Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Botched Delivery: Husband Files N500m Suit Against Lagos Based Indian Doctor

Monday, December 22, 2014

Botched Delivery: Husband Files N500m Suit Against Lagos Based Indian Doctor

A female Indian doctor, Bharathi Jayaram practicing at the Prema Sai Hospital, a private hospital located in Agege, Lagos state has been arrested and charged to court for the death of a pregnant patient.

She was sued by one Mr. Semako Hunpe, over claims of unprofessional misconduct that led to the death of his wife, Mrs Oluwasetemi Hunpe and scarring of their new born baby during his wife’s delivery at the Indian doctor’s hospital on February 26 this year.

READERS DISCRETION ADVISED FROM THIS POINT ON

In a N500 million lawsuit filed by his counsel, Barrister Kayode Adaramoye, Mr Semako Hunpe alleged that professional misconduct led to the death of Mrs. Oluwasetemi Hunpe, his wife.
In an interview with Tribune, Semako claimed his wife Oluwasetemi had registered at the hospital on February 17, 2014 for antenatal services only to start experiencing some pre-delivery signs. He said she was given some injections and told to wait till about 5pm on February 26th before she would be taken in to the delivery room.

“When she went into labour, she was ordered to engage in minor exercises to help aid the labour. Before she entered into the labour room I can remember clearly that she was normal like all pregnant women that I had seen; she walked into the labour room by herself. I was invited into the labour room after several hours of intense labour without adequate care and was asked to encourage my wife to push out as she appeared exhausted sequel to prolong hours of labour.

On getting to the labour room, I found a nurse applying Aboniki (hot balm), pressing the deceased abdomen while asking her to push and after this amateur mechanism did not yield desired result, they cut the deceased three times to bring out the baby and placed it somewhere unattended to. 

First of all, I noticed that the baby was left unattached for a long time while all four nurses were attending to my wife.
During the period of the delivery, I did not at anytime see the doctor; it was after the delivery that one of the nurses went to call the doctor. The doctor came in at about 6.15 p.m and told me to leave the labour room. I left the labour room and stood outside the door. As I stood there, I heard a noise as if someone was being flogged inside.

This noise continued repeatedly. My fear grew as the nurses began to rush up and down, fidgeting. It was at this point I tried to get one of the nurses to talk to me but she wouldn’t. Twenty-five minutes after delivery, I was told by one of the nurses that the baby was all right, I went inside to see my wife only to see her being massaged all over her body with Aboniki balm.

It terrified me to see the frequency with which they were shouting my wife’s name. She used her last bit of energy to say that her legs were hurting.  Thirty-five minutes later, I was told that my wife would need blood because she was still bleeding profusely. I immediately agreed to this. All this while, I had not seen the baby.  I heard the doctor calling someone and asking for blood. Shortly after this stinging and ugly news I was informed that my wife was dead. 

Subsequently, they called one pastor to pray for the resurrection of my wife which further exposed the incompetence, negligence and ineptitude of the hospital’s system. Due to the unprofessional cuttings by incompetent nurses on my wife, the baby suffered serious deep cuts on its back and buttocks. This cuts on different sides of the baby’s body further attest to the mutilation done on his wife,” he said.

Semako Hunpe says 9 months after he was born, the baby still has the scars he got while they were trying to forcefully help his wife give birth.

The hospital has however denied claims of negligence. In a letter titled ““Demand for N500 million Damages,” and written by the hospital’s counsel, John Adanike, the hospital claims the doctor carried out her duties in the best professional manner throughout the time Mr Semako’s wife stayed in their hospital.
Dr Bharathi Jayaram has practiced here in Nigeria in the last 20 years.

92 comments:

1. Haba..... Abeg this man should sue..then a detailed report of what happened would be tendered.... Aboniki balm??????I still don't understand the rationale

2. Omg...just waiting for comments

3. May her soul rest in peace, mothers to be always please register for ante-natal on time. It will save a lot. From the cut I can imagine the baby was coming out the butt and while cutting the mother they cut the baby's butt too. Since she registered for ante-natal on the 17th, they shd have done a scan to know position of baby. Maybe that is why she was having a difficult birth, maybe Baby was bridged. Well if the hospital workers were competent, then they would have noticed a lot of things. Emergency CS is better than cutting the lady's butt in three places. Poor Baby, may the Baby grow up strong. Husbands pls always follow wives for ante-natal to know what to expect, and into the Labour to know when they start doing the wrong things. Aboniki in labour room, hmmmm

4. Say what????? This case MUST be followed to a logical end and they had better not kill the story. What is this? See how they butchered the poor child. If this baby is still alive then it's a miracle in its self. The angle of the cut shows he was forcefully and amateuredly delivered from his mother's womb. Where's Abike Dabiri and Joe Odumakin? They should fight this bloody doctor and revoke her license to practice. What fuckery

