Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctors In House Section

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Doctors In House Section

Awww...this happens to all first timers.I also had my own fears and worries but we get better with time!

Confused 1st time mum about Immunisations. 

Hello my fellow SDK peeps, please I need help here from experienced mums in the house. I am a new mum with a 7 weeks old baby, @ 6weeks we went for immunisation and to my surprised we were billed 23k for the six immunisation listed below and will pay the same amount @ 10 and 14 weeks for another round of the same injections and drops, I was shocked cos I didn't expect this much so I paid for the 1st 3 and he was given a drop and 1 injection on the left thigh. 

I got talking with my Aunt who is a nurse @ the general hospital and she said that, that is all he needs to get, referring to the 1st 3 on the list, that the other 3 (no 4-6) are not compulsory. She also said the private hospitals get their immunisation from the govt and if they don't have it @ general hospitals then she isn't sure what they are injecting into the babies just to make money, that I should ignore the others and just take the 1st 3 again @ 10 and 14 weeks. 

My concern is I don't know if I should just ignore as she said or if I should just hustle the cash and take the other 3. 

1. Oral Polio (OPV)
2. Hepatitis B
3. DTP (Diphtheria, Tetanus and Pertussis)
4. Hib Haemophilus influenza type b
5. Rotavirus (diarrhoea and vomiting)
6. Pneumococcal conjugate (pneumonia and otitis media) 
@ 6weeks
@ 10 weeks
@ 14 weeks 

Please mums what did your babies get? all 6 or just the 1st 3? Is it best to get immunisation from private or general hospitals? 

Regards 

Confused 1st time mum.

..............................................................................................................

RE - SQUIRTING DURING S*X

Hello Stella, wouldn't have bothered you with this mail but my phone is of low grade and i can't drop comments. The squirting lady should go for a pelvic scan immediately. I was a heavy squirter too until i got pregnant some months back and during the last week of my 1st trimester i started bleeding, went 4 a scan to knw what's wrong and i was told my babies were co existing with an intramural leiomyoma, meaning i have a fibroid growing outside my uterus and close to my bladder. The weight and movement of my babies is indenting the fibroid to make it bleed. 

The sonographer asked if i had issues controlling urine, squirting during sex and painful sex, i was on the affirmative to the three. The mass is what presses on bladder during sex when the guy is wanting 2 get to paradise and results to squirting and painful sex, also when the bladder is just a bit full one might nt be able to control d urge to pee due to the weight of the mass. 

I knew about my own condition becos the weight and struggle of 2 babies was indenting the mass and whenever i stress myself i bleed. I am on permanent bedrest till further notice but thanks to your blog to keep me going. Long live SDK. God bless you

84 comments:

1. Hmmmm.... my lips are sealed abeg! Am Nt a mother bt a gwegs, and i dnt squirt tooo.. over u to guys...

1. @poster 1
      I'm not a mum but I'll tell you the little I know.my mum is a nurse that works in UPTH,she was once in the immunisation unit and I remember very well that the nurses there don't just give injections but lecture the mothers on everything from breastfeeding to immunization.since you are a first time mum please try to go to a government hospital it'll help a lot.it'll be like a medical explanation of omugwo and more.

2. Dont know a jack abt what u guys are saying, waiting for chronicle.

1. Honey,
      We got ours yesterday.
      He was given 2 injections on his two laps. And some drops of the other in his mouth.

I never skipped any with my first,not wise to.
      They take them repeatedly until 18months and 2years when they take DTP,OPV and Typhoid fever vaccines.
      Pneumococcal conjugate will be taken at 10weeks,14weeks,12-15weeks along with OPV,Hep B vaccines

And yes they are expensive in private hospitals..it is well.

