AK Verma, an executive engineer at India's Central Public Works Department, last turned up for work in December 1990
Even in India, where government jobs are considered to be for life, A.K. Verma was pushed it.
Verma, an executive engineer at the Central Public Works Department, was fired after last appearing for work in December 1990.
"He went on seeking extension of leave, which was not sanctioned, and defied directions to report to work," the government said in a statement on Thursday.
Even after an inquiry found him guilty of "wilful absence from duty" in 1992, it took another 22 years and the intervention of a cabinet minister to remove him, the government said.
India's labour laws, which the World Bank says are the most restrictive anywhere, make it hard to sack staff for any reason other than criminal misconduct.
States, led by Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh, have recently changed the law to make it easier to hire and fire staff, in a move welcomed by industry leaders but opposed by labour unions.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi has cracked down on rampant absenteeism by making New Delhi bureaucrats sign in at work using a fingerprint scanner. culled
This one is even worse than a ghost worker!
Orishishi...LMAO
ReplyDeleteLol
DeleteUnbelievable
DeleteOrder for your beautiful bedspread @79AEFD3B Delivery available nationwide.
And he collects salary
DeleteThem plenty for nigeria,ghost workers
Deletelmao so 1990 is already 24 years.. Meehn time flies..
ReplyDeleteAnd in Nigeria. Once uve worked for 10 years they will find every stupid reason to fire u..
This is Bad..
#I SEE DEAD PEOPLE...
lmao so 1990 is already 24 years.. Meehn time flies..
ReplyDeleteAnd in Nigeria. Once uve worked for 10 years they will find every stupid reason to fire u..
This is Bad..
#I SEE DEAD PEOPLE...
Verma Na ghost worker, you can't try this in Naija
ReplyDeleteAhah. Dem sure say the man never die?
DeleteReally worse than a ghost worker. For 22 years!
ReplyDeleteFunny. Skipped work for 24 good years
ReplyDeleteIt can only happen in INDIA...do dat for a day here in NAIJA and see....I WANT TO WORK IN INDIA
ReplyDelete24 whole year........
DeleteOrishirishi........
Omo see gbege o!
ReplyDeleteOrisirisi! He probably had another business on the side, lmao.
ReplyDeleteClick my name for all your celebretion cakes and cupcakes, cheers
Hahaha. I doesn't understand but it sounding funny.
ReplyDeleteYour grammar ehn na die
DeleteOga o. Some stories I read sometimes makes me ask if this is earth or neptune! What has he been doing for 22 years or there about since he didn't report to his duty? I guess he has another source of income to pay his bills. This one na superior ghost worker...
ReplyDeleteOne thing I learnt from this post is that india have great job security especially In goverment parastatal, since working with them is almost through out the employees lifetime except if he/she faulters.
This one na real ghost worker, as long as they weren't paying him during those 24 years sha, so it dsnt look like he cheated d govt
ReplyDeleteLmao! Na wa!
ReplyDeleteLol can you imagine
ReplyDeleteHis job is not important to him
ReplyDeletewas he paid for the 24years. who loss, govt or him. i think the govt
ReplyDeleteHahahahhahaha. Dude has got no conscience though. 22 freaking years!
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
Lmaoooo.... This is serious matter i swear..
*GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*
And was he paid during d course of 24 years? Wow!
ReplyDeleteHow it took 24 years to fire him is beyond me!
ReplyDeleteSo he was being paid for those years he did not come to work
ReplyDeleteYou can try that in Nigeria
I have to work in India
Been
DeleteBeing is actually correct madam
DeleteLmao
ReplyDeleteI just can't
Rotfl
what was he thinking when he went back to work.
ReplyDeleteHilarious!!!
ReplyDeleteIs this some kind of joke? Hmm.
ReplyDeleteWow...quite shocking
ReplyDelete1990 is now 24years...
I don old ooo.
Wow!
ReplyDeleteNwoke India time up!
ReplyDeleteOrisirisi.
ReplyDeleteHahahaha. Kemi Kane
ReplyDeleteNawa ooo
ReplyDeleteDis one really pass ghost worker o .......
ReplyDeleteVery funny.
ReplyDelete24 years???!!!
ReplyDeleteLWKMD
ReplyDeleteHahahahaah
ReplyDeleteSo you must die in active service in India whether you like am or not! Oriegwu...
ReplyDeleteHohohohohohohohohohohohohohohohohohohoho. 24yrs? It is well
ReplyDeleteIncredible! How did he achieve that feat....
ReplyDeleteHow was he being payed? And yet they come 2 airtel n other places in Africa 2 form boss, n then sack ppl for not smiling at work. SMH