Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Timaya Reveals Why He Rejected MTN Endorsement Contract This Year

Sunday, June 07, 2015

Timaya Reveals Why He Rejected MTN Endorsement Contract This Year

Nigeria's renowned music star, Timaya is one of the showbiz stars whose endorsement contracts were not renewed this year by telecommunications company, MTN. 

In a recent interview with Punch, Timaya has revealed why he rejected the new deal, saying it wasn’t right for him.

"I have always wanted to become an ambassador to a telecommunications company and I was approached by both Globacom and MTN. I chose MTN. I am a businessman and I feel I should have a better deal this year. If the deal is not good enough for me, then it is not right because I worked very hard to get to the stage I am"

He further said...

"It could be right for other people but I think I should do better this year. There are some artistes that are brand ambassadors and they do not have any hit song. They are just there based on pity. Every year, I release a hit song and I feel if we are to renew a contract, we have to revisit the terms and conditions. Not that we would do the same thing as the last time or do it out of pity. Being a brand ambassador makes you limited in some certain areas and I expect to be paid for such limitations. I want more. They are good people and we did not have any misunderstanding. It was purely a business decision." 

It will be recalled that while MTN renewed deals for the likes of Chidinma Ekile, Tiwa Savage, Don Jazzy, Iyanya, Kcee and others, a number of artistes like Timaya, D'Prince etc didn't make the cut. 

*Interview excerpts culled from Punch*

Well the Money N20m or so made a big difference in the lives of some of those who were signed...something they will not get if they released any song.
That said,one mans meat is another's poison.

63 comments:

1. See levels o, Timaya really knows his worth then.

1. Exactly, he knows his worth. If you sign for mtn, you're limited to some many events hosted by other telecoms guys.

Ice Prince and Olamide deals with Etisalat tubaba with airtel remain the best so far.

I think M.I deal with glo is way below his worth.

2. I've always admired timaya, from humility to wisdom.

Good business man, you are worth more.

Stingy Mtn!

3. He shouldn't let over confidence kill him like Dbanj o. That's how Dbanj lost his ambassadorial deal with Globacom when he just started. He also was demanding increment in pay. I think they are back again or no?
      Anyway this guy makes sense though, cos others will jump at it without critically thinking of what they stand to gain. Shina Peters wey dem drop go dey vex coz his career has dwindled gravely. Some other companies pay them meagre to be their ambassador. Some give as little as 5M.

2. abum onye m bu7 June 2015 at 09:07

Timaya is right. You don't have to limit him 4 a lil pay. He's not a tiny fish in his cadre

3. Hmmm! SDK isi 20million? Odimma. Anyway if you worth more you have to ask for more. Kapish!

4. They Wil be spending money on ambassadors and be giving us useless network services. Well if you reject it, someone else will jubilate on receiving it. 20m if true no be beans.

1. He's trying to say he's worth much more than that ..

5. Well, I like his business tactic. Simply means he's a serious businessman, not a walk over.

Still don't get how making artiste Ur brand ambassadors in a country like Nigeria helps Ur product sell more. Nigerians aren't into that shit at all.

1. Help me talk oh!
      A lot of money driven into brand ambassadors yet the network is wack wacker wackest.
      Issokay!

Meanwhile I love people who know their worth. While some may see timaya as an idiot saying no to 20m, I see him redefining his worth and dreams. Thumbs up!

2. Eka dog shit joy abi na sluty dog u be
      seh u no say u get brain dilutioncritijagbajantis
      Amadioha fire u I swear
      ashwo snatcher if I see u near my person again na dogs go feed wit u smelly puss.Be warned

3. Anon 13.46 kindly explain what u are trying to say in clear english, u know, dat language we were taught and taught with while growing up.

6. Exactly. One man's food another's poison.

7. Watwva rocks Timi's boat! We all deserve better!

8. 20million???
    No wonder they get to rip their customers apart.
    Browsing with an mtn line on bb 10series is much more expensive than other network yet it ain't even unlimited not to talk of their call card! U load 750 and after making 2-3 calls,u get to wonder where d airtime went.

1. You should try the goodybag plan, it works for me.

2. You should try mtn zone.. That plan is the best ..

9. Timaya are u sure u are telling us the truth.

10. His point is right and he spoke like a smart business guy and i support Timaya's view. He is worth whatever he asked for from any company. I thought these guys contracts are 50M upward. No wonder telecom companies want quantity by signing everyone onboard than quality by signing few good artists. $6,000 monthly contract or $95,000 yearly is peanut for the likes of Timaya or Don Jazzy. The companies should narrow down the amount of people they sign and pick/increase contract fees to those who bring out hit songs yearly that should be reasons for renewal of contracts.

