Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FG To Probe Controversy Over JAMB Cut-Off Marks

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

FG To Probe Controversy Over JAMB Cut-Off Marks

The Federal Government on Tuesday in Abuja pledged to look into the controversy over the cut-off marks for students seeking for admission into universities.
The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Mr MacJohn ‎Nwaobiala‎, disclosed this to State House correspondents after briefing President Muhammed Buhari on the activities of the ministry.

According to him, the matter was being resolved as consultations were on to see where adjustment could be made.

Nwaobiala, therefore, urged students who made the cut-off marks to proceed to their universities of first and second choices to write the post-University Matriculation Examinations (UME).

On the meeting with President Buhari, the Permanent Secretary said the president expressed concern over the persistent delay in the payment of teachers’ salaries by some state governments.
‎Nwaobiala‎, who led the ministry’s delegation to the briefing, said the President was “pained” by the plight of the teachers, some of who were owed up to 12 months’ salary arrears.
‎He said the President also frowned at the low rating of Nigerian universities among their peers around the World.

The Permanent Secretary, however, told the president that some of the ratings were misinterpreted ‎as the rating of Nigerian universities had been‎ improving.
He said the Ministry’s main priority for now, was to return school children, displaced by terrorist activities in the country, back to schools as well as getting more enrolment of children into schools.
(NAN)

24 comments:

1. Release comments na, madam. Na beg I dey beg. We are tired of reading news. *straight face*

1. 180 is ok considering how they fail dis jamb days

2. The FG should please probe the case of the insecurity in the country. They should probe the killings, the robberies and other heinous crimes that affect the lives of the average Nigerian in addition to this one they are doing. *sigh*

3. They better look into it

Thank God have scaled D's shit called jamb

4. SiSi TrAnz4mErs29 July 2015 at 12:25

Abeg they shouldn't jus drop standards ooh!..250 n above biko..Nigeria uni no de top 10 yet so make dem borrow brain!
    Students these days dread reading..

5. Ok. They should also look into the issue of schools not giving some students admission after meeting the cut-off marks of both UTME and Post UTME, post utme especially. Some of such students will still need to start bribing and sorting their way in. Not fair at all. If u meet the cut off, your name should automatically appear on either the merit list or second list. Everything in Nigeria is just about stress. To get admission, wahala. Job nko? Wossai! God dey.

1. Nigerians never hear am o. Jamb was trying to help but no o na to dey shout. Fyi it's only one choice in Jamb now. So if u insist on a school without carrying capacity and you aren't the sharpest and most influential prepare to write again. Fini

6. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    School wahala... Only in naija this kind wahala dey happen.....

7. Probe this
    Probe that
    Hmmmmmmmm

1. That's all we hear these days. Military talk.

2. I'll be probing my neighbour's wife while he is away.

8. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    Let fg look into it asap cos the cut off mark is ridiculous
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma*

1. No it is not. While scoring high doesn't mean you're smart and all but back then when the cut off was high, people sat up.

9. Jona government would have raised committees to look into this.

Now Buhari is now probing to look into this. ORIEGWU

10. AND UNIVERSITIES HAVE BROT DIA OWN CUT OFF MARK DIFFERNT FROM JAMB...HW DO WE DO DS KNDA THNG???TOMJERRYSWIT

11. No. Your brain needs scrapping.

12. ... d president also frowned at...
    How many youths now wanna study hard? They should make it 200 for univ and 190 for poly #my2toro

13. Is this also important? More important than BH? Na wa o