Women's football star Genoveva Anonma has told the BBC of her degrading ordeal.
Sport can, at times, disappoint you in the way that certain individuals are treated as they strive to reach the top and achieve their dreams.
Sadly, women's football star Genoveva Anonma has an appalling story to tell of the way she was treated as a developing player in the game.
The Equatorial Guinea striker, who currently plays for German side Turbine Potsdam, is considered one of the best players in African women's football.
But she has told the BBC about the shocking way she has been treated in the game in a heartbreaking interview.
It all came following her outstanding performance for her country at the 2008 African Women's Championship when she scored the winning goal against Nigeria to secure the title.
After accusations from rival teams of her being a man, the Confederation of African Football subjected her to a humiliating situation.
"They asked me to take all my clothes off in front of officials from CAF and the Equatorial Guinea team," she told the BBC in their interview with her.
"I was really upset, my morale was low and I was crying. It was totally humiliating, but over time I have gotten over it.''
However, the issues would not go away. After the 2010 African Championship, Nigeria, along with South Africa and Ghana, accused Guinea of having three men in their team: sisters Salimata and Bilguisa Simpore, as well as her.
"You only need to have physical contact with them on the pitch to know this [that they are men]," said Ghana defender Diana Amkomah at the time.
Anonma was forced to refute the allegations. "These accusations come because I am fast and strong, but I know that I am definitely a woman.
"I was hoping they would call me to tell me they were taking me to hospital to do tests, but they never did. They did nothing to me. It was just down to me alone to defend myself, to state that I am not a man, I am a woman."
According to the BBC's feature piece, Anonma's biggest frustration remains that she has never been permitted to undergo medical gender testing to silencing her doubters. culled
Eiyaa bad belle people everywhere.
ReplyDeleteDon't mind them you look woman in my own eyes.
Eehyaa. Haters onli mk u stronger and beta, u ll kip rising dear
DeleteHaters will always look for a way to pull you down when you are better than them.
DeleteOrder for your beautiful designers bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available Nationwide
Wow
ReplyDeleteSome are really having it hard.
hehehe Jesu.. Abeg a Few Days back biko.
Delete#I SEE DEAD PEOPLE....
Hehehehehe Jesu. Abeg it's a Few Days Back.
DeleteHmm this Dead people m seeing is starting to take a better part of me. Ok.
#I SEE DEAD PEOPLE....
The gender test should have answered Their questions... but this?????
Delete..hmm
G_pharm, instead of coming to rant about seeing dead people on SDK blog, go for deliverance
DeleteEhya. That's somewhat annoying.
ReplyDeleteShe don't really have to blame them. You know?!
«Jealous SDKer«
It must have been a terrible ordeal but honestly, her face strong sha kaii!!
DeleteTrust Africans and their razz way of handling issues that's why we will always remain backward.
DeleteWhat a sad ordeal,a gender test would have done justice to the situation rather than going naked in front of everyone.Well BVS I'm so blessed,Daddy G.O has been Ministering for the last 3 days @ICC,university of Ibadan.I know he has a perfect will for me and by God's grace the job I so much desire will come soonest,#thanksgiving mode activated#Yours Sdkly dazzlinglizzy
ReplyDeleteWhat a sad ordeal,a gender test would have done justice to the situation rather than going naked in front of everyone.Well BVS I'm so blessed,Daddy G.O has been Ministering for the last 3 days @ICC,university of Ibadan.I know he has a perfect will for me and by God's grace the job I so much desire will come soonest,#thanksgiving mode activated#Yours Sdkly dazzlinglizzy
ReplyDeleteFor real?
ReplyDeleteshe's not that bad for a woman at least she look more of a woman to me than chichi,'chified'.
ReplyDeleteWhere is the woman?. All l see are two people
ReplyDeleteA white female
and
A black male
This is a tad too insensitive
DeleteMust be me then, cus she looks female to me. Top picture looks like she didnt have time to do her hair so looks a bit rugged.
