Gold is the new black!
Rising star Uzo Aduba won big at the 2015 Screen Actors Guild Awards, taking home the statue for Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Comedy Series.
The celebrated actress beat out big names to nab the honor for her work on Netflix's Orange Is the New Black: Julie Bowen for Modern Family, Edie Falco for Nurse Jackie, Julia Louis-Dreyfus for Veep, and Amy Poehler for Parks and Recreation.
Nominated for the first time at the 21st Annual SAG Awards, Aduba began to cry as her name was called. Looking gorgeous in a bright yellow Angel Sanchez gown, she took the stage at Los Angeles' Shrine Auditorium to accept her award.
"Oh my God, I really, truly do not know what to say," a stunned Aduba gushed. "I just want to say thank you so much to the Screen Actors Guild for this incredible honor."
"I want to thank Jenji Kohan for writing a show like this and putting something like this on television, not just for myself, but for our incredible team of actors to be seen in such a beautiful way," she continued of show creator Kohan. "I want to say a huge massive thanks to our cast, without whom this is not possible. I love you guys so desperately, so much. This is not done without you, any step of the way."
"Finally I just really, really, really truly want to say, the day I got this job was the day I stopped acting and to be in a room with all you amazing human beings, amazing talents, for what I respect so much and love so much, is really truly the greatest honor," she added to the star-studded crowd at the SAGs. "Thank you so very much. God bless you all."
Aduba's exciting night was far from over, however, as she took the stage again just minutes later when Orange Is the New Black won Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Comedy Series.
The actress was joined by her castmates, who beat outThe Big Bang Theory, Brooklyn Nine-Nine, Modern Family, and Veep, and accepted the award for the show.
"Thank you so much," she said. "We are incredibly grateful for this tremendous honor."
Watch video HERE
Congratulation.
ReplyDelete"Orange is the new black"
DeleteLove
Love
Love
.@Galore
Good 4 her and Good 4 Nigeria we r always representing
DeleteSholamatty
Stella it's called orange is d neww black
DeleteNice 1,congratulations
Delete#Abbytohxoft
Congratulations. ..
ReplyDeleteWao! What an honour. Naija Hollywood actors making doing us proud.
ReplyDeleteCongrats dear. ...to think I've never seen the show
ReplyDeletecongrats dear
ReplyDeleteCongratulations to her
ReplyDeletei love her so much ,crazy eyes ,in orange is the new black .congrats my girl.
ReplyDeleteProud of you, crazy eyes! :D
ReplyDeleteIts "orange is the new black" nt "gold is the new black"
ReplyDeleteOh my days man! simple but elegant. Way to go girl, keep on achieving.
ReplyDeleteOne of my favorite TV shows. Kudos Jenji Kohan
ReplyDeleteCongrats to her.
ReplyDeleteCongrats again girl
ReplyDeleteCongrats to her
ReplyDeleteSay wht?dis lady!wow she really did her part well in O is d new B lmao can't stop remembering d way she acted,kudos
ReplyDeleteBeautiful, talented and strong. She has quite an athletic build. Many congratulations to you Uzo.
ReplyDeleteCongrats to her. She no even remember naija even if its just to say 'I dey hail oh' Mschewww. Oyibo people can recognise you and forget you fast when you're African ( not black Americans oh). See lupita now. Who know am
ReplyDeleteHow come I don't know her, she looks masculine.
ReplyDeleteCongrats on your awards #orange is the new black.
ReplyDeleteAway from this, pls my lovely blog visitor, the surroundings of my pu**y dey itch me, as in I don take vex over sponge the thing so Tey e com dey red. And right now, am in a place where I can only reach a chemist not even a pharmaceutical shop. Pls someone help a sister...pls don't cuss me out. Big thanks!
ReplyDeleteReply
U try
DeleteCongrat to her!!!!!!
ReplyDeleteCrazy eyes is Nigerian? wow
ReplyDeleteCongrats
ReplyDeleteSome Nigerians be making us proud. You go gurl,Congratulations again.
ReplyDeleteCrazy eyes!!! Can't get my mind off that scene where she came to pee in the middle of the night in front of pipers bed...chaii
ReplyDeleteCongrats Uzo. Proud Enugu daughter even though you no sabi your way around here...lol
ReplyDeleteCongratulations..well deserved!!
ReplyDeleteCrazy eyes congratulation. She was funny,scary and unique in Orange is the new black.
ReplyDeleteKudos u ROCK...congra2lobia.
ReplyDeleteYes ooo! Watched her live, love her dress, her speech....congrats gurl
ReplyDeleteShe deserves it.
ReplyDeleteI love Poussey, Tiffany (miss fix it Jesus) and Taystee's roles.
They did well in the series.
Wow dint knw shez Nigerian, congratz Uzo.
ReplyDeleteOh wow. .I really didn't like her role in orange is d new black. .congrats to her tho!!!
ReplyDeleteCongrats to her. . her role did scare me in orange is the new black!!
ReplyDeleteCongrats
ReplyDeleteIts not easy, keep it up.
ReplyDelete22:14 wen dem say mk we clean am dem no say mk we wash am as pot o..oya waka enta d'chemist,if u sure say na only d ova wash b problem,buy clotrimazole external cream..next tym use water,wipe or buy small towel 4 tohtoh was only..goodluck..
ReplyDeleteMy one and only Crazy Eyes
ReplyDeletecongrats
ReplyDeleteCongratulations sis!