Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari Sells 9 Presidential Aircraft To Reduce Government Costs

Saturday, June 20, 2015

President Buhari Sells 9 Presidential Aircraft To Reduce Government Costs

President Muhammadu Buhari had ordered that nine of the transport aircrafts in the Presidential fleet to be sold as part of a new cost reduction initiative.
The Federal Government is spending roughly N12 billion annually for the maintenance of the Presidential fleet.

The details of the sale were publicly disclosed by a source who claims awareness of Buhari's mandates and the aviation affairs of the government.
The source told media that the "nine, which still have market value, are to be sold immediately to reduce maintenance costs."

Nigeria's Presidential fleet is one of the biggest in Africa and is said to be the 3rd largest in Nigeria after the commercial carriers, Arik Air and Aero Contractors.

Inside information from Nigerian Air Force sources revealed that the fleet has two Dassault Falcon 900 jets, a Gulfstream IVSP, a Gulfstream V, a Dornier Do 228, a Beechcraft King Air B200, and three Augusta Westland AW139 helicopters.

Information on the exact number of aircrafts in the fleet is classified, but a source has said the their are about 16 aircrafts; the most important and most prominent one is the Eagle One, used by the President for travel.
These aircrafts are specifically reserved for the transport of the Vice-President, Senate President, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and can also be used to convey African Heads of States visiting or departing Nigeria.

Saharareporters cullage.

*16 aircrafts? N12billion annually?WTF....ARE YOU KIDDING ME? *side eyes at Former President Jonathan*

60 comments:

1. Hmm that's good. I hope some people won't pocket the money after selling the aircrafts.

1. That's a very hood move tho
      Side eyes at GEJ too

2. Can u imagine the waste? Damnnn!!! What was he using them for when u can only be in one place at a time? First lady will use one, Abati and Okupe will have one each.. just imagining o, as I don't understand. This is disturbing. Anyway thank God the sale will generate funds. Na wah!!

3. The problem now is WHO GO BUY AM?

Stella oya reset ya side eyes sharpally this minute! Jonathan INHERITED some of these jets too!!!

Send your side eyes to Minna IBB, Abeokuta OBJ, the Yaraduas and Atikus abi did you ever hear they flew commercial for official assignments outside naija?????

Abeg Stellz stop the rough play

4. Waste resources,why? more than 9 aircraft's

5. The news has been debunked..dont know which to believe anymore.

6. And all were acquired during Oga Jonathan's regime. Whoever this man made his adviser must be a silly one. And they kept on releasing funds to the detriment of the entire nation. Finance minister kept on releasing funds. Whatvhapoenrd to travelling with commercial airlines by the other officials? Na wa

1. Get your facts before spewing thrash. The aircrafts have been there since the days of OBJ and co abi you hear say Oga Jona buy aircraft for him time?

7. Ahn Ahn, y ar our leaders sooooo evil, 12b? Wile some people can't even afford sch fees?

8. Stella why the side eyes at Goodluck??....
    Was the aircraft not there when Obasanjo and co were in power?...

The aircrafts should be sold biko afterall,the aboki in power does not deserve it...
    Left for me,he should be using commercial airlines...

9. Freshest Buhari of highest life...

10. Stella Mr President media man has denied this report

#GODWIN™

11. Stella the presidency has denied this report

#GODWIN™

12. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Jonah just single handedly destroy this country i swear.... Thank God For a man like Buhari who don come to our rescue i swear.....

13. The presidency had debunked the story. They said they didn't sell any aircraft

14. Dede Jona really wasted money... Baba Bubu plz now that u are there do whatever u can to salvage our economy situation.

15. Heard the Presidency denied the news earlier today na, which do we believe now biko?

16. My kid bro is leaving orientation camp in Kano for Lagos on Monday and I want to book his flight. He mentioned Azman airline to me and the offer is minimal compared to others just that I've never heard of the airline before (he went with Arik).
    I've googled the airline and cant seem to find any review about them. Please I need bvs that have or knows someone who has traveled with them.
    I don't want him to be stranded in a strange land considering the recent occurrences with corp-members.
    The thing dey pain me small share because throughout my service year in Ebonyi state no one booked or offered to book my flight o, na peace mass I dey follow to and fro or Gold when I want to feel like a Queen.

1. @hoyehbee
      Fear not, av flown them twice and it was all pleasant. For me, they are the 2nd best after discovery. Tell him 2 b on time o cos those people no dey delay at all ooo

2. Oh...Ok thanks a lot. I really appreciate

17. I thought they said it was debunked yesterday. One story to the other.

18. Makes sense. Well done to the president and team.

19. Hmmmm and d masses cry for food everyday. God is watching.

20. Hahah stella u nor current @ all,thy hav come out to say it's a lie o

21. NIGERIAAAAA! Choi! God help us nau pleaseee!

22. @stella and ur jona was planning on buying 2 more.
    Stella, people keep saying nass but the real problem is in the executive. Have you seen convoys of ministers? An average convoy of a minister has 100m worth or cars. Now multiply by 36. And these cars are changed every 2yrs or so.
    Also, the states cant pay salary becos the pension of former gov like akpabio, tinubu, fashola runs into billions yearly. Imagine their states having to provide 5br mansions in abuja and their state 4 each of them in choice areas. That wld mean a house in maitama and ikoyi each. Then 2 new cars every 2 yrs. Yearly medicals 4 dem and their family. All these is after already enriching themselves.
    I dont support bailout 4 d states cos they are d ones that have over- borrowed billions from the bond market and now they cant survive.
    Imagine a state gov using 10bn to build gov office.

