-->

Monday, February 02, 2015

Chimamanda's 'Lights Out in Nigeria'

WE call it light; “electricity” is too sterile a word, and “power” too stiff, for this Nigerian phenomenon that can buoy spirits and smother dreams. Whenever I have been away from home for a while, my first question upon returning is always: “How has light been?” The response, from my gateman, comes in mournful degrees of a head shake.

Bad. Very bad.

The quality is as poor as the supply: Light bulbs dim like tired, resentful candles. Robust fans slow to a sluggish limp. Air-conditioners bleat and groan and make sounds they were not made to make, their halfhearted cooling leaving the air clammy. In this assault of low voltage, the compressor of an air-conditioner suffers — the compressor is its heart, and it is an expensive heart to replace. Once, my guest room air-conditioner caught fire. The room still bears the scars, the narrow lines between floor tiles smoke-stained black.

Sometimes the light goes off and on and off and on, and bulbs suddenly brighten as if jerked awake, before dimming again. Things spark and snap. A curl of smoke rises from the water heater. I feel myself at the mercy of febrile malignant powers, and I rush to pull my laptop plug out of the wall. Later, electricians are summoned and they diagnose the problem with the ease of a long acquaintance. The current is too high or too low, never quite right. A wire has melted. Another compressor will need to be replaced.

For succor, I turn to my generator, that large Buddha in a concrete shed near the front gate. It comes awake with a muted confident hum, and the difference in effect is so obvious it briefly startles: Light bulbs become brilliant and air-conditioners crisply cool.
The generator is electricity as electricity should be. It is also the repository of a peculiar psychology of Nigerian light: the lifting of mood. The generator is lord of my compound. Every month, two men filled with mysterious knowledge come to minister to it with potions and filters. 

Once, it stopped working and I panicked. The two men blamed dirty diesel, the sludgy, slow, expensive liquid wreathed in conspiracy theories. (We don’t have regular electricity, some say, because of the political influence of diesel importers.) Now, before my gateman feeds the diesel into the generator, he strains it through a cloth and cleans out bits of dirt. The generator swallows liters and liters of diesel. Each time I count out cash to buy yet another jerrycan full, my throat tightens.

I spend more on diesel than on food.

My particular misfortune is working from home. I do not have a corporate office to escape to, where the electricity is magically paid for. My ideal of open windows and fresh, breathable air is impossible in Lagos’s seething heat. (Leaving Lagos is not an option. I love living here, where Nigeria’s energy and initiative are concentrated, where Nigerians bring their biggest dreams.) To try to cut costs — sustainably, I imagine — I buy an inverter. Its silvery, boxlike batteries make a corner of the kitchen look like a physics lab.

The inverter’s batteries charge while there is light, storing energy that can be used later, but therein lies the problem: The device requires electricity to be able to give electricity. And it is fragile, helpless in the face of the water pump and microwave. Finally, I buy a second generator, a small, noisy machine, inelegant and scrappy. It uses petrol, which is cheaper than diesel, and can power lights and fans and freezers but only one air-conditioner, and so I move my writing desk from my study to my bedroom, to consolidate cool air.

Day after day, I awkwardly navigate between my sources of light, the big generator for family gatherings, the inverter for cooler nights, the small generator for daytime work.
Like other privileged Nigerians who can afford to, I have become a reluctant libertarian, providing my own electricity, participating in a precarious frontier spirit. But millions of Nigerians do not have this choice. They depend on the malnourished supply from their electricity companies.

In 2005, a law was passed to begin privatizing the generation and distribution of electricity, and ostensibly to revamp the old system rooted in bureaucratic rot. Ten years on, little has changed. Most of the companies that produce electricity from gas and hydro sources, and all of the distribution companies that serve customers, are now privately owned. But the link between them — the transmission company — is still owned by the federal government.

I cannot help but wonder how many medical catastrophes have occurred in public hospitals because of “no light,” how much agricultural produce has gone to waste, how many students forced to study in stuffy, hot air have failed exams, how many small businesses have foundered. What greatness have we lost, what brilliance stillborn? I wonder, too, how differently our national character might have been shaped, had we been a nation with children who took light for granted, instead of a nation whose toddlers learn to squeal with pleasure at the infrequent lighting of a bulb.

