CHOLORONIC VILLUS SAMPLING (CVS)
I am AS with AC genotype partner and very well informed about sickle cell anemia and other hemoglobin defects.
I am interested in Chorionic Villus Sampling (CVS) and gene selection done in IVF, I would like professional or matured advise, testimonies and experience of who ever has gone through this before.
I have a relationship I treasure and I love babies so much I would love to nurture mine soon. Thanks a lot.
I don't know ohh!..
ReplyDeleteNever heard of it, you can Google more on it.
DeleteVisit my blog and tell me what you think about it.
If u don't know!!!! Then stay away let those that know take that space u just commented on
Delete#grabseat were my #originandpringles
ReplyDeleteAbeg shift for me
DeleteWhat r u grabbing seat, orijin and pringles for??? Must u comment?! Keep shut if u have nothing to say!
DeleteLord take perfect control, Doctors please your attention is needed here.
ReplyDelete*Larry was here*
Hmmmm
ReplyDelete"D chances of having children with sickle cell disease is the same as when AS and AS have kids
ReplyDelete1 in 4 chance of SC-sickle cell disease but may not be as severe as SS but they are still sickle cell disease sufferers"
1 in 4 chance of AC
1 in 4 chance of AS
1 in 4 chance of AA
AS with AC genotype partner?,Kai!,Some people no dey hear word!
ReplyDeleteLong time!
DeleteGuys choose your battles wisely. Stop fishing in troubled waters. A word is enough. Love will not conquer this one, only a messy divorce. E ro ra
Delete*confused*
ReplyDeleteI swear
DeleteSTORIES @ ALIFEDIARY
Over to the doctors
ReplyDeleteGo to the hospital abeg.
ReplyDeleteAbeg, let me google it first.
ReplyDeleteJesus Fix it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ReplyDeleteChai Jesus ataala nshi aboki!
DeletePls mind ur words Chizoba. It's so inappropriate and disrespectful. Pls pls don't use the name of my Lord in vain again. It really hurts!
Deletewww.mitchelleobatu.blogspot.com
Pure Inspiration, you are a woman of class and substance.
DeleteChizoba, no bi everything dem dey carry joke, ugly woman.
Dis lady shud go online now.. Just type what are the risk associated with AS and AC gene... U'll knw 4rm der and dis is a huge health-matter we all need 2 look out 4 in marriage.
ReplyDeleteMadam why don't you put everything in God's hand? CVS does provide valuable information, but it's invasive and serious. The test is done btween 10-12 weeks of pregnancy, what would you do if the result was positive (God forbid)? So just continue to pray.
ReplyDeleteThis sounds big,over to the doctors
ReplyDelete@poster what testimonies are u looking for? Doubt u understand what CVS is all about. It s a test!!! U do d test and if ur foetus will be born wv a defect,u get to know on time and den abort.
ReplyDeleteAs 4d ivf gene selection,if i may ask y ivf? Ur an AS *a carrier* and not a sickler,so u cld birth without much hassle. Ur hubby is AC and should relatively live a normal life asides d occasional jaundice he might be experiencing.
Bt if u bent on it,den u both cld go ahead,uv got absolutely nuffng to worry bout cos u both are normal or rather near normal as some wld say. Bear in mind ivf gene selection ain't 100%
And if she gives birth to SC, what happens? Its also as bad as SS.
DeleteYou are AS and your partner is AC, which means there's a 25% probability that you'll have a child with SC and that's just bad. Its as bad as sickle cell disease. Believe me, you don't want such a case in your home.
ReplyDeleteYou're talking about CVS, which implies you're considering terminating embryos for your own selfish interests. I noticed you said partner and not husband, so pls, kindly walk away now. Terminating fetuses may be wrong or not depending on your religious inclination but don't wait to find out if you're on the wrong side on judgement day
IVF is very expensive and the success is not guaranteed, esp here in Nigeria. Think twice dear. Men are everywhere. Take a walk now so that you won't regret later
Excuse me miss, get ur facts right im AC and my mum is SC and shes perfectly alright..
DeleteYou are 100% right. Let me add that the test is evasive meaning there can be a damage to the embryo. That means there is a possibility of loosing the foetus or having a deformed baby.
DeleteJesus fix it
ReplyDeleteMarriage no b childs play oooooo,
ReplyDeleteThis is a serious issue to look into in a relationship but it isn't beyond God. I believe in prayers a lot. Poster I'll advice you seek God's face concerning this. I've seen AS turn to AA so HE'S able.
ReplyDeleteDoctors shud step in na
ReplyDeleteHmmmn! But u v a 1 in 4 prob of birthing a SC. Which is worse than SS crisis. A no no I don't advise.
ReplyDeleteAs and ac partners, nothing wrong with DAT but bringing love into it is one more confirmation DAT all of you DAT mouth love do not really know what love is. You want this partnership to produce children. Do show love by deliberating asking to make an innocent soul a sickler or you only selfishly are concerned about who fucks and provides for you. Please first use d new discovery to first change your as to as and kwowingly bear the brunt first before dilibrately invoking lifelong suffering on one innocent soul
ReplyDeleteCVS is a parental test that is used to detect birth defects, genetic diseases, and other problems during pregnancy.
ReplyDeleteIf you want to do CVS, do it early, because it makes u make choices in the beginning stage of ur pregnancy.
