Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Britian's Cleverest Girl IS 10 Year Old Esther Okade From Nigeria.

Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Britian's Cleverest Girl IS 10 Year Old Esther Okade From Nigeria.

She spends her spare time in a similar way to many other ten-year-old girls - playing with Barbie dolls and making loom bands.
But the key difference between Esther Okade and other children her age is that she has been accepted to study for a university maths degree - despite not going to school.

Esther, from Walsall, West Midlands, has enrolled on an Open University course months after she passed her A-levels - and wants to study for a PhD before running her own bank.

The girl, who gained a C grade in her maths GCSE aged six, has joined the course which started this month. Her younger brother Isiah is already studying for his A-levels - also aged six.
The siblings are both home-schooled by their mother Omonefe, who has converted the living room of their semi-detached, three-bedroom house into a makeshift classroom.

Mathematician Mrs Okade, 37, said: ‘Esther is doing so well. She took a test recently and scored 100 per cent. Applying to the university was an interesting process because of her age.

‘We even had to talk to the vice-chancellor. After they interviewed her they realised that this has been her idea from the beginning. From the age of seven Esther has wanted to go to university.

But I was afraid it was too soon. She would say, “Mum, when am I starting?”, and go on and on and on. Finally, after three years she told me, “Mum, I think it is about time I started university now”.’

Mrs Okade added that Esther - who will study for her degree at home - was ‘flying’ and ‘so happy’ when she was accepted by the university, and wants to be a millionaire.

She said: ‘For now we want her to enjoy her childhood as well as her maths. By the time she was four I had taught her the alphabet, her numbers, and how to add, subtract, multiply and division.
‘I saw that she loved patterns so developed a way of using that to teach her new things. I thought I would try her with algebra, and she loved it more than anything.’

Another bright spark: In 1981 Ruth Lawrence (above) from Brighton became the youngest person to pass the exam for Oxford University, as a ten-year-old - and graduated aged 13 with a first-class degree in maths
Esther stunned her parents last year when she achieved a B grade in her pure maths A-level.

She applied to the Open University last August - and after a phone interview, an essay and an exam, she was told in December that she had been accepted onto the course.

Her father Paul, 42, a managing director, added: ‘I cannot tell you how happy and proud I am as a father. The desire of every parent is to see their children exceed them, and take the family name to great heights, and my children have done just that.’
In 1981 Ruth Lawrence, of Brighton, became the youngest person to pass the exam for Oxford University, as a ten-year-old - and graduated aged 13 with a first-class degree in maths.

Now aged 43 and a married mother-of-two, Mrs Lawrence is an associate professor of maths at the Einstein Institute of Mathematics, at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.culled

somebody please pinch me!.....wow!!!

By the way,why them forget to add that she is a NIGERIAN?if na bad thing now them for quick add am..anyways i don help them..LOL

59 comments:

1. Na so me sef open mouth

Hian which kain IQ be that? 7years? Now 10? Haaaaaaa wey some people still dey struggle enter high school?

Why did the mum choose to teach them@home?

Nawah oooooo

1. People with IQ close to 200 I guess
      Jeez!!!

2. R u criously kidding me? Wtf!!! Unbelievable. Not ojulasan mehn

3. What was I doing at 10 biko?

4. Am so happy to see this because all our girls ever talk about is sex,with all their active sex life they still struggle to get married,am glad to see a girl with a real brain not fish brain.

5. Wooow!!!!! She's still too young to be in a university mehn.. Ten years o,
      1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9, 10!!!!!
      Wow.

Trust your gut. It's right more often than you think
      @Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

2. Ruth
    Esther
    Paul
    ...Pls tell why my next child won't bear biblical name?

3. That lil girls brain is extremely long..... She should keep it up oh.... And the parents need to fix their eyes on her.... Abi oh Aunty Stella.... Dem no talk say na Nigerian nau oh.... Mtchew....

4. Wow this is incredible!
    No mind them if na bad thing dey go write Nigeria with capital letters

1. Wow
      Little genius
      Her parents must be so proud

5. OMG!
    I am Sooo Proud of u Honey!
    Wow!

Hahahhaahhahaaha
    And I just remembered once again how i failed and failed Maths eh.I hateeddd that subject with everything i had in me.Plus that wicked wicked Engineering drawing.

Not that i didnt try.....I did
    Buh Maths just hated me Buh my Dad wouldnt listen....

Ehen,so i have bn having dis re-occuring dream...
    About one Debate.something something about whether cloning is ethical...

So on the opposing side are:
    Native Dr Agwoturumbe
    Posh Lady
    Myself
    Uniki Daniel and
    Genny Baby.

