Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Right Time To Tell...

Monday, December 22, 2014

Right Time To Tell...

Is there ever a right time?

Some of you have kids who should be sat down and lectured on S*X but you havent done it because you are waiting for the right time......

When is the right time to sit your child down and tell them what they need to know about how it all begins and ends?

I heard my kids discussing that Kissing makes one pregnant....lol
They asked me and I laughed because i dont know if it was the right time to tell them and i dont even know if telling is done more than once.

Who has been through this road?

I am so sure there are a few people that will benefit from this post

135 comments:

1. I believe in sex education but I don't know when the time is right..Many of us dint pass through that stage...I only got to learn all of these because I was in a boarding house.....

They should know why it is not right if not,these kids will just wanna try it to see what will happen.....

1. As the whites. Here in Nigeria many parents don't teach their kids Sex education. Since I wasn't taught, I no sabi when is the right time.

2. I think from five years is good.
      Not details about orgasm and semen oh...just general knowledge dat no one should touch you down there.

3. I was taught about sex when I was 7, and that is why am still a virgin..better comments pleases

4. Seconded. Just general knowledge. I agree.

5. From age 4 I guess....just tell them...if u don't ..
      Another person will do

6. Your Children are very Funny...Kissing makes someone pregnant...lol...wanu laugh out ma stomach sef

Check Out Vabadon's Blog #Click Here to See

7. I think as from 10. 10 is better, although I was taught earlier sha. I got to knw abt sex wen I was 7yrs of age

8. Plss @ 5yrrs u first tell dem if a boy touches u you'd get preggies dat way dey'd be scarred,den @ 8-10yrs u can nw tell dem every every,without picking ur words,it shud'nt exceed 10yrs

9. Miss U Gene...lol. Used to think I'm d only one who didn't have sex education oo.
      The first day my mum saw me with a sanitary pad(that was my Jss3 second term holiday), she said
      'Hope you know that once you start using that thing that you can get pregnant' and that was all.
      I got so confused oo that I dumped the pad and started using tissue thinking the pad actually impregnates. Lmao
      Twas when I reached school I said lemme tell my senior friend so that she won't get pregnant. That was when she even enlightened me small tho' it was nt really clear.

10. Abeg frm 4yrs cos children of nowadays don spoil frm belle......
      I don hear of nursery school pupil fingering their self under their school table.......

11. As early as 8 or 9 is ok. The earlier they know, the better for them and yourself. That way they won't be pressurized by friends to do things they shouldn't do. I was told by my parents at a much older age, but I don't think it's advisable to wait that long.

1. Loll...my mom told me all about sex when I was 8yrs..in primary 4.

2. That's how I used to think oral sex is talking to somebody about sex. The night my father had a brief sexual education with me, I told my bestfriend the next day I had oral sex with my father last night. You can imagine the embarrassment. Lol
      Funny enough, nollywood movie taught me pregnancy is gotten from kissing. If I can remember
      vividly, a man and a lady kissed in one stupid film. Few seconds later, he pushed her on the bed and they both hugged with their clothes fully intact. That was the end of that scene. The next scene that
      followed was the lady telling her lover she’s pregnant for him.
      LoL

visit my blog : Naijasinglegirl blog

3. You just made me laff out loud in a restaurant, and everyone was staring like I was a lunatic, geeees at naija single girl, u had oral sex with Ur dad, cos he had sexual educational talk with u. Hahaha can't stop laughinh

4. NSG o! U don come again. LMAO @ oral sex with your dad. Lawdamercy!

5. OMG,u really got me ROTFL with "I. Had oral sex with my father last night" kikikikikiii

6. Lmfao.....nollywood and film.....cant stop laughing

7. Heheheehe really funny @ oral sex with ur dad.
      I believe age 5 is the ryt time.

8. NSG,with your sense of humor how tf're you still single.

I went to a mate's kid's birthday party,had the most akward time of my life.Older sister of celebrant couldn't have been more than 4yrs old,decided to focus all attention on me.She kept bringing me caprisonnes to open for her and whenever I tried opening it she'd climb n sit on my lap,caressing my face n trying to kiss me.After a series of attempts by her,I spent the rest of my stay running away from her and she was relentless.A part of me feels like some older person's molesting her and I should say something to her mum but I won't know where to begin.
      You should teach them real early and reinforce as they grow.

