Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: How To Manage Medical Emergencies!

Friday, June 05, 2015

How To Manage Medical Emergencies!

• Did you know that 80% of Nigerian adults would pour water on an unconscious patient in order to wake him up? This is totally wrong…

''Morning Stella, 

we are a group of Medical professionals (Doctors and Nurses) that came together to start teaching people on how to manage medical emergencies before they get to hospitals. We shall appreciate if you can publish this on your blog so we all can play a role in minimizing the rate of accidental deaths in Nigeria as a result of poor First Aid care.

• Did you know that 80% of Nigerian adults would pour water on an unconscious patient in order to wake him up? This is totally wrong…
  • Did you know that 86% of Nigerian adults would give water to someone that is choking while eating in order to stop the choking? This is ridiculous…
  • Did you also know that over 70% of adults in Nigeria would put spoon or stick in the mouth of someone convulsing in order to save him from dying? This is Laughable…
  • Finally, did you know that over 65% of the adults in Nigeria would rub palm oil or engine oil on someone who has suffered from burns? This is amazing…

Survey we carried out has shown that majority of the adults in Nigeria will do the wrong thing during medical emergencies with the intent that they are trying to save lives thus, sending innocent people to their early graves. Our First Aid training is quite necessary due to the incessant careless dates that occur nowadays in schools, offices and even homes simply because the people around did not know how to help.
Studies have shown that quite a number of patients with medical emergencies brought to the hospitals die within the first 24 hrs from the time of the accident (3.6% dead on arrival) and most of the deaths are due to late presentation or due to poor First Aid care they received before Medical help arrives.

Based on all these findings, we formed Golden Hour Medics in order to help reduce the number of deaths as a result of inadequate First Aid care people receive immediately after an accident from the people around. Our First Aid training will enable you stay prepared in the event of any common medical emergency. Our team is made up of well trained and experienced Medical Doctors, Nurses, and Paramedics in Emergency Medical Services. 

We train people on how to manage the following medical emergencies:
  • Unconsciousness without breathing … CPR (Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation),
  • Choking while eating,
  • Sudden seizure in adults and children, 
  • Ingestion of poisonous or toxic substances, 
  • Dislocation and fractures, 
  • Burns (electric, flames, steam and chemical burns),
  • Bleeding from cuts and stabs,
  • Animal bites and stings,
  • Head injuries etc
We shall also educate them on the importance of healthy living (regular exercise and eating healthy) and routine health checks.

Our training can be done at the comfort of their Office/School/Home or at any of our training centers around them. Our training is quite practical and comes with videos to enable our clients remember the skills with ease.

We train:
  • Parents – in case their children or spouses have a medical emergency at homes,
  • Older children – in case their younger siblings or parents have a medical emergency,
  • School Teachers – in case their students have a medical emergency while in school,
  • Nannies & Caregivers – in case the children they look after have a medical emergency,
  • Corporate employees (eg Corporate guards, Restaurant staff, Airline staff, Commercial bus drivers, Hotel staff etc)  – in case any of their client, passenger or guest have a medical emergency.
Our training comes at a cost but due to the high rate of careless deaths especially among little children in crèche and Nursery schools, we have decided to train teachers from the first 10 Nursery/Primary schools that will contact us at no cost.
They can contact us through:
-     Phone:     09035860565, 08082888849
-     Email:            contactus@goldenhourmedics.com, info@goldenhourmedics.com
-     BB pin:          2B26F37D

Our Office is @ 13C Tola Adewunmi Close, Maryland, Lagos  (With Medical Training teams in different parts of the Country)

Medical emergencies can happen to anybody, anywhere, anytime……

Get Trained…..Stay prepared…..Save A LIFE…..

61 comments:

1. Wow!
      Thanks for sharing.

2. Sharing what??? What have you learnt here now?
      Funny enough, all this things has been saving lives since 1802

3. Den no share anything. Den b hungry med grads. What's wrong in putting spoon ...... It's to avoid the person convulsing not to bite off his/her tongue nothing else. So they should go away with their cheap hustle

4. @anon 13:56 u jus sound so ignorant and archaic
      Wot is wrong in improving ur manner of thinking and reasoning. U call dem hungry Medical graduate but they have licence to treat n heal but wot do u v, licence to remain backward n ignorant. Pls don't continue in dis ur behavior o.. Cos it's dis same doctors dat u Wud go to wen u r I'll n expect dem to perform miracles after u v given d wrong first aid all in d name of.. It has been working for years. Pls open u mind and leave ur archaic ways behind u..

5. E ku oro aje! Mtscheeew!

*** mynameisSkelewu

2. gbam you said it all. Most parents are guilty of 1 to 4 especially our grandmothers, fathers. They do it in the olden days. Now this is the new dispensation. 21st century.

me too am still guilty of that. Thanks for enlightening everyone. i really appreciate.

