The Federal Government on Monday banned the consumption of local gin, (known as Ogogoro) in all parts of the country.
The recent death tolls recorded in Rivers State (38) and Oder Irele, Ondo state (18) due to consumption of local gin led to the ban.
The Director-General of NAFDAC, Dr. Paul Orhii, in his reaction to the death of 38 persons in Rivers State, told journalists that the recent incidents in the state and that of Ode-Irele, in Ondo State were associated with the consumption of locally made gin.
According to him, considering the risk in the consumption of locally made gin, it has become imperative to “warn the public to desist from the consumption of unregistered locally made spirits (Ogogoro) and other unregistered bitters.”
Orhii also warned that government “would confiscate all illegally brewed alcoholic beverages” across the country.
*Original reportage by Punch
Good one!....goodbye to paraga!
Yoruba people will not like dis ban.
ReplyDeleteLol, u don't start oh! My yoruba sisters would soon come for ya balls oh!
DeleteShut the fuck up.
DeleteWhich yorubas? They r not known for ogogoro. Wafferians are d 1ce known for it. Dats wot dey call sapele water. Even.people form platean state can drink kparaga. Na wa. It's a good one
DeleteStella but the picture of those drinks you used for this post are not local ogogoro Na.
DeleteYour comment will be visible after approval
My dear Alloy thank u ooo. Haba those pix up there na snapps. Them monkey tale dey come for dem large big drum.
DeleteBut seriously y d ban? I don't see them banning cigrates and beers. They cause just as much harm.
Lolz, nice one thumbs up Mr president
ReplyDeleteall them men go hear this one the answer na NO
ReplyDelete#GODWIN™
Ehyaaa... Paraga will be missed
ReplyDeleteY e come be Chelsea dem put for front now? They had better start sending delicates to all d nook and cranny of some states if they really wana ban it.... e no go easy o! na so dem ban kpomo one time like that, who e help????
ReplyDeleteDelegates*
DeleteWhat typo error will cause.... sheun thanks.
DeleteWahala go dey o!
ReplyDeleteLol..
DeleteEyah!!!!
ReplyDeleteAlcohol abuse has been on a rapid increase. Imagine someone dying just because he placed a bet of N3,000 to consume a bottle of ogogoro under one minute. So sad. I hope stringent measures are taken against anyone who defaults.
ReplyDeleteChai. Now that they've barred people from drinking ogogoro, will they do the same to other alcoholic drinks? Ehn?!
ReplyDeleteWell, nice one. Thank God I don't knw no one who takes ogogoro.
~~••~~••~•••~••~~••~~
Please, who have seen my Tetrina's Diaries, Stella Kork, hope you didn't give her troubles?! *wink*
Smtcheeeeerwwww!!! Useless government....is that what we asked u idiots to do???
ReplyDeleteThat's ur business sha, me will continue taking it cos that's the only way I take agbo Jedi Jedi....can't take agbo with ordinary water!!!
Nonsense!!!
U b real character, no b to ban dis drink wt mouth na to take implement am b d koko
DeleteAre they for real? And is this how they want to tackle unemployment? They really don't know how many people will be roaming the streets after this. Paraga ogogoro or whatever has been since time immemorial so they should tackle the necessary problems than poking their nasty noses where it doesn't belong. I don't take alcohol but I'm not in support of this ban.
DeleteGood move, before we will hear of another death(s) in another state.
ReplyDeleteImagine! Ogogoro the new 'virus'.
To be forewarned...
Akpuru Achia!
ReplyDeleteThe first time i heard of Akpuru Achia bn banned i soo laughed eh...
Its à welcome idea though.
Buh I have bn seeing all sorts of d local gins o....
in satchets and in bottles....
Looks like d law Isnt working in dis part o
Anyways,lets just hope its stil Early days.
Akpuru Achia!
Hian TGW, kedi nkewu kwa akpuru achia? Sounds like something chinwetalu agu says in his movies. Nyways, d only local drink I know is monkey tail, and mehn that drink is terribly terrible. 1st time I tasted it, I was seeing my neighbour in 6 different places at the same time, then I boiled hot water and poured rice inside instead of garri. Chai, alcho is a bastard!
DeleteHahahahahhahahaha
DeleteNikkynikky akpuru Achia is wot dey cal all dese local drinks.hahahahahhahahaha
D name just cracks me up...akpuru achia
hahahahahahahahahhahahahahaahaha
Hahahahahhahahahahahahaa
DeleteSee as i post comment before i finished typing
Effect of akpuruuachia hahhaahahahahha
Nikky which one is monkey tail?? LMAO
Hahahhahahahahahaha @ seeing Ur neighbours in 6 different places hahahhahaha
Abeg no be me una go kill wit laughter for dis blog oooo
Monkey tail
Akpuru Achia hahahhahahaha
@nikkybaby dats wot its called in igbo na- akpuru achia
DeleteHian!!...
