The Federal Government on Tuesday in Abuja pledged to look into the controversy over the cut-off marks for students seeking for admission into universities.
The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Mr MacJohn Nwaobiala, disclosed this to State House correspondents after briefing President Muhammed Buhari on the activities of the ministry.
According to him, the matter was being resolved as consultations were on to see where adjustment could be made.
Nwaobiala, therefore, urged students who made the cut-off marks to proceed to their universities of first and second choices to write the post-University Matriculation Examinations (UME).
On the meeting with President Buhari, the Permanent Secretary said the president expressed concern over the persistent delay in the payment of teachers’ salaries by some state governments.
Nwaobiala, who led the ministry’s delegation to the briefing, said the President was “pained” by the plight of the teachers, some of who were owed up to 12 months’ salary arrears.
He said the President also frowned at the low rating of Nigerian universities among their peers around the World.
The Permanent Secretary, however, told the president that some of the ratings were misinterpreted as the rating of Nigerian universities had been improving.
He said the Ministry’s main priority for now, was to return school children, displaced by terrorist activities in the country, back to schools as well as getting more enrolment of children into schools.
(NAN)
Release comments na, madam. Na beg I dey beg. We are tired of reading news. *straight face*
ReplyDelete180 is ok considering how they fail dis jamb days
DeleteThe FG should please probe the case of the insecurity in the country. They should probe the killings, the robberies and other heinous crimes that affect the lives of the average Nigerian in addition to this one they are doing. *sigh*
ReplyDeleteThey better look into it
ReplyDeleteThank God have scaled D's shit called jamb
Abeg they shouldn't jus drop standards ooh!..250 n above biko..Nigeria uni no de top 10 yet so make dem borrow brain!
ReplyDeleteStudents these days dread reading..
Ok. They should also look into the issue of schools not giving some students admission after meeting the cut-off marks of both UTME and Post UTME, post utme especially. Some of such students will still need to start bribing and sorting their way in. Not fair at all. If u meet the cut off, your name should automatically appear on either the merit list or second list. Everything in Nigeria is just about stress. To get admission, wahala. Job nko? Wossai! God dey.
ReplyDeleteNigerians never hear am o. Jamb was trying to help but no o na to dey shout. Fyi it's only one choice in Jamb now. So if u insist on a school without carrying capacity and you aren't the sharpest and most influential prepare to write again. Fini
DeleteHmmmm ok o
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
ReplyDelete.
School wahala... Only in naija this kind wahala dey happen.....
Cut off is 180 na
ReplyDeleteNot for all schools.
DeleteOk
ReplyDeleteHian
ReplyDeleteProbe this
ReplyDeleteProbe that
Hmmmmmmmm
That's all we hear these days. Military talk.
DeleteI'll be probing my neighbour's wife while he is away.
DeleteTHELMA ENEMUWE said...
ReplyDeleteLet fg look into it asap cos the cut off mark is ridiculous
*faithful BV enemuwe thelma*
No it is not. While scoring high doesn't mean you're smart and all but back then when the cut off was high, people sat up.
DeleteJona government would have raised committees to look into this.
ReplyDeleteNow Buhari is now probing to look into this. ORIEGWU
AND UNIVERSITIES HAVE BROT DIA OWN CUT OFF MARK DIFFERNT FROM JAMB...HW DO WE DO DS KNDA THNG???TOMJERRYSWIT
ReplyDeleteThey better
ReplyDeleteNo. Your brain needs scrapping.
ReplyDelete... d president also frowned at...
ReplyDeleteHow many youths now wanna study hard? They should make it 200 for univ and 190 for poly #my2toro
Is this also important? More important than BH? Na wa o