Following protests by Nigerians held outside the consulate and at the South African High Commission in Abuja against the Xenophobic attacks on foreigners in South Africa, the country on Wednesday announced the closure of its consulate in Lagos.
South African Consul-General in Nigeria, Sam Monaisa, said this in a statement to the South African Business Forum that the closure would remain until Thursday.
Although the situation in Durban has calmed down, he wrote that he was concerned about the Nigerians that were being repatriated.
Also accused Nigerians of “using the social media to blow an already tensed situation in South Africa out of proportion and stoking emotions."
Social media fuelling the belief that Nigerians were being killed daily in South Africa, has made South African businesses and citizens become targets of retaliation in Nigeria just as Johannesburg-based Sasol Ltd. announced it was repatriating South African employees working on projects in Mozambique for their own safety.
He further warned the forum’s members to stay alert and not move around unnecessarily.
Photo Credit : Mail&Guardian
They should not be afraid,Nigerians do not pay back evil with evil.
It's good for them.
ReplyDeleteYeye statement from him.
ReplyDeleteThere's a limit to every man's patience, SA better act fast or...
Even their silly Multichoice went ahead to increase DSTV subscription, irrespective of the court order asking them to suspend the increment pending the determination of the suit. Which foreign company can try that in SA? Better shut down that Embassy until you guys are ready to tackle this issue of xenophobia headon.
That multichoice own De pain me eh...
Delete@Mrs D, E no pain u pass as e dey pain me! I dey vex!
DeleteNa their loss sef. Mtn and multi choice generate a lot of money for them. Glo will be praying for. . . Na joke I dey oh
ReplyDeleteWhy Una dry fear na?? To all Nigerians in south Africa,make Una nor lee ooo!!! Kil anything killable!! Massacre all of dem bastard!!!
ReplyDeletesee your mouth kill anytin killable noni
Deleteu at the back of ur fone or laptop encouraging them....y nt go get a bazooka hop on a plane to southy to claim commando
Looool,,,
DeleteI pray oooo if nigerians were being killed dere I trust us e no hard we go finish dier ministry 4 naija.
ReplyDeleteThe fear of Xenophobia is the beginning of wisdom
ReplyDelete*Larry was here*
Until a Nigerian is killed, then you would know we can repay evil with evil.
ReplyDeleteNonsense people.
Stella I support your comment. Let's not pay evil with evil.
ReplyDeleteBetter for them I guess...
ReplyDeleteYeah it's been beta since ur tohtoh started facing apartheid ..
DeleteAfricans are saying.. Free mz mae tohtoh...
U don remove d coil? Omoale jati jati
Did he say we are using social media to blow it out of proportion? Pple are being killed in broad daylight and this is d trash u r vomiting. It's okay. May God forgive u but until then may the blood of those killed bcos of dis rubbish haunt u.
ReplyDeleteDon't mind the man...that statement was uncalled for.
DeleteDon't be too sure Stella!!!
ReplyDeleteBiko make dem go rest jawe, him won use us learn English........hisssss! They are just running scared ni Btw we don't do an eye for an eye deal here in 9ja. *singin' let there be Peace in are homes....* #LynxxGal#
ReplyDeleteIf only de don't kill a nigeria, we will spare dem. But if ever do hurt a nigeria, am sorry but dia will be fire n it sure will consume d SA. Rubbish!
ReplyDeletePls tell them o. Wicked souls. Mschew!
ReplyDeleteLol..Afraid is catching them true true
ReplyDeleteDon't think we are gona retaliate,if it were to be in the North,OYO!!!
Who said? They should try pushing us to the wall first, them go know how far. Shoprite won't be a bad start for me: the inside of my fridge must look appealing.
ReplyDeleteLol @appealing fridge.
DeleteIt's your type that will bring live news to sdk if kasala burst at shoprite while, of course, hiding your fine face from harms way....
Mz D don't mind d la efizzy wannabe. Attention seeker. Hungry fowl
DeleteWe are peaceful people.
ReplyDeleteThey shouldnt Fear
Buh i have sat down many times dis nonsense began and tried to understand This Sad world Called Xenophibia and i seriously cant.
I still cant!
Wonder how d minds of some people work...
u wake up and décide u se better dan a fellow human being.cos of skin colour and d rest....
then u décidé to brutally kill d person(s)
I just dont get This Xenophobia at all!
See d people We helped end Apartheid......
#SadMuch#
@apartheid... So sad
DeleteMadame General go n reply xoxo idiot, d jobless mofo called u out. She says u r a hypocrite. Na tru??
