Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: How To Lose Weight In Nigeria.

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

How To Lose Weight In Nigeria.

Now let's do it the NIGERIAN WAY!

''Dear Stella, thanks for making your blog a learning place. I have learned a lot from here and I'll like to give back. This is for the people struggling to lose weight. I want to share this wonderful weight loss tip that worked for me. 

HOW TO LOSE WEIGHT IN NIGERIA.

1. STOP eating eba. Replace Eba with plantain flour. You can get it in any big supermarket....price ranges from 900 to 1200 depending on where you buy.

2. Replace our normal Naija rice with basmati rice. It's also easy to get. But beware, the preparation differs from our normal naija rice,and it takes shorter time to prepare. About 10 minutes. Google how to prepare basmati rice.

3. Replace normal milk with soya milk.

4. Replace yam with unripe plantain.

5. Eat beans, if you don't like beans, eat moin moin.

6. Eat lots of salad and fruit.

Change these key things in your diet and be faithful to it, within my first month I lost 5kg. The trick is: you're depriving your body of carbohydrates and sugar, so it feeds on the fat already in your body, that way you'll lose weight even without rigorous exercise. And one more thing: don't starve yourself, eat normally, just change your diet using the tips I provided above. It will work for you too.
You're welcome!''

Sent in By concerned blog visitor.

Una don hear?To be fat to prove you are an African woman is no longer in Vogue oooh.

158 comments:

1. Lolz, I wan add weight oo, wat to do ?

1. Thanks ever so much for sharing - this is so true

2. I disagree with number two. Stay away from rice but if you must eat rice, eat with a lot of vegetables like ugu and you will thank me later.

3. She is right about Basmati rice.

I think it is quite expensive in Naija though.

Whirlwind

4. Anon,u are right, rice with ugwu and green,would break down the carbohydrates, you won't add weight once you eat it like this

5. Only the stress of swimming all this "swimming pools" on all roadsides in the united states of Aba here will make you lose A lot of weight within A week;talk more of the stress in Ariaria market....
      You see all these listed above,na my favourite oooo especially "home made Fufu"...but to add weight no even dey my gene,maybe when i leave this area sha...**wink**..
      So if you are finding it difficult to lose weight;relocate from any state that you are to Aba;and you would feel the magic on your body..

XTREME MIXTAPE VOL.2;CLICK TO LISTEN/DOWNLOAD

@MARTINS ABOY

6. Basmati rice is better and healthier than our everyday rice, less starch. Original brown rice is also very good but it's not common and is quite expensive.

7. English na my problem29 July 2015 at 20:01

No rice is better, even with basmati rice highly consumed in Asia, the Asian have high rate of diabetes. I would say, replace it with either couscous, quinoa, If you like bean more of linsen

8. Basmati rice is pretty expensive to some people, I bought it for like 12k at shoprite, not everyone can buy that small bag for that price when X2 of the normal rice is lesser.

9. No be small thing on top weight loss matter... E easy to fat but e nor easy to lose weight... Hmmmm

10. Na so person go do get ulcer die. Abeg eat oh my people just remember moderation is key

11. Ugu only the reduce the quantity of rice and makes you full without eating much, it doesn't break down carbohydrate.

12. You can eat brown rice, and instead of Eba eat wheat.

13. Wheat to replace eba is not even advisable. Try millet or plantain flour.

14. A beg Abakaliki is more healthy than any rice in the whole world. It is unbleached and unpolished. All the good load God made it with is intact. It is not grown with hormone. Use portion control because every rice is high in carbohydrates.

15. Stella, Like say you know my problem.

I gained 15Kg in 12days or less. Now to burn am na wahala.

I know of Olive oil and English PEAR or Green Tea, works for me but na patience go be your middle name ooh and skip lunch if you can and deal on more fiber to keep you fill.

2. Thanks for the info. ..u not far from the truth. Fat no good ooh!..u spend more shopping for clothes. Will heed ur advice

1. Yes o @osasere...lemon and ginger does d magic

2. English na my problem29 July 2015 at 20:04

@?????? And Osasere keep killing yourselves with lime and ginger, mind you, excess of it becomes toxic to the body.

