Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Wike Sets Up Panel To Probe Former Gov Amaechi’s Administration

Saturday, June 20, 2015

Wike Sets Up Panel To Probe Former Gov Amaechi’s Administration

The Rivers State Governor, Chief Nyesom Wike, has set up a judicial commission of inquiry to investigate the immediate past administration of Mr. Rotimi Amaechi over the alleged sale of valued assets belonging to the state.

The Judicial Commission of Inquiry, which was inaugurated at the Government House in Port Harcourt on Friday, has Justice George Omereji as its chairman and four other members.

Inaugurating the commission, Wike specifically charged it to investigate the sale of the 150 Megawatts gas turbine in Omoku, Adam 360 MW Gas Turbine, Trans-Amadi 136 MW gas turbine and the 75 MW gas turbine in Eleme.

With 23 terms of reference available to the commission, the governor explained that it (commission of inquiry) was expected to investigate the monorail project and the sale of the Olympia Hotel by the Amaechi administration.

“In exercise of the powers conferred upon me by Section 2 (1) of the Commissions of Inquiry Law of Rivers State (Cap 30 Laws of Rivers State of Nigeria, 1999) and all other powers enabling me in that behalf, I, Nyesom Ezenwo Wike, CON, Governor of Rivers State, hereby constitute and appoint a Judicial Commission of Inquiry for the investigation of the administration of Governor Chibuike Amaechi,” he declared.

Wike also instructed the commission to investigate the non-execution of the contract for the construction of the Justice Karibi Whyte Hospital after the Amaechi administration paid $250m to the contractor.
The governor directed that the commission should also investigate the withdrawal and expenditure of the accrued N96bn from the Rivers State Reserve Fund without compliance with the extant law.
He urged the Judicial Commission of Inquiry to make appropriate recommendations that would assist the state government recover proceeds from the gas turbines sold by the Amaechi administration.

“The Judicial Commission of Inquiry also has the mandate to recover funds wrongfully disbursed on the failed Justice Karibi Whyte Hospital, the funds illegally withdrawn from the State’s Reserve Fund and the N2bn illegally disbursed under the Agriculture Credit Scheme,” Wike said.
He, however, gave the judicial commission of inquiry one month to submit its report to the state government.
In his response, the chairman of the commission, Justice Omereji, promised the governor that the body would carry out its duty diligently in line with the terms of reference.

Omereji further assured that the people of the state would be happy with the report of the commission, adding that the body would work hard to complete its work within the time frame.

Other members of the Judicial Commission of Inquiry are: Dr. Edith Chukwu, Chief Monday Ekekenta, Rev. Canon Alex Usifo and Elder Ignatius Piegbara. Mrs. Florence Fiberesima is to serve as secretary while Dr. Zacheaus Adango serves as the counsel to the commission.
Punch reportage.

Wahala dey for Nigeria!.....So his first term will be spent witch hunting the former governor?He should concentrate on his work and stop making it so obvious that he is out for revenge!

68 comments:

1. Hehehe I just dey laugh.

2. Stella stop taking sides, I know Ameachi is your boo but he deserves to be probed he did nothing for Rivers people in his last tenure, just making noise up and down

2. Well done my Governor! Heavens got ur back sir!

1. Your gov.my dear,is a hare brained fool.i hope he finds what he's looking for.

3. Make sure u collect all wat RCA stole from rivers state n everytin stolen by dat morbidly obesed Ibim Seminitari!

4. Wike is a foolish man, very foolish, witch hunter! Big ode face ur work fat fool! Mshewww!

5. Pure vendetta, why probe Amaechi alone??
    .NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

6. Stella stop calling it witch hunting. This is far from it. Yes people may say because they fell out but he is a governor of rivers state now. He has the right to know what his predecessor did. If he had no issue with Ameachi and he was doing all this won't u commend him now he is being criticized. The truth is Ameachi left Rivers state Broke as fuck. And so many workers had not received salaries. And so many half projects and projects that were not even started. So where is the money then? How is nyesom going to work if there is no money. Will he steal. Ameachi is just a common thief. Selling river state to the highest bidder. E.g abonnema wharf was sold to his close friend. So please don't call it witch hunting he is doing the right thing.

1. Seems u are one of d few ppl on dis blog with better sense. Leave dem let dem be calling it witch hunting.

7. Nyesom wike carry go Rivers State is behind you.

8. Ghen ghen drama ,abeg we have enough drama and home vidoe to watch ,they should just stop this witchhunting and focus on how to move the nation forward ,which pass leader have not stolen ,abeg they should focus their energy on change

9. He should go and sit down jare!!!!!!is this what he's supose to be doing now????Like he's a saint!!!

10. All of you that were singing buhari should probe Jonathan were not calling it witch hunting now nyesom wike own Don be witch hunt. Its alright we rivers people make we carry holy water and bible follow am for back.

