Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Presidency Shuts Down Saraki's Claim That He Sacrificed His Presidential Ambition For Buhari

Sunday, June 28, 2015

Presidency Shuts Down Saraki's Claim That He Sacrificed His Presidential Ambition For Buhari

The Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mr. Femi Adesina,on Saturday, said there was no truth in the claim by Saraki that he stepped down for President Buhari in the APC presidential race.

Adesina, in an interview with Punch correspondents, said the issue of stepping down did not arise because the party conducted a free and fair presidential primary which Buhari won.

The presidential spokesman said all Nigerians know those who took part in the party primary.

Adesina said, “There was no issue of stepping down during the presidential race in the APC. There was a presidential primary that was plain, transparent, free and fair.

When asked if Saraki had reached out to the President as he claimed, Adesina said, “The President has always maintained that the party is supreme. The party started a process which was truncated.

“The President has always maintained that those who truncated or aborted the process were the ones who precipitated crisis.

“The President had said in earlier statements that he would work with anybody who emerged the Senate President, but then, that did not include those who will subvert (the process).”

‘Saraki snubbed Buhari to emerge Senate president’

A leader of the APC, who spoke to SUNDAY PUNCH on the condition of anonymity, said Saraki was only trying to be clever by half.

The leader of the party, who spoke in a telephone interview with one of our correspondents on Saturday, said Saraki had boxed himself into a corner.

“Saraki is simply trying to be clever by half. He is in a fix and he is trying to justify his illegal actions,” the source said.

Insisting that the Senate President lied about not being invited to the ICC meeting, the reliable party source said Saraki was invited.

The source said, “He is lying if he said he was not invited to the ICC meeting. All National Assembly members-elect were invited via an SMS.

“He deliberately snubbed the President because he had already struck a deal with the PDP to actualise his inordinate ambition in defiance of his party’s position.
Culled : Punch

SARAKI'S Claim That Was Shut Down.....

The Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, has denied reports that he is nursing the ambition for presidency in 2019, saying he actually quit his presidential bid in the 2015 election for President Muhammadu Buhari.

Saraki stated that he contributed immensely to the emergence of Buhari as President and contributed greatly to his victory in the presidential election held on March 28, 2015.

The Senate President, who spoke to select journalists in an exclusive interview in Abuja on Saturday, also denied having plans to dump the All Progressives Congress due to the ongoing crisis in the party over his leadership of the Senate.

Rather, he said what remained paramount in his mind at the moment was how to support the Buhari-led administration to tackle the various social and economic problems confronting the country.

Saraki said, “I was the first person that stepped down his political ambition, once General Buhari announced that he was going to contest the presidential election. And since then, prior to the period of election, I worked tirelessly to support his emergence.

50 comments:

1. This is just the beginning of APC clisis. This kinda thing happens when a group is made up of i-too-sabis.

2. APC is better as opposition party!

Krix via iPhone 6 gold

2. this grown up men no go respect there sef

#GODWIN™

3. Saraki is silly.
    How can he say he stepped down when he never even declared am ambition to run for the Presidency.
    In a better country, he's supposed to be in prison for ruining a bank.
    He thinks he's smart but he will never be president of this country.

1. Inukwa President of our country...
      If I hear!
      People are stil agitating he is d Senate Something obuluzia President.....

See very Tall Dreams.

AnD yea GBG,he should be tried.
      My friend from Ilorin is sad wen she talks about dis man,his father and d deir governance....

2. In a better country, an ex military dictator who is too old and senile will never be d president, what is buhari doing on d presidential seat? So shut ur trap

3. I don't even understand this man again. As much as I adore his resilience and intelligence, he's beginning to annoy me.

I read his explanation elsewhere about what transpired that day of the Senate election. He claimed he didn't have his phone with him at all. As he slept in the car while parked in the assembly premises. That he was incommunicado, hence he didn't get the message about the meeting. Let's even accept that was the case and a blunder had been committed, and now he's senate president.

What will Saraki's excuse be for shunning subsequent entreaties made by his party? I'm not for a puppet leader, but at the same time. If u say that ur party is "supreme'...the least u could do is honour them and state reasons u disagree with them on any grounds. It is wrong and demeaning that ur party now have to communicate their suggestions to u via the media, because uv refused to read/ acknowledge their letter in the assembly.... and u also revert to them via the media. It reeks of arrogance and it's tantamount to anarchy within ur party, and losing the respect and confidence garnered after winning the election. Charity begins at home is what we were told.

Closed door meetings to thrash your grievances out wouldn't be a bad idea. This public show of shame needs to stop.. there seems to be no privacy within the APC anymore, leaders losing their grips while their over ambitious juniors are using the loophole to their advantage. They should put their house together I beg .