3. Lime makes me very hungry

4. Please how does the lime and ginger work? What is the recipe pls. Thanks

5. Naturelle,how do you mix it?

Help a sister o

6. How can one use d lemon and ginger plssssss?

7. Please how..do u take it with water like squeeze the lemon into a cup of water or how please educate me I need to shed some weight

8. Lol. Google lemon detox or master cleanse detox for more info. Mix ur lemon, apple cidar vinegar, cinnamon and honey (all in small quantities, about 1-2tsp) in a cup of boiled water and drink when it's warm. 1st thing in d morn n last @ nyt.
      Some people use only half lemon and water though.
      Lemon isn't acidic when ingested.

9. Too much lime leaches CALCIUM from the bones, making one susceptible to brittle bones especially for women
      Instead of lime TAKE LEMON & IN LITTLE QUANTITIES at a time!!

3. Nice one poster. How do one put on weight the nigeria way please.

1. Pls,do not ask this question again. I asked n received many suggestions. Now I'm struggling to regain my figure

2. English na my problem29 July 2015 at 20:07

@Radiant your request shall come to past, don't regret it later!

3. Really, thanks IreneB I will no longer ask again.
      Haha English na my problem am no longer asking,so as not to be in regret later.

4. If we comot all those things wetin remain to chop?
    Abeggi who don fat don fat. I don't bother myself about my weight. I will rather bother about making more money.
    Am a size ten in a good month and a size 12 in a not so good month. I can't come and go and kill myself.

1. As in ehn....thats wat I was thinking too. all the nice things thats wat u'll avoid. Abegi.

2. Hahahahaha. Who don fat, don fat o

3. Very funny!!!

4. Lol @ who don fat, don fat...

If you were a size 18 on a good day and a UK 20 on a bad day, I'm sure you wouldn't say this.
      The people wen need to lose weight badly go make d sacrifice.

5. SDK party aunty gwegwegwelinas una don hear? I'm on this particular diet for over 2yrs now and I've lost a lot.

Stop drinking coke and it's likes. No be every party una must chop o

6. Food is for eating. Life is for living. We don't just live to pay bills. Abeg make una chop. You only die once so live and chop everyday.

1. Hahahahahaha lmao @we don't just live to pay bills....

2. @Bianca;chop small kiss jare...
      Make i hear say i see food i no come chop..maka y na?? Am i mad??
      Life is meant to be lived so hence you are alive;eat as much as you can afford biko...gini bu checking of weight?? Taaaa!!

XTREME MIXTAPE VOL.2;CLICK TO LISTEN/DOWNLOAD

@MARTINS ABOY

3. That was how one doctor told people in a seminar what to eat and what not to eat. One man raised his hand and asked him- Doc, after following all these shebi the person will still die. See laugh eh and the Doc couldn't say a thing.

7. Oya Oluyomi i hear say you fat... Na for comment session i see am.

make all of una lose weight sharp sharp

1. You are rude.

What's your business with her weight?
      Do you know what she's struggling with privately?

It's not compulsory you must comment on every post.

2. Your comment is uncalled for, highly insensitive and very rude.
      Imagine calling out someone you haven't met based on hear say. ..
      Jeez...

3. Dats so not fair!

4. You are a big fool.. Idiot!

5. Loveme Jeje is just an uncouth someborri. SDKblog dullard.

8. Lol. Our naija men love us thick but still curvy. I might hv to work with this. Thanks poster.

9. You're kidding us right???

1. Ehn! Stop eating my eba that I love so much with egusi??! Or my ji mmiri oku? Or my native rice my mama makes? Issalie!

Abeg just limit it and work out regularly! Thassall!

2. Biko, where is the like button?

3. Hahaha, mystique u are a case.

Whirlwind

4. I tire oh. Stop eating Eva? Infact I De go market to go buy garri sef. The one wey De house don finish. To lose weight no be my problem. If I forget a meal, I don drop 1kg be dat. I lose weight faster (Monday - Friday) than I gain well ( Saturday and Sunday).