As we prepare for elections next month, amid severe security concerns, this remains an essential and poignant need: a government that will create the environment for steady and stable electricity, and the simple luxury of a monthly bill.
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is the author, most recently, of the novel “Americanah.”

100 comments:

1. Polished writeup

1. Hmmm... stella. we Nigerians are our problem. See, there is enough *cant remember what it is called* to go round, but some wicked people are just there to truncate other people's effort.

Last week, one man (a former PHCN boss) came to our office and, as usual, there was no light. So my boss asked "why is Niger State (power state) with three dams, the supplier of electricity in nigeria, in 'darkness'". *Stella, they ration the light here o. Do you know what this man said? He said he called his (former) office and was told that there is really no reason for the rationing, that it's just some Ogas at the top that gave them instruction on how to distribute power, so it would look like the present administration has done little or nothing in the power sector.

When I heard this, I almost cried. Why? What do they all stand to gain. See how the masses are suffering because of the elephants at the top and their stupid games. So what's important to these people is to make their opposition look bad, not minding the citizens!

It just hit me there and then that this wickedness may not only be happening in Minna or the Power sector alone. Imagine that these things happen in all the sectors. HOW DO WE GROW with this wickedness and selfishness. Where are we headed? Only God can deliver us from ourselves o! We, Nigerians, are our own problem. Not just our leaders.

I don't blame them o. Afterall they have money for petrol so...

God help us!

Alloy, nwanem woke, nno!

2. Hmmm@gifted, can u imagine. Its terrible oh

3. I thought about this last week,the ogas at the top doing things to make the government look in efficient.God help us o

2. I once liked this girl, but since i read her comment on same sex marriage. I just knew how mentally derenged she is, nothing she does interests me.

1. I read that too, and I was disappointed in her.
      It is well

2. No. Like "yourself" first before looking for who to like

Mgbe obuna I na-ako k' onye egbuwalu Isi, Tony. U mustn't be heard- no need commenting

3. Calling someone mentally deranged for having a point of view which differs from yours is wrong. But then, what do you expect from mediocre minds?

4. So ya let me get it straight. ..you are disappointed at someone else' opinion on an issue. You are disappointed because her opinions do not align with yours, right? You need to see a shrink ASAP.

Bank.

5. So now, Tony, you have a taste of how many of us feel about you and your "derenged"rants.

6. If u like like her, if u like c her opinions as deranged..... I'm grateful for who I am by the grace of God but if I could write like her then wow.... I love her books, her writeups , her honesty, her manner of encapsulation, even her face sef. Bye

3. MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.

Hmmmm. Big sigh..
    ^
    ^
    ^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

1. You see why UNN is the still the best school on Naija. They used to supply us light all through the night, whenever NEPA fails as usual. I never read with candle night. Great lions and lionesses.

4. Too long, I can't read.

5. My IGBO sister keep making us proud. Igbo bu ike! Nice write up

6. Our dear country! GOD help us

7. I love ds write up...it wasnt boring...
    #okbye

8. currently using generator now anyway I am used to it the light issue did not start now generator the source of electricity in Nigeria we can't shout

9. Ermmmm...
    We are used to no having electricity in this country....
    Some people will start blaming GEJ for this....
    *yinmu....

1. Wtf...did GEJ come to improve things or just to dey chill chop groundnut?? Who is in charge of Nigeria's progress? Pls reason b4 u speak,my dear

10. Mehhh its damn too long

********LONG LIVE SDK & SDKERS*********

1. You just proved this statement right" of you want to hide anything from Nigerians, put it in writing"

11. PHED do bring bill at the end of the month if they manage to give us light for two days omo e dey pain me

12. This lady is just a brilliant writer. Nice one chima

13. The way this lady writes just sends shivers of excitement down my spine!

I am still savouring my "half of a yellow sun" slowly..i don't want it to end!
    Talent!

1. Lol . Just like me n my "Americanah"

Chai, chimamanda, u re such a brilliant writer

14. "As we prepare for elections next month, amid severe security concerns, this remains an essential and poignant need: a government that will create the environment for steady and stable electricity, and the simple luxury of a monthly bill."
    How I love this lady..intelligent and well composed write up. I love Chimamanda Adichie. Mmuah

15. God will do something new in our dear country. But before then i tire

16. No other author understand societal needs like u ma,you write the need of the ordinary Nigerian person in absolute details. The way you relate to the societal needs of Nigerian's no other author does. I tap into you literal wisdom

17. Wow , i love this write-up.The electricity situation is worst in Ghana too.God help us

1. Ghana still has electricity problem. I was surprised to see big generators in some compounds in Ghana. For a moment, I thought I was back home in Naija.