9. My 11 year old son was caught having sex with a neighbour's 8 year old daughter. Apparently it wasn't their first time but the neighbour made such a fuss about it threatening to sue my son for rape.The social welfare got involved and the Dr insisted it was rape.They ran all sorts of tests on the little girl ranging from HIV and all what not and gave me the bill. The little girl's father is now insisting that he can't stand the sight of my son and he is advising my elder sister who lives with the boy to pack out of the neighborhood with him or send him faraway before he does something stupid to him. My sister can't seem to find a new house and I live out of the country. Am trying to bring the boy to join me but in the mean time he has to be safe.Am just tired of the whole situation. Do you think we failed in his upbringing or it is a normal thing for children to start experimenting with their bodies after a certain age?

3. For me I will say from d time d child start associating with boys in skul like 3-4yrs I wud start discussing it little by little to her in a way she wud understand......one tin we have to kip in mind is dat if we don't discuss and tell dem about dis someone else will and It won't b nice cuz d person mite say d opp of wat we wud say

1. We recently had a parents meeting in my children's school in the meeting we were showed a video of people having sex and everything, the head teacher then explained that this same video would be played to all year 5 (9/10 years old) as part of their sex education and if you don't want your child involved you should sign a form giving your reason's why and also provide the school with evidence of how you intend to teach your child sex education. This must also be either a video or a book with detailed illustration. All the African parents were just looking with our mouths wide open lol.

Please click on my name for raw virgin human hair. No shredding and no tangling. Thanks

4. Now am gonna wait for comments

*****LONG LIVE SDK & SDKERS******

1. Once a child is above 2 and can understand simple instructions, you start gradually.

First by teaching them not to allow anyone touch their private parts and not to touch anyone's private part. You teach them to shout, run and report anyone who tries to touch them there. You also start by teaching them that it's not good to expose your private parts to people. They should always wear pants and sit properly.
      Sound it to them every other day in a subtle way so they never forget.

As they grow, you teach them more according to what you feel they can understand. Trust me, they understand a whole lot than you can imagine.

By at least age 8, they should know how to recognize sexual advances from anyone. He/she should know how not to be in a compromising position with anyone. They should know how to read in between the lines when dealing with anyone.

By age 10, they should know all they need to know about sex and how to avoid it.
      By 12-15, they should know all about hormones, changes in the body (puberty),safe sex and birth control.

We can't deny the fact that no matter what we teach, some will still want to experiment. So they need to know how to protect themselves at least while at it.

Male children need special training on how to be disciplined and have high control over their penis. They should be taught how to respect and cherish women, how not to ever abuse a woman physically or sexually no matter the circumstances.

If we all train our boys right and on time too, we will hear less of rape,prostitution (remember if men are not willing to buy sex, there won't be prostitutes) and domestic violence cases in the future.

Finally, we must teach them to fear God.

2. Completely agree with Genny baby the earlier the better and you teach them in simple terms and as they grow older you can go into details by the time they hot puberty they should know every every diseases pregnancies etc... I knew most things by 8 then we had sec ed in year 5/6 that's about 10/11 years old. Parents should teach children early on to avoid learning the wrong thing from friends and allow for open communication. It seems a lot of ppl grew up asking and confiding in friends instead of their own parents

6. my mum gave,me the sex education when i was about to go to boarding house..i was 9then..jss1... she didnt hide anything...it helped.i think thatwas the right time...

1. The right time is now. As for me I started telling my Neice and nephew about how to be careful around both sex,expecially my Neice as my sister is a single mum. I remember one day both kids came back from school and my nephew was like " aunty, one boy was just following my sister all around in the school" I was now like where did they go to? I know said chi open the boy didn't not touch you in any sensitive part of your body? She said ha! No o! Don't mind my brother o! That the boy is their class captain and her friend. I always tell her that if anybody touches you in your private part always let me know. I try not to be strict on them so that they can always relay issues to me comfortably. Recently when I call home, I specifically ask of her and know if she has started having breast. Sorry for the long story,just want to share my experience with my babies......

