Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Rescue Operation To Save Almost 500 People Onboard Burning Ferry‏

Sunday, December 28, 2014

Rescue Operation To Save Almost 500 People Onboard Burning Ferry‏

A RESCUE operation has been launched today to save almost 500 people onboard a ferry that caught on fire midway through its journey.
The blaze broke out this morning onboard the Italian-flagged Norman Atlantic which was travelling from Greece's Patras port to Ancona in Italy.

Some 478 passengers along with crew members are onboard the ferry which caught fire in gale-force winds near the Greek island of Corfu.  

An evacuation of the boat is currently underway and as many as 130 people had reportedly been rescued but that was no confirmed by Greek officials. 

Authorities added that no passengers were reported injured and the ship is not in immediate danger of sinking.

The fire began in the lower deck of the ferry and passengers who waiting on the upper level to be rescued told Greek media they were "trapped" on the ship.

Speaking to The Daily, one person onboard the ferry said: "We urgently need help. We cannot leave the ship. There are boats but we are trapped."

Another told Greek TV: "They tried to lower some boats, but not all of us could get in.

"There is no coordination. It's dark, the bottom of the vessel is on fire."

While one passenger told the MEGA TV channel: "We could see fire everywhere. The flames were coming from the garage, cabins..."

A life boat carrying around 150 passengers was lowered into the waters but authorities said only 35 were moved to a nearby ferry.

Shipping Minister Miltiadis Varvitsiotisonly said high winds of up to 55mph and the fire has made the rescue operation extremely complex.

Mr Varvitsiotisonly added: "This is a very difficult, a very complex rescue operation.

"The visibility is poor and the weather conditions are difficult."

"We are in constant contact with Italian authorities and the Greek armed forces.

"We are committed to rescuing everyone on the ship, and are trying to ensure that nobody will be left unaided."

Five helicopters and a military transport plane were sent by Greek authorities to help with the rescue operation.

Their Italian counterparts are also involved.

The ship is believed to be 42 nautical miles away from Corfu and at least seven merchant ships are being used to form a barrier against high winds in the area.

I fantasize about going on a ship cruise but every time i read stories like this eeeenh,I dont see that happening oooooh

45 comments:

1. May God send helpers their way. No lives wil be lost o.

Order for your cupcakes, birthday cakes, wedding cakes, chinchin, small chops, meat pie, donuts etc.

2. Thank God for timely intervention

3. OMG!!
    God have mercy...the sea scares me
    Drowning scares me more. May God save them.!!

4. May d rescue operation be successful in Jesus name amen.

5. Eyaa. May they rescue all.
    Btw,how does one pronounce that Minister's name.

6. stella do you know the safest accident is on water.

7. Which kind tragic news left, right center. Please God protect your children. Hope they are rescued on time, 'cos ship and fire na bad combination, classical case of between the devil and deep blue sea.

8. PD Young Billionaire28 December 2014 at 14:59

I watched Titanic few days ago....This is kinda similar....i pray everyone is rescued.

9. God will surely see them thru and no one will be injured in Jesus name! So much bad news here and there, Father Lord pls have mercy!

10. Lord of mercy! Save your children

11. Hmm.me wey no lik water journey.pls let dem arrive safely n let none b hurt

12. Jesus!!!!
    God help dem..i fear drowning pass anytin
    Gosh!!

13. May the Lord save them. If not swimmimg pool, I dnt go close to water. Am too afraid of it' wave.

14. God please rescue them all.

15. God is in control.
    The rescue mission shall be successful.

Ship cruise can be very interesting.
    All the bad sweet things happening onboard.

16. Oh my.. God please save these lives

17. whats with the plane and ship disasters today...LORD TAKE CONTROL.

18. There was a time I went on a boat cruise in Ghana. Halfway to the island, it started raining seriously. I thought the boat was gonna sink.
    Everybody was quiet. Even the life band stopped singing. It was scary.

I pray they will all be rescued safely.

1. boat madam. lol. boat cruise n life band

2. Lmaooo. Their voice will cease sharp sharp. Who wan die na lol

19. Ba wa o from plane missing now dis, lord have mercy

20. God protect ur people...
    I pray everyone gets rescued.

21. Anoda bad news todai..

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

22. There shall be no loss of life. May God have mercy on them and deliver them alive in Jesus name,

23. They shall all be save by God's grace

24. Please Father God save them all.

25. It 's well . Na wa .

26. They will all be rescued in Jesus' name. There shall be no loss.

27. Too many bad news today. Thank God no life has bn losted. It is well.

28. Same here ooo stella,still believing my first sex n honeymoon will be on ship.

29. I pray the rescue operation be successful

30. This comment has been removed by the author.

31. Hian I don't like water @ all scared of its waves

32. Are we sure the world isn't about to end?