Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: LUTH Doctors Begin Warning Strike, Threaten Total Shutdown

Tuesday, June 16, 2015

LUTH Doctors Begin Warning Strike, Threaten Total Shutdown

The Association of Resident Doctors, Lagos University Teaching Hospital chapter, Idi-Araba, Lagos has begun a three-day warning strike over the non- reversal of the skipping policy for doctors working at the hospital.

The LUTH ARD Chairman, Dr. Moronkola Ramon, who declared the three-day warning strike during a protest on the hospital premises on Monday, warned that resident doctors might commence a full scale action if their demand was not met.

Ramon said the hospital management had stopped skipping, a policy whereby doctors were given double promotion, adding that the management granted same privilege to other health workers in the hospital.
He said, “We gave the management a seven-day ultimatum to implement skipping for doctors as it used to.

“We also served the 21-day notice needed for us to proceed on an indefinite action if they failed to implement the policy. If they do not after this strike, we will consider an indefinite strike. However, we will be providing emergency services to avert unnecessary loss of lives.”

Ramon wondered why LUTH had yet to comply with the agreement that the Federal Government had with its national body, the Nigerian Medical Association.

He stated that the strike was in compliance with the directive from the association‘s national body.
culled from gazette

*The government or whoever is in charge should attend to this matter once and for all because people die in tons every time doctors go on strike....I tire for this matter!.........hiss!*

24 comments:

1. Lord take perfect control

2. Is only God dat will save us from their hands.when dey fall sick,dey travel abroad but dose dat can't travel will now die without medical care.

3. When they go on strike,who suffers? Misplaced priorities. If they go on strike,will it affect d body that is supposed to implement the skipping? They'd better come up with another means to get what they want. Na the poor masses dey always suffer

4. na citizens go suffer am o

#GODWIN™

5. Strike again!

6. They should be attended to because life is very important.

7. Let the government sort this out quickly

8. They should attend to them mbok

9. Luth Doctors are thieves. upon the tips people give them so that their patients will not die they still want to go on strike. they should continue going on strike afterall people still die in LUTH everyday, everytime and minute.

am sure they want to reduce the population of Lagos small.

1. Just had to reply you...which yeye tips??? Why are people so evil? So because I'm a doctor I should suffer and die? I've not gotten. MAY salary on June 16th and it's not as if I don't have bills to pay. Just Negodu!
      I really wouldn't advice any of my younger generations to read medicine again. The profession is so exhausting. You really have to have love for the profession if you want to practice else you'll just be frustrated.

2. Just had to reply you...which yeye tips??? Why are people so evil? So because I'm a doctor I should suffer and die? I've not gotten. MAY salary on June 16th and it's not as if I don't have bills to pay. Just Negodu!
      I really wouldn't advice any of my younger generations to read medicine again. The profession is so exhausting. You really have to have love for the profession if you want to practice else you'll just be frustrated.

3. @Dr Ennie you get time to reply loveme jeje, abeg port come UK like my husband did from Nigeria and you will bless the day you became a doctor. Good pay, conducive working environment and every. Where government value doctors even the citizens, not Nigeria where government and even the wicked citizens you slave your ass off for don't even value you. Mcteeeew

4. You are selfish, with your entry point in your salary higher than other professionals, you still want skipping. Ojukokoro. Face your work and respect the Oath, my concern is decaying medical infrastructure and the inhumane attitude of the medical professions. Just continuuu
      Sharumi

10. Oga oo, na everytime dem dey strike

11. And yet the poor masses will suffer and die in tons . Hm

12. Its not only luth o, many hospitals re yet to implement it. Don't know why they are treating resident doctors this way especially the junior ones and they are the ones that do all the work, take all the calls but at the end they will giv dem peanuts. Their salary is not measurable to the volume of their work at all

13. Gov should do something about it,in a year they go on strike more the 3 times

14. Bubu shld settle Health people so that the word 'strike' won't be in their dictionary again.

15. Can they please take the demands of LUTH seriously for once in this country*?!#?

16. I'm happy only a few people still think doctors go on strike for selfish reasons. Yes, people die but do you know that doctors die too? I wonder why people only react when doctors go on strike. Other health workers (JOHESU, NUAHP) also go on strike even more frequently than doctors. If the government continues to treat doctors unfairly very soon there won't be good doctors again and everyone will go into private practice. You know what that means...