3. my daugther is ten months now and she was injected in a govt hospital 4 free

4. my daugther is ten months now and she was injected in a govt hospital 4 free

5. Wow, poster two, congrats! You having two babies or how many again?
    Painful sex? You shoulda gone to the hospital when you noticed that, no a joking matter.
    However, happy bed rest, we blog visitors are ready to keep u company, safe delivery dear.
    By the way I'm not a blog visitor I'm now living with in the blog, hmmmmmm what should we call it, blog ..... (Fill in the blank space)

6. So you mean squirting is dangerous to the health? Okokobioko! Some men go crazy when their woman squirt.

Fancy a fascinating fascinator ? Check my profile for more info.

1. Pls lets not be ignorant here...squirting has nothing to do with being too aroused then u cum...it has to do wit bein too aroused and not able to control your bladder then u pee sum droplets...

Thank me later

Ms_Sammie

7. Poster 1,
    All those immunization listed above are all important...
    Please stop being stingy and give your child the best...
    I didn't see Mumps,chicken pus and measles immunization in your list...
    Though some are free in general hospitals but some like Pneumococcal conjugate,Rotavirus (diarrhoea and vomiting),DTP,chicken pus,Mumps cost money...

1. God bless you dear.. my son is 19mnths and he took all.... private hospitals r expensive compared to General hospitals.... So I need not talk too much because u hv given d appropriate answer.

2. @the queen I want the best for my little one and also want him to be in perfect health. I paid so much for a C Section that's why things are very wonderful right now. I am not stingy and never will be towards my very own son.
      And for your info the measles and co you mentioned is @ 9 months.

I can assure you when you get to that point you will understand if you ain't there yet.

3. Babe, I understand u perfectly. Please go to a General hospital. Though some of them are not given there but still, u get most free till he is 2yrs. I can then get the others at a private hospital.

4. U can take the free ones in govt hospital and the expensive ones in private. The are all important and not harmful to the baby

5. Poster 1: when I had my first child I gave him all the immunisations you mentioned above ,all from a private hospital, and very expensive too. Then the second child came took him to a health centre asked questions about the other immunisations and they told me the others are not necessary, that the hospital gets the first 3 from them. So my dear forget about the last 3 mentioned. I have 4 kids now and the remaining 3 were given their immunisations at the health centres and they are all doing great. It's not being stingy cos DH is well loaded. Take care

8. I did all the six but Dh kept pushing me.

9. Poster 1.. first 3 only, then measles, mumps and rubella (MMR)

10. Where the mothers.... Please come forth and put the new mummy through ....

Second poster, may God protect you and your babies and thank you for this post because majority agreed that there is nothing wrong in squirtting ...

11. Poster 1: ur baby needs all of them. If you have the money why risk ur baby's health. Same happened to me, it only gets better. use private for now, and go to govt when it is same with private. In govt, they don't give polio injection, some privates do. Follow ur own maternal instinct. As for me, I rather hustle the money and give my baby the best. No dulling.

1. Please take your baby to a general or teaching hospital for immunisation. Try to take pneomoccocal and rota virus to prevent diarrhoea and vomiting, pneumonia in babies. Give hospitals will even have health talks about these vaccines so you understand. Either rota virus or pneomoccocal vaccine is free in osun and lagos state. They are 6500 and 6300 in oyo and ogun states.

2. Govt hospital give d first 3 but after 6weeks dey give all.
      The govt hospital I used gave my boy for free,even polio,so private asking you to pay so much is bad to me. when I visited lag,i used the gen hospital at ebute metta n I paid 50 naira only, for d immunization card cos I forgot mine in abj.
      And when I got to Abj,i went to the military hospital,where I got the rest for free still when he was 6months.
      If you are in lag,d immunization days are Wednesday and Friday for govt hospitals,while the military is Tuesdays and thursdays.
      Good luck.

3. Thanks a lot everyone I will look for a general hospital where they give all

12. Please ensure your child takes everything. It's so easy for a child to come down with otitis media (ear infection), diarrhea and pneumonia, so if you can, get the money and ensure he/she completes the immunizations
    Nappyhaired.com

13. U better give ur baby the rotavirus. Cus when that child gets I'll with diarrhoea, you will spend more money treating him. Dnt understand una!

