their family don fast and pray tire! No boyfriend, talkless of husband!
    Na serious matter o. No be joke.

36. Unemployment is the major cause. And most of her girls are lazy too, they don't want to do anything, they expect d man to do everything for them, that alone will send d man away. Imagine planning a wedding and your wife has nothing to contribute, up to the cloths her siblings will wear, it's the man that will buy it, how do u expect the man to be happy to marry her.

Another thing is spirituality, a young man or woman who want to settle down should be close to God. One thing that will be hard to eradicate in relationships is sex, I am not married but I do have sex with my bf (don't judge me), but still I know my God. So prayer is needed in ones life to be able to settle down maritally.

37. 'A cursed Man will Still see Such a lady and tell u "The girl is not my speck"
    'The General's wife' making sense inception of SDK!

38. I totally agree with you. Eg all these single so called naija star bleating songs like sex-starved goats. Is it money they don't have to settle down and marry. Too much free sex is tying down the destiny of their marriage.

Then loss of freedom.

And lack of resources on many levels.

Another thing could be the changing perception of the marriage institution.

Its become easier to get all the benefits without the vows and the commitments, babies out of wedlock AKA baby mama-ism, ladies cheaply fighting over themselves to offer wifely & domestic duties for a man's heart. Why will he want to give that up on time?

39. Economic hardship commonest cause

40. nice write up,i need not add more,guys continue running until u become am uncle gwegwe and die lonely and depressed

41. Men are scared of commitment in all ramification.

42. Abegi! Stupid write up, there are more jobless men in this country than women....what do they mean by no wife material????? I laugh in pidgin English!!!

Biko who wrote this crap?????? Every point raised here is what is actually wrong with the men not the women abegi!

43. Only coward men and inferior men run away from marriage.
    There are good women,they multiply whatever men give dem,women be like farm soil.
    Men made the 'bad' women bad.
    Maybe d points are cool but all I see is EXCUSES

1. Too many excuses dear. The fact is that they are confused.

44. The writer nailed it. All the points made are valid and incontestable. May I add that with sophisticated technology, urbanization and westernization, life has become increasingly difficult as everybody struggles to increase their standard of living unlike in the olden days when our parents didn't need much to settle down. It may seem like technology made life easier but I think it has made it more difficult. The average income-earner would want a good car, a flat, a generator, tastely-furnished apartment etc before getting married. Expenses like phone and laptop subscription, phone calls, fuel for generator, pampers for kids and its likes may seem affordable, but the money used for them can be channeled into better uses. Yes, technology and westernization is awesome, but we re unconsciously paying the huge price for it

45. every Saturday, somebody gets wedding.

46. All this ones coming here and preaching close legs close legs, all nah lie. I have relatives living in Festac and they always say girls are so cheap and you can get sex easily, they say you see girls walking on the streets and you think they have where they are going to but all nah lie, you stop your car before you know they are in your bedroom and the ones living with their parents even fuck pass the known prostitutes. Every week they can fuck up to 3 different girls, why will such guys bother about marriage? Even with all the STDs them no fear.

47. Lol to free sex tying down the destiny of there marriage

48. It takes a lot o maturity and discipline to settle down..Most of the men complaining and listing out various reasons why they are not yet married are simply trying to call a dog a bad name so they could hang it.
    IJELUV

49. Another reason is that some Nigerian women show too much desperation and this makes a woman very unattractive. Secondly I will suggest for those who want to get married please choose one the ways of getting married, nothing says you must do the three.

Lastly lets not forget many men too are not marriagible am a guy and I know there are a lot of useless men out there too.

50. After messing themselves up why wont they run away. You slept with anything 'sleepable' and bring curses upon yourself.

Wife material - dey for this blog sef.

Too long to read jare.

#notjustinthemoodtoreadlengthyarticles

51. If you ask me,I would say the fear of commitment and accepting responsibility attributes too.Some men want to remain babies without responsibilities for live.