And I also suggest that the President break his silence on matters arising. It is pertinent to know his stance about things. Else his silence could be termed as support for those who are constantly breaking their party protocols. Enough already

4. Very well said love!
      Saraki is a greedy bastard!!
      Served in ilorin n mehn story
      4 anoda day

4. That retard! Who would have voted for him before? Or he thinks people have forgotten his facade of feeding people who later died in sacrificial style circumstances.
    Evil, snaky, crafty useless man

1. Anon 9.32
      Get ur facts right. Any ilorin person knows bukola wouldnt gather people to feed them. If u say his father, i can imagine it even thou the sacrificial thing is debatable.

5. Well, he never said he contested in d primaries, maybe wen he found out buhari was contesting, he decided not to. Maybe that was wat he meant. I dunno. APC ppl are too scared. Clearly they weren't ready for leadership of dis magnitude. I laff!

1. Saraki is the Man of the people.
      Am happy he emerge as the Senate President.
      APC full of Godfather ism
      They are not ready to move Nigeria forward.
      Selfish people every where.
      Buhari start work we are impatient.

6. I still don't understand why so much noise over Saraki's becoming senate President after all he is an APC man. Must everything be according to their wish? Their prayers should be for him to do better. They are truncating the process of their government by themselves. Am so enjoying the intrigues of the game.

7. Is this really necessary? Abeg make una work jare.

8. t has been confirmed that Nigeria Air Force, under the directives of the Buhari-led administration, raided Ikot Obiokut, a border community in Cross River state for reasons not yet clear to observers.
    He said “An anonymous reporter confirmed that raid by Hind helicopter gunships using incendiary bombs massacred over three hundred villagers and about twenty militants. One observer who wishes to remain anonymous said: “It seems the present Federal Government is avenging for the killed Boko Haram terrorists.”

Why was this not covered properly in all news papers.

1. There's nothing I hate like news from anonymous people, how can u then substantiate dis claim???

2. Oga no dey sabotage person like dis ooooooooooooooooooooo,ahhhh wch kain talk b dis. Hian,also a border town with where.....

3. When was the last time u read aboout the ills of tinubu, fashola and other apc stalwarts? Its because they control a large chunk of the media. If u r an opponent, you will become news 4 d wrong reasons.

9. True or false he would not have won that Presidential seat. Let him not deceive himself. All these politicians should start working and stop all these their political bickering.

10. They won't just let people rest

11. APC talk too much
    Mtcheeeeeeew

12. The chicken has come home to roost. Now we know saraki is not out to serve the people but to manipulate his way into becoming president. First if saraki had been apc's president ial candidate, they wouldn't have won the presidency. Secondly I contributed immensely to pmb emerging president out of my love for his lifestyle,ability and commitment since I have material things to gain other than gaining from the general good but saraki worked for the emergence of pmb in order to secure his position as a senator. He should know that his presidential ambition for 2019 or whenever is dead on arrival. Lastly Nigerians should not despair because of what is happening now because from the ashes of these destroyers, a better Nigeria will emerge. Let pmb and the few committed patriots not be discouraged or derailed by the machinations of the wolves who have been feeding fat on Nigeria while leaving majority in abject penury. What I mean is that the present struggle going on will destroy them and leave a leeway for pmb and other patriots to rescure Nigeria and nigerians

1. but saraki worked for the emergence of pmb in order to secure his position as a senator.
      Before Buhari came into politics Saraki has always been a father in politics.
      working for buhari or Not won't stop Saraki 's Re Election.
      Saraki family own Kwara state.
      The key to Kwara state is inside Saraki's belly.

2. Well said. I think if this nonsense continues, Saraki may defect as a result of APC's hostility towards him. He'll use this as an excuse. After all he's got what he wants and doesn't really need them anymore. Anyway we shall see.

3. Its sad people know very little but make so much noise.
      @chinyelu u talk well jor
      @youngman b4 2015, when did burahis candidate evr win in katsina state? Bukola singlehandedly decided who becomes anything in kwara state and right now he is senate president. Anyone that didnt want him should have come to the venue of the inauguration and vote 4 sm1else. Let me also let u know that bukola has connect. He is a former chairman of d gov forum and alot of this people are in the senate and installed alot of these senators.
      I think it is even wicked 4 any1 not to support bukola bcos he delivered his state totally for apc and i rememver he stepped down his ambition publicly to work for the party.
      People always forget that these g5 govs gave apc the final momentum and push that made apc win.

13. Hehehehe Saraki d man with a broom in hand and an umbrella in heart. I'm luving dis game hawhawhaw!

14. Saraki don high! Did he think he was gonna emerge president just like that? Who sabi am? His emergence as flagbearer would have cost the APC the victory. Much like what happened with Ribadu of the now defunct ACN. Though Buhari might not be the best option, but he's a better alternative to the PHD fellow from Otuoke...Ghanaman signing out!