1. Enlightening us when they didn't tell us what to do??

This is good but they should have at least give us one solution even if it's to that " drinking water while chocking" # anyways, let me Google it...

3. Smh
    Why don't you guys tell us the right thing to do? We must call your number abi.

I don't know why people cant do a proper advert?

XOXO MYSTERY

1. Thank you oh, why can't they gives us like 3-5 tips on how to save lives then gives us the number incase u which to learn more all na money!! Something u can learn abroad maybe for free sef.

2. My tot, this is just an advert. Stella I ope its not free. We need money here too.

3. My dear I taya.... They should wait for pple to call dem o! All d things they say is wrong, funny enough it works..... And trust my pple, e go hard to stop.

4. They want you to come in and take classes and pay now. Nothing is free.
      To teach in schools here, you have to be CPR certified and first aid as well and the schools pay for it, because what would a teacher do if anything happens to any of the students.We need that in naija.

5. Exactly! Since you said most Nigerian's do first aid wrong, mentioning a few right tips here won't kill your hustle, u never know how many lives you might have saved, as your own humanitarian contribution. Instead you sound like "pay me or die" abeg go rest, I'm off to learn on Google!

6. Just want I want to ask.

Why can't they tell us what and what to do to get it right instead of telling us to call their number, even if it's just three tips?

Ana emenu....

7. Loool @ pay me or die. Sue you are a case lok

8. Ok lemme try and help dem with a few tip..
      1stlybif ur child is choking, don't give water, if it's a baby, hold him/her with ur left hand facing downward n use ur the heel of ur right palm to give gentle pats on d back to enable the object to b removed. If it's an older chila abt 6 n above, u stand behind the child, fold ur two arms under d breast region n pull backwards. It helps to send d object back up.
      2ndly in case of convulsions, jus turn the person to the left lateral position and make sure d mouth is free of objects. Den transport to d hospital.
      I think this is enuf for now.

4. The research is so true. Good to know that there is a training that seeks to correct it.

5. Knowledge is power.
    una for give us small tips here nau after telling is the things we do wrong

6. Nice!!!
    After God,doctors are the next.
    One can't help but be proud of this noble profession.

1. You are really kind with your words. We are glad.

2. Awon oniranu

7. This should be one of the classes thought in secondary schools at least 30mins once a week from jss1 to ss2

Nwakaego

8. Why not just tell us here what to do if you really want to help save lives? Must we all come to your office to learn it? These things are taught for free on several TV channels abroad and thats why they live longer there.

9. And they couldn't tell us what to do right? Must we call there numbers or visit them. Abeg make them park well!

10. You said you were trying reduce the rate of death as a result of lack of first aid care.

You should ve started by giving free tips to enlighten individuals here.
    You took your time to point out the wrong approach to medical emergencies and failed to even proffer simple basic tips........ How ve you helped?

Everything isn't about money. Sigh!!!
    For detailed approach, then they can contact you.

1. Chop.kiss jare...

U dey mind them.

2. Why are u guys bothering yourselves when Google never die? In fact you'll get more than u want on Google. Even YouTube will show u practical preventive measures.

11. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Niceone but believe me only few will take up this advice and is gud to be one of the few people though...

12. Very nice initiative. But no tips on how to correct the mistakes you noted?

13. So the whole Stella help us post this was just to list what we do wrong and not a single advice on what to do right? Just pay for advert next time and dont come here feigning good Samaritan when in actual fact you are using the platform to advertise your business.

14. Next time Stella put am for IHN news!

15. Nice info but yall need to sensitize us rather than keep us even more confused , or u want us to pay?

16. Beautiful thing you guys are doing. Keep it up.

17. Ok. Noted.

Pouring / sprinkling water on an unconscious patient and putting engine oil on a burn has been saving lives since 1820.

1. I used engine oil on my scar after a severe burn some years back and now I can barely see any trace of it. It may not be right medically but it doesn't mean it won't work. My son was choking, I gave him water to drink and started patting his back, it worked. My niece drank spirit' and her mom gave her palm oil,she vomited and was ok. My point is, don't condemn if u can't profer a solution. Your organization would have saved more lives if only you had given 3-5tips,people will read and then pass the info to neighbors, relatives and colleagues.

18. Nice.

Consider giving free tips here. pointed out the wrong things but didn't say the right ways to handle these emergencies.... Put some little tips out please..who knows...might compel people to want to pay for more.

19. Good information.
    Her Majesty

20. Wow. This is exactly the kind of training child minders need. I know some companies that do this in UK and Australia. Good to know we have this in Nigeria .God bless

21. Waoooo, this is cool and we really need this in Nigeria bc of the kind of stories we hear these days in Nursery and Primary schools...
    I was at a market in Ikeja last week and saw a young man convulsing, everybody around shifted away from him with the fear that epilepsy is infectious! This is embarrassing.
    Well i have to go and help him out, i wonder how our mothers in the rural areas handle all these challenges..