10. Nice but some people don't have to lose weight to look beautiful.for example, I prefer Ini Edo of before to Ini Edo of now,Ngozi Ezeonu of before to Ngozi Ezeonu of now.So, think twice before u lose that beautiful weight.

11. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    This one na rich people talk yu dey yarn so... Eba #120 and this one #1200. And the ecinomy is not smilling at all and who get tym to prepare salad when all this CAN stuff use for preparation is so damn expensive..... Mrs madam all hands are not equal incase yu have forgotten.....

1. Must u buy the canned stuffed. Meet aboki for junction.

2. Lmao! Weight loss is for the rich wey no get problem jare

3. Health is for everybody
      Weight loss isn't only for the rich

12. Eats eggs Atleast one everyday. Workout regularly . Food portion too is very vital. They no go hear.

13. Dis life na wa oooo people now ask me if am sick, dey said I lost weight drastically..... Some say I look old, yesterday I posted a pic on my ig page my friend call me nd my sister too telling me to bring down d pics dat I look sick and pale.... D same people na yab me say I too fat ooo......Am now trying to add a little flesh cos clothes and makeup nolonger look good on mio.

My advice is eat right, always go for check up, and learn how to love yourself d way u are.......

1. From adding small you will lose control and go back to square one o.. better dont listen to them.. I am facing the same thing but as long as I am happy with what I am seeing, na them sabi.. them say my hips, boobs and ass don dry finish but I no send o.. fat na disease. Evrything loks good on me now.. if I sit down, belle no go fold like tyre.. thank God o.

2. Don't add anything. They ll get used to you over time

3. Chick felix,don't mind them o! With time,their eyes will get accustomed to the new you. Fat is bad...very bad!

14. Yes, I do eat plantain flour. Its light and easy to prepare like wheat. Thank you ma'am.

15. am gonna try this becos l really really went to loss weight

1. There is a difference between error and mistake when writing English, you should know that was a mistake.

16. Poster,what you said is right but the best and easiest way to lose weight is through exercise...
    I eat anything I want..infact,eba and akpu with egusi and onugbo soup is my fav and I can't stay 2 days without having them...

There's no way you can tell a Nigerian to stop eating yam...
    It's not possible...meanwhile,that basmati rice does not work!...

1. I hate yam dear. Not everybody eats yam.

2. True talk.. that basmati rice thing doesn't work.. replace white rice with either brown rice, ofada, abakaliki rice, bulgur wheat, quinoa etc. Leave soft drinks, fruit juice,sweetend yoghurt, fried things, pastries like meatpie, buns, puff puff, sausage rolls etc, replace yam with sweet potato and unripe plantain, eat fish, chicken, turkey( without skin), fruits and veggies, drink lots of water.
      Exercise about 15-30mins daily. Can be brisk walks, jogfing, skipping, dancing etc.. I did all these and lost 16kg in 3months.. still maintaing my weight 1year later.. discipline is key

3. It's so possible to stay away from bad food cuz i'm a living testimony. 4months and still counting with 18kg down. Mind u, it's 70% diet and 30% exercise. Worked out at home the first month vigorously and now I just do long walks daily. Eating healthy is quite expensive but the result is amazing! Extra tips:
      Replace beef with skinned chicken or fish
      Eat oats
      Replace veg oil and palmoil with olive oil
      Replace yam with sweet potato etc
      #teamfit

17. This came after the party pictures were released.
    I see the shade tho.
    Lol.

18. Lol @ stella 's last line.
    Thanks poster

19. thank u so much poster. d other time i said i lost 8kg in 2 months and to me it wasnt encouraging cos i joined rigorious exercises in d gym and eating clean so i expected to lose
    more than that. . my third chold is 7mnths old and i can rem vividly when i started exercise after my 1st child. i lost 18kg in 3 mnths. so i tot it was going to be like that this time around. but alas am getting disappointed but not giving up. i confinded in someone and she told me its cos i v given birth as many times that single ladies or rather pple who had never given birth lose weight easily. am still trying

1. You are actually older so it may not fly off as easily as the first
      You will get there in no time squeeze 1/2 a lemon into a cup (medium mug size) of room temperature water and drink first thing when you wake up, flushes system and kickstarts metabolism
      Add salads( no cream and canned food)
      Nothing from a packet, can or carton us allowed
      Stop frying anything
      Eat vegetable soup as a meal (no meat just all sorts of fish)

2. Tie your tummy with a folded cloth while at home firmly
      SUCCESS

20. Make una no vex oh, Buh I can't change these food, these are what gives life, can't sleep if I don't eat eba at night.

