The police in Lagos have arrested a man, Sikiru Mustapha, who allegedly brutalised his four-year-old son, and abandoned him at a bus station in the Iwaya area of Yaba.
The boy, identified only as Lekan, was found at the bus park with scars of the torture on his body, and handed over to a non-governmental organisation in the area, which took him to the Sabo Police Division.
It was gathered that the police subsequently arrested the father.
A resident of the area, who spoke on condition of anonymity, told Punch that Lekan’s mother had been sent away by Sikiru, and he had married a new wife.
She said, “Lekan has a long history of torture from his father. He is poorly taken care of, beaten and left to wander in the area. As young as he is, the father beats him without mercy. On Tuesday, he was beaten up as usual. But this time, he was abandoned at a bus station.
“One of the residents of this area found him and took him to an NGO. He was then taken to the Sabo Police Division, and the police arrested the father.
“Sikiru has a new wife who is a nursing mother. She should have cautioned her husband against maltreating the boy, but she did not.”
When Punch visited Lekan at the hospital on Wednesday, it was gathered that some officials from the Lagos State Office of the Public Defender and the Domestic Sexual Violence Response Team, to whom Lekan’s torture was also reported, had visited and taken up the case of the boy.
The Lagos State Police Public Relations Officer, DSP Kenneth Nwosu, confirmed the incident. He added that the suspect had been taken to court.
He said, “We arrested the suspect for maltreating his son.
“He has been taken to court in company of some personnel from the Lagos State Ministry of Justice.”
*Originally reported by Punch
Oh Dear Oh Dear,this really touched me...this child should be getting hugs and kisses and not blows and belt lashes..oh dear!
Who man kwa?
ReplyDeleteOMG!!! Some step-mums can be somtin else. My sis nd I had our fair share too. Well, thank God for his mercies, we're still alive despite all we went through. sigh... sorrry poor little boy, I hope he won't be returned home after treatment.
DeleteJohovah is lord, four years, that man is evil, he should be tortured too, if he was the one that carried this boy for 9months and endured labour pain, he won't do such. I really feel for the boy
DeleteI have a 4 year old and I wept when I saw this. That father must be given life!!! What!!!
DeleteMy God!
ReplyDeleteWhere do these evil people sprout from?.....i'd like to torture that man meself
DeleteThen pass him to me to torture him some more!
DeleteHmmmm why av a child if u will end up treating him like a thrash? Some ppl are asking God for just one child n some dt are privileged to av one don't value it.
ReplyDeleteBloody idiot. How can u do this to any child, not to talk of ur own child? Does he want to kill the boy? God will punish this man. In fact I don't know what to say again. Let me leave before I talk rubbish.
ReplyDeleteNow I get the drift.... Sad incident. This is a case of torture. Chai, there is God o
ReplyDeleteJust look at how he disfigured the lil boys back.
ReplyDeleteSome parents tho.
"Sikiru has a new wife who is a nursing mother. She should have cautioned her husband against maltreating the boy, but she did not.”
ReplyDeleteNonsense!!
Hello my darling Ezenwanyi, always nice to read from you. Hope you and yours are cool?
DeleteJisike Nwanyioma.
Ezenwanyi, nkea bu anya gi....
DeleteSweet heart,sup??
DeleteMadam come back biko
DeleteFrustrated parents laying their woes and inadequacies on their poor defenceless children. I hope dear Lekan finds a good home. His brain has registered this indelible mark and cruelty and only sustained love can relieve him if not, another cycle cruelty will ensue to Lekan's children.
ReplyDeleteWhen he grows up and start maltreating his father,people will start calling him names...
ReplyDeleteMtcheeeew...
Some parents don't deserve a child...
I used to see acts like this as poverty induced but I'm wrong, even the poor show love and warmth. He is just 4 years old damn it!
ReplyDeletePure wickedness
ReplyDelete4years?????
ReplyDeleteGosh!
Am glad Nigerians are looking into domestic violence,rape and child abuse...
Gone are the days when a father beats up his child in this cruel manner and you see people shinning teeth and telling the boy to go home and sin no more.. or a battered woman is told to go apologise to her hubby and be a "good" wife..
No one deserves to be treated like this..not even a stranger!
yep yep.@Iphie dearie, so sorry about dat careless comment d other day. I saw it was wrong dat ws why I took it down. Thanks for correcting me, I know u care... smiles.
DeleteAaaawwwww!!
DeleteNice one dear..
I was not wrong about you after all..
You just made my day!
Tnx for taking it the right way...
Moving on swiftly,lol
How you dey?
Stella hugs and kisses you say ehen from a father who doesn't know the meaning of affections. I just pray he gets better treatment wherever he ends up
ReplyDeleteOmg d father is heartless treating a 4yrs old child like dis, d man dey under curse. nd d useless wife no fit caution am,
ReplyDeleteWhat a father..