2. I also got a comprehensive sex education from mum a day to my going to boarding school.

7. When talking to your kids about sex, make sure the conversation is age-appropriate.
    Explain things in a way that your child can understand, given their age.
    Don’t think you have to cover everything at once. Younger kids are interested in pregnancy and babies, rather than the act of sex.
    Every child is different, but here is a rough guide to what children should be able to understand about sex and reproduction at different ages.
    Infancy: Up to two years
    Toddlers should be able to name all the body parts including the genitals.
    Most two-year-olds know the difference between male and female, and can usually figure out if a person is male or female.
    Early childhood: Two to five years old
    Children should understand the very basics of reproduction: a man and a woman make a baby together, and the baby grows in the woman’s uterus.
    Children should understand their body is their own. Teach them about privacy around body issues. They should know other people can touch them in some ways but not other ways.
    Middle childhood: Five to eight years old
    Children should have a basic understanding that some people are heterosexual, homosexual, or bisexual. They should also know what the role of sexuality is in relationships.
    Children should know about the basic social conventions of privacy, nudity, and respect for others in relationships.
    Children should be taught the basics about puberty towards the end of this age span, as a number of children will experience some pubertal development before age 10.
    Children’s understanding of human reproduction​ should continue. This may include the role of sexual intercourse.
    Tween years: Nine to 12 years old
    In addition to reinforcing all the things above they have already learned, tweens should be taught about safer sex and contraception.
    Tweens should understand what makes a positive relationship and what makes for a bad one.
    Tweens should also learn to judge whether depictions of sex and sexuality in the media are true or false, realistic or not, and whether they are positive or negative.
    Teenagers: 13 to 18 years old
    Teens are generally very private people. However, if parents have spoken to their child early about sex increases the chance that teens will approach parents when difficult or dangerous things come up.
    ​The internet is a life saver

1. You have said it all @Snow white

2. You gave the perfect answer....a very detailed one too. Stella and other mums please read this

3. I concur. Also, sex education should be included in our curriculum in lower classes. I had privilege of going to a good secondary school and our PHE class was combined with sex education. It really helped.

4. Chai
      Idiegwu my sister
      I salute
      * salutes *

5. U have hit d nail on d head,all said.GOLDeN

6. Tolaly yea it should.... In my primary 1 we had a very nice coper in my school then that taught us health education. Omg! She was so nice her name is Bola. She taught us a lot and was so nice... When she flogs us during classes, during break she must buy something for that person and pet thatpperson. She made me understand a lot as small as I was in primary 1 I knew myself... Aunty bola that taught some kids in shalom child education center phc if you read this know I love you. You are a food woman.

7. Gbam!
      A million likes snow white.

8. Snow white I just copied this. Nice one. Having sex talk with kids can be very awkward and scary but this will help.
      I remember during my corper days I was posted 2 a school. And during one of the schools end of term party. We were asked to organize talk shows on early sex and its consequence. Now this kids were between the age of 10-15. After the whole talk. It was question time and I asked them 2 write their questions since they were shy 2 openly ask. Fear gripped me cause out of about 70 students 45 were actively involve in sex. About 7 had undergo abortion either vis pills or the main thing. Some where having oral sex. Few have had std. I wept that day.to cut the whole story I became the school councellor and God helped me 2 do the little I can in helping those kids.
      Haven't written an epistle. Pele 4 the long talk.

9. I learn a lot on SDK Blog. Thanks Snow White.

10. Wow. Thanks for this, I just learnt a lot

8. I think this is the right time to tell them... No age is too young and I remember what the bible says, train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old he will not depart from it...

Lecture them, teach them and instruct them on the dangers of sex and all and when they grow older and see things happening, they will recall their mama told them..

Ooh Lord, I can't just wait to have kids and start teaching them things so they won't make certain mistakes I made... *that exciting feeling* lol

1. I know the feeling I just can't wait sigh

9. Let me sit down and read comments to learn. Been thinking when is the right time to talk about it with my kids. Cos my girl child likes watching teens movies.

1. Wrongs move!

That's why movies have age limits.

If the teen movie is above her age, she has no business watching it.

10. No be only preg,also mere touching gets one infected with the deadly virus.that's the line I might tow...
    My mom didn't do her job the right time she ought to but my school principal did her best to lecture us on all that before every vacation,normally during the last assembly(went to an all girls boarding school).
    When I get married and have kids I will do my best to be their best friend, mom,sister,etc.
    Guess I have a lot to learn from this post

11. There is no better time to give them sex education than in their prime so they grow with the knowledge of what is right n wrong

12. Stella biko borrow me ur seat ooo. Waiting for the comments

13. Sex education is a difficult one.

I remember my mum telling me the first day I saw my menstruation that if a boy touches me I will get PREGNANT . LOL

1. Lol,yea I got that too and she said if u sleep with a boy you get pregnant.that was it,I refused to be on same bed with anybody.I though the 'thing' that makes one pregnant will crawl from the boy's body at night and enter my body.