21. i replaced white rice with brown rice and d taste no be am at all. pls is basmati d same taste wt brown rice cos i no fit shout. i wld rather cut portions that taste dt brown rice again

1. Forget brown rice if you dont like the taste go for bulgur wheat instead.. tastes very nice when prepared as jollof, stir-fry or with coconut milk. Use Google to check for recipes

2. My dear, we r on the same page o! Even the so called bulgar wheat nd coucous is very heartbreaking! I always cook it and end up throwing it all away. Soooooooo tasteless.

3. Basmati is far better than brown rice,basmati taste better too....cut down sugary drink ,drink lots of water and don't eat late your last meal should be by 6pm and if u feel hungry eat lots of fruits and lastly make sure you take a walk every day 40-1hrs walk.....try this ,it work for mi

4. Eat abakaliki rice, very tasty and great for weight loss, that's what I eat

5. Try red rice . Am so enjoying it .

22. You got it darling!!! Healthy eating is d way forward.

23. Stellakork biko post comments ...as e dey hot.

1. Comment ur own comment. Bvs are not clown.

2. And here is the ITK correcting fluid....

24. Stella weight loss is expensive believe me. That ish is not easy at all..

25. Correct yarn. Exactly what I did plus exercise and I lost 6kg!

26. Ewu! What of African men? I weigh 150kg and I'm 5ft 4 inches. Will it work for me? People say I'm obese but I feel I'm just fresh looking. Maybe that's why I've not seen my baby mama yet. Please who will be my baby mama? I need to carry my own ewu love junior next year. Please please somebody should be my baby mama. Ewu! Ewu! Ewu!

1. Combine eating clean with exercise. I can imagine how you look, short and round. Jisos

2. Ewu love....cut down red meat ,eat chicken,fruits,vegetable and try to cut down drinking too much alcohol and take a walk every day.Good luck.

3. It amazes me how u people take some comments seriously and even advice... Are u that dumb to believe ewu love?
      Mnyl I can't bliv ewu love is male.. I Dey shame for u oga..

4. It amazes me how u people take some comments seriously and even advice... Are u that dumb to believe ewu love?
      Mnyl I can't bliv ewu love is male.. I Dey shame for u oga..

5. Indigo.....wat ur your problem,it's by choice to believe who will want to believe and advice,no crime in giving advice.....ps get a life dumb ass.

27. GUD POINT BUT ONE CORRECTION OF EATIN NORMALLY IS OUTA IT...VE A FRND DT BEFORE CAN FNSH 2 PLATES OF FUD ONLY HIM AND ASK FOR EXTRA...MUCH OF SALAD RYT??DS FRND PUT PLNTY OF DE SALAD CREAM WCH WITHT BEING TOLD I KNW DE SALAD CREAM IS FATENIN...I THNK REDUCIN DE PORTION OF FUD U USD TO EAT ALSO HLPS..TOMJERRYSWIT

28. Whr is JayEm Agro-Allied abi nah she be Emjay..and who chased her away sef?

29. First thing you should do is calculate your BMI, there is a calculator already on Google, enter your details, see what your ideal weight should be, paste the difference with your current weight on the wall and cross as you lose.
    Let me add that you should change your oil, give palm oil a break and use Olive or coconut oil. Its healthier.

You can do all the OP wrote and still be fat if you don't do portion control. The size of your food matters, clench your fist and look at the size, that's what the size of your swallow should be.

Exercise please. It really helps, try brisk walking(walking as if you don't want to get caught in the rain) for 30 mins at first, with time you would get stamina and start extending the time and distance. If you are shy to walk in your street or gym, dance rigorously in your room or sitting room, trust me if you do shoki 150 times and shakitibobo 150 times too, you will start sweating. Try skipping too, start with 300 then add 100 extra ropes per week.

