The President of the Senate, Bukola Saraki has said that the N8.64bn bogus wardrobe allowance to lawmakers reported in the media was not correct.
The Chairman of Revenue Mobilisation and Fiscal Allocation Commission, Mr. Elias Mbam, who was with the Senate President on Wednesday also corrected the figure, saying each senator only earns a yearly sum of N506, 600, per annum, as wardrobe allowance.
Mbam, who was on a courtesy visit to Saraki's office, said the wardrobe allowance was designed for public officers in order to assist them to dress properly.
He said the money, which was 25 per cent of their basic salaries, did not include housing and other allowances.
He said, “It is 25 per cent of the basic salary for senators and if you apply that, every senator will receive N506, 600 per annum. House of Representatives members receive less but I don’t have the figure. It is less than that."
“Certainly there are other allowances. There is utility allowance, there is Housing, there is entertainment allowance and at the end of the service, there is severance allowance.”
Mbam however said that his agency would soon carry out a downward review of the allowances of lawmakers due to parameters such as the state of the economy, rate of inflation, capacity to pay, and the reality of the day.
“The commission is currently reviewing the 2008 Remuneration Act and hopefully we expect it will be ready by the end of the third quarter and once we are ready, we will make it public and of course, present it to the National Assembly,” he said.
He also pledged that his agency would publish a comprehensive list of the allowances accruable to public officers including the lawmakers, on its website to avoid misinformation.
Source : Punch
I laugh!!!
This comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteLet's even try to believe u. So even if ubare telling d truth, 506m p.a for just wardrobe allowance??? Thunder fire una enter life there. Ndi oshi
DeleteI dun belive it
DeleteFive hundred and six thousand, not million.
DeleteSo where did the initial bogus figure spring from?
ReplyDeleteeven if sef
ReplyDelete#GODWIN™
This will show them that Nigerians are not smiling again...
ReplyDeleteTorrr
ReplyDeleteso how Murray Bruce wan share the money hahah I laugh in German
ReplyDelete#GODWIN™
My exact thought when I saw this
DeleteThey should cut down or stop all their allowances. What are they even using their salaries for if we still need to clothes them?
ReplyDelete*Larry was here*
Better oo
ReplyDeleteNo be small laugh ooooooooo, anyway is their own opportunity in government. Chop I chop
ReplyDeleteHmmmmm so they now want to confuse us right? this man is lying I can see through his lies
ReplyDeleteWell, in a country where poverty is in a state of no return some sets are collecting 506k for cloth..... That's crazy
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
ReplyDelete.
Like i earlier said this people are to cover up the truth nothing else... Criminals...
I Hope this sum is true.
ReplyDeleteYour comment will be visible after approval
Lies. And they are all killing virgins and innocent victims to enter into senate or house of rep. I dont believe this. Me too i dey laugh like Obasanjo.
ReplyDeleteWe need change and it should start from Senators and House of Reps.
By now u should know that they don't rely on their basic salaries of allowance. It is the deals and contracts they do that they rely on. As they are first to know which project is available, they quickly register their pseudo companies to apply, get, and then execute the projects. Often times, the law makers bring non officials to pose as independent contractors...they do the deal and share within themselves. This is the typical modus operandi of these govt officials. That's why they kill to get there. There's a lot of money there o
DeleteThis is the next biggest lie this year after the one Oshimole told us about his wife being a virgin
ReplyDeleteWhich kind yeye wardrobe bullshit be dat sef. no road water electricity jobs security na dead ,still una dey share money for yeye allowance una noh dey collect salary? seh na wetin we send una dey do be dat ?many people today no get where to sleep even water to drink sef God purnich all una i swear oloribuku yeye pipo.Make una dey share money for dia even if una die make una cari am go heaven.
ReplyDeleteWho are they deceiving? 506,600 * 12(months) * 4(years) = .....Thieves!
ReplyDeleteNo Politician is reliable in this country. You cannot even trust what anyone is saying. No one in NASS has refuted the claim, so I don't know who or what to believe. I'll just save myself the stress. Na them sabi
ReplyDeleteLies from the pit of hell.....
ReplyDeleteHousing n entertainment allowance??
And when you calculate all this allowance, it will be clocking 2 millions of naira.
If I hear!!!!!!!!
ReplyDeleteThis is a far cry to what we previously heard. I hope this amount comes to stay. After all, no be natives most of them dey wear sef. Tailors boku. Lol
ReplyDeleteI hope so
ReplyDeleteNo be only dress properly. They don't need it. That someone's salary per annum. 506k ×106 abi 109 will go a long way in solving some issues in Nigeria. The honourable thing for them to do is to forfeit some ridiculous allowances.
ReplyDeleteGosh!
ReplyDeleteAre these people aware that the list of IDPs (Internally Displaced Persons) is some figure close to 3million?
More blasts and blood baths even in Borno State as at yesterday night. And they talking Wardrobe?
This is sickening!
My little cousins in Maiduguri have been relocated to Obosi in Anambra State since one year now, learnt they call spark shots from exhaust pipes "Ringtone". The sound of Maiduguri. Imagine.
This is sickening.
Their Dad is left there doing his Bank Manager Job. God please protect your children.
This one na small thing na. I was told they also receiev hazard allowance and I as, hazard for what exactly? Pls doctors in the house how much is your hazard allowance in a month? Na Germans tall say em prefer their prostitutes to their politicians abi na how em talk am again.
ReplyDeletemtcheeeeeeeeewwwwwwww! which kind mumu wardrobe allowance? Buhari should cut down on their stupid allowances to the extent they will regret being in politics.....for example 200k as wardrobe allowance per annum.
ReplyDeleteWhich one is housing allowance? Were they homeless before they were elected? Can't they stay in their former houses so that the money can be channeled to other things like the 3million internally displaced people?
ReplyDeleteThis people think we came here to play
*Swell-up* lies, Story...They should continue but also remember their is a God they'll answer to someday.
ReplyDeleteThis is Bullshit! What happened to their clothes? Pls they should keep wearing it or get new once from their basic salary, thieves, Dino milaye n Bruce are the only senators I see
ReplyDeleteYou can imagine my sister...
ReplyDeleteFor them to dress properly indeed..
So what do they now do with their salaries bikonu!!!!
Covering up their asses i see,now now now,hian,d money is probably even more that 8. Something billion of all d ppl you want to lie to its Nigerians you chose,mumu
ReplyDeleteIt's per a month oo! Don't mind them oo.
ReplyDeleteFor your Arab oil perfumes and anion pads/pant liners. .. add me up on bbm 5304B4DE. Delivery is nationwide! Thank you Stella!
What do they even need these allowances for when more than half of the population lives below the poverty margin?
ReplyDeleteNo Be small akuko Mike Ejeagha
ReplyDeleteNdi Uchu!
Nne m kedu?
Kisses and warm hugs.
The wardrobe allowance shouldn't even arise at the first place. Are they trying to tell us, they were walking naked before elected. My take is this...the aspect of huge allowances be expunged from their packages. That's my take.