1. Please, when are they reviewing these part of the constitution? So annoying!

2. @kingrex
      Its the state house of assembly of each state that makes these laws o. And they r all in d hands on d govs

23. And there are people who can't afford one square meal!!!!

God Bless Nigeria.

24. APC already debunked dis na.

25. Nigeria my country na wa oh ,change change all we are saying is give us change

26. Lord have mercy!!! About 16 aircrafts? Awon 'apa omo airiowo rii'. And some ppl been praising 'him' to be the best leader. #Senepiayeye.

Thanks a lot for the GOOD INTENTIONS for Nigeria(ans) PMB. God will see U through.

Nor be only *side eyes*. Mtschew *Omo Ati Oko Wa Ba Ile Je*

1. No vex o, abeg are you related to Fadeyi Oloro Ni? This your incantations strong.

2. ROTFLMAOOOO @ "...Fadeyi Oloro Ni?".

27. Chai! Smh4u! This rumour has been debunked na, na today u come dey carry the fake news?

28. So much wastage in a country where more than half of the population is wallowing in abject poverty and penury.

29. I heard a report that it's not true, he doesn't plan to sell them.

30. Madam this report has been refuted! Reconfirm before you start exclaiming

31. And the wardrobe allowance as well puhleeese

32. Whadafreakingfrack?!?!!!
    You mean GEJ and previous rulers actually slept well at night knowing they had over 3 aircraft and the masses are suffering?
    What do they need more than two aircraft for sef?
    I weep for our leaders.
    I weep for this country.
    I weep for myself.
    I weep for my children.

33. I was a bit skeptical when Buhari was put forth by APC to contest but I would eventually be convinced that Buhari has got a good head on his shoulder. What we are seeing now is a result of having someone with a sense of purpose and direction at the helm of affairs. Thank you God for giving us renewed hope that just may be in our life time, Nigeria could be better.
    As for the sorry excuse of a former president (GEJ) I hope you did take your time to reflect on your time leading this country. The masses were solidly behind you but you let us down completely by appointing idiot...
    I pray that God would use Buhari to put a smile on our faces IJN.

1. Ă‚men o...
      I pray for That Man like Tomoro no dey...
      May God keep him.Bless him wit more wisdom,spirit of discretion,Excellent Health in body and mind and Eagle's Strength. Amen.

34. Contrary to reports that President Muhammadu Buhari had ordered the immediate disposal of nine of the 11 VIP transport aircraft in the presidential fleet, the presidency on Friday denied knowledge of any such directive.

THISDAY newspaper had quoted unnamed sources as saying the president had directed the selling of serviceable and unserviceable aircrafts to cut maintenance costs in line with the government’s policy to drastically reduce its annual expenditure.

Eight of the planes in the fleet, including Boeing 737, two Gulfstream 550 jets, Gulfstream V jet, two Falcon 7X planes, the Hawker Siddeley aircraft and Augusta Westland chopper, the report said, are reserved strictly for the president’s movement.

Other aircrafts, including two Falcon 900 planes, the Dornier, the Cessna Citation, the Beechracft King Air, and two AugustaWestland choppers, are reserved for the airlifting of the Vice-President, Senate President, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Minister of Foreign Affairs, as well as visiting African heads of states.

But speaking to PREMIUM TIMES Friday, the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Garba Shehu, denied knowledge of such directive.

“The story of the order for the sale of aircrafts in the Presidential Fleet, about which so much interest is being expressed, is not known to us,” Mr. Shehu said.

Mr. Shehu said if anything like that was being contemplated, the Presidency would issue a statement through its official channels to announce it.

http://www.premiumtimesng.com/news/headlines/185385-buhari-has-not-ordered-sale-of-9-presidential-jets-

35. Buhari's spokeman has said yesterday that they are not aware of the sales of the aircrafts Stella.

36. I don't believe this and its not all on Jonathan, some of those aircraft's were there before him so no side eyes,if they truly sold it what then would d money be used for and whose pocket will it enter

37. This comment has been removed by the author.

38. Oxygen and magnesium.
    If this is true then so much money is wasted in this country.

39. The Presidency has debunked this rumour

40. The Presidency has debunked this rumour

41. I thought they said the story is not true
    It's rumour

42. We are one of the poor countries in the world and can't even feed our people but we have the luxury to buy 16aircrafts. Even the yearly maintenance money can create jobs,
    It truly show our leaders lack of focus. Look at all the western world that are so rich if any of those countries have 3 presidential jet for their leaders talk more of a country like ours that can not even feed their people. Two presidential is even much. Whether this story is true or not all we know is that we have a lot of aircrafts and all need to be auctioned.
    A country so blessed but with cursed leaders who are so blind, they are good in wasting our resource.

1. Jay nna,Mba! I disagree wit u on dis one...Dat Naija is poor.

Nna we are not o.we are rich.just that D few greedy vultures have It all for demselves and in excess too.

2. @GW @ Bootylicious, Resources wise we are rich but do such resources wealth translate into citizens lives?No. When 10% of citizens are very rich then you have 20% of middle class who are ok. That does not translate to being rich country when most people can have 3sq meal and no infrastructure. More than 65% of our people are poor while more than 40% are extremely poor. It shows we re not rich but with resource being utilised for the benefit of our people of course we can be rich. Rich is not seeing few people being rich but also where middle class are doing extremely well because a country without its middle class doing well is not rich. Yes we know the few greedy once are the problem.

43. Jaymoore mba i dis agree with you ,Nigeria is one of the richest country in the world ,but our people are full of greed ,if you see how oyibo dey hussle to get nigeria visa ,because they know the kind of money in niger .Nigeria is just full of greedy and self centred leaders.