1. And who gave a dirty ghanian like you the guts to interfere in Naija matter?

2. And who told a bastard like u that u're more Nigerian than me? Discuss the topic at hand fool!

15. High level political drama in less than a month since this new government. This can only get more interesting.

16. Story for the gods mbok
    Sharumi

17. Abeg na which kain mumu lie be dis? That Saraki wants to become president one day is nothing new. But the question is can he become president without manipulating the system? Even if he manipulates the aystem will the real Northerners allow it? I use the word "real" because its only the people of Ilorin who claim to be Northerners.
    I will take Sarakis ambition more seriously if he plays by the rule and until the real Hausa muslims start allowing them lead prayers. This is because as it is, only God can make him president and I pray God will not allow it IJN.

18. Step down kor, who for vote you, mtcheeew

19. Lol!! I don't know how APC missed this PDP mole in their midst. This is what happens when you get too comfortable. You think you're the shiznit and start slipping up. As much as I can't stand the desperate, political whore (and there are many of them on both sides) that is Saraki, I'll say well played! LOL!!

20. Ha ha ha ha ha ha! This guy is funny. Just because he executed the palace coup and now holding everyone hostage he has now become delirious with his self worth. Imagine if he ran... The 170million people of Nigeria would have shut him down and told him his history. He can manipulate about 100 people and another 330 others in the lower house but he can't manipulate 170million people.

21. I wish thief saraki come out for president under PDP in 2019 so dat corruption party can b buried forever. Abeg who go vote for saraki

22. politicians your ambition is way bigger than anything else. Please instead of quarrelling over who step down or up why not use the time to do something more important for the people.

23. Did I hear him say "illegal"?
    How did Saraki emerge by illegal means?
    People misuse words.
    You can use the word 'unscrupulous', 'skullduggery" or 'chichanery' to describe what Saraki did not illegal. It's either legal or illegal and if it were the later, APC would have brought an injunction to stop Saraki from acting as senate president. They would have gone to court to challange his emergence and seek redress. But no, they seat in their offices and dole out press briefings of deceit.

Many of them know what is going on but are either too afraid or weak to do something. Yet Saraki took the bull by the horn and he has become a traitor. Did Saraki get elected illegally? Due process was followed.

True, he never bowed to party wishes and fooled the party that fed him but did u really think Saraki wouldn't have emerged as senator if he was PDP? With the influence they wield in Kwara? He and his family read the political tide clearly n joined the winning party. Besides, Saraki contributed to APC and it's growth as much as they contributed to his own. Many of his states supporters followed him to APC. Some people even defected just because a name so strong is affiliated to APC. It's all linked in 1 chain. So, they both used each other.

People shouldn't talk like they don't know politics. Even the US, it's same. Do you know what may have been offered to Saraki to step down from his bid for presidency? Or/and later, senate presidency? When in his statement did he say he legally contested? Were APC about to conduct primaries before? Wasn't it an after thought? Buhari was more or less a consensus candidate from the moment the 2 parties ceded. We're ACN expecting a 72yr old past general who had contested twice to come together and be satisfied with being a mere party member. Wasn't it part of the plan for the coalition? Give Buhari the ticket and support him, when he wins, he will elevate the party. Now it's not happening, so many listless people are angry and almost losing their mask of 'change'. Saraki took the bull by the horn. He didn't wait for Tinubu to hand him down something(if ever it would happen), he decided to take it by himself to ensure the promises are kept.

Saraki took the party for a ride. Same way the party took the country for a ride with their social media campaigns on how they are repentant and sane and good men. Now it's quite clear that power was the aim. Same shit, different toilet...

1. Damn! Your analysis makes an interesting read.

24. Saraki is an irritant.. just talking trash

25. Even if he contest he can never get the party's ticket. Nigerians will definitely not vote for him, Bukola has just proved the saying that Ilorin are me su ja n ba. A man that can betrayed his party just for his own selfish interest can not lead a nation.

26. @ Bona party, you alone understand everything. Leave this hungry people on stellar blog and other blogs that are talking rubbish

27. People please let's be civil. The English is very clear and this statement personal. When Buhari declared he kept his own ambition, knowing there are better days ahead.. He has emerged Senate president and Ekweremadu deputy what's the noise all about this is change as well

28. What did saraki do?
    He was nominated by an apc senator and was unopposed.
    The apc are lucky cos if the pdp had thought about it, they would have had d senate president.
    Now, the apc nominated another senator frm borno but he lost to ekweremadu becos people that we voted for decided to go and meet in icc instead of attend the inauguration that brought them to abuja.
    They say party is supreme like the party isnt made up of people that have their own interest. Is the party more supreme than the laid down laws and procedure of this country?
    People are angry because they feel bukola is in a better position the be president in 2019 if he is senat3 president anf will block some peoples chances. There is no permanent friend in politics, only permanent interests. They forget that pmb became president without holding any position or having anything to put him at an advantage.