Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Illegal Immigrants From Niger Republic Claim They Pay N300 To Enter Nigeria

Thursday, February 19, 2015

Illegal Immigrants From Niger Republic Claim They Pay N300 To Enter Nigeria

Officials of the Nigeria Immigration Service, Lagos State Command have arrested 82 illegal immigrants. 

One of them, 34-year-old Shuaib Kaneda who is from the Niger Republic, and has spent eight years in Nigeria without any valid document, says many illegal immigrants usually entered Nigeria by paying between N300 and N500 to unidentified persons.

Shuaib was arrested along with a relative, Idris, who had spent barely one year in the country when he was caught.

Shuaib, who spoke in pidgin, said, “I have been here for about eight years now. I work as a loader and make between N1, 000 and N1, 500 a day. I use the money I make to feed my family in the Niger Republic. I am married and have two children and they are in Niger.

“I travel home every six or eight months. The people at the border see many of us when we come in. Sometimes, they collect N300 and other times, we give them N500 before we pass.”

His brother, Idris, also explained that he came into the country to make money which he usually sent home to his family of three.

Another suspect, Alimaru Saliade, said that he sneaked into the country by mixing up with cows being transported into Nigeria.

Saliade, who claimed not to know his age, said in pidgin, “I followed cows to Lagos. I have been here for four years now and I have not been able to get my documents because I don’t have money.”

For Yaya Ibrahim, coming to Lagos was to avoid being idle in the village.

“I was in my village and was not doing anything. So, my uncle asked me to come and work in Lagos and that was how I found myself here. My parents live in Ghana but we are from Niger,” he said.

According to Punch, The Public Relations Officer of the Nigeria Immigration Service, Lagos State Command, Muyiwa Odunubi, said the command raided the suspects based on intelligence report.

He said while some of the suspects were caught around banks’ branches, others were found sleeping under the bridge and “constituting nuisance to residents”.

The Comptroller of the state’s command, Mrs. Justina Ahmadu, further appealed to citizens to cooperate with them by not harbouring illegal Immigrants. 

*They come into Nigeria to commit crimes of all sort.

33 comments:

1. The Same way they come into Naija, is the same way some Nigerians make there way to Europe, So Its a BALANCED EQUATION if you ask me...
    .NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

1. Some of them honestly come to seek greener pastures and most of them constitute nuisance.

Worrying won't stop bad things from happening, it will only stop good from being enjoyed. Have a care free attitude,Whatever happens, happen!

@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

2. Nigeria my beloved country *singing ***

1. Abeg they should all go back, they should not add to our problems.
      Over population is a problem already, so we don't want more people ooh

3. No be 9ja we dey? Mtcheew....'yimu'

4. I believe... We are always illegal...

TV Reporter taking cover from gunshots fired atAPC rally in Rivers State today

He is so brave. Gunshots were being fired and he was still reporting news
    WATCH HERE

Checkout what these University Girls are Doing in their Room after returning from Lectures

Is this what our children are doing in school??

WATCH HERE

5. Imagine! All this immigrants roaming the streets of Nigeria freely for years! Bringing all sort of diseases! And committing divers crime! And to think that those hungry thieves collect just 300-500h from them! Its indeed a thing of shame! Meanyl to travel to ordinary Ghana u'd have to pay tru ur nose! I pledge to Nigeria my country indeed!!!

6. the language that BokoHaram speak is synonymous to NIGER hausa.. My friend said so. It is obvious that 40-50% of bokoharam insurgents are not Nigerians.

In other news. Nigeria should be happy that others are struggling for its visa. Lol.

Bribery and Corruption!!! Which way Nigeria.

1. Na dese mollahs dem dey recruit as Boko haramists naa...every one knows dat....Naija and her porous borders

2. A average Nigerian would never agree to be blown up.
      They cherish their lives. They dont mind feeding on garri till they die.
      It's these miscreants.

7. Only in naija..
    These r armedrobbers terrorizing our nation.

8. Heheheheheheehehehe. Nigeria my dear country.

9. Even with 100naira u can pass the border,this people might be the Boko boys who knows

10. Naija with bribery, how much is #300 or #500? That's a chicken feed 4 christ sake, yet they allow them 2 enter d country 2 commit various atrocities.

11. Including Boko Haram evil.

12. We see them everyday in Benin, they load them like cows and dump them in cattle market

13. They are boko haram men. Yeye immigration people.

thieves everywhere. that N300 is for their pocket. they dont pass it to government coffer.

14. What is 300 naira n after de will still open dia mouth n blame Gej for every nonsense in d country. Ordinary work de employed u to do, u can't do it with dignity n honor n yet u still blame another person. Its high time we start removing d logs of wood in our eyes b4 trying to remove d moth in another person's eyes.

15. Imagine! Paying 300-500 box to corrupt person to gain entrance. Bribery has eaten so deep into the hearts of so many. Naijaaaa! I hail thee.

16. So its #300 or #500 or even entering truck with cows and these boko haram guys enter naija. All these custom and immigration officer's selling their country for peanut welldone o. Tomorrow na una go open mouth loud pass say oga jona no do anything.

17. All these illegal miligrant (immigrant) shd vamoose from my oil rich country

18. A friend of mine told me how much a custom woman paid in dollars as her tithe n u begin to ask yourself how much she earns per month. And wen some of dis guys are allowed into d country d crime rate goes up. Then pple will start blaming security officers.