DeleteBetter make them fear ooo.........OPC don warn them already na, so anything fit happen.....
ReplyDeleteOh Jesus please come already
ReplyDeleteThe fear of Xenophobic
ReplyDeleteAwon werey jatijati....
ReplyDeleteAwon werey jatijati
ReplyDeleteStella they will this time if SA's foolishness continues.
ReplyDeleteThey should be afraid! They should be very afraid!
ReplyDeleteMrs k....the Hausa muslims pay good with evil....so you can like to rephrase your statement.........Stella u must enjoy me
ReplyDeleteLol, are they afraid of Lagosians? They should close the High Commission in Abuja too
ReplyDeleteSouth africans say no to xenophobia!!
ReplyDeleteI still can't get the image of a burning man,crouching,outta my head.
What was the man's thoughts when he was being set on fire?and whilst burning?
What a cruel way to die..
He was somebody's son,father maybe,uncle,cousin,brother..
I really need to get that image out of my head..
Sweet jesus,grant that man's soul eternal rest..
Never been moved by anything like that in a long while now,till I saw that burning man..
Lord have mercy!
SA stop already pls..
I didn't watch any...the pictures were soul piercing enough.
DeleteClosing an Embassy for fear of a reprisal attack? Shame on South Africans.
ReplyDeleteI see them as weaklings.
Exactly,SDK.
ReplyDeleteYeah,,,, God of Vergence fights 4 us!
DeleteTheir fear, Our Victory!!
DeleteHahahahaha Stella now that's too funny. U must be sleep typing.
ReplyDeleteOkay
ReplyDeleteBetter for them...They should remember Nigerians are extremists and if they decide to fight back in other ways other than violence, SA would lose a great deal...
ReplyDeleteYeah, we are not going down the barbarian route.
ReplyDeleteWe are a lot of things but we do our best to keep a sane head on our shoulders aside from a few bad eggs here and there.
Have you visited my blog yet? No? What are you waiting for?*in Wendy Williams voice*
Yes, we are not going down the barbarian route.
ReplyDeleteWe might be a lot of things but we try to keep a sane head on our lovely shoulders as much as we can...aside from a few bad eggs here and there of course.
Have you visited my lovely lifestyle/motivational blog yet? No? What are waiting for? *in Wendy Williams voice
Yes, we are not going down the barbarian route.
ReplyDeleteWe might be a lot of things but we try to keep a sane head on our lovely shoulders as much as we can...aside from a few bad eggs here and there of course.
Have you visited my lovely lifestyle/motivational blog yet? No? What are waiting for? *in Wendy Williams voice
The senate has also told the Nigeran consul-General to come back home.
ReplyDeleteYes we don't and that's why God loves us but they shouldn't take this as a week new but rather strength in disguise!
ReplyDeleteI weep or south Africa, is this what they became? After Africa fought for and with them?
Killing your black brothers cause they are more hardworking than your lay ass?
Ooh Lord! Have mercy on your children and let peace rain.
Why the fear South Africans?
ReplyDeleteReally, why the fear?
We love peace even though we bark sometimes.
We are too BLESSED to OPPRESS.
Stop your hate and
Remember Nigerians like Sunny Okosun and many more Africans
Who sang, wrote, donated, cried to free yall from apartheid.
And by The way, what is The ANC and The UN saying about this shenanigans?
Stella you are indirectly saying we love being killed.you are really funny
ReplyDeleteKikikiki what re they afraid of?
ReplyDeleteThose you kill with the sword
does not allow table knife
in their homes. Dont be
scared Nigerians re not SAs
we re a biggg brother and
just telling you junior bro to
do the right thing period.
Their government should stop the attacks on foreigners already. Its not about attacking Nigerians alone, what about other african countries that are being attacked? Ain't they humans too?
ReplyDelete#Thisworldgosoonendsef
Even MTN, dstv n shoprite should do the same.
ReplyDeleteYeye people! Now they are afraid and this one still talking trash.
ReplyDeleteIt is 'Its' ma not 'it's'
ReplyDeletewonder why people confuse both.
I thought they are macho men. They better keep to closing that stupid embassy if they want peace.
ReplyDeleteThis is is na do me i do you. DSTV, Shoprite, Standard Banks what are you waiting for. una no go close shops.
My Nija brothers and other immigrants if they come to you, please kill as many as you want ooo. God will not vex at all
They are afraid whyl no Nigerians is pursuing them.
ReplyDelete*****Mhiz_Derby_Via_Instagram*****
They are afraid whyl no Nigerians is pursuing them.
ReplyDelete*****Mhiz_Derby_Via_Instagram*****