DeleteNope,it isnt.
Deletegoogle her n you will see she is a man. countries hv complained bt nothing has bn done. the lawyers are shielding her.
na waoh!!so humiliating. why humiliate her in such a way by telling her to strip.gender test is better than this barbaric act.
ReplyDeleteWhat nonsense, na wao.
ReplyDeleteAwwwwwww.
ReplyDeleteThey could have performed some tests instead of resorting to that - that was degrading to say the least!
ReplyDeleteshe's not that bad for a woman at least she look more of a woman to me than chichi,'chified'.
ReplyDeleteNa bcos her body strong now
ReplyDeleteHeard this on radie yesterday and I was like wow! Woukdbthey have treated a white this way???
ReplyDeleteRadio*
ReplyDeleteShe really look like a man,but she's a woman
ReplyDeleteDon't blame them really
ReplyDeleteNa bad belle and over sabi dey worry dem, if her team didn't win or she didn't play well there would be no ocassion for the insults and embarrassment.
ReplyDeleteBabe no mind dem, who God don bless he don bless
Iga bu ogbenye buru kwa amusu, mba nu!
God that is so messed up!! we Africans sure know how to put our own down. Even on this blog!!!
ReplyDeleteShe looks like a man
ReplyDeleteSo touching
ReplyDeleteNot everyone has it easy.
She doesnot look so manly in the second picture. Infac she looks like a woman. Na wa o...all these beefers
ReplyDeletei bet there are less humiliating ways to prove her sex than asking her to strip in front of a bunch of people. Africans, so CRUDE!
ReplyDeleteThose men sha, them just wan see free kpekus, randy old men!...there are a million hospitals that can carry out tests on her but trust Africa to choose the crude way!
ReplyDeleteStripping in front of officials should be a criminal offense o...
Hmmmm she should be suing dem for such humiliation. What nonsense!
ReplyDeleteVery humiliating.
ReplyDeleteBut with the way people go for surgeries to change their sex...Maybe DNA tests will be needed going forward. lol
Stripping is actually not proof that someone was born male or female these days...
She looks lik a man
ReplyDelete...but d fact is she is not so dey Shud stop disturbing her...imagine removing her clothes for officials dat is gross.......
Aww so sad..
ReplyDeleteNawa o.....ndo
ReplyDeleteOh well.. She sure looks like a man in that first picture??? But wait.. Is that a brown teeth I'm seeing?
ReplyDeleteBeautiful man
ReplyDeleteEverything is just wrong with my Continent Africa. Reasonable people will subject her to medical test rather than stripping her. I'm glad she's gradually getting over it.
ReplyDeletebt she Looks like a girl na
ReplyDeleteDon't mind them jor
ReplyDeleteHaba! I can imagine how bad she felt. At least one or two officials should have taken her out privately to check rather than allow her stripe naked in front of them all.
ReplyDeleteIt was done in private tho some of the football officials were present
DeleteWhy?
ReplyDeleteAfrican mentality,that's absurd!!!!!!!!!! She should sue their sorry black asses!!!!what kind of humiliation is that???
ReplyDeleteShe looks like a man tho!
ReplyDeleteIf you're asked to strip, you refuse. If they bare you from playing football, you sue them. You can't say they refuse you from doing a gender test, you chose not to because you can walk into any reputable hospitals, undertake gender tests and present the results on demand.
ReplyDeleteThat's being smart and not resorting to pity when you can protect your rights and dignity!
But that's none of my business
...commenting from Ikoyi Cemetery
How depressing, don't they have test's and procedures for things like this?
ReplyDeletePlease click on my name to get % 100 unprocessed virgin human hair that looks and feels great.
Bad belle no good.let dem keep diein all day while u wil keep leaving big all day.
ReplyDeleteEyah! But at least u ve prove urself to them n d bad belle ppl put down