2. Exactly what my mum told me. She referred to menstruation as flower, and she goes like now that u ve started seeing ur flower, if a man touches u or sees ur pant, u will get pregnant

3. Got d same lecture, if any boy touch u, u will becos pregnant, then I was playing football in school, so u pple can imagine, I fight tire, no be small, touch me and u are dead. Lol. .

14. At 9 years for girls and 8 for guys.there is a level of information u must pass across at each age. As they grow u give more explanation and enlighten them more.dont be surprised they already have some idea from school and friends. The kids of nowadays are more exposed.

15. oya mothers in d house,tell us

16. Na to sit down read comments

17. This comment has been removed by the author.

18. Its depends on the child's maturity, environment, level of exposure to social media, adult TV etc. When the kid starts asking certain questions about body parts, reproduction or sex, it's time to have the talk.

In some countries, experienced teachers give them the talk commensurate with their classes as they move through primary school.

Kids in "face me, I slap you" houses are more likely to see "things", are more prone to abuse and should be given the talk from when they start talking!

19. #carries_chair.. Waiting for comments

20. Stells, for your kids, i think now's definately the time. Y? Cos they already know things like kissing, etc lead to 'pregnancy'.

Generally, i'll say from around age 4, albeit a very basic lecture. Most importantly, to ensure no one is 'touching' them.

Then from about age 10, his should be re-iterated until they reach young adulthood.

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

21. Stella, sharp children full this world. Na 21st century we dey so. If we dont tell them now as at when they are 7 years old. they are watching films ooo. Westernised films, Nolly wood films and see all what is going on. They are going to practice it. For me as from 6 years old, i go tell my baby sharp sharp because them don become computer wizards

22. There's no right time. I used to say 16-18yrs. But kids of now, so different from before. So i feel like the moment u hear them talk about it. You have to start telling them something. It's better they hear from you, whom they trust than an outsider.

1. By 18, they know everything o. Both right and wrong.

2. After d post, I called my two daughters, 6 and 4, and do u know what my 6yrs old daughter asked me, mummy are u a virgin, see goose bum, dis children no go give me hypertension at dis my age, God help me. I tod her know dat I am married to their daddy, and I have a baby now. Well I dey talk am small small. There is no right time,

3. Lolllz @ mum are you a virgin... I'm learning o.

23. With crazy men and women everywhere this days the earlier the better.

24. According to a guy on radio, he said once they can identify there parts of body, that is when you should start teaching him some rules about his body, and from 7-12 you start teaching him some little tins about sex nd other important tins. Not married yet oh but I love reading of these tins to prepare me for the future.

25. Interesting post...will wait for comments.
    My thumb hurts badly.
    Chinwenmeri.blogspot.com

26. My mum was very free wit us but always reminded me n my younga sis of being careful......started talkin abt sex 4rm my JSS1 till now dt I av graduated 4rm uni

27. the earlier they know, the better. I'm not married yet though but I was thought sex education at an early age of six(6) and that has helped me a whole lot. Start early, especially with ur female children. I started menstruating at an early age & it wasn't a suprise to me bcos of all i have been taught. I was taught how to calculate my period as a teenager. Also, i was always watching that "I NEED TO KNOW" program on tv. The drama series was all about sex education.that educated me more. So, please start teaching them early. Age six(6) is okay.

28. I wish my parents told me abt sex n all its wahala (n wonderments) when I was 8 or 10, though am still a virgin but that's bcos I grew with the mentality dat if I try it mom would kill me n nobody wud question her even my 23yrs old bro na virgin. Hehehe not like she had ever taken us 4 a virginity test b4 lol.

1. Na virgin post be this???
      Wait lemme scroll up and read again.

29. Once the Child is 6years old or even grown to understand his or her environment. Because whatever they are taught sticks in their memory and they grow with it.

