OMG!!!...Who has seen this???
A doctor groped a vulnerable divorcee in her home days after she had attempted suicide – but kept his job after citing 'cultural differences'.
Dr Emmanuel Kanu stroked her breast, repeatedly tried to kiss her and told her, 'You want it' when she tried to escape his clutches during the visit - which he hid from colleagues.
When she later texted him to tell him to stop ringing her he withheld his number on the next call.
But Kanu, a married Nigerian father of one, has been allowed to keep his job by a fitness to practise panel even though the General Medical Council called for him to be struck off.
He told the panel he had not molested the patient and claimed 'cultural differences' led to the visit on September 3, 2011, saying: 'There is a clear divide between the doctor and the patient here, which is very different in Nigeria.'
But the Medical Practitioners Tribunal Service only suspended the 36-year-old for six months, despite finding he was guilty of sexually motivated serious misconduct. Campaigners against violence towards women criticised the 'incredibly lenient penalty'. Nicole Westmarland, former chairman of Rape Crisis and Professor of Criminology at Durham University, asked 'what it takes for a doctor to be struck off'.
She said: 'This doctor has committed a number of sexual offences on a woman who was in a very vulnerable position.
'A six-month suspension is an incredibly lenient penalty and the question remains: what will happen within the six months that will supposedly change his behaviour when he returns to work?'
The doctor, who had recently completed GP training and was undergoing specialist training in psychiatry, was on a locum shift at the A&E department of Darlington Memorial Hospital, County Durham, when the divorcee was brought in after taking a 'substantial overdose'.She was still recovering in an emergency ward bed when he asked for her mobile number and then rang her when she was discharged five days later to say he was 'thinking of her'.
He arranged to meet the mother-of-two, who cannot be named for legal reasons, at her home in Darlington for what the woman believed was a medical assessment.
But he asked to use her laptop and then viewed Facebook photos of her as he sat next to her on a sofa.
A report into his actions stated that he put his arm around her and stroked her chest. It added: 'She informed the panel she was "scared, frozen to the spot" and said "I was unsure, he was a doctor".
She said when you saw the picture of her [breast] feeding her son you said "They're big. Are they as big as that now?" and squeezed her left breast.'
When she stormed off to her kitchen Kanu followed her and kept trying to kiss her, saying at one point: 'I can see it in your eyes that you want it.'
Kanu, who qualified in 2005 from the University of Nigeria, called her after he left but the woman, who was 43 at the time, texted: 'It was not right what you tried to do. You are a doctor and I was your patient. I didn't want or asked to be touched by you.'
Kanu, who worked at Borders General Hospital near his home in Melrose, Roxburghshire, was acquitted of sexual assault at Durham Crown Court in 2012.
He told the fitness to practise panel he had not molested the patient and claimed 'cultural differences' led to the visit on September 3, 2011, saying: 'There is a clear divide between the doctor and the patient here, which is very different in Nigeria.'
But this was dismissed as not being a 'credible explanation'. The panel branded his behaviour 'deplorable' and 'unprofessional.'
Kanu denied any knowledge of the case when approached by the Daily Mail. A spokesman for County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust said Kanu was dismissed as soon as the complaint came to light. Dailymail.
Which cultural difference?Nonsense!...I am sure he has been doing this in Nigeria.I pray that cases like this are reported in Nigeria.I even heard that some Doctors in Nigeria make love to ladies before carrying out DC N C when they are unconscious under Anaesthetic injection.
If you are a Doctor and you are guilty of this and you are reading this post right now,just know that
every dog has its day!
Ever been abused by a Doc?Please step forward.
Dunno y doctors are fond of doing dis to deir patients especially dose who are vulnerable and who came to confide in dem....have not heard any experience personally...but have heard stories
ReplyDeleteYes o, went 4 a D&C, d doctor said should lie down 4 him to check me in his office b4 knowning whether to book me. Oh boy! Doctor put his finger only to start looking @me seductively, he now said my Vjayjay is wet and sweet. Dat he likes dis kind of punany and dat he will lik us to be seeing after my DC, huh? Like seriously? Some doctors no dey try@all
DeleteWho has seen this??? So you don't go to LIB????
DeleteMgbeke Anuohia
Old gist
anu npam. mtchew. som docs evn go as far as druggin der patients
DeleteThere is a place i know. where everything is light and fun Do u knw dt magical place of tales? It's an ART: join usSOUL TALES
Dr Giwa your day is coming. Unprofessional doctors abound everywhere in Nigeria. Wherever I am,i do my ENT checkup regularly n I meet uncultured Dr's,Dr Giwa tried to finger me during an eye test.Abeg how eye n vagina take connect. I gave his balls the kick of their life. This Dr should be dismissed n made to see a psychiatrist. Mad people wearing ward coats everywhere.
ReplyDeleteMaybe he saw a vagina reflecting in ur eyes.
Deleteirene onye ara. lol.