CVS may carry a slightly higher risk of miscarriage, because the procedure is done in early pregnancy. Infection may also occur.
Ivf gene selection shouldn't be a problem, if u select the best u will get the best.
Pre-implantation genetic diagnosis (PGD) is one good technique, it is done in addition to traditional in vitro fertilization (IVF). While doctors would normally select several healthy-looking fertilized eggs from a couple to be implanted into the uterus, PGD offers couples the chance to peer much more deeply into their child's future
U didn't mak sense. Itz obvious u copied frm sumwer
DeleteRemember to see a doctor for more explanation
ReplyDeleteThanks Ebuka! Am grateful
DeleteHmmmmm no idea.
ReplyDeleteJesus fix it
ReplyDeleteBe googles best friend or go see a doctor my dear.
ReplyDeleteSave ur unborn children d stress/heartache pls pls pls..some chances r risky.
ReplyDeleteCVS is a test done to check for genetic abnormality in a baby inutero. This involves testing for both genotype and even disorders in the unborn child. This test is usually invasive and can lead to loss of the pregnancy.
ReplyDeleteGene selection in IVF or pre implantation genetic diagnosis is done in IVF to determine the gene a fertilised baby will carry. This can be done by properly testing the oocyte(egg) and the sperm to be used and selecting appropriately, one that doesn't carry the gene AS. Gene selection or PGD is not just to select the genotype but can also be used in selecting genes carrying cancer, also for sex determination and others too numerous to mention before implantation is done. Gene selection is better than CVS because, in gene section, test is done before implantation in the uterus or even before fertilisation by testing the oocytes and the sperm so there wnt be any pregnancy loss or induced abortion as a result of wrong genes detected. unlike in CVS where the pregnancy is already growing before the test is done. Also, Gene selection detects other abnormalities besides the genotype of the baby.
I'll advice you go for the gene selection if you can afford it. Goodluck!
SDK's certified MD
Thanks a lot! Gene selection it is then!
DeleteThe only safest genotype to have a healthy child with as an AS is AA, except you wanna take chances. Don't get me wrong, you can have a healthy child with other genotypes SS excluded, but your chances are slim.
ReplyDeleteThis is serious!
ReplyDeleteSTORIES @ ALIFEDIARY
So with all the World Sickle Cell Day & awareness about genetic mismatching and diseases you are still willing to gamble the life of your unborn child with fancy scientific terms over a "relationship". You are selfish! You better waka front now there's still time. Prevention is better than cure. Which kain love wey no dey see road. Abeg.
ReplyDeleteThe western world has managed to eradicate this issue from their society. Let's do same by not deliberating having babies with someone with same problem. It becomes a vicious circle and we may just never get out if it. People don't want to have children with Down syndrome but they don't mind the risk of having SS babies. Please!
ReplyDeleteSomeone with the genotype AS should only marry someone with the genotype AA because if AS marries
ReplyDeleteAS there's one out of 4 chances (AS, AS, AA and SS) that they will have a child with the sickle cell
disease. Same applies when AC is combined. AC and AS combine will produce AA, AS, AC, SC, the
sickle cell disease will be SC.
Of course there are many cases where two abnormal was combined that is an AS and AS or AC and AC or
AC and AS couples and had up to five or six children without a single sicklier among them. But why risk
it? What if you're not so lucky? Can you forgive yourself when you end up having a child with the sickle
cell disease and put the child through the agony the disease brings when you could have easily avoided it?
am nt doctor since she dont have Google i decided to help search for answer. pls reconsider that relationship oooo!
i know its late but let me add mine, i and my partner are both As we live in london, my first child , we were offered Cvs but i was scared so we dint do it. luckily for us my baby is As.last year oct i got pregnant again and my spirit just persuaded me to go for Cvs, its not too painful but uncomfortable and lastec about 2 mins. 2 days later result came out and my baby is Ss. i was 15 weeks already by febuary this year. well we terminated it and been tryin to concieve again hopefully another As or Aa will come ijn. mind you i was 4 month pregnant before i knew we are both AS. i was caught up in love and forgot about genotype. you can marry if you like but be prepared for some abortions. except you want to birth them. luckily UK is gonna eradicate CVS soon and use the mothers blood instead as its less invasive. also there is a 2% risk of miscarriage with cvs. i did not miscarry
ReplyDeleteI need hot cooked corn and coconut.
ReplyDeleteThis one strong o.
CVS can diagnose sickle cell disease , but that's after you're pregnant and may require abortion if SS. There's another method superior to CVS. It's called pre implantation genetic diagnosis (PGD) which involves taking a cell after IVF b4 implantation for resting . By that you know the genotype of the embryo even b4 transferring them into you. Most fertility centre abroad do it and a few in Nigeria. Wishing u all the best.
ReplyDeleteIt is well
ReplyDeleteAC..azin air condition abi wetin...lmao...never heard of this before. .lol....otukwaegwu.....
ReplyDeletechizoba you are just a local unrefined idiot that will never change...bush halfbaked rat that should be confined in the caves of your village.
ReplyDeleteso you will be killing children and terminating pregnancies till you have a feotus with AA? and what if God does not grant that wish? why do humans like to play god? you are asking God to bless you with babies then you go ahead and be terminating life cos you think because its a feotus then its not human....that's a lie from the pit of hell....repent and begin to ask God for mercy....I believe in science and ivf but I do not think terminating embryos like that is right....call it judging you or whatever but truth be told...