14. @poster 1, I had my baby immunised on d 1st three above. She will be four in Sept and is doing great.
    Ur aunt sure knows what she's saying since she's in d system.

I still prefer General/Teaching hospitals when it comes to immunization.

Stay blessed.

1. Thanks ma, she also mentioned how they refrigerate left over immunisation which makes it loose potency but @ d general hospital they dispose left overs as they have been opened. The thing taya me jare

2. Sister Ope.
      My hospital never keeps some vaccines once they are opened! They have a standby refrigerator and you will be shown the expiry date too.
      Enough of all these comebacks and go get your child immunised madam!

15. @First time mom..Pls take ur child to a government hospital for immunisation..If u cant go to a government hospital,look for a cheaper private hospital wherever u are..
    I had my last babu at a private hospital..Its one of d best in my area..I did not spend more than 1k during each immunization we went for..I continued till my baby clocked 10months..There are new vaccines coming uo which they will explain to u.
    Make sure u complete all d listed immunisation for ur baby's futures..There are many sickness springing up each day..Those vaccines will protect ur child from catching any of them even if they get in contact with a carrier in d future..Health is wealth..U need to disassociate with dat Nurse Eliza fast before she mislead u.

1. Thanks a lot ma'am for your response. I have gone to 3 different General hospitals and they don't have the last 3 I will look for a less expensive private hospital that administer the last 3.

16. I took all d 6 for my baby at a general hospital without paying,my advise, go for it all

1. Please ma'am which General Hospital exactly? Are you in Lagos?

17. N1, the first three is the most important of the immunisation. It's only private hospitals that give the last three.

After my hospital billed me during the first immunization, nobody told me before I carried myself jejely to Lasuth.

18. 1] You can't ignore any of those injections dear, go to a cheaper but good hospital and get the injections ok!

2] Ndi squirter oya nu make una dey squirt dey go lmao. Na you dey suffer am now, the guy wey you enjoy am with no get any wahala oo. Kpele

19. N1, immunization is best done in d govt hospital, preferably health care centre. All those private nonsense is crap.

20. confused mum, i the first 3 are ok but if u can give the rota virus....tho I had my babies in the UK they had the rota virus too at 12 weeks and I think 18 weeks...since they were born 8months ago they have not had any case of diarrhea or vomiting, we only went to hospital for a boil and just routine check up....in my opinion the first 3 are ok plus the rota virus an added advantage

21. Poster 1: please go to a general hospital. I dont rmbr paying more than 10k in total for every immunization i gave my baby. Except your hmo is paying, please start asking which government hospital gives. And how can you have an aunt who works at a govt hospital and still be asking Bv's. How many nurses you see for here? My friend, since cost is the major issue, go to government hospital and take everything you are supposed to take. Which 1 is first 3. Twas a doctor at a private hospital that advised me sef.

22. First time mom, now lets get this straight, most of what you are being billed for are not compulsory. Your sister is right about that. These private hospitals make alot from patients one way or the other. I had my son in Reddington Ikeja and they started all these jaggons after delivery, I simply circumcised my son for an outrageous fee of #50k(that's after paying almost 1m for delivery, C/S things) as against #1, 500 in General hospital.(Na same cutting of prick them do o). So I went to a paediatrician who made me realise that ANY immunization not given in the Government hospitals are not a MUST. My son is doing well with Govt immunizations and I'm even thinking of birthing my next child in a Govt hospital (in my dream though). So I will advise you stick to the Government approved doses.

1. Why did u spend that much in Nigeria. U would have just gone to the US. 1.5 million will see u through if u have a place to stay. Hmmm.

2. My dear it's the same C Section that sapped us o but I don't want to complain @all Cos God has been faithful. I just want 2 be sure I am not dashing them money again n d money sef is very plenty right now. But I will start 2 hunt for a general that will give all 6 of them.

