Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Police Arrests Fake Nigerian Doctor Practicing With Friend's Licence For 10 Years

Monday, June 08, 2015

Police Arrests Fake Nigerian Doctor Practicing With Friend's Licence For 10 Years

Martins Ugwu,a senior official of the Federal Ministry of Health, who has been practising as a medical doctor for close to 10 years, has been arrested by the police upon discovery that he stole the medical license from his friend.

Ugwu, who is a Senior Medical Officer II on Grade Level 13 at the Nigerian
Centre for Disease Control,NCDC, was found to have impersonated his friend, Dr. George Davidson Daniel, who is undergoing a residency training programme in Jos, Plateau State.

He allegedly stole the license from his friend for whom he was best man during his wedding in 2006. They both hail from Orukpa in Ogbadibo LGA of Benue State.

Punch learnt that Ugwu, who was due to be promoted as Assistant Director in Nigerian Centre for Disease Control, has been working in the civil service since 2006 under the name of Dr. George Davidson Daniel until he was indicted by the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria as an impostor.

Ugwu, who was arrested by the police on Thursday in Abuja, was however released a few hours later, fueling speculations that the policemen might have been compromised.

Ugwu’s arrest was sequel to an investigation by the MDCN, which registers all Nigerian doctors and regulates their practice, after investigations uncovered two Dr. Daniels—the same name on two separate identity photographs.

But the MDCN said it was dissatisfied with police handling of Ugwu’s case and promised to take up the matter with the Inspector-General of Police.

*Original reportage by Punch, rewritten here *

How come it took them so long to discover the impersonation?The friend kept quiet all these while?Hmmmmm!

65 comments:

1. Medical school drop out. He knows the job intoto. , just doesn't have the requisite "kpali". School can be so frustrating for some people. After everything, you been doing very well from year 1 to year 6 they now say you entered with fake jamb result and expect you to leave with nothing. You go begin practice nĂ¥. Where and how do u want to begin again?

2. As we go in life
      Doing the right thing saves us from embarrassment and disgrace later on as nothing is hidden under the sun.

GOD have mercy on us for past foolishness and please give us the grace to rectify and not cover up in JESUS MIGHTY NAME, AMEN

2. All I can imagine is how many cases he must have misdiagnosed.

1. I was even thinking that it happened abroad where illegal immigrants use their friend's papers to work. But alas, na Nigeria. He was to be promoted? Means he has been doing well for over 10 years if no report of medical malpractice has been put against him.
      Perhaps he has little knowledge of medicine and learnt the rest on the job overtime. Or, he prolly dropped out of med school. Cos no one can just pretend to be a doctor without knowing the fundamentals.
      And to think that the co doctors he's been working with didn't suspect him? Dude must be good at what he does. This one pass Dr Agwuturube ... abi how una dey spell our SDK Dr name.

2. Sisi Eko but he can only get away with this in naija oh. When people in the medical field take their board exams, biometric data is taken, so that's in a database and with each state licensing board. They'll bust him before he says jack Robinson .
      Non professional can use your papers any day.
      Yeye quack like him, he should go to jail for a long time.

3. Oh yeah. Can u imagine.

3. Anything done under falsehood must come to light...one day. It may tarry, but it will come. Let's learn to do right. God remains d ultimate helper

4. New week with different kinds of news ok, God will take perfect control in Nigeria.

5. His cup is full...
    I pity people who took him as their doctor...
    Fake people everywhere..

6. How did he practice for that long???did he change the name on his credentials as well?

I guess he is good on the job

Too bad for him

7. No so sure, may na witch hunting

8. It took so long to discover this and I wonder if his friend is aware that his license was stolen. Something isn't right here. Is my Ugwu black mailing his friend? Maybe that was why he kept mute all these while until the law fished him out.

1. I want to believe that no normal qualified reputable doctor will indulge a friend by giving him his license to practice... knowing the implications. After suffering for years to qualify, I don't think he'll be this stupid to allow such. This man must have stolen or duplicated his friend's license without his knowledge. I stand to be corrected

2. Thought of it too and I digested d duplicated thoughts cos, I believe no medical doctor won't need his Licence 4 that long, so if Mr daniel's was stolen then he must ve reported it. Now am swaying to d blackmail Idea. Lol.

Guy must b a hardened criminal, stealing plus impersonation? Playing with human lives n probably blackmail. Smh

3. You are right, blackmail cannot be ruled out because the medical board renew licences every year. So how come he was stealing the licence yearly. The friend is not saying the truth.