30. the earlier they know, the better. I'm not married yet though but I was thought sex education at an early age of six(6) and that has helped me a whole lot. Start early, especially with ur female children. I started menstruating at an early age & it wasn't a suprise to me bcos of all i have been taught. I was taught how to calculate my period as a teenager. Also, i was always watching that "I NEED TO KNOW" program on tv. The drama series was all about sex education.that educated me more. So, please start teaching them early. Age six(6) is okay.

1. I watched I need to know too, Funke Akindele was Bisi.. very educative.

2. I need to knowwww,education is the key and why do you deny ittt!!!!!!

31. Hmmm... I don't know but for me, whenever I'm bathing my girl, I ask her, 'show me the parts of your body u shouldn't allow anyone to touch' and she goes like ' this, this, this, and this' (touching the various parts) and I go like 'if anybody touches u there what should u do?' And she wl say 'SHOUT!!!!!!!!'. I think that's the basic foundation for both of us as I have promised not to his basic things from her (I made lots of mistakes cos of this)

We are gradually becoming friends so that as time goes on, we can talk freely about everything and anything.

God wl help all mothers cos motherhood isn't easy.

1. Amen oo God will help us all cos motherhood ain't easy at all.!

2. Lol
      I like ur style
      I'm so copying it when it's time.

32. I am so with sex education once the child starts attaining puberty.

33. the earlier they know, the better. I'm not married yet though but I was thought sex education at an early age of six(6) and that has helped me a whole lot. Start early, especially with ur female children. I started menstruating at an early age & it wasn't a suprise to me bcos of all i have been taught. I was taught how to calculate my period as a teenager. Also, i was always watching that "I NEED TO KNOW" program on tv. The drama series was all about sex education.that educated me more. So, please start teaching them early. Age six(6) is okay.

34. The right time to tell is when you are sure they will appreciate a sex talk ie before they hit the teen age.

35. The earlier the better. Once a child is 8, I think is appropriate to start teaching them minor things about sex. Then later on when they're nearing teenage years, you start teaching them the difference between love and sex. In this case they'll know the difference between love and sex and majority will opt for love not sex. Tho the outcome depends on how you teach them. Most Nigeria parents start abusing their kids once they start having male friends in high school and forbidding them seeing boys and telling them some confusing stuffs forgetting that teenagers are smart and would want to experiment the things you said that doesn't add up, I.e saying that one a boy touches you u get pregnant forgetting that her father or some of her male friends most touched her in appropriate way and she didn't get pregnant which makes everything sounds stupid. Please when educating ur kid/s, please be explicit don't hide anything. I am a victim of this and I know the outcome.

36. your head dey dere stella.lovely topic this has been on my mind for sometime now.have got a 3 year old daughter and biko i want to learn o.so i would just sit and read o.

37. I can remember the first and last time I kissed at age 4,Chi chi my first love,where are you? I think parents should start educating their children at their early ages. I wonder what else I would have done if I hadn't left the school.
    Again,Av been having erection since I can't remember.E don tey sha

1. Hahahahaha 4 ke
      My 1st son is 4yrs+ nd i just can't imagine him kissing anyone yet lol

38. Snow white zizzy everybody well said as a devtal psychologist personality is formed btw the ages of 4-7 so pls let's educate our child as soon as dey can understand communication. U might feel they don't get but trust me they do $ it really goes a long way

39. Hmmmm. My mum told me one time when I was 6 and she has never stopped telling me since then, lol.But you see something, telling your kids would not make them stop ANYTHING!

The key is putting the fear of God inside them, if you're a Christian or Muslim.Tell them anything anytime, fact is that kids listen to their friends more than their parents most times.Only a child with a strong head on his/her shoulders would not give in to peer pressure, trust me those children as common as you guys may think they are, are very rare. To this parents out there, take this from a recently retired adolescent ( 21), If you really want to know the type of child you have, know their friends in and out and also their friends background!

One thing I noticed about the parents in my own time is that they always believe their children can never do somethings and it was their kids that led the pack of wrong doings,lol. Please keep an open mind concerning your kids and believe everything is possible when it comes to kids.Just put the fear of God in them and tell them how awesome God is and how very mean he is when you flaunt his rules. My mum did not think to do this, she told me everything BUT she never emphasized from the biblical point and the rest of the story of what happened is obvious, lol.

Again, my stand might be wrong as I gave points based on personal experience. There are probably other methods that work well. Goodluck to all the parents and parents to be,that's one line I'm not swinging.