23. GOD BLESS SDK BLOG...TOMJERRYSWIT

24. Worried mum, the nurse is right. I only got to know about the others except from the first 3 on saturday during our women convention (God bless u Dr. Adebisi). Though the others are also good, the first three are a MOST. My two children took only those three at 6weeks at a public health centre close to our home for free, and they are doing just great.

25. Worried mum, the nurse is right. I only got to know about the others except from the first 3 on saturday during our women convention (God bless u Dr. Adebisi). Though the others are also good, the first three are a MOST. My two children took only those three at 6weeks at a public health centre close to our home for free, and they are doing just great.

26. Worried mum, the nurse is right. I only got to know about the others except from the first 3 on saturday during our women convention (God bless u Dr. Adebisi). Though the others are also good, the first three are a MOST. My two children took only those three at 6weeks at a public health centre close to our home for free, and they are doing just great.

27. Worried mum, the nurse is right. I only got to know about the others except from the first 3 on saturday during our women convention (God bless u Dr. Adebisi). Though the others are also good, the first three are a MOST. My two children took only those three at 6weeks at a public health centre close to our home for free, and they are doing just great.

28. Worried mum, the nurse is right. I only got to know about the others except from the first 3 on saturday during our women convention (God bless u Dr. Adebisi). Though the others are also good, the first three are a MOST. My two children took only those three at 6weeks at a public health centre close to our home for free, and they are doing just great.

1. Thanks dear. That is where the confusion started from my big sister only had those 3 for her kids and never heard of the others but she advised me 2 take them as she had her last kid a while ago

29. 1.BCC at birth

2. DPT+OP1 (6 weeks)
    3. DPT+OPII (10 weeks)
    4. DPT+OPIII (14 weeks)
    (After the 1st 4, the HBVs to be determined by the Doc)
    5. HBV1 _______
    6. HBV2 ________
    7. HBV3 ________

8. Measles (9 months)
    BOOSTER DOSES:
    9. DPT at 18 months ___________
    10. School age________

From a Private Hosp I use, and from my child's card in my bag.

The amount is 3-much. Govt hospital is free and where I reside, I paid N700.

@Poster 2- Even if she goes for Pelvic scan will she stop having sex with her boyfriend? (Unprotected)

1. Its called BCG,OPV,AT BIRTH,BCG,HBV0,OPV0,At 6weeks PENTA1&OPV1,At 10weeks PENTA2&OPV2.AT 14weeks PENTA3&OPV3.AT 6months VIT A.AT 9months MEASLES&YELLOW FEVER.AT 1YeAr VIT A.so d baby will be taken back every 6months to tak Vit A till 5years.NOTE;HBV is now been give at 24hrs of birth.d baby misses it after 24hrs.n d only tin u need to pay for s ur card which cost 50naira only.the private Hospitals collect their vaccines from d govt,n u cannot guaranty d potency,cos most times dey dnt discard unused vaccines.but in Govt Hospitals,unused vaccines re discarded dat is why dey tell mothers to wait till they re many cos once dey open d vaccine,it has to be finshed or discarded.GO TO GOVT HOSPITAL for ur baby's immunization.They re always ahead in terms of training and all.all d best

30. I will suggest u go to a General Hospital for ur baby's immunisation, though it may be time consuming due to the number of people waiting for the same purpose, but it is totally free of charge. U don't pay a penny in the general Hospital. Had my baby in a private, was given the 1st 3 immunisations right there in the private but the subsequent ones in the GH. There's no point wasting money unnecessarily...