11. Boo is like a proverbial cat with nine lives.
    He will come out of this unscathed.
    #inmyportharcourtpidgin
    Meywebetam?

1. Taaaahhh I bet wit u! Ur boo is a toothless bulldog!!!

2. Irene no mind wike. Let him continue his madness. If he is serious about probe, he shld start from peter odili's regime but he won't cos dat one is part of his team. Even Jonathan said that if there shld be a probe, it shldn't just start from his administration. They shld also probe wike's days as chief of staff and his days as minister of state for education.
      Wike onye oshi!

12. Wike should start doing the work he promised his state. He has been busy since almost three weeks going about the affairs of Amaechi. Come 100days in office, what will he account for? Go to other states, they have started effective work while at the same time removing the bad eggs of the old government but not fully concentrating on the old regime. Start something Mr Man and stop your excess witch hunting. Na here we dey to see what you and your people will do in 4years.

13. Stella it is obvious your lust for Ameachi 10 naira pumo lips is clouding your judgement

14. Don't mind him,until he spent for 4years on revenge than his eyes will be wide open....

15. He's really on a revenge mission but he should also watch his back cos those that live in glass houses don't throw stones. Face the needs of the masses Mr.

16. To what end though. All this one is initial gragra. Wike o, Amaechi o thief.

17. while the probe is going on,he should also face the job of improving the state

18. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Wike is really not smiling at all... Dude dey vex die.. I pray he succeeds and that ameachi be brought to justice abeg...

19. This war against Amaechi by Wike just tire me. Wondering if he came to make the state better or he came to battle the former governor

20. Am in support . Stella most of the state treasury is empty if this witch hunt would recover stolen funds why not ?

21. Oga wike,please take a chill pill. This is getting kinda personal for you o.

22. I support you madame SDK. Gov.Wike should stop this hunt/revenge already. The people has elected him so he should serve the people and put outside his personal grievance with the former administration.

23. But dt Amechi self. Am seeing d repetition of what happened in Enugu state here. It always ends in suicide.

24. ...Been behaving like someone dem use bitterleaves bath @ birth.

Let's see what will come out of his administration.

25. Joker,then Buhari should be probing the past government too.i thought Jonathan called this sort of thing "witch-hunting"? We difinitely have jokers as politicians. Wike Onise,face ur work.joker!

26. Stella I disagree with your last statement. Our leaders should start accounting for their actions. Its not witch-hunting. That's why they embezzle civil servants salaries and stroll away when their tenures are over. It has to stop.

1. Don't mind stella! Her Luv 4 RCA will not allow her say d truth

27. It is obvious that Wike has nothing to offer Rivers state, he would spend all the limited time chasing shadows, like his elder brother GEJ; fighting and bickering with perceived political enemies, and subsequently end up failing.

28. I talked about This yesterday Buh It didnt post.

Wike is on a Revenge mission and dis is wot Rivers needs now...
    See everywhere talk-high with refuse and d whole place in a massive mess.
    Two Days ago or so,he dissolved 6 Institutions,among Them are: Rivers state school of Nursing,and some THREE Polytechnics!

Without as much as thinking how dese poor poor students wil start all over again and how many thousand people wil be thrown right back into d already-saturated Labour market.
    Those projects and infrastructure.....dey wil now lie in waste.

Yesterday,he spent enough Human resources and valuable time...10 policemen and only God knows how many police vans and Towing vans just to recover one vehicle from a former commissioner.

Is that His priority? His 10 top to-do-list in a month in office...
    If u ask me,dAts highly Petty and wrong-timed.

FiX d State first.
    Make It clean first..
    Create jobs first.
    Make d state secure first....everyday na so so kidnapping.dey have now Even extended deir evil to Doctors.as m speaking,A Rector of an Institution is currently missing.

Biko Sir,i dont wanna believe all i heard about u.
    prove us all wrong....
    Tell ur men and d security detail attached to u and oda "Important" Men that the roads are for us all.
    The kind of oppression on d road is downright Sickening!
    Yesterday,i was just in traffic,shaking My Head as we were "stopped" by fierce-looking Army guys.brandishing guns.Shouting at motorists.

After a while,i just resigned myself to fate and Started thinking about Fashola and Lagos...lol

It was den that the "Important Man" and His Very Beautiful Fair Wife(who by d way came from d Other Side of d road)were "passed" with the accompanying escorts......
    He waved at me as in "I am Sorry" and d Wife flashed me a smile.and tried to wave too...

I smiled back,thinking "Dese Ones Even "apologised"
    Lol....