God help us

22. was expecting to read the main solution only for me to see numbers to call... haba!

You should have thought us rather than listing and listing about how many % Nigerians bla bla bla...

Google is my friend not police.

23. I am a trained First Aider, so I will provide some tips that the group failed to mention. My comments are after (***)

Did you know that 80% of Nigerian adults would pour water on an unconscious patient in order to wake him up? This is totally wrong…

*** Unconsciousness can be caused by a multitude of reasons, but in our part of the world, dehydration plays a very big part due to the heat. If dehydration or the heat is the cause, first, make sure the person is breathing and that the airway is open and clear from obstructions. Loosen any clothing that can hinder breathing (ties, scarves etc). It's best to place the person on a flat and hard surface, and create some sort of shade around the person. Do not try to force an unconscious person to consume any liquid, but rather fan the person or increase ventilation in the location. Placing a wet towel/ fabric on their forehead and body helps in the case of a heat stroke. It's also advisable to elevate the victim's leg about a foot of the ground to promote flow of blood to the brain.

Did you know that 86% of Nigerian adults would give water to someone that is choking while eating in order to stop the choking? This is ridiculous.

*** It's advisable for everyone to learn the Heimlich manoeuvre, especially parents. But if you don't, deliver five back blows in an upward motion between the person's shoulder blades, with the heel of your hand. In infants under one, please refer to the image of the woman above. It's best to sit down though, before performing the gentler back blows. In kids over 1, perform abdominal thrusts by balling a fit with one hand and interlocking it with an open palm under the chest cavity.

Did you also know that over 70% of adults in Nigeria would put spoon or stick in the mouth of someone convulsing in order to save him from dying? This is Laughable…

***It's not laughable, as the spoon can prevent the person from choking. Best thing to do is place the person on a flat surface, and on their side to prevent them choking on their vomit. Loosen or remove any obstructive clothing. Clear the surrounding area of all objects and don't restrain the victim. Once the fit has passed, seek medical attention.

Finally, did you know that over 65% of the adults in Nigeria would rub palm oil or engine oil on someone who has suffered from burns? This is amazing…

*** You Drs need to stop being so dramatic with you unnecessary commentary. Margarine, butter, Shea butter or coconut oil are great for burns, but they should only be used after you have done the following steps. After a burn, cool down the injury by running cold water across the wound for at least 10 minutes. Juice or a soft drink work well when there isn't water available. You can then rub some of the above mentioned items on the wound (but it is not necessary) before wrapping the injury in cling film or a clean plastic bag.

Hope this helps!

1. NEVER put spoon or anything into the mouth of a person convulsing or he could choke on it if it falls back into his mouth or he could bite off your fingers in the process neither should you try to restrain the person convulsing. A seizure usually lasts a few seconds to minutes. Then take person to the hospital.

Also don't rub engine oil or palm oil on burns. Simply run it over water for 15 to 20mins you can apply aloe Vera gel( if you have it) then take person to the hospital

2. At last I learnt something. Thanks a lot dearie

24. It's like these ones are more concerned about the money they will make than teaching pple the right thing to do freely. BVs have said it all already. If we have to call their number or go to their office to find out what to do when someone is unconscious or convulsing, then really they don't care, everyone is just looking out for their own pocket. Thanks to Google. ... At the end of the day it's still God that keeps us.

---Pesticide

25. Hmmmm, hope we are getting the right training on this platform! Ewuruafua i dont think you should keep someone convulsing on one side, you have to protect the head rather and anyother maneuver should be applied after the episode.

Lets not be misinformed please

26. I actually contacted them and i am lucky to have my school selected for the Free training.
    STELLA Thank you oooooooo

27. This is a good Devpt.
    Keep it up

28. Pls how do you manage snake bites?

29. For the unconscious, u need to initiate CPR of u know how to do it but if u don't u need to call emergency services right away. Loose the any thigh clothing or accessory on the person and avoid people overcrowding the person. A health personnel or someone trained on cpr will know what to do as regard checking for breathing and heart functioning.

For someone choking, a trained personnel will do Heilmich manuever. If u can't give it, call emergency services and ask for a health personnel around that can give it. Also avoid overcrowding and remove anything on the person that may be making breathing difficult.

For convulsion; Avoid overcrowding the person, remove any harmful objects around the person's surrounding, turn the person laterally, that is sideways so that the person will not aspirate contents from the mouth like foams or vomitus. The issue with putting spoon or stick in the person's mouth is to avoid the tongue rolling over to obstruct breathing; but scientifically not justified. Putting the person in the lateral position will avoid the tongue rolling over into the throat. Make sure the person is lying on the floor.

For burns, don't apply palm oil or engine oil. Remove the person from the burns area and apply clean warm or cold (for hot water burns but shouldn't be frozen cold) water. For acidic burns u would need to apply any base solution. Call for emergency services or/and take the person to the hospital.

30. A much needed initiative for homes, schools, workplaces and others.