Deleteyes,one doc dan nwonwu of fusniel lab fadeyi is so fond of dt shit. i and my friend went there fr a lab test.i was feeling feverish. na so d guy come tell me say he go do a vaginal swab. i asked him watin concern fever concern vagina. hr said yes dt some infection can cause fever. na so i mumuishly removed my pant and d he diot started fingering me. i gv him a stren earning and left. one of my friend also went dere and he did d same thing.
0mg!!!he shud b castrated. pervert
ReplyDeleteThis is so annoying.... all this arrogant Doctors beware... God is watching you on 3D + ULTRA HD 4K..
ReplyDeleteNonsense!
ReplyDeleteHe should be given severe punishment.
d guy look like one naija actor...cant remember his name again
ReplyDeleteHmmmmmm,it happen most times at our loca pharmacy.na wa
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
Things dey really happen shah....
choi! what a disgrace! he is just one of them o.God go open your yansh very soon.
ReplyDelete...never being abused but if any tries it on me, his penis will definitely drop on the floor. Doc n wayo
ReplyDeleteOuch@mao ak uh you are not playing at all!
DeleteDoctors case no be 4 here.I had an allergy wen I was in ss2 & my mum took me our new family doctor. This man started touching me in funny ways in d examation cubicle. I didn't tell my mum.Fast forward to dat after I lost my mum, I was already in the University, I go there wen I had to see a doctor.Omo!, this same doctor will push me to the wall & start fondling my breast & also try to finger my pussy.Hmmh.I can't tell my family ooo. I must also say dat medically, he knows his onions but morally, he is 'minus one'
ReplyDeleteIt's people like you that made the DR say "I can see it in your eyes,you want it",if a doctor tries to grope me once,twice,I will deactivate his balls with my knees..Mscheww fondling my breast, did I tell him to check for lumps abi are we doing breast check-up?You can't tell your family, you can't go 2 another hospital?
DeleteSeriously this lack of ethics is appalling , haba!
DeleteBwahaaaaa@deactivate balls
Rapist!
ReplyDeleteSick fellow.
Doctor should stop taking advantage of their patients,
ReplyDeleteI don't understand...
ReplyDeleteA girl wanted 2 do D/C nd d condition d doctor gave her was to sleep wit him b4 he does it. She was so scared nd had no choice but to do it. Fyi, she also paid 4 d procedure. Was so mad wen I heard it. Yeyeish pple
ReplyDeletePamscrib.blogspot.com
A doc,our family friend tried to rape me. I had an allergy n i complained of stomach ache. He examined my tummy n told me to remove my underwear. i did so n he slid a finger in me,wiggled it and i winced. He again slid in another finger n pressed my tummy n askd if there was any pain. i said no. he said ok,pushed in deeper n i dont know wot he touched n my thighs started shaking. i told him to stop that my womb is paining me. he asked me wen i last had sex n i said i cant remember. then he brought out a gigantic dick n told me he'll make it up
ReplyDeleteYou didn't scream like a crazy person, ah ah this is terrible
DeleteI said no pls. This was on a saturday so no much patients. He said i shouldnt shout but come down so that he can enter me easily from the bk. he was stroking his dick all along. only his age made me say no. till today i still see his dick.
ReplyDeleteAm I d only one seeing dis as racism??? UK Daily mail put up d doctor's pic, but dint hesitate witholding the patient's name n d story is biased, abi una think sey if na true sey d thing hapn lyk ds, dem for nor jail d man for der? Smh....cock n bull story
ReplyDeleteIt's not racism, for patients especially psych patients privacy is very important here before they get sued. Anything concerning a healthcare provider regardless of race is public info, so patients can choose their providers wisely in the future.
DeleteThat was just a slap on the wrist, another offense will be tougher.
Na wah oooo for doctors????? Too bad..
ReplyDeleteI don't understand the cultural differences part,is he saying here in nigeria because of "cultural similarities" he can fondle his patients abi how?Stupid untrained doctor, a suicidal woman, it's only her breast you saw, fool!You went as far to her house to touch breast and kiss, why didn't you touch your wife's own?
ReplyDeleteI beleive there are two sides to a story if not the GMC would have given a stricter punishment. That being said despite being a member of the noble profession, i know ppl do abuse their priviledges our family doctor who also happened to be my mentor i am talking a out a man who knew me since primary school, his children and i grew up together o fast forward years down the line he is trying to grope me inviting me for conferences with him, ha!! Shamelessness
ReplyDeleteTrue. There is always two sides to a story And they tend to believe females more. For Him to be suspended for just 6 months the is more to this story that we didn't read.
DeleteSee his stupid face. Which dirty cultural differences? It's his type that make oyibo people ask if we live in trees. Bush animal
ReplyDeleteHmmm av not had any experience, but to me doctors de always mad for d head of person we fit mad fr n go scot free. If any man look me finish n try dt, Hmmmmm someone will be admitted in a hospital bc his tail will be chopped off. Can u imagine?
ReplyDeleteReally so things like this happens?
