Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FG Unveils N1.1bn National Ambulance Service

Sunday, February 15, 2015

FG Unveils N1.1bn National Ambulance Service

In its bid to boost Maternal Child Healthcare (MCH) in the country, the federal government on Friday commissioned the N1.1 billion National Ambulance Service.

The 100 ambulances are to aid transportation of women and children to health facilities where they can access care.

The chairman of the Subsidy Reinvestment and Empowerment Programme (SURE-P), Gen. Martin Luther Agwai (Rtd) made the disclosure during the launch of the National Ambulances Services at Kiyi PHC, Chibiri Kuje Area Council if Abuja.

The SURE-P chairman noted that the services would be implemented in 1000 facilities across the country and 250 referral hospitals in the 36 states and the FCT.

According to him a lot of the dividends of the programme had been felt in most local government saying, “as at August last year, over 1. 2 million women have received care in SURE-P facilities while 200,000 babies have been born successfully in the centres.

“These ambulances are expected to ease the transport difficulties our women and children face when trying to access care, or health personnel who have need to refer cases they cannot handle effectively”, he said.

Executive Director of the National Primary Health Care Development Agency (NPHCDA), Dr Ado Muhammad said that 50 per cent of deaths among women and children was caused by non- availability to referral services.

Muhammad maintained that the initiative was the first of its kind saying, “These should serve as the entry point for wider services to tackle the second and third delay for pregnant women and children.”

Also, the Project Director, SURE-P MCH (maternal and child Health), Dr Ugo Okoli noted that each ambulance cost about 11m and that a 100 was purchased.

She said , “We intend to deploy them to states, and then to clusters, we work in clusters, so if we put one here it will serve the four primary health centres, we intend to put two in each state and the extras to be managed by field managers."

Meanwhile, the ambulances would be distributed across the states but would not be under the control of states nor local governments, rather under private initiatives and field managers to be supervised by the federal government.
 Daily Times report

Wow,really cool initiative thats been a long time coming.....

67 comments:

1. wow. Creation of Job Oppurtunity. Gej i dey ya back joor. Let the other one keep drooling in his fantasy of fighting corruption.

More of this please.

1. It's really a nice idea. Towards improving d health standard of d nation.

2. Good sha, but does it have to be around elections? It just seems as if it's a form of campaign.....
      @Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

3. As a form of campaign or not, its a good thing

4. As a form of campaign or not, its a good thing

5. Eka Joy u can say that again. GEJ is achieving success day by Day Obj is at Otta Farm ranting Dust. Obj is yet to get a Heart Attack when GEJ will be declared the Winner. Obj is ranting bullshit because of his Selfish Interest not to the interest of Nigerians. Obj Abeg cover face

2. And one thief will pocket the money and buy used ones from India !!! Tomorrow when their generation wants to give birth they'll go to America or London!!! I wonder why citizens of those countries don't come to nig to give birth !! Shameless heartless crooks.

1. People like you with your negative spirit is the problem with nigeria cos even when there is obvious progress you refuse to see it or accept it and I just wonder why? This is not about GEJ or gmb anymore, it's about our mothers and children so it's a welcomed development. I bind you and your type with the precious blood of Jesus. Nigeria will continue to move forward indeed.

2. eya. Today is sunday oo. Just chill. Ur pained soul will soon be free. It is well.

3. Anon I follow u and bind that first Anon
      I rebuke u thunder and fire. Kikikikikikiki. Appreciate Progress. This is not politics but the Welfare of Children and Mothers. Atleast score GEJ 99.99% for the good initiative.

4. Which initiative? How many of such have we seen of late? Remember the stove worth billions he promised rural women, pls give naija 24/7 light n women will charge their phones to call for help when need arises. Before you say jack all those ambulances will fine their ways into private garrages nonsence. Iam south south but truth be told.

3. I hope they will be able to maintain it.

4. Politricks ,good one ,we are getting there

5. Stella, morning Ma. Biko, see how they disect & left in pieces the koko Master, Bangallee's carrier, courtesy This Day.

6. Good initiative,i pray it gets to d masses&areas where be needed. GEJ till 2019

7. I think is 2 much.
    Y not put the money and upgrade our hospitals

1. So helping out pregnant women isn't good enough for u? Nigerians are just an insatiable bunch, geez!!!

8. Nice initiative,hope they make it work and it is accessible to all in need of it and not just some.

9. Nigeria my country! Let God judge our leaders

10. Good initiative but maintenance is an issue.

11. Dts good if only de will do as de said bc it's only in Naija dt we see ghost workere, armoured cars, ambulances. Etc

12. He wants to work in 6 weeks of election postponement? What was he doing all the 6 years he was there.Nigerians know better now! We want CHANGE!

1. Just shut up and be grateful for ones in ur miserable life.

2. Just shut up and be grateful for ones in ur miserable life.

13. So what kind of ambulance is 11mill?only ambulance oo!
    I duff my cap for GEJ and cohorts,afterall stealing is not corruption joor!#rme

1. Just shut up, nothing is ever genuine for u people, dyu want him to go buy fairly used ambulances that will be giving issues up and down. Wtf is wrong with u people?

2. Just shut up, nothing is ever genuine for u people, dyu want him to go buy fairly used ambulances that will be giving issues up and down. Wtf is wrong with u people?

