Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctors Find 50 Year Old 4-Pound Fetus In 92 Year Old Woman

Tuesday, June 23, 2015

Doctors Find 50 Year Old 4-Pound Fetus In 92 Year Old Woman

When a 92-year-old Chilean woman was taken to the hospital after a fall recently, doctors performed a routine exam and were shocked when a hip X-ray revealed a 4.4-pound fetus filling her abdominal cavity. Hospital director Margo Vargas Lazo tells the BBC that the calcified fetus was "large and developed," and had probably been there at least 50 years.

The AFP reports that the woman wasn't experiencing any pain because of it, and notes that the fetus was roughly seven months along when it died. The condition is called "lithopedion," and happens when a fetus dies and calcifies outside of the womb. 

Lazo tells the Efes news agency in Chile that this case is "extraordinarily rare," reports the Independent.

A study published in 2000 in the Sao Paulo Medical Journal defined just how rare: the phenomenon happens in just 1.5% to 1.8% of the abdominal pregnancies that occur—and the incidence of those are 1 in 11,000. "There have been less than 300 cases in 400 years of world medical literature," per the study. It looked at those recorded cases and found that two-thirds of the diagnoses happened in women over 40, with the "period of fetus retention" ranging from four to 60 years.

As with other cases, the Chilean woman was unaware of the presence of the fetus. Given her age, doctors sent her home a few hours later without performing an operation to remove it, so she'll likely leave the world with her unborn baby inside her.

Are you kidding me?

66 comments:

1. I don't understand oo

I can't comprehend this "Fallacy" oo.

2. Strange things are happening in this world
      I don't get too surprised when i read such

3. Ewooo!!! And she didn't fall sick nor did the foetus rot in her? God is great. They should just leave her like that. Jeez.. this would have killed another person o.

1. Oh my gosh!!! I' m crying crayfish right now.

2. Anon,dont cry crayfish o.
      Crayfish don cost well well for market

3. Which reminds me,where Abigail kreations aka krayfish sef? Girl hope u're aiit.
      Sherry's Daughter

4. Different things everyday.

She must be heartbroken to discover that she never got to see the baby.
      I'm actually feeling bad for her. Babies are just too sweet Even with their plenty wahala.

@Irene B, ha! Its good if she cries crayfish nah. She will become a "thousandnair" overnight from selling tears crayfish.

Need a yummy Birthday/Wedding cake in Abuja? Home / office delivery. Also send a gift of cake to your loved one in Abuja.Pls click on my ID to see pics and my contact details.

5. They didn't tell us if she had kids before this, cos clearly she couldn't have had any baby after this foetus.

1. What?! For real?

4. Wow this really sounds strange.

5. *throws up in mouth*

6. Hmm... Just wen I thought iv heard it all, wats nxt?? Twins havin sexual intercourse in the womb???

7. Anything can happen in Ala bekee.

8. Hmmmm strange things happening everyday.

9. Oh my God...this is heartbreaking.

10. So strange,for abt 50yrs dat sound strange

11. She came into this world empty but will leave with something strange.... na wa

12. Wow!this is surprising! Jaydiva

13. Ngumhlola! Whattttttt?

14. So disgusting as in..... #pukes#

15. Wonders shall never end.
    naijaflo.com

16. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Very rare i swear......

17. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    Strange...
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma*

18. I love anomalies like. They highlight the peculiarity of the human body. I hope she receives adequate care.

1. As the calcified foetus is giving her no problem,the docs hv concluded she will take that to her grave

2. She is too old for surgery. She may possibly die of they attempt it.

I don't know why but i kinda see it as a consolation that her baby is inside her. At least the baby isnt harming her in anyway.
      She and the baby will be together for ever.

Weird.

Need a yummy Birthday/Wedding cake in Abuja? Home / office delivery. Also send a gift of cake to your loved one in Abuja.Pls click on my ID to see pics and my contact details.

19. Honestly, its extraordinarily rare. Idinbelievit

20. Whats gonna make d headlines next???????

21. Possibly a fibroid ? Are their doctors used to fibroid cases?

22. If the woman was a Nigerian they would have said that it was witches and wizards that tied the pikin for her belle. What we Africans attribute to witches and wizards at times oyinbo get medical name for it.