31. Poster 1, under d national immunization scheme in Nigeria, yes the 1st 3 as well as BCG r d most important and u wld get for little cost or nothing from d health centre's, general hospitals or any govt Healthcare institutions even though u might have to deal with a crowd, long wait and all as they may have specific days for immunizations. The others (HIB, PCV, and Rotavirus) u wld most likely not get in d govt hospital and only mostly in d private hospital cos its not in d scheme and govt has not subsidized it so that's mostly what ur paying a lot for. They r important as well if u can afford it not like if d child doesn't get it anything wld happen but it's most important in life Sickle cell conditions and some other ailments where there's no spleen or spleen not functioning well!!

32. General hospitals are preferable.
    Immunization stops at 5 years old.

Expectant mother, have a safe delivery.

33. She's right. The first 3 are the mandatory ones. You can't afford not to have them. The others are not bad if you can afford them. But your baby will be just fine without them.

34. i will read comments pls!

35. First time mum, please make use of general hospital or health centres. They don't collect a dime for it.
    Private hospital don't administer potent injection, as they don't have the crowd general hospital has, thus their injections are always refrigerated.

Go and register in a general hospital or Health centre.

# Ayah Shehu #

1. Waiting for a comment like this.thumbs up to u Alexi

36. Poster 1
    Please take all oo.I have 2 kid and they took all.yes it's expensive but you will enjoy it later as they start eating adult food because the rota virus is for diahearr and the other is for pneumonia. Just consider how much the stress when thinges happen.so just do it for PEACE OF MIND. My two cent

37. Immunisation lady what I no here in uk is, from 8weeks the 1st dose is, Diphtheria. Tetanus, pertussis, polio and heomophilus. ,inflenzeo type b,(hib). 1st dose pneumococcal. All this in 2injection, 3 months, 2nd dose Diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis, polio, and hib, meningitis c(menC) 2 injections, 4months 3rd dose Diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis, polio, and hib,2nd dose menC, 2nd dose pneumococcal, then between 12&13months Booster hib/menC 3rd dose pneumococcal, 1st dose measles, mumps and rubella(german measles) hope this helps, and remember all this where just in two injection, except for the 12months that 3 injections

1. You forgot to add the Rotavirus drop thit comes in two dose, the first at t 6-8 weeks and the second at 12 weeks.

Poster I think you should complete the vaccination.

38. See the way i screamed while reading poster 1 request!!! Are you sure your sis is a registered nurse or an auxiliary nurse? If she ks registered, we need to de-list her sharp sharp. All those vaccines are COMPULSORY. I wrote that in caps so you will know how important it is. At general hospitals, you will spend less than 2k for all these vaccines (abeokuta). Please dont endanger your baby

39. My baby took only the first three and she is very healthy
    However poster you can't base your conclusion on mine because babies are different

40. Hiberix,rotarix and pnermococal are not mandatary but are important.i gave it to my first son but didnt give the second .i gave the first dose to my son at EKO hospital but it was expensive so after the first dose someone referred me to luth neonatal wards where i got it cheaper and better .i forgot the name of the woman that gives it for GSK. The drugs are from GSK .i think i paid like 5000 or so.cant remenber now

41. More comments for this one today. it is well with both of you

42. Go to a govt hospital or primary Health centre around u. Its free of charge. BTW some of these private hospitals give expired vaccines.

43. it's totally free in government hospitals. Pls go there and ensure to do all the immunization for your baby

44. Good day all.

I am very sorry. i don't know where to send this to.

I am a single mum and i seriously need a used washing machine. I trust SDK kindhearted BVs to help me. the stress of washing is too much for me. If you have anyone to spare,please contact me on 08053172647.

Thanks and God bless

1. Go to konga.com or jumia.com.ng or dealdey.com you will see cheap washing machines under 20k and buy.

45. Confused mum, like so many have said already, the first 3 are basic and a must and also given free of charge at govt hospitals/health centres. This same basics are billed for when given to your child in a private hospital.

As for the last 3, please give if you can afford it. I gave all to my kids (2 of them) and i don't regret it. Though I was wise enough during my second child's to get the free ones from the health centre and then pay for the rest; that way, I saved us some money.

