Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Skinny Jeans Given Health Warning

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Skinny Jeans Given Health Warning

Skinny jeans can seriously damage muscles and nerves, doctors have said.
A 35-year-old woman had to be cut out of a pair after her calves ballooned in size, the medics said in the Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery and Psychiatry.
She had spent hours squatting to empty cupboards for a house move in Australia. By evening, her feet were numb and she found it hard to walk.
Doctors believe the woman developed a condition called compartment syndrome, made worse by her skinny jeans.

Compartment syndrome is a painful and potentially serious condition caused by bleeding or swelling within an enclosed bundle of muscles - in this case, the calves.

The condition caused the woman to trip and fall and, unable to get up, she then spent several hours lying on the ground.
On examination at the Royal Adelaide Hospital, her lower legs were severely swollen.

Although her feet were warm and had enough blood supplying them, her muscles were weak and she had lost some feeling.
As the pressure had built in her lower legs, her muscles and nerves became damaged.

She was put on an intravenous drip and after four days was able to walk unaided.
Other medics have reported a number of cases where patients have developed tingly, numb thighs from wearing the figure-hugging low-cut denim trousers - although the chance of it happening is still slim for most people.

Priya Dasoju, professional adviser at the Chartered Society of Physiotherapy, said: "As with many of these warnings, the very unfortunate case highlighted is an extreme one.

"There's no need to ditch the skinny jeans just yet, simply avoid staying in the same position for too long and keep moving throughout the day. If you do suffer any prolonged pain you should of course seek help, but no-one should be alarmed by this warning or change the cut of their jeans."

WOW!Those of skinny jeans addicts - as in everyday wearers - please watch it oooh.

31 comments:

1. Honestly nowadays I wear free jeans, it's cooler, free, and goes great with any shoe or slippers

2. Skinny jeans wasn't really the cause jare. She was squatting for long and it's only normal for blood to cease after a while. The jeans may have prevented the resumption of free flow but cannot be said to be the MAIN reason it happened. Anyway those who wear clinchers should also take note. Me I love my skinny jeans die.. aint non gonna stop me biko

2. Adobnbilivit!!...
    Maybe na oyibo people leg the thing go damage...
    For here,our body na stone!..

1. Her own must have been mighty tight!

3. Seriously? And I love skinny jeans. Ok. We av heard

1. There are soft denim fabrics na.. not every jeans is tight or uncomfortable. Some are even like jeggings.. na dem sabi jor

4. Wats happens to me then! Sad face

5. Guys wearing skinny jeans should pity their jonny as well, that stuff is not ideal for it. #my2cents

6. This can't n won't stop me from wearing Skinnies! Mbanuuuu

7. Thank God I don't do skinny jean everyday.... but this is so true I remember a day I had to cut my skinny jean almost half way to enable me pull. Before the cut I couldn't move my feet I felt like I was caged till my niece had to suggest we cut it. See midnight lecture from my dad ehn since then I haven't tried a skinny jean again. I do have some but I still haven't been able to rid the fear of the last experience off my mind

8. Compartmental syndrome bawo!!! Was d skinny jean made 4rm scotchcast? Lol;is there anythng dt isn't a problem for we ladies? Maybe it'd be best if we simply walk around naked

9. Me love fitted jeans die... Na them knw, find wat u love n let it kill u

10. Too much of everything is bad!

11. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Ladies that want all thier figures to pop out this is for yu.....

12. Like seriously
    Hmmmmmmmmmm

13. The jean didn't cause her problems,
    They should go find d root cause instead of taking d easy way out. Make dem come collect my jeans na

14. Everything problem, na wa o.

15. I wear more of pencil skirts
    I don't really dig trousers
    Abi too much of skirts get side effect too?