2. Big lie,steady lite in GH

3. Efe if u no the way we are suffering in Ghana..!!!!!..we only have 12 hours of light per day in Ghana... Hmm..God help my country...its collapsing

4. Lady Doris u ve 12 hours electricity per day and you are complaining??!!! Huh? We haven't had electricity in 3weeks!!

18. Our government can't provide the simple things we need..basic human necessities.. In 2011 Gej said that if after four years he Can make a change as a president..then even if he stays in power for 100years he won't be able to effect any change..four years have passed..Nigerians whatsup????...its time to make a difference... I don't want a sky scraper built in from of my house..all I need are..good roads,water,quality health care,electricity,good education etc.....vote APC..

1. Good morning Sassy baby
      If you are truly objective,sentiments aside,you will realise that everything you listed out took a good turn since Gej came into power!

I have calmly studied the economy and the progress/decline..and I can proudly tell you that Mr President has brought us thus far..lets not allow the insurgency blind us!

I stand firmly and boldly to say that Gej has given us more than some of the past government has ever given us!

I live in Nigeria,have lived here all my life..so I am not some diasporian citizen! I know that things used to be pretty worse off...

2. @Iphie dearie if I hear!! What has improved please?? The economy, education, health care, electricity or what? Please tell me. And be very precise with dates abeg!! GEJ ko jeg ni.

The number of smiling faces is decreasing in the country day by day, and you say there's improvement. Improvement is why some people come here looking for free credit everyday abi?

19. Dis gal can make 1plus 1 interesting wit her writing. Oga jona I know na u go remain there(thru rigging of course). Biko give us light. It will make a world of difference.

20. Hmmmmmmmmmm
    Oriegwu, but that's just the truth

21. Hmmmmmmmmmm
    Oriegwu, but that's just the truth

22. Is a shame, Nigerian government is useless, I don't want to remember how much I waste on fuel every week.

23. hmmm....this is the exact situation in Nigeria..

Reading this reduced my hope for a better country even more

Nne pls try write good things about Nigeria too, portray us in good light a kwan, for the world to respect us a little nah...and for us to keep keeping hope alive biko

1. She talks abt the good things too, but my dear if she sees the bad ones, I dnt see anything wrong in writing it..

24. Nice write up. But the thing come tire me 4 rd

25. Wat a writer! Chima keep making us proud.

26. I remember my days in OOU, I bought I pass my neighbour thrice. Light in that Ago-Iwoye is terrible. God! I spent more on fuel than food. Daily! I need light to work, my phones and laptop must be charged all the time. Without light I can't communicate and I won't make money.
    Thank you Nepa!

In some parts of Benin, they share light now. 6am-8am, 12noon-2pm, 6pm-8pm, 12midnight-2am, or 8am-10am, 2pm-4pm, 8pm -10pm, 2am-4am. 2days in that city, I ran back. I couldn't take it anymore! I hate the noise of generators, I hate that noise coming from different houses. I hate it! Surprisingly in Ikoyi, light has been almost constant. Ehen! Election dey come! Really? Like Nigerians will forget days and days without light all of a sudden over 2weeks of constant light supply.

I don provoke.

1. JayEm light has actually improved tremendously..i can boast of almost 20hours of light everyday(for years now)... I am not exaggerating..

And our drivers and other staff that used to complain so much about light because of the location of their houses have all smiles now..

And this improvement didn't start now..we have been basking in light....i know some people are still not as lucky as some,but it only gets better!

2. my street is on the 6 to 8 shift..two hours of lite everyday...and we pay a fixed charge monthly of abt 750 excluding vat..d stupid woman dt bought the distribution company of edo an delta state frm phcn....operates from an hotel..in fact she hs been staying in that hotel for abt 2yrs nw...eating our money...ogun will surely visit her soon...

3. The generator noise in benin can't be compared to the noise in lagos, you practically go deaf from generator noise in lagos coupled with the humid smelly air and hard dirty water. Yes there is a 3 hours rationing going on in benin presently that has further reduced the use of generator, Except your neighbourhood is different . Still no excuse for us as a nation in this age of technological advancement to still be talking about power failure.

