Ibrahim Shekarau, the Minister of Education, has said plans are in progress to make bachelor’s degree the minimum teaching qualification in Nigeria.
Speaking with the Finland Ambassador to Nigeria, Pirjo Suomela-Chowdhur, Mr. Shekarau said the Federal Government would explore all measures to restore the lost respect, dignity and status of teachers in Nigeria.
Mr. Suomela-Chowdhury disclosed that teachers in Finland have a minimum of master’s degree. He also said the profession is highly competitive in his country because of a huge interest from too many qualified people.
"In 1980 the minimum teaching qualification to teach in schools was National Certificate in Education but this could be upped to first degree soon." Mr. Shekarau said.
Adding that, there are already a number of graduates teaching in primary schools in Nigeria.
He said Nigeria was able to get over the practice in the past, where primary school leavers were engaged to teach.
He recalled how the level was raised to Teacher Grade 3 in the sixties and later, in the early seventies, it was a minimum of Grade 2 but this was later phased out in the eighties to a minimum of NCE.
He said the federal government would soon come up with a proposal to encourage special scholarship awards by all tiers of government to students from secondary schools who want to study education in universities and teacher training institutions.
Noting that no nation could rise above the level of quality of its education system, He stated that the Federal Government would soon call for a national teachers’ summit to discuss how to raise the quality of teachers in Nigeria.
Gej where is our $20billion? The missing money is causing a lot to our economy(Devaluation of naira).
ReplyDeleteWho is this? Don't you read papers. Price Water has audited NNPC. They haven't remitted $1.29b. Sanusi did that to paint GEJ Adminstration black. GEJ is the best so far
DeleteEwu! First to comment. Ewu! Ewu! Ewu!
Delete@chinyelu Wats is $1.29 billion compared to $20billiom
DeleteThey should make the remuneration reasonable too. It should be equivalent to FCSs pay too or even more than...
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
Where am staying yu dont need to have the whole certificate b4 yu can teach, just knw hw to read then yu are gud to go.....
How does one get an NCE? How many years does it take?
ReplyDeleteCan one gain this immediately after secondary school?
I think this could be a good change.
Yes Anon, its now tru Jamb buh I tink some college of education hav pre NCE. Progm tooo
DeleteThanks.
DeleteSorry, i don't reside in nigeria.
Jamb is the exam taken for entry into uni?
How does one get an NCE? How many years does it take?
ReplyDeleteCan one gain this immediately after secondary school?
I think this could be a good change.
It's not just making degree d minimum but make it mandatory that all private schools should pay degree holders above 20k... No school should pay below that.. Private schools has finally make dis decision for me once I relocate i'm going into business no more teaching jobs cus of d peanuts teachers get as salaries
ReplyDeleteWhat the fg should be thinking of is how to create jobs for the millions of youth b4 u upgrade to masters, mtsheeew misplaced priority
ReplyDeleteThey should be paid well too
ReplyDeleteTeacher's salary ain't encouraging atall
That's good...but the remuneration must make a whole lot of sense, just as it is in Finland, cos I didn't see him mention salary issue. If Nigeria must copy, then we should copy right!
ReplyDeleteSee this aboki hausa man what does he know about education... Go and tell Boko haram the important of education if you known better and let them stop the killing of innocent souls.
ReplyDeletePls while @ it,Oga shekarau,please increase the pay also.That why most students don't want to he teachers because they know they are not bn paid well.
ReplyDeleteProud educationist
In some village you don't need to have certificate before you can teach,as long as you can read and write
ReplyDeleteMstcheEeeew
ReplyDeleteWould there still be jobs?
ReplyDeleteI agree provided the emolument will be increased.
ReplyDeleteThis Malams eh? just crazy,insensible ideas.This ones got no work jor.
ReplyDeleteOLUWÆßÖßßÝ
Dts a great move. Some ppl here don't like good things. Nawa o
ReplyDeleteThat's good, infact very ok
ReplyDeleteAre this people daft or what? What about improving learning environment and increasing teachers salaries first? They loss sight of what they are supposed to do and end focusing on something else.
ReplyDeleteIs the minister saying that Nce teachers not good enough? Pls all teachers want is good PAY if you like make Phd holders teach in primary school without good pay they can teach our kids shits eg capital of Nigeria Aba n theres nothing we can do other than rant.