3. Who is this Dumb asking this silly Question? How much do you think is a brand new ordinary Hiace bus not to talk of an Ambulance with other facilities in the Ambulance. Won't they add the Costvof freight? Clearing Charges? The company that imported it won't they make profit? If you are biased with the Adminstration of GEJ not on this.

14. 1.1billion naira for 100 ambulances.Instead of using the money to equip most of the dilapidated federal health care centers or may be pay health care workers to curb incessant strikes which will go a long way in preventing child and maternal deaths. You place them in private hands and you expect this services will come cheap to those rural women. When has government ever successful monitor any project. This ain't cool initiative, I no beg to disagree.

1. Its confirmed, u don't have sense. Cos easing the movements of pregnant women isn't a necessity in ur opinion ba

2. Health Workers are so greedy. Even if the Govt agree with all their terms they will still start again after a while. To refurbish the Health Sector it is part of the process.

3. I won't join issues with an idiot bereft of logical thinking. Go back and slowly read my comment. Do we really need ambulances at this period of austerity. 1.1 billion naira pumped into the rural health care systems will go a long way in curbing child and maternal deaths which in most cases are avoidable foolish Eka joy if the government is willing to sacrifice their wanton greed for the good of the masses. Look at this balloon head talking about easing the movements of pregnant women as the ambulances are now a mode of transporting them. To where if i may ask, is it from their homes to the hospital cos pregnancy is a disease. 2 from their homes to the market or as a transportation to where ever they are going to. Ambulances are made for only pregnant women in your deluded mind. I have warned you not to make unsolicited and chaff remarks under my comments. As one who has sense this is the sensible remark you could come up with. The only time madam ITK this set of women as you claim can be transported is in case of an emergency.

4. Eka joy is a dog naa so let it bark..Go eat ur vomit idiot.

5. @ anon 15:13, so to ask for decent wages for work done or services rendered to you is greed abi. Make devil no let you and your family dey work like elephant and eat like ant.

6. Eka Joy, what is it? Why are you insulting people for airing their opinion? Must we all agree on issues or think in the same direction? Learn to state your point and be civil enough to allow others state theirs, if you must disagree ,disagree with facts and not insults.

Your comments on this post are quite annoying, you need to work on your temper.

7. Lol @ Ballon head

15. This contract that was supposed to be awarded to lit since last year person don pocket the money.

16. So we have left leprosy and chosen to treat ringworm instead. Jona is a joker.

1. Anon am sure u attend Catholic. Today we were taught of the Leper shall dwell alone in a habitation outside the camp. ' Unclean" But na ur Generation be Joker

2. Eka joy take it easy.your too aggressive

3. Eka Joy and Anon 15.16, the essence of my proverb is lost on u educated illiterates so no point trying to point out ur stupidity. In 10 lifetimes, neither of u will achieve what I have.

17. I hope its true and not another means to embezzle

18. That's good,he should have done this long time ago

19. All these new initiatives very late in the day. What have they been doing and where is all the money? Either way, GEJ can start and GMB will continue.

1. Even Obj knows and Said Buhari is not a Manager of Economy. Buhari is a failure no wonder is Cows don't procreate

20. Season of scam. So election was postponed for six weeks to catch up? We seriously have 419 spirit in us , from top to bottom. I hope they won't spend the money on refurbished ambulance just like the refurbished train. Another money making avenue for some crooks.

1. Ode Shi Which one ur Papa do?

2. My father died honourably. How about yours? Begging at Kano street just like you. Iku ya ju esin. Google it.

21. People are saying he should have spent the money on renovating the health facilities, if he had done that, these same people would have said he should have used the money on education that will produce those doctors that will run those facilities. Nigerians, I duff yansh for una, they can never satisfy you people. Greedy lots. Fucking ingrates

1. You are indeed brainless. You have nothing to offer, all your comments reek from an odious psyche of prolonged sufferings. For once I have never seen a sensible comment to sway people to vote for GEJ. Very dastard human being full of insults and bile. That is what the GEJ government have reduced you to. Lackeys without thought process.

2. Lovelace kiss me abeg.

22. Good idea but we always falter at implementation... Click my name for sports news

23. Eka Sadness the erat or ant, pick one. Why do you come under people's post to make a fool of yoursel? Why do you come here to flaunt your stupidity indiscriminately? You have no right to shove your dumb opinion down people's throat, hell NO. The whole idea of this mess is to get some political gains, but it clearly shows how inept, clueless and confused Mr Gridlock Jonathan is. You have the failed gut to call people ingrates and use f words on this platform, how dare you! Is it a favour? NO. It is our right, get that into your empty brain after taking off your Chinese wig. All you online mosquitoes can buzz all you like, Nigerians are discerning people and we have grown wiser. For your info, I am walking library on global issues. Point is, we must learn to differ without name calling. Now run along, I dey watch Fareed zakaria GPS.

1. Mumu what is your Point? Coward

2. Lol @ Chinese wig

3. Omo Naija, please ignore that moron name Eka. No point wasting energy on a daft fellow like that.

4. Thanks Anony6.09. Chop kiss.

24. i laugh in German, perhaps they canstart by getting motor able roads to the people that need these ambulances.Stela don't be deceived, people in villages are dying , no hospitals if they have probably manned by one corper and 2 other doctors. No infrastructure, no blood bank. sigh May God deliver us

25. Its a good one, but when these ambulances r functional if @ all they will be; where r the well equipped hospitals to cater to emergencies? That shd be d first point of call if Jona's admin means business abt healthcare and r sincere. My one cent.