4. As in, the situation is really provoking. All this their temporary solution because of election.
      Mscheeeewwwwww.

5. U are so on point with that hourly sharing thing...that is the case in Ugbowo and environs right now

6. @Iphie, it's where you're leaving. The light in Benin went from bad to worst. I can say of Ikoyi too, light is terrible there.

@Eclipse: you don't mean it. I've heard that woman's gist before, it's story for another day. In fact by now she must have a personal relationship with ogun, seems everyone is cursing and ogun is just silently looking at her doing nothing!

@Uzochi: yeah I concur but depends on the part of Lagos. Navy town for example...it's a nightmare!

@Ximenalicious: God will judge them accordingly, I hope Nigerians will vote right.

@Anonymous: Even in ugbowo? Oh wow! The case is hopeless!

7. Lekki light is a nightmare

27. Good write up from a wonderful lady....

28. cant wait to reach d limelight too.

Where do u spend ur leisure? How do u make urself happy? On those days when u need a smile. when u r all alone There is a place to lighten ur mood n forget lonelinessCLICK FOR SMILES

29. Btw, I tried watching Half of a yellow sun on board Alitalia or was it SAA...boring movie. I should buy the book, her books are always interesting to read. Movies based on books are usually boring.

1. It's true. The book is more interesting than the movie. I read the book years ago and watched the movie last year. I must say, it was nothing like the book. And considering the fact that it was long ago that I read the book, I was relying on the movie to refresh my memory of the interesting highlights. But nah, it wasn't any good.

But I was told later that they had to edit the movie severally, because according to the movies regulatory body, some of the scenes could incite war. So they had to take out so many scenes.

30. Well articulated n nicely crafted.... #Viz heat is killing

31. I love this lady and her writing.

Her pen (keyboard) is mightier than the latest crew-served weapons of the U.S. and Naija Armed Forces.

Read from beginning to end, will read again, again and again.

Give me Chimamanda any day any time.

1. Same here...a very good writer she is. Point well noted too!!

32. The electricity situation in nigeria is really a problem that can only be solved by the sincerity of those in power.

Her write up just depicts a clear picture of what we are going through in my neighbourhood right now; for the past three weeks we've be served with a voltage that can't pick the fridge nor the air conditioner. And the fans hardly rotate and bulbs hardly shine bright.

Please dear Lord give us a leader that will solve this problem for us. Nigeria is too hot and combining it with this no light situation just ain't funny.

**********Blessed Mrs**********

33. Jonathan had the opportunity to stabilise the power sector but he blew it! #my opinion pls#

34. beautiful write up! Looking forward to reading americanah.
    I just love her use of english!

35. Bravo Bravo, succinct from top to bottom.....ahhhh I love this woman!

36. And we celebrate 2 hours of uninterrupted power supply - only in NIGERIA!

37. Hmmm... stella. we Nigerians are our problem. See, there is enough *cant remember what it is called* to go round, but some wicked people are just there to truncate other people's effort.

Last week, one man (a former PHCN boss) came to our office and, as usual, there was no light. So my boss asked "why is Niger State (power state) with three dams, the supplier of electricity in nigeria, in 'darkness'". *Stella, they ration the light here o. Do you know what this man said? He said he called his (former) office and was told that there is really no reason for the rationing, that it's just some Ogas at the top that gave them instruction on how to distribute power, so it would look like the present administration has done little or nothing in the power sector.

When I heard this, I almost cried. Why? What do they all stand to gain. See how the masses are suffering because of the elephants at the top and their stupid games. So what's important to these people is to make their opposition look bad, not minding the citizens!

It just hit me there and then that this wickedness may not only be happening in Minna or the Power sector alone. Imagine that these things happen in all the sectors. HOW DO WE GROW with this wickedness and selfishness. Where are we headed? Only God can deliver us from ourselves o! We, Nigerians, are our own problem. Not just our leaders.

I don't blame them o. Afterall they have money for petrol so...

God help us!

1. Hmmm imagine the insolence. I also gathered many years ago that the big companies that distribute diesel have an obscure arrangement with some top Nepa officials, to give less electricity so that their diesel sales can be more. In fact, it's their modus operandi on the island. They just interrupt light even when there's no reason for it. Some staff in big companies also connive with nepa too, just to be able to get money off the company for the purchase of diesel. Very cunny Nigerians we are. Sad

38. Nice piece... But then why choose this period to write this? Is this a message to the people that want to vote the present government back into power? Because obviously she is saying the government has failed by not being able to provide an essential thing as light or electricity.