Biko in all Sir,leave Witch-hunting First. And FIX d State!

Good morning Beautiful People!
    Ndi Chukwu goziri agozi!

29. Abeg he should go and do his work and let Amechi be.wike let their be peace in River state.

30. Can this Wike guy just take a chill pill and give Amechi a rest? He's beginning to be a nuisance. Can't he just FACE HIS WORK?

31. Stella stop siding ur boo jor.
    All he does is talk loud and do lil.
    If u add up all dis money do u know hw many billions that is? And u expect it 2 just be forgotten? No jor
    We hear alot about akpabio bt what r d major meaningful projects amaechi did? Spendin billions buildin sec sch each.
    The allocation of akwaibom and rivers over d last 8yrs are nt so diff

1. Tuscany make God bless u!

2. Porsche Quinn or whatever you call yourself can you just shut up already? We get that you have a weird love thing going on for WIKE! We get!!!! WIKE is worse than Ameachi. In how many weeks not months! Weeks WIKE stole 200billion from the ministry of education. I pity him bc his own probe is coming. Even if he's governor for the next 20yrs, it'll come to an end at some point won't it? I pity you lot singing the WIKE song.... Those of us that know him personally, know what to expect.

32. Wike should leave Ameachi alone for now and focus on his job na!
    We didn't vote for him to probe Ameachi!

33. I am not a fan of either cos I believe both are from the same ilk (corrupt). But Wike should calm down jare, I liked the fact that you stuck it to Amaechi by showing him that two can play the game and you had learnt well. However instead of spending scarce resources trying to probe Amaechi, why dont you channel same resources in ensuring positive change. For instance, the judiciary has been comatose for about a year and you are trying to probe to pursue a personal vendetta?
    Before some people come for my head, let me reiterate the fact that I am in support of corrupt people restituting in one way or another o. But the question remains what will Wike do with the funds he may or may not recover? Wike dey form righteous man when we all know you would do worse tis just a matter of time; crooked Wike.

34. Let him probe,he is trying to help his state

35. This Witch hunting will amout to nothing at d end. Wike is just bent on revenge. Wike pls fix our state and let Amaechi be After all u won't say u have no skeletons in ur closet too. Mtchew

36. Wike is probing Amaechi simply because the latter did not handover formally to him. how can a man start work without taking stock and documenting the state of affairs at the time he resumed office?

in the absence of handover notes and a tidy handover process, a probe is inevitable. the new administration needs to delineate where the amaechi administration ended work and where the new one is beginning from.

why didn't Amaechi hand over properly? why was he at eagle square beating drum on may 29th instead of in his home state showing some respect to the people he had ruled for so many years?

37. Wike is serious oh!
    He should just let Amaechi be
    Focus on your job for now

38. if Jonathan and his Ministers had BLUNTLY refused to prepare handover notes for Buhari; if Jonathan had BLUNTLY refused to show up at eagles square to handover formally to Buhari on may 29th; if Jonathan had hidden even the open air jeep that Buhari carried out the inspection of the guard with at eagle square leaving the incoming president to borrow that car from another country; then DEFINITELY,Buhari would have set up a panel to probe Jonathan's administration.

Not because he wants to 'witchunt' but because he needs to take stock of where things stand before continuing with work.

Only reason Buhari is not probing Jonathan is because Jonathan gave him the respect that an incoming leader needs to take over and continue with the work. Jonathan prepared handover notes and handed them over formally, not via press statement or tv boradcast; he also took Buhari on a (hand holding) tour of the villa: no bitterness because he lost elections.

so those comparing the Jonathan/Buhari scenario to the Amaechi/Wike one are distorting the truth and leaving out some vital facts.

39. the governor has started work. setting u a probe panel doesn't mean he will sit in on the probe daily or not do his day job

already julius berger has been brought into the state to tidy up some really bad roads. and the environmental agency that left trash piled up on all the streets of PH for months due to cash crunch, have started clearing the refuse that littered the whole state.

why shouldn't he probe a man who refused to handover formally to him? its important to document the state of affairs at the time he took over...for posterity sake.

40. Like your parents

41. Pot calling kettle black.....

42. He who the gods want to kill they first make mad. See armed robber probing a thief. Wike, we know ur strategy. U tink ur setting up committee to probe Amaechi will help u negotiate on the dooms day? Mbanu! Ur sins are too much to be given room for negotiation. Abi u no serve as Amaechi chief of staff again? Ur dirty deals as a minister of state for education are not hidden o! Just continue with ur madness. Dem get ur melecine u hear! Instead of u to start delivering on ur campaign promises, u r busy witch hunting pple. Let's see how it will play out. Afukwana iberibe!

43. This comment has been removed by the author.