ReplyDeleteIts so sad,what poverty and frustration can cause. He should have allowed the mother go with the boy instead of this maltreatment.
For the new wife, all she needs to know is that she is married to a beast and pray against the same fate befalling her.
So so sad. How can a man do this to his own child? This is pure wickedness.
ReplyDeleteNot all single girls that date married men do so with the intention to take over the home. Some of us date becos of the finances, trips, etc. When it's over, unto the next one. So you boring housewives ranting nonsense should stfu
ReplyDeleteAhhhh ebe ka onye nka si maputa? Last I checked we talking bout a tortured 4yrs old...
Deletesmh..
DeleteAnony you have no sense and I can see how well your parents raised you. If you are so proud of the thrash you just typed why not use your picture and real name.
DeleteLet me just say this short prayer, heavenly father, the father of the defenseles, husband to the widows and virtous women, father to children from broken home, please visit this anon with same or greater proportion what she just typed whenever she gets married IJN. AMEN. #Iamadude
This comment has been removed by the author.
DeleteSee dem. Anuofias
DeleteNora nelson, who is okija wife? Did she die on d cross for your sins, anon, back to sender. God punish you all
This anonymous foolish notice me wannabe u are seeking for attention and insults but i'll say this to u bcos I just finished watching emmanuel TV. May a greater Fate of the oppressed married women in d whole world visit u in a million folds and even more, Amen. Only an agent of Satan can type d rubbish u posted.
DeleteHaba! Re u lost? Do u need directions?
DeleteReceive sense in d mighty name of Jesus!
DeleteHis father, you say?
ReplyDeleteWell, not much baffles me in this world again.
If he doesn't want the boy,he should put him in a care home or something.
Now,this boy will probably grow up to be a bitter person, hating on the world, that's if his 'father' doesn't kill him first.
The son should be taken away from him forever.. Mitcheeeeew
ReplyDeletePlease visit my blog Www.trendwithgloria.blogspot.com
Wow!!
ReplyDeleteThis man is a beast, apart from the scars on his back, his bum has some burn marks on them.
When people are praying for kids, this one is treating his like this.
This boy should be taken from the Father, if this abuse continues it would mess him up Psychologically and make him abusive.
Sharap, as if u any beta.
Deletegood to know
ReplyDelete#GODWIN™
Daffy
DeleteEvil father
ReplyDeletesad.Why do people take out their frustration on their kids.A four year old for heavens sake,so sad.Laws need to be put in place to protect children in Nigeria,people feel because its their kids they can do whatever they like.That man should be dealt with.
ReplyDeleteMy God... Doing this to his own son.. Only God knows what else he's capable of
ReplyDeleteMz mae, ur tohtoh don heal?
DeleteWickedness
ReplyDeleteJust four years...this is saddening. Tomorro if he turns out to be a cultist or a tout, the father will swear to high heavens that he raised him right. Wicked man!
ReplyDeletePoor child!
ReplyDeleteUseless and wicked father...
Wickedness.
ReplyDeleteTo a four years old boy?
Can't stand this.
Lord of Mercy! The father should be jailed
ReplyDeleteBut why would a human be so heartless towards yet another human?
ReplyDeleteWeather he's your child or not
This man's preek should be cut off
Tufiakwa ihe ojooo. God pls heal d boy
ReplyDeleteOh dear!this is too much now.I jus imagine anybody beating my child after all this stress.hmmmm,e go be like action film.
ReplyDeleteVile! Off with his head!
ReplyDeleteHow horrible to treat a child like this! Four years??? He's an animal not a father!
ReplyDeletehe doesn't deserve to keep that child.
My God! Poor boy! What will become of him if left in a home?
STORIES @ ALIFEDIARY
And I have a 4years old daughter who I call angel? The man is a beast.
ReplyDeleteAnd I have a 4yrs old daughter I call Angel? The man is a beast!
ReplyDeleteBeast in human's clothing.... the after treatment is what matters not this. I hope the man never sees this boy again. He should be taken to a good orphanage home
ReplyDeleteThank God d issue is been handle. But some men sha.
ReplyDeleteThat's a result of breakin away after marraige na dat small pikin go sorfa am now wit d help of d second wife married by d father
ReplyDeleteMy goodness gracious!
ReplyDeleteWhy did d woman not go wit her child na,even if its garri dey eat,d best place 4 every child 2 be is wit d parent(mother) d boy is too small he doesn't even knw or understand wat he did 2 get dis kind of beating,am happy he is safe now.
ReplyDeleteMy eyes filled with tears reading this story. This boy is only 4 years old! Stella can you see about getting his contacts please. I would like to sponsor his education through college. Will email you with my details. Thanks.