1. Are u plain stupid or u have jst refused to be reasonable, huh? Ur own sha be say mk Jonathan enter. ...anything wey pass that one, u no wan hear...behaving like all those nomads that lack sense

2. Lol, you are depressed. You are so aggressive. Eeyah, pele! Who make you vex? Lol.

3. @ Cindy, u actually act depressed..how is dt a message to voters. Stop been plain stupid.light hasn't improved. Vote or no vote

39. As in ehn this woman is really intelligent. But the truth is i was born in this condition and society has made me understand that it's all natural.
    I await a new Nigeria that starts from our hearts. If we believe it, we can start the change from our various stations . As a student in the S.U.G. You as the D.G of a commission in Govt. Even in the private sector.

Miss Somerhalder.

40. Chimamanda Adichie..she wields her pen like a wand. #Magical

41. Ghana and South Africa has 24hours electricity!why can't 9ja do such....have not use my eye to see generator abroad for once,that's why China kept bringin gen into our dear country bcos they know it's a fail state

42. Chimamanda adichie writes with wits..she breathes life into her books and article.she's gifted,she's an ordinary woman with extraordinary talents.compelling and captivating stories.she always comes in blazing hot!

43. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Lord knw say if i leave this country i will never look back i swear......

1. Are u in dis country? Tot u r in Jupiter anyway!

44. I feel you!!!
    This is exactly how i feel.....We've not had light in days! it's absolutely appalling!!! Yesterday,we put on the generator throughout the day and night...Simply alternating between the big and small gen. Chai,There's God o

45. I don't know about you guys but throughout last year, our light at Ikpoba area of Benin improved drastically to 16hours. It got bad again during the holidays but it back now and even better.

46. In that area, the Goodluck administration did well for me but the satanic elements that go and destroy the power plants, may God destroy them the next time they near those plants.

47. my school mate; my Igbo sister continue the good work and just know that by Gods grace we will get there.keep making us proud

48. And sum pple still want dis suffering 2 continue....y can't pple thnk n put sentiments aside????

49. Light has improved now.....

Nigerians really do gave short memory bug if we want to be honest, we' ll say it that light has improved,....

Lil by lil, we'll get there...

#IbelieveinNigeria #Naija4life #ourcountry

50. One of the reasons I ain't voting for anyone this election. Our leaders have failed our country. Nigeria has done nothing tangible for me.
    No electricity, nogood roads, no access to good medical care, the quality of living is very poor.
    This country ehn! May God deliver us.

51. nice and craftly written. made in nigeria write up

52. Well written..Electricity is one of our major problem in Nigeria..Infact Nigeria tire me ojare.

53. Great write up. Kindly stop saying write ups are too long, most of the truths in life are hidden in epsitles. She has spoken and she was right

54. This lady that loves ixora flower (all her books featured this beautiful plant). I'm surprised she didn't write "For succor, I turn to my generator, that large Buddha in a concrete shed near the front gate beside the ixora flower".
    Beautiful piece, at least most people can relate to this, even though some others will attest to a measure of improvement; the truth is this 'so called' improvement has not gotten to the larger percentage of the population (the ordinary citizen). For now Nigerians are not even asking for too much, just the basic amenities to better their lives, and we're within our rights to demand such from our government. Thank you Miss Adichie.

55. If they can get light right...

56. How come where I reside we do have steady light at least -say 6 days a week of non -stoppage of electricity? wow..... 042 dee jee o! For me it's progress oo

57. Nigeria is known for darkness. I think with the current privatization, power will improve. The private owners need some time to put things in place. I pray things get better. I love my country! Rose

58. All the poor electricity does is destroy your appliances, even causing fires.

The government is not forced to seek a permanent solution because they know many ppl have generators. Nigerians should by now be the major manufacturers of generators because they have such vast experience with the item. Didn't someone else write up about the noise pollution from all the generators all over. Nigeria, get your shit together!

59. Nice write up! However this reminds me of how Abbati was criticizing the government until he became part of government. He suddenly changed and started dancing to their tune. Abike Dabriwhatever did the same for Lagos state government. I hope Chimamanda will not do the same. Onu kwulu njo ge kwu nma! Dalu oooooo!