I was weighing 106kg as at 2nd May, 2015, I weigh 87 as st Sunday. Draw up a timetable, don't freelance, you would not fall for other foods that way.

Give yourself treats for every 5kg you lose, a meal treat. Finally, pray for strength to conquer everyday. Remember to take it one day at a time.

30. Naturally we are suppose to do 1700 to 2000(for female) calories a day , its always advisable to do lesser than the actual amount of calories ...or do 1700 calories and loose 2500 or more while working out ....if you can do that its certain to loose say 2 to 5 pounds a week ..

Breakfast is the most essential part of everyday meal.
    Surrey babe

31. Just tell us the bitter truth to stay away from JUNK FOOD and replace it with exercise. kpomkwem!

Me na local rice I dey find sef.

What helped me when I gave birth was - akamu without sugar, agidi/eko with ofe owerre, garden eggs, etc and I lost the preg weight within 2 months.

32. Chili to a.k.a FinalSay29 July 2015 at 18:08

Eat more veggies too! And vegetable soup is very good. Don't overcook it to be too soft. Choose white meat instead of red meat. Fish and chicken breast are good options.
    Avoid ALL sorts of carbs at night. Do veggies and lean protein if you have to eat at night. And try to sleep at least 3 hours after your last meal. It's hard not to eat late with traffic in Lagos. *sigh*

33. Weight no good o.
    Growing up,I was always the lankiest girl in the class. All arms n legs. I took everything to add weight,I didn't. 1st pikin,2nd,3rd,no way. Then I forgot all about weight n it started creeping in on me. I was ecstatic.

Then I realized I was increasing daily.( I loved d ass protrusion tho). Time to lose d fucking fat. For where?. I struggled,did everything and it started dropping off.

A tsp of Lemon juice + warm water first thing every morning at night. Part of my weight loss regimen. Aggresive xes too. Dancing with the kids and a whole lot of table tennis n treadmill

Lemon juice increases my libido too. Try it today

1. Is like u telling my story. My nick name was "turning stick" then lol cos I was soo lanky. I remember my mum use too wake me up in d midnight to eat cos dey told her night food will help me add weight. ........ life sha today am struggling with fat.......

2. I swear weight is spiritual na so i conclude .this weightloss matter i don tey for the business.though i know what to do ,

34. Some people are lucky with their weight.
    They eat all sorts and don't get fat.
    But they should stop feeling as if its by their power.

Fat kills fat kills, is it not one thing that will kill someone in this life?
    Are slim/thin people not dying everyday?
    Pls if you are comfortable with the way you are, maintain it. If not, follow the advise.

#Am not fat by the way.

35. Poster you forgot the most important tip, Water! Water!! Water!!! Drink as much as 4 to 5 litre, it helps in weight loss. Portion control and drinking of water is the key!

1. 2-3littres at the most, 4-5 litres is too much, too much of water can kill..

2. Hahaha, 4 to 5 litres? Kilode

Whirlwind

3. wow! dis wud be my 1st time commenting on SDK blog! pls dnt mix lemon, apple cider cinnamon and honey abeg, u shud chose @ max 3. and try as much as possible 2 not take honey cos most brands out dere are fake except u knw a honey bee farm house. 2 make the lemon detox : mix 2tbsp of lemon in a glass of warm water n swallow 1st thing in the morning or 2tbsp of Apple cider vinegar (Go for organic brands) mix wit 1 glass of water. u can mix ur cinnamon wit lemon for night detox before bed. also mixing ginger wit ur green tea works wondas on d tommy. and remember portion control!!! and exercise even if its 30minutes of cardio or walking wud boost ur metabolism and replace ur frizzy drinks wit water.

36. Don't eat after 6pm.
    Water melon helps too.

I can stay without eating eba for one month but as I can eat rice with vegetables.

