Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: North Korean Websites Back Online After Widespread Internet Outage

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

North Korean Websites Back Online After Widespread Internet Outage

Prominent North Korean websites were back online Tuesday after an hours-long shutdown that led to speculation by some researchers and web watchers that the country's Internet connections could be under cyberattack.

South Korean officials told the Associated Press that Internet access to the North's official Korean Central News Agency and the Rodong Sinmun newspaper were working normally Tuesday after being inaccessible earlier.

Those sites are the main channels for official North Korea news, with servers located abroad.
The outage came less than a week after the U.S. vowed an unspecified response to a massive hacking attack against Sony Pictures Entertainment over the release of the comedy film "The Interview." The plot of the comedy centers on the assassination of North Korean leader Kim Jong Un, leading to widespread speculation that the country was responsible for the attack. Late last week, the FBI publicly blamed North Korea in the incident, though Pyongyang has denied involvement.

The White House and the State Department on Monday declined to say whether the U.S. government had any role in North Korea's Internet problems.
"We have no new information to share regarding North Korea today," White House National Security Council spokesperson Bernadette Meehan told Fox News. "If in fact North Korea’s Internet has gone down, we’d refer you to that government for comment."

North Korean diplomat Kim Song, asked Monday about the Internet attack, told The Associated Press: "I have no information."
North Korea is one of the least connected countries in the world. Few North Koreans have access to computers, and even those who do are typically able to connect only to a domestic intranet that works with its own browsers, search engine and email programs, according to South Korea's Unification Ministry. 

Though North Korea is equipped for broadband Internet, only a small, approved segment of the population has any access to the World Wide Web. More than a million people, however, are now using mobile phones in North Korea. The network covers most major cities but users cannot call outside the country or receive calls from outside.

Doug Madory, the director of Internet analysis at New Hampshire-based Dyn Research, a company that studies Internet connectivity, said the problems were discovered over the weekend and grew progressively worse to the point that "North Korea's totally down."
"They have left the global Internet and they are gone until they come back," he said.

He said one benign explanation for the problem was that a router may have suffered a software glitch, though a cyberattack involving North Korea's Internet service was also a possibility.
Routing instabilities are not uncommon, but this particular outage had gone on for hours and was getting worse instead of better, Madory said.
"This doesn't fit that profile," of an ordinary routing problem, he said. "This shows something getting progressively worse over time."

Another Internet technology service, Arbor Networks, which protects companies against hacker attacks, said its monitoring detected denial-of-service attacks aimed at North Korea's infrastructure starting Saturday and persisting Monday. Such attacks transmit so much spurious data traffic to Internet equipment that it becomes overwhelmed, until the attacks stop or the spurious traffic can be filtered and discarded to allow normal connections to resume.

President Obama said Friday that the U.S. government expected to respond "proportionately" to the hacking of Sony, which he described as an expensive act of "cyber vandalism" that he blamed on North Korea. Obama did not say how the U.S. might respond.

"We aren't going to discuss, you know, publicly operational details about the possible response options or comment on those kind of reports in anyway except to say that as we implement our responses, some will be seen, some may not be seen," State Department spokeswoman Marie Harf said last week.culled from foxnews
The Associated Press contributed to this report.

47 comments:

1. Ope m d first to comment after dreaming of SDK blog last nyt. *hmm

2. hmmm. To the U.S, North koria is like one of those middle eastern countries.

Am still hoping on God on who will play santa with me oh. Just hoping.

3. Thank God they are back.Its really a big deal

Shout out to Chick Felix...Happy Birthday to you.May God fulfil every of your heart desires and give you a special bday gift!!!

4. Good 4 dem.........
    So many things are going wrong in dis world.......

5. Good for them. Next time they don't mess with the Americans.

6. Na power they catch US n North Korean. Good morning to you all n wishing you all a stress free day ahead (BVS)

7. O gini bu nkea? This early harmattany morning. Biko,adim agukwa ifea.

8. like sahara reporters and media take out, i am seriously scared of this news site. Hmm

#I SEE DEAD PEOPLE

9. North korea no no ,my colleague ,travelled to north korea for tourism,from the airport her phones and camera was taken ,laptop taken ,she said nobody speaks to you except the tourist guard assigned to you,if you stop and ask question everyone looks at you with fear,nobody answers you except your guard.

10. This comment has been removed by the author.

11. I foresee trouble..Lord let there be Peace in the world Amen.

12. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    They shouldnt mess with korea again or else they will never see internet again in their lives.....
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

13. Hmmm well north koreans are just self-acclaimed power heads ,when u go down to the basics they really don't have stings to inflict anyone...they'd continue to suffer the consequence if they choose to go the way of using technologies to advocate or voice out their outcries..they are so local dah next they wud do now is carry placards lolz

14. Hmmm well north koreans are just self-acclaimed power heads ,when u go down to the basics they really don't have stings to inflict anyone...they'd continue to suffer the consequence if they choose to go in the way of using technologies to advocate or voice out their outcries..they are so local dah next they wud do now is carry placards lolz

15. dont mess with the united states

*prove you're not a robot to read*

16. "The owl cried at night & the baby died in the morning; who doesn't know the witch killed the poor child?" That's how a responsible government responds to threats - not by setting up committees, condemning the 'dastardly act', calling on the aggressors to 'embrace peace' or 'come to the dialogue table' or even blame fifth columnists.

17. The only interesting here is d way d pronounce Kim Jong Un(I kind of like d name tho)
    Let d cyber war begin

18. This tory too long. Haba! I'm having headache already.

1. If you can't read something this small, how about a book? Smh for this our generation!

19. They should take it easy with their shutting off and on, I think this might bring issues btw north Korea and the U.S!

20. Omo, this story long to read oo.. lol but glad to know they're back on. Cos this for be the beginning of katakata.

21. When I heard about this from a friend, I was like 'Nobody messes with the U... S... and A. Lol.

22. BLOG ANALYSER: That bloody dictator I can't wait to see an imagination of his down fall in "the interview" it will really give me joy while we wait for his real downfall.

23. Lol am still that person that told u u visit Linda's blog every two seconds . U didn't report it been shut down oo lol u were quick to update it been restored . Stella o ni ilara . Chop it again .

24. This boils down to never mess with the US as they can do and undo you...like that!!!
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma said*

25. This boils down to never mess with the US as they can do and undo you...like that!!!
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma said*

26. North Korea should stop bragging
    Even Russia is in pain now

27. North korea should stop braging
    Even russia is in pain now

28. US will deal with them.