And yeah before I forget all those who have teenage kids as much as preaching abstinence is the best and brings about the best result, please know that kids these days are exposed to a lot of sex media and it difficult for them to avoid sex and sex related issues, please be realistic and tell them what to do i case they want to disobey God, please! Too many teens with STDs, it's alarmimg! I can talk for AFRICA, lol.

1. you so right about the abstinence talk.. teenagers are not abstaining from sex anymore. the media potrays sex as good and basically most teenagers are influence by what they see,hear and what their peers does... so parents should add condoms and contraceptives to what they teach their teenagers...that way the rate of abortions and stds will reduce

2. Onyebuchi sweetie...waiting to complete d gist..n updates.holla

40. I honestly cant imagine myself discussing sex with a child of age 3-8.

41. I was talking to my fourteen year old baby sister the other day.
    Showing her condoms, both female and male.
    Giving her a few pointers about chastity and safe sex.
    Yes, both at the same time. Because the things these kinds know, some adults don't know it.
    My mother was looking at me like I was crazy.

She's done with high school, and 'stature wise', she is already amassing toasters.
    And she's smarter than her age.

Whatever I learned about sex, right or wrong was from the Internet and books.
    I lived a closely guarded life, thanks but no thanks to my parents,

Sex education should be age appropriate, though.

42. Hmmmm. My mum told me one time when I was 6 and she has never stopped telling me since then, lol.But you see something, telling your kids would not make them stop ANYTHING!

The key is putting the fear of God inside them, if you're a Christian or Muslim.Tell them anything anytime, fact is that kids listen to their friends more than their parents most times.Only a child with a strong head on his/her shoulders would not give in to peer pressure, trust me those children as common as you guys may think they are, are very rare. To this parents out there, take this from a recently retired adolescent ( 21), If you really want to know the type of child you have, know their friends in and out and also their friends background!

One thing I noticed about the parents in my own time is that they always believe their children can never do somethings and it was their kids that led the pack of wrong doings,lol. Please keep an open mind concerning your kids and believe everything is possible when it comes to kids.Just put the fear of God in them and tell them how awesome God is and how very mean he is when you flaunt his rules. My mum did not think to do this, she told me everything BUT she never emphasized from the biblical point and the rest of the story of what happened is obvious, lol.

Again, my stand might be wrong as I gave points based on personal experience. There are probably other methods that work well. Goodluck to all the parents and parents to be,that's one line I'm not swinging.

And yeah before I forget all those who have teenage kids as much as preaching abstinence is the best and brings about the best result, please know that kids these days are exposed to a lot of sex media and it difficult for them to avoid sex and sex related issues, please be realistic and tell them what to do i case they want to disobey God, please! Too many teens with STDs, it's alarmimg! I can talk for AFRICA, lol.

43. To be explicitly rational and logical in this issue I think the appropriate time is when the child attains puberty,then the body and the mind must hv been giving the person signs he or she doesn't understand,so dahs when u come in and rub minds on the issue and the information given sinks perfectly in cus of the already developed symptoms encountered..thank you...hehehehehe see me talking like a doctor chai....dnt I jux love mysef...lolz

@mama general wife I see u ..compliments of the season, hope ure good over there ,good to see u around stay blessed maam'

44. The right time to start telling your kids about sex is around 3 yrs. Its not that you should teach them the art of sex at that age but let them know the basics like their private parts(penis and vagina) and why it is called PRIVATE. Let them know this parts should not be touched by any other person like friends,neighbors, uncles,aunties-not even daddy and mummy. Help them know how to be vocal and say NO if an older person tries to toy with those parts,like screaming "I WILL TELL DADDY AND MUMMY FOR YOU". Help them to always say know even if an older person tries to lap them. Doing these at that tender age would not only make them to be sex conscious, it will also protect them. Then, as they grow older to like 7,8,9 and early teens you can increase their knowledge on sex.

45. Hmmnn..
    i need to learn sex education ooo
    as i am still a kid..
    is it true that when a man touch you, you get pregnant?

46. Honestly it's some how my kids laugh n laugh when I try to talk to them about this... My kids are 4 n 7,

47. LOOOL,this topic is funny.My mum used to bring home s*x education palmflets tel me to read and explain what i understood. if i didnt get d explanation she would give the right explanation... lool was kinda funny then but it served its purpose.

48. secondary school age is d best, in my opinion....