Me n red meat Na enemies

37. Chili to a.k.a FinalSay29 July 2015 at 18:26

Oh! Drink at least 8 glasses of water everyday. And get a smoothie blender. Smoothies are very good if you're too tired to chew

38. Noted
    Thanks for the info

39. Portion Control is key.
    I weighed 100kg before marriage but now I weigh 71kg even after birthing my son.
    No shortcut to this thing oo,to shed weight,its 80% portion control,20% exercise and you will see the weight coming off.
    Discipline and Determination keeps you going.
    Datsall

40. Poster biko you're wrong,the human body needs sugar and carbohydrates to function properly. You should be preaching moderation not abstinence!

1. Abstinence is key. You get all the sugar u need from fruits and carbs from veggies, potatoes, oats, plantain, beans etc.

41. Thank you @ d poster n SBV,all have contributed immensely,pls how can one prepare plantain flour? (starting from buying unripe plaintain)cos I hate buying processed foods.

42. Abeg which one be basmati rice again

1. So u just left the cave. Welcome to the world Oluku

2. @Anon, slliky asked a question and if you don't wanna answer him, just ignore instead of replying that way.

43. Shatap, the poster is very correct . Y all looking for akpu nd rice to eat nd grow round. Have mercy on yaselves nd cut back on d carbs and sugar. Too much sweet things dey kill. Leave garri and rice alone, tush up nd eat salad do dat u can wear a two piece bikini at 50 like me.*tongue out*
    Posh babe

44. Pls is it possible / advisable to lose weight or diet during pregnancy? Am ww

45. Pls is it possible / advisable to lose weight or diet during pregnancy? Am weighing 100kg n I so hate my size and hubby keeps teasing me

1. I'm sorry but your hubby sounds like an ass (Holy Spirit forgive me). Tease a pregnant woman about weight. Good lawd!

2. Tell him the day he can carry a baby in his stomach , you can continue this line of talk!
      Now you
      Portion control
      Gentle exercises (go online)
      Stroll gently

3. O pray for consistency and grace to do the above during and after pregnancy ok?

46. No sweetie. Ur baby first. Have ur baby and den hit d gym and eat clean. Dieting and any exercise dats not mild might negatively affect ur unborn child so just be patient till u birth ur child then u can deal with d fat. Jisike Nwanyi oma. God is ya strength.

47. Lolzzz...I have tried all of these. What worked for me was "general motors detox diet(cabbage soup).its for seven days. In 5days I dropped 3kg & u talking about 5kg in a month? That's pretty long ooo!

48. Anonymous, u can't diet while pregnant oo! Plz?for your baby's sake.

49. I do not completely agree with the writer. I believe moderation is the key. A lot of adulterated processed food are in Naija market. So it actually safer for one to eat gari that u know how it is prepared to eating plantain flour that u do no know what n where it was made. Garri n yam are good source of fiber. Key word is 'portioning', drinking a lot of water, lots of fruits n veggiesand exercising. As well as staying away from fast food. Growing up in Nigeria during primary n secondary school days, there weren't a lot of obese kids because kids play outside a lot as well as walk to and fro from school.

50. I agree with you. Or better still, replace your eba with oath meal. It's so nice and filling. It's sold in most big supermarkets between 1400 and 1500.

51. Honestly the best way to loose weight is to stop night food totally, and try to right with the right portion, I tried it and it worked for me 100%

52. All so much easier said than done

53. I am 6'2" 245 lbs. My body fat percentage is 16%. I do cardio but also lift free weights 4 days a week. This is overweight? If yes then what I will do to healthy way lose weight.

54. Dօ yоu haѵе a spam issue ⲟn thіs site; I also
    аm a blogger, and I waѕ curious аbout your situation; ԝe have created some nice practices and we ɑгe looking to
    exchange strategies ᴡith otheг folks, pleasᥱ shoot me an e-mail if іnterested.

Loⲟk at my webpage; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hGmFfOmN96o

55. I'm still learning from you, as I'm improving myself.

I absolutely liked reading everything that is written on your site.Keep the posts
    coming. I liked it!

56. Hi, Neat post. There is a problem with your web site in web explorer, could check this?
    IE still is the marketplace chief and a big component of other people will miss your great writing due to
    this problem.