4. Hmmmm true that. Na wa o

9. Oh? Impersonating a doctor? Lol. Some people. Thank God he's not a surgeon. He would have killed a billion and one persons

10. Nigerians always in d news for d wrong reasons.

1. It happened in Nigeria na. Bet u thought it happened abroad ba? Lol

2. Nawaooo... May God see him through

3. May God see him through? Na real wa ooo. Yeye prayer point.

11. 10 years!!
    Stole as a best man.

12. Na so we hear am o.anytin can happen o.though it shldnt tke ds long but its nigeria where almost notin works.if there was a good data system, they shld have known long ago when he tries to do his annual license, buh as I said, its naija.

13. The caption shouldnt be fake nigerian doctor. I think imposter would have been better. Cos the guy knws the proffesion well. No death has been reported since the past 10 years. They should just forgive him, give him license and let him continue saving lives biko.

1. Exactly. He must be good on the job. His friend better not say he's not aware of d stolen licence.

2. Hear yourself. They should 4give him, give him licence and let him continue? Nig's prob is definitely u.

U so darf u 4got d stealing part, impersonating part, posibly blackmail? This kind of people can commit murder in a blink without moving an eyelid. Smh 4 u.

14. Maybe this is the kinda instance uncle Jona wants us to know is corruption, and not stealing.

Impersonation???
    They should kindly revoke whatever licence he's got, and demote him.

What nonsense?!

15. Why is his face hidden?

16. The friend should be investigated too, so he wants to tell us he hasn't noticed the loss of his licence all these years. I suspect he is a culprit

17. Udi nsi ndi igbo na ete mmadu na iru ehhh. I never see. But how come d guy was not detected since '06? Something is not right somewhere. He obviously knws his onions hence the due promtion and competence. Maybe he was a medical student that couldnt finish for watevr reasons.

18. How wicked can one be! Well they both know what went down.

19. Replies
    1. Efe will not kill me with laugh,the fear of typing a full sentence and have bv's come for your head,bout your bad English,makes Efe just say"can u imagine"....lmao

2. And he even put a comma after the can u imagine

3. Hehehehe abeg make ona leave efe

20. I believe his friend didn't know. A real medical Dr, after all the sweat he/she goes through ,knows the value of the license and will not allow anyone impersonate him .

The impostor worked in the civil service so I guess he didn't practice.. He was just doing admin work or so. If he had practiced, MDCN would have nabbed him since!

21. Hmmm. 10years!!! May God help us in this country

22. Imagine!

Does it mean that his friend didn't know,and had to go back to med school or......

Story sounds funny.

23. Thank God he was found o. Things people do though

24. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Am very sure the ugwu guy is so gud that they didnt bother about who he truely his.

25. May God continue to protect us from the hands of Doctors generally,including those that even claim to be professional. How can someone be practising for the past ten years in the civil service without being caught?The man go don make am oo at the expense of innocent patients lives.

1. Toto mouth I hail o

2. Hahhahhahahahahhaha my belle o @anonymous!!!

Don't mind the soured olobo tankansu mouth!!

Tueh!

3. Anony y na lol? Had to look at his picture Kikikiki

26. in your stupid mind only fake doctors misdiagonise cases

27. sisi eko pls go get a job....sdk blog stories analyser/busybody/amebo

NB;;;pls don't even make that childish comment about not replying to anonymous....till you put your full names and picture we are all anonymous here..
    ....am out

1. Hian anonymous!!

Wetin sisi eko do you na???

2. My dear anon get grade u hear. Jobless mofo.

3. Msheew see this one. U are looking for who to tango with right? Pick another bitch o jare. Cos this bitch right here ain't got time for ur yada yada... for ur mind now u don write epic comment shey? Ahaha u are even answering urself ahead of me.. See ur sour life? Yinmu. Ok I'm strolling to other posts, Pls come with me. Catchya

4. Ah ha before nko? What do u think I came to this blog to do? My dear, I will so do the amebo with a vengeance. I will analyse like kilode.. Chai, na wetin carry me come here be that na. What are u here for pls? Ur family reunion or Sunday school lesson? U are pathetic oooo.. Ahahah let's roll.

28. A man Desperate to survive that's all I see here. Let d law take its course.

29. God no go let any bastard witch doctor take me learn work..

Tueh!!!

30. Chai, Nigerians...

Do you guys even read sef...

The guys works at Centre for a Disease Control....he's a civil servant...probably has never had close contact with patients...he knows why he went to work there cos if will be possible to hide and he Can easily learn the basics of the job specification of his department without the pressure of everyday patients as he would in a hospital...

Shame on him!!! He needs to be prosecuted and jailed...

31. Incomplete story, it was not until his promotion exercise that ministry of health think it was the right time to verify with the mdcn

32. Most of them always hide under Govt hosp. God na yr hand we dey.