49. Once ur child can differentiate d good from d bad, tell him or her. Sex education is very important bc many lives av been ruined bc of parents hiding it from dia kids.

50. Children of nowadays over sharp dey worry dem, I think from wen dey start talking o....I was taught in jss1 by my stepdad and it helped a whole lot

51. had my kid at about 16+...didn't know much apart from the stuff i read from mills and booms novels.no one told me anything! does anyone have ideas on how to sit my 16yrs old kid down and tell him? am kinda shy.i don't know the right words to use.am really worried cos he just got admitted to uni and i don't want any story oooo.i think he needs this info but i don't know how to say it!

1. Oh my dear please you have to educate him now... though I'm 110% sure he already knows but please reaffirm. Google is a good starting point

52. Sex education is not a one off thing. My daughter and i had this discussion starting from a young age.

Again,my mum(sharp delta woman),talked to us about this in our primary school days o. She gave both of us books on that. I graduated to EveryWoman before she hid the book.

53. let educate them early as soon as they can communicate from age 5

shalom12

54. I am experiencing something of such now,my eight year old asked me dt what made his dick to hardened(he was having erection).just yesterday,he asked me ABOUT how can a man make a woman to be pregnant.i am loss for words,bvs shud advise me on hw to go about it.

55. I started teaching my last child from age 2. I let her know that the area is a no go area for everyone. It has paid off, when she was about 3, a neighbour tried fingering her. I did not allow her sit on a male's lap, no matter who d male is, she doesnt urinate anyhow outside. When we are not in and we are pressed the place I will even settle to wee, she wont do it there. As she grew, I talk more to her on d issue. She is 9 but has a rapid growth. She looks like a 12 or13 years old. And thank God for d new Curriculum, sex education is being taught from Basic four now. I believe it is better to start as early as age two. It helps a lot. CherishD.

56. Interesting post. Hoping to learn from this..

57. I think its wise enough to start rily early cos if not some1 mischievous might end up telling dem d wrong tin n u know how kids are, dats exactly wat dey will believe even if u end up telling dem d ryt tin later dey will start weighing d two n may even wanna try it.

*Rmn blessed*

58. My mother told me about sex the day she found out I had menstruated. Thats when you begin to hear stuff like dont allow any guy to kiss you, dont allow sex from any guy else, you will get pregnant. But with the boys I think it should start from when they start growing pubic hairs.

59. IMO,sex education should start as early as possible, especially at the age when ur kids can differentiate things. For those saying they are shy educating their kids about sex, it is better u ask God for how to go about it so that u don't blame urself much later. Start teaching them the basics and as they advance in age, u go deeper in it.

60. I had mine as early as 6 Or so.
    And it helped me a lot....a whole lot
    My Dad talked Soo much about abstinence.
    He taught me that one man And one man only has d right to ma body....
    And at d right time too...Marriage

He promised he would kill a cow And buy me a ride (BMW) on ma wedding day...
    he taught me about inappropriate touching.
    And told me also that i had to trust ma insticnts...
    My lovely dad taught me a BiG lesson: NEVER be alone with a Boy....no matter who d Boy was
    He also told me that Men are only after one thing:sex
    And that d Man who loves me wil wait(FACT!)

He told me i shouldnt follow d crowd....
    That my body Is the temple of the Lord's
    He always told me to come to him wen i had questions And wen i had issues...

And i trusted that Man n believed him.
    My Dad was one of a kind...
    He loved me And trusted me
    On three occassions where Men wanted to Take advantage of me,i ran to my dad
    I felt no one else Would believe me...
    Was a sick child in JS3 And having severe tummy cramps(not period)
    Was taken to a hospital outside d school.tot i was going to die...

What Took place next shocked me.
    wil try n summarise it...d burly Doc told me i was havin cramps cos i was stil a virgin And dat as soon as i lost it,d pain Would subside.

I was in severe pains.a Part of me told me it was wrong buh d other Part was Soo Confused..u see cos i had asked him how i was gonna do it And be told me he would use his fingers(so dis made me think,oh,kk Its not a penis den,so maybe he was not fibbing Or being deceitful)

Hmmmmm....he hung ma legs o And proceeded to "alleviate" d pain o
    i Saw him get d jar of vaseline And d gloves
    It was while he was wearing his gloves dat i panicked....d alarm Bells Started ringing....