ReplyDeleteNa wa oh
ReplyDeleteCultural differences kor, Africa nigeria ni
So in nigeria, it is allowed to tell your patient,I know you want it and squeeze their boobs and talk nonsense? Dr kanu?
A lot of unreported cases of molestation going on in this country oh.
Pls check and comfirm pls http://m.thenorthernecho.co.uk/news/10024728.Doctor_cleared_of_sex_assault_on_home_visit_to_patient/
ReplyDeleteDoctors in Nigeria are very unprofessional though. Male doctors are lecherous. He figured it is a doc privilege. Anuofia.
ReplyDeleteI fell mugu for our family doctor when i was 19. I went to see him for usual check up and he brought out his d**k and made passionate love to me on his examination table. I somehow enjoyed it. I never told my parents because i didn't want him to get into trouble.
ReplyDeleteLooking back i now know i was too naive and stupid sha.
No condom?
DeleteDoctors hmm
ReplyDeleteOh yes.....my doctor .....hmmm..he knows his job but wanted to fuck me by all means. If I enter his office for check up.....na big fat dick I go see jumping out of the trousers. He is as old as my dad....well he never succeeded....i chop am mugu tire till he decided to have sense.
ReplyDeleteI used to think i knew what "cultural differences" was till i read dis post.Cos i dont get it.not in this context.
ReplyDeletePervert!
I don't get it too. I seem to have misunderstood the term. Now I'm confused all over again. Maybe my teacher didn't teach me right or the dictionary is fake. Probably made by Aba people. Wait lemme make a phone call, I'll be back to comment again after a clear explanation is giving
DeleteOhh wetin man no go hear. Docs using their profession to get free punani! May God judge all of them
ReplyDeleteOne Doctor Esue in first consultant is another bastard. One day is one day.
ReplyDeleteI agree to a conspiracy theory not that it couldnt have happened. i cant stand a man groping me without permission
ReplyDeleteAn irresponsible man is an irresponsible man irrespective of his profession. That he was merely suspended for some months does not mean he will get out of it easily. Training programs may not accept him. Even getting a job will be difficult for him. His desired specialty is one that requires a highly disciplined and compassionate person. He must have been doing it in Nigeria without any consequence. Ashawo man. Rose
ReplyDeleteMmmmmmmmm!! My life is so filled with Doctors wanting a piece of me, even when I had accident and fractured my femur and tibia yet my Doctor won't let me me be, always fingering me and if I refuse him to he would omit me and tell his young Doctor not to attend to me that I was rude to him!! Imagine, me a 15yr old helpless patient with leg on traction being rude to him!!!! Aaaaaaaaah!!! Doctor Essien of NOH Enugu!!! Even when was admitted @ another hospital, was fingered and kissed by my doctor while awaiting to be operated upon!!! Chai!! Some men self, well I've forgiven all. Thank God I didn't turn to a sex addict @ the end of day shaaa cos I was so young. And yes this happened about 14yrs ago.
ReplyDeleteI am an intern in Ubth.One Sunday eve, I was waiting 4 a cab to take me to a park coz I wanted to travel.This car pulled beside me & offered to drop me.I hesitated but later agreed cos cabs were hard to come by.He y introduced himself as a scientist in Uniben.Later I discovered he was a consultant doctor in Ubth.One day he called me to pass by his office after work.I was even happy,4 my mind a new consultant O & G frnd.Cos I like making frnds whether old or young.I entered his office he offered me one I Rishton cream.I refused cos I sensed d drink was already opened & he didn't want to taste it either.Later he started gisting all of a sudden he came and sat on d table in front of me, started groping me by fire by force ooo.Dat he loves me& wud want to make love to me.Omo! See struggle dat day ooo.I tried to scream bt I I didn't wanna embarrass myself cos people will talk wetin carry u go dere I managed to escape. # Teamfeardoctors
ReplyDeleteAre you referring to doctor azi...?
DeleteFear o n g consultants ooh
Na use and dump if to say u gree
Don't knw why I don't really love doctors.I eventually dated one & it didn't work out.Very stingy & unappreciative.God forbid
ReplyDeleteStupid doctor.
ReplyDeletethis story is false and just a single story. Please always endeavour to hear the two sides of a story before jumping into conclusions and writing things about someone to damage the person's character. Dr Emmanuel never groped anybody's bosom, he just tried to console her by patting her shoulders. The woman Ms. Karen is known for setting up most Nigerian doctors and professionals because they are all racist and are out to ridicule innocent Nigerians. Trust me Dr. Emmanuel Kanu is just a victim of a frustrated divorcee and racist,thank God that she did not succeed in carrying her plans out. If Dr. Emmanuel Kanu was guilty, trust me he wouldn't be able to come out of it! The GMC and court are not silly. We should always be careful when we report news from UK daily mails because they are always out to tarnish the image of Africans and especially Nigerians.
ReplyDeleteDer r always 2 Sides of a story! Listen to his own side as well my nija pipo b4 crucifying him... Dts all i ve to say.. Period!