11. Timaya,MTN did not pick you!
    Suck it up.

12. Story for the gods......don jazzy crew produce hit songs too Mr " I was dada"

13. Ok, oga timaya we Don hear

14. The worst ambassador is Lynx,the contract he has with glo isn't worth it,that guy a can't sing jack and no popular or hit song has come from him,i can't even place his face sometimes

15. Na greediness dey worry him
    The yeye house wey he dey showcase for instagram,is it up to 20 million naira?
    He just wan carry all his problem put for mtn head.
    l know another ambitious artist have already replaced while he keep waiting a $20M deal.ALABA NO DEY KNOW SAY ONE PERSON NO COME MARKET.

1. Absolutely agree. Pure greed!

16. Replies
    1. I think he's just angry...lol...too many financial problems. That's what happens when you're living too large. Large sums like this begin to look like peanuts. You better watch it Timaya. You can't remain musically relevant forever so kindly grab as much as you can now and keep investing. In as much as I lik u lots, remind me wat you sing again? Ukwu, gaga, wine it...and...still thinking...

17. Timaya is only being greedy,20m is good enuf,wtsup with wanting extra cash?

18. Lmfao.
    Whatever makes u sleep at night, Timaya.
    You got sacked but u're claiming resignation. *SDK's side eyes*

1. If he got sacked then it's unwise of him to address the media about it. Won't the company's spokesperson rebuff his claim? Oh well

19. Am soo with Timaya on this, new year, means bigger money and better things

20. If he feels he is bigger that the contract, then it's his choice. Every aboki with his own kettle

21. Seems like he knows what he want...
    Good he is not settling for less...

22. There is always a method in Timaya's madness. Trust me, he knows what he is doing. Meanwhile, I don't think they all get the same package. He probably feels that his package wasn't as good as what they were offering others. A whole Egbirikpapa 1 of Bayelsa? Tachere money? For this koro koro naija music industry wey him don troway hit taya? Even if dem put jazz for mouth sef, where dem wan follow pass nah? Abegi, carry ya weak MTN logo shoki backwards commot for here!!!!

1. Area!!! Lmao @shoki backwards. Who dem hep?

23. Dude is way too smart and made very vital point. I like him for sounding that way.Upfront and personal is a bloody user.i m sure MTN paid him good money but he will insist to pay them tiny franxtion.The supposed 20M is a lie,not what they got pls.

24. What are they ambassadoring for? (whatever dis means).... I keep asking what do dis pple do with/for telecommunication company? Stella abeg give Timaya back back seat for that ur chair.

25. Any how u like live ur life after mtn finish paying u guys 20m what next will it mk thier network stronger rubbish Mtn

26. Bigger boy,the contract is too small for him I guess.smart dude

27. Usman Abdullahi7 June 2015 at 12:07

Timaya looks so much like Arome Salifu. Arome is a PDP youth leader who has no Masters but goes around posing as Dr. Arome Salifu. I remembered Arome when the news of the fake Dr. with the Federal Ministry of Health got out. Arome Salifu, this is a call to you to you to retrace your steps and ask God for forgiveness. A lot of us KNOW you don't have a Masters, we shake our head when we see you on TV granting press interviews as Dr. Arome Salifu! God will catch up with you soon!!!

28. ALL I CAN SAY IS THAT TIMAYA IS A SMART BUSINESSMAN.HE HAS OTHER BUSINESS VENTURES THAT FETCHES HIM MORE THAN THAT.HE HAS HIT SONGS EVRY YEAR SO THEY SHUD REVIEW IT AND GIVE HIM WHAT IS DUE.

29. Shut up dia!! Are u bigger dan Don Jazzy??
    Just say dem no pick u
    Mtcheeewwww

1. You think don jazzy was offered d same amount he was offered???

30. If I hear ............ *side eyes*

31. Everybody av priorities in life, u guys should take it easy. Its his life n he knows what is best for him.

32. Watch ir dude..pride goes b4 a fall.

33. That's his own choice sha..... Nothing concern me

34. This is why i like Timaya, he understands the music business very well. As an international artiste he knows his worth.

Please visit www.effiezy.com

35. Good decision timaya. He definitely deserves more for all the limitations imposed by these telecommunication companies. And yes, he can make that money in less than 6 months performing freely.