Let me cut d story short....d Rev Sisters were alerted.And i told ma Dad.d Medical Association was contacted.d rest Is better imagined.

I am teaching ma daughters d same thing.i started wen ma first was 3.
    She knows no one Is allowed to touch her.she knows only Daddy Is allowed to carry her(na fight we fight reach dis one o)
    my first daughter Is 6 And d second nearly 4,dey know Mommy Is their Best friend.
    They know that they are God's chikdren
    On ma part,as lonng as ma kids are awake And in D house only channel allowed in D sitting room Is Disney Júnior.
    They dont Talk to strangers
    And that know that d world is a happy place buh dere are some "bad people" too.

In D end,i commit ma kids to God And my Mother Mary.cos afterall,i am only Human.And without them,i have done nothing.

Ps: To my two gorgeous daughters,i love u to d Moon n Back!

1. Some male doctors ehn!! Kai
      I remember my visits those days to the hospital...
      Ist question: are you sexually active
      My ans: no
      Immediately they start giving you the eye! Either with so much disbelieve or just this sneering look...mtcheeww!!
      And it happened severally,numerous times....anytime they ask me the sexually active questions then..am like..here we go again!!

61. When I was in secondary school, someone actually came up with a story about a girl that got pregnant from giving a blow job to a guy and I believed the story. This was in SS2. The sperm moved from her mouth to her uterus...ignorance is not bliss.

62. My mum didn't give me sex education nd it still makes me feel bad, but I pray God help me so dt I can give to my children. Back to d topic, I tink by 2yrs dey shld knw deir body parts nd u shld also let dem knw d parts of d body people shld nt touch.it shld actually be a continuos tin so dt dey can make u deir friend.

63. This comment has been removed by the author.

64. I'm having the same challenge now oo...my son is almost 8yrs and while bathing him d other day I asked him what is fis ? Pointing to his penis and he ans me correctly, I was shocked ! I asked who taught u and he said my teacher...I felt bad bcos I always wanna tell him but don't know how, all I just kept tell dem is nobody shoukd touch ur body... My 2yrs old daughter is over sharp also! And all my song to dem is don't touch ! I wish I can do more ...especially wen u're not always at home and other pple look after dem ...motherhood is not easy oo, God help us parents

65. Pls I will advice parents to look for this book:NO! Don't touch me there written by NOMTHI ODUKOYA and illustrated by Aday Sami-Orungbe. It was given to my 4Yrs old son from school. I gave my 6Yrs old daughter to read and the explanation was very easy for and the book is self explanatory too. Then you guys will thank me later

66. Very good question Stella. My parents didn't have that "talk' with me, the awkwardness would have been of epic proportions. Luckily I started reading at a very early age and I learnt most I needed to know from novels. Personally I think once your kids get to a level where they can understand the parts of the body then its time to start telling them things small by small, do not overwhelm them all at once, let them understand the importance of what you are telling them. Also, let them know that they can come to you and ask you anything..let no subject be taboo.

Meanwhile about getting a blog ID, I already have a blog but do not want to use it as my SDK blog ID, what should I do? I clicked "New Blog" on blogger dashboard thinking that if I created a new blog I will have the option of choosing either one to use as BlogID but it's not happening. Biko what to do?

67. Aunty Stella, I think the right time to teach proper Sex education is when they know what kiss is or when they can differentiate a boy from a girl. I always say kids should be thought properly, let them know kissing each other does not get a girl pregnant but by sexual intercourse. Teaching them the correct thing saves them the risk of been a vistim of sexual assault.

68. Another thing, NEVER LEAVE YOUR CHILD ALONE WITH A DOCTOR!!! No matter how old the child is, always insist, if forced always be within listening distance. Before entering secondary school I went to do an X-ray, the lab technician told me to remove my bra and take several deep breaths in front of him and all that time he kept staring at my breast, my breast were quite developed for my age then I wasn't comfortable but I obliged thinking it was the normal procedure, imagine my surprise years later when I found out that the tech went over and beyond what was required, I was visually molested!!! I always cringe whenever I remember what happened, at that age I was very self conscious and standing braless infront of a random person was something i didn't relish, hell! at that age even my mother must not see my breast and then one #snotfromamonkeysnose made me stand bare chested kai!!! Parents, never leave your child alone with a doctor...not if you can help it!!!

69. hmmmm...im really learning