ReplyDeleteWhat will I be drinking??...they shouldn't try this oh...
Hahaha.
DeleteLinda ooo
DeleteBwahahahahahahaha...
Bye bye to paraga....
@anonymous 11;13.....u lieeeee!!! Nothing go happen!!! Rather na you go die shameful and disgraceful death...insha Allah
DeletePeople have been consuming locally made gins for ages and nobody has died that I know of, those death could have been due to a mistake made during production why then ban it everywhere? They should have just shut down those areas.
ReplyDeleteI have a feeling more banning of Alcoholic drinks would follow.
Or is because it's ogogoro, we import drinks but ban those distilled locally?
Lol.
ReplyDeleteI'll check whether i'll still find it around here when I step out later.
BetA joor.cos all dis liver and kidney wahala is too much lately frm all local Gin.
ReplyDeleteThe coincidence of higher alcohol/hard liquor consumption and all these kidney/liver disease is too obvious
DeleteVery good . Say NO to CHEAP HIGH.
ReplyDeleteNonsense. Is that the solution? NAFDAC should investigate and tell us why the people died. Was the drink poisoned, etc? Silly reaction from an incompetent official!
ReplyDeleteUrhobo and Isoko marle and parle don hear am be dat o
ReplyDeleteSherry's Daughter
Yes oo very good buh wait small ao women wey get deepest tohtoh go come survive now?hiannnn!!! anyway dildos go sell more as goverment don banned kick starter for some lazy men wey need ogogoro to play da games ......eeeyah woman una kpele .
ReplyDeletekikikikikiiiiiiiiii
Say what!!!
DeleteBwahahahahahahaha
Lol @deepest totoh like the dad pussies anty gwegwelinas Dem own.....
DeleteHahahahahahahahaahhaha
What's wrong with federal Goverment,that's peoples business all over the country.i can't even drink agbo with water
ReplyDeleteParaga sellers how market? Day don break
ReplyDeleteAm totally against this decision. A proper Laboratory analysis should be carried out in that particular town to know if the product has compromised.
ReplyDeleteIf throughly compromised, National Orientation Agency through NTA and other means to warn citizens and made them aware of the dangers.
*delegates* what typo will cause...
ReplyDeleteIf i hear!!!!! They should come to Sapele, Okpe, eku, Ugheli and Ozoro to tell us this rubbish! Ogogoro is what my grandmother takes first thing in the morning, we even use it to brush our teeths here in Sapele
ReplyDeleteThis is wickedness. What will the ancestors drink now *wailing* Are you seriously telling me that amadioha will chop kolanut with nothing to wash it down with. Abomination!!!!!!
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
ReplyDelete.
Story for the gods...... Some people go still dey consume their stuff...
Nice one oooo at least naija police men madness go reduce.
ReplyDeletePlease ban 'baby oku' too...hahahahahhahahaha!
ReplyDeleteGuys can drink nonsense sha?
Lmao, TF is baby oku? Choi, na wah!
DeleteWhich one be baby oku again? SMH
DeleteOf all the thing to ban is ogogoro, Yoruba people go just dey laugh NAFDAC.
ReplyDeleteNice move tho.
This people should just leave ogogoro(push me I push you) alone. Small time now they will say they want to ban palmwine.
ReplyDelete@money maker,btw yoruba people and south south people, who take am pass?If u want to be fair,u will agree with me that south south people normally bathe with it ni.So,am very sure that sapele people no go dey happy now.
ReplyDeleteU guys should stop all ds curses already.stop judging Ur fellow sisters.what d bible says is love Ur neighbour as yourself.i love u guys much.i love okija wife much.it doesn't matter how she curses.God has plans for us all and I know God wil surely touch all hearts.stop cursing her please.anon started d curses first.please stop all ds already.love u all much.no evil shall befall any of us ijn.jummy
ReplyDeleteLove you too jummy!!!
DeleteVery very good,all dos togo/egun 4 my area go go bck 2 dere place,dem don turn guy nd some officers useless,road go clear now.
ReplyDeleteBaba na baba... Every soon ehim go start to kill anybody wey drink... Change don land! Hahahaha una go hear am
ReplyDeletePoint of correction Chelsea London dry gin is not ogogoro!