While on the Proposing Side we have:
    Sisi Eko
    Goldscent Diamond
    Lovelace
    Ayodele Daniel and
    Iphie Dearie.

Hahahaahahahaha....
    i just told my group that this was à set-up and I woke up sharply.Hahahahahahahahaha

Good Morning Blog Fam!

1. General wife;madam iphie no tell u say I ask of u Ni??? Abi u still dey follow ur wife fight??? U nor dey shame o! U dey follow ur wife quarrel....see u!!!

2. Lmao..
      Where was I biko?
      I hope I hv been able to convince and not confuse you that... Bla Bla

3. Hahahaha lol
      Ehen, was CharisMAtic DIVA sitting at d Judges table? Lmao!

Maths just hates mi
      Every math teacher I encountered hated mi lol

4. Good Day @DatIgboChick

@Mrs D,na Una set d debate na. U and D Diva Sexiest! Hahahhahaha
      What kind of partiality is dat sef?You and ur co-Moderators? Lol

@ Diva Sexiest...LMAO @ All d Maths Teacher hated u....hahhahaahha
      That was ur friend den baby.dat was me.Kai

5. Eheh GW, why u no wait make the dream finish before u woke up na? Lol

6. Wow baby genius!

Kids like this....I pray 2 get

7. Its like d math dey teach us here is different frm diaz.

8. Jeez!!!!!!!!!! It can only happen abroad. Naija lecturers alone wey be saddists go try dim your light. Ndi afo ojoo.

1. Haaahaaaahaaa! Chioma your head dey there! Very cruel and saddist! This little is sooO gifted and special!!! Every parents's wish and dream!! If it were in Nig, jamb won't agree to give her admission based on her age, cos one have to be 18yrs before proceeding to the University! It will surely end in PRAISE!!!!

9. Wow. This is a super wow.
    She's gonna set the record straight as the youngest graduate when she eventually graduate, say at 14/15yrs.

10. Lol@ Stella, I don help them

You see this thing that people will always tell u dat if u study maths very well, you can control it..

BIG LIE

If e no enter,e no go enter
    Am not good in maths and I care less
    Even if am a computer scientist

Becos

I no go kill myself

Anyways congrats to the kid

1. Lmao.... If e no enter, e no enter...

2. Lol ...igbochic, ofu ugbo Bu mu na GI

I gave up on math. D thing no gree enter jare LMAO

3. Better teacher wey get passion for maths(rare combination+him sabi teach patiently and thoroughly=Arts student wey no mind maths at all
      Accounts teacher (another story o )
      History teacher (I no try the subject at all, the man be like history himself! Even then the man ol o!)

11. Ah! No-no smeone tell me this is a joke. anyways I wish her well

12. Whiz kid!!! Your parents should be proud#betterpikin

***listening to if i were a boy**

13. We can like to claim better thing. Na so we deny Mutalab the plane bomber because he spent most of his life in obodo white man. Now we wan claim this genius. I carry yansh for una.

1. Lol Denied Michael d one that killed British soldier. Claiming Chiwetelu Ejiofor.... Lol. But no blame us sha d whites do dat too

14. Most maths teachers here are just sadist.. how I wan take kw maths wen if the teacher come if I remember cain and shout I don run.

15. waoh Nigerians rock!!!!go girl. continue making us proud and any oyibo evil eye no go see you or pull you down because you are black.amen oh!!!!iseeee!!!!

16. Sweeeeet one! God bless your brain gal.
    Stella na so, add am well jare. We can't always be known for negative attitudes.

17. remember they said,d mother TAUGHT her. my point is dat,no matter how expensive a school we send our kids,we need to do our bit by assisting dem with their school work and not leave everything to d school and teachers.there is a wide gulf btw children whose parent take interest in their school activity and those whose parents are too busy. raising a total child is d responsibility of parents n teacher. have a nice day peeps.

1. You are so on point!! Get involved in your child's life, every aspect of her life and you will be one happy and fulfilled parent!

2. One million likes for your comment.

18. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Congrats to her then....

19. Wooooooow I'm Awwwwweeeed!

20. Replies
    1. Bad pikin..Born throway..U go dey school enter menopause while ur mates have all graduated.Ewu!

21. The mum is a mathematician too.What do you expect?
    (badbelletalking

Keep it on Esther. Thou are blessed

22. Beauty- check

Brains- check

Good upbringing - check

Nationality - Nigerian

What's not to love.

May God strengthen her mother, cos the task ahead, won't be an easy one, considering she's sorta grown too fast,in the academic sense.

23. Wow,that's so nice to hear.her parents most be proud of her