46. My advice for you is to go to general hospital.it is free there

47. Dear mum,all the 6 vaccines listed above is recommended by WHO as at 2012,because of different diseases coming up daily,as at 2011 when I birthed my 1st child,Pneumococal Conjugate was not introduced,but when I had my 2nd baby end o d following year,it was in d new immunization card, initially I objected but later I agreed to it,unortunately dat same year a friend of mine lost her baby due to Pneumonia,so pls hustle and get the money to take all,if not in dis ur hospp but a cheaper private hosp,range between 15k-18k wl do.goodluck

48. Poster 2 squirting is not dangerous if painful sex is not involved... in my case, even after emptying the bladder before sex I still squirt multiple times and k enjoy sex so.much without pain..so that your own case is different doesn't make squirting dangerous

49. i remembered the first time i took my baby for immunisation.she was crying and i started crying,my own cry sef pass my baby own.people were just laughing at me but i no mind cos i was d one feeling the pains.

50. I wonder why your aunt gave you such advice when she's a registered nurse. She might have reasoned on the basis that humans naturally generate antibodies that fight against diseases, but a baby's immune system is not fully developed and can become compromised and weak to fight those sicknesses. Please don't take any chances. Complete the immunization, preferrably in a Teaching Hospital.

51. First time mum, I don't know where u are in Nigeria but immunization is almost free in most government hospital or u pay a token and they have better access to cold chain system for storing vaccines, u shouldn't spend that much. U didn't mention Bcg or was it not given? That's the first ur baby ought to have received along side hep b n opv,. The next 4wks penta, pcv, opv, next 4 wks penta2, pcv2, opv2, next 4wks penta3, pcv3, ipv, then 6 month vitA, at nine months measles n yellow fever + vitA. This is the most recent protocol for Immunization

52. @Poster 1,please dnt be stingy,just take all the immunizations,they are all important.....that pneumococcal conjugate is very key and its expensive in private hospital dnt know about general.

53. In as much as ur baby will still be fine without them, pls do if u can afford it. I gave me boy all including MMR. Before then i went to a health centre to make an inquiry as i was confused as u are, i met a matron there who told me that it is ok if i can afford it. She said it is bcos of d amount involved,it can only be seen at LUTH and will be paid for.

54. Poster 1..i noticed they have the 6 in private hospital cards bt don't in health centre card.so I asked d last time I took my boy to health centre and was told that govt didn't make d last 3 available bcos dey are not compulsory.note:i was using a private hospital b4 den

1. That is not true,They are not available in General hospitals because Govt has not been able to subsidize their prices.In fact it has been enlisted in the WHO immunization scheme, just awaiting price subsidy before it will be given in health centres n GH

55. Well , immunisation is very important oh. If u can get the money pls let ur child have all. Go to a general hospital its cheaper. I pay the same 20-25k cos i go to a private hospital. DH won't let me take his kids to a GH. The queue and the heat and disorderliness. No! So he'd rather fork out the 20-25k. Ur childs health is number 1. Rotavirus is veryyyyy necessary evn if u leave others out add rotavirus abeg.

56. To the 1st Post;The first 3 immunizations are the most important. The others aren't necessary except you have the extra money to spend...In my case,i used the local government center in my area until when my child had malaria,catarrh and cough(1years of age),had to take him to a private hospital because he wasn't responding to treatment.It was there that the doctor told me i could get the other immunization done if i wanted to.I only did it because i didn't want to have to go through the series of immunization for him when we relocate.
    The bottom line is this: go with your motherly instinct

57. New mum, pls I will advice you to give your baby the immunizations since you can afford it cos it's more expensive treating your child of gastroenteritis when it comes,and also broncho pneumonia.These ailments kills babies fast.If they get down with any of those,you will go through emotional, psychological, mental n physical stress taking care of them and you will still pay the hospital bills..and it's not a guarantee that there won't be re occurance..I strongly advice you to give your baby those vaccines.. God bless.