5. Anon11:51pm, dis is not a case of ante natal, dis is a case of quack nurses and doctors, when I saw dis baby's back, goose bum also destroyed my skin, which kind thing be dis, dis pictures spoilt my nite, after d whole carry of d baby for months, d pains she went tru In labour room, then they finally killed her, God I thank you so much for helping me last few months, may ur name be praise, if I had seen dis pictures B4 then, I wouldn't have been able to push. God Almighty pls heal dat baby and give d husband, strength to over dis situation. Amen. He should sue d he'll out of them

1. I am short of words too..
      What th hell were they doing with aboniki balm in the labor room biko.smh
      That doctor nd his nurses beed to go to jail for this...just look at this baby's body eh
      Murderers that's what they are...may her soul rest in peace!

3. Ahhh, how did that happen to the baby now? RIP to the mother, I hope they settle this easily and real justice is passed....

#scrollsaway

4. Oh my God. This is horrible. They had better close down that hospital. India clinic my butt. I wonder what the health minister does to check these hospitals. God help us.

5. Jesus! What sort of hospital is this?

6. The cut on the baby doesnt justify that the operation was done by qualified doctors/midwife...rather its evidence that the operation was done by one or many of the "quackest" doctors in town...
    I just had goose pimples looking at that babies picture.its just too much biko!!

PLS CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD MY LATEST NAIJA PARTY MIXTAPE

@MARTINS ABOY

7. Jesus..
    The scars are so scary..
    Na wa oooo..

Pregnant women use general hospital it the best...

private hospitals me personally i don't like them

1. Useless Hospital
      Quack Doctor
      Lousy incompetent Nurses
      See the huge scars on this baby, Jesus Wept.
      They should be tied to a stake and shot in the head.

8. This Is d saddest story i have read in a while!
    Chai.....see dat Poor baby's body.
    The Poor baby that wil grow up without his mom.
    And d heartbroken Dad....Kai

U sued d Doctor for only 500M???
    I am Sooo sorry about this Sir.
    And i know nothing wil bring back ur wife
    Buh just so i feel better,Pls raise d amount to 1Billion!
    And she should go to jail too ooo
    Imagine such negligence!
    Such Incompetency!

And she had d temerity to say she did her best.
    Her Best included matchet And Aboniki.right?

I am Sooo Sad!
    women shouldnt be dying while bringing forth babies!
    Not in dis century for God's sake!

Pls Take heart Mr.
    i wil pray for u.

1. Confirm talk nwunye general..
      Since the dead woman cant be brought back to life;its only fair the man sues them for 1 billion naira or more...
      #the money can at least buy him a lil bit happiness..

PLS CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD MY LATEST NAIJA PARTY MIXTAPE

@MARTINS ABOY

2. Aboniki balm on a woman in labour?.. nothing will bring the dead back but justice must prevail. Look at what they did to the innocent baby. Buttana bastardi

3. I totally agree @ The general' s wife

4. Exactly. No wonder years ago statistics showed that Nigeria had the highest mortality rate during delivery. And they projected that the rise of mortality per year would escalate. See now? Wouldn't it have been better if the poor woman went to a local midwife to deliver her child? At least it would sound nicer that "ignorant" and lack of exposure killed her instead of this rubbish hospital. It's so annoying. Aboniki for what? God punish that hospital and the owner

9. Jeez goosebumps! !!
    Aboniki balm, the first time I used a little of it on my body, I felt like going mad.

Jeez that little baby, God have mercy.

10. In fact he should sue plus the hospital's building and all those involved for attempted murder and murder, what nonsense. How in heaven's name did the nurses butcher this woman and her baby like this.
    This is incomprehensible. Gosh!

11. Jesus Christ!!!!!!! How could someone charged with helping patients do this to another? Our government surely have failed us and we are there smiling! SMH!!!!!!

12. Things are indeed happening. So sad.

Oluyomi Odukoya

13. This comment has been removed by the author.

1. You just shut your stupid mouth! Senseless comment ever! And to think you're a woman scares me! Put urself together ko so he shouldn't get justice for his dead wife and this baby they cut like this!

2. You de mind de otondo talking rubbish

3. This comment has been removed by the author.

4. @wana ruth are you for real?? Naaawaaaooo! Your comment no be here @ all. How can you be thinking like this? So cos de lady is late, the family shouldn't seek for justice? Babes biko try grow some brain okay? I've said it and I'm still saying it, govt owned hospitals seems to be much better in the handling of such cases. So sad @this news honestly. Just imagine the pains de little baby would be going through cos of those nurses from hell!!!!! So sad. RIP to the mom. Just like TGW rightly said, no woman should die from bringing forth another adorable into the wold. My heart goes out to this family.

5. Wama Ruth: Its your opinion right, but some opinions are better nit shared cinsidering how senseless they are. With all due respect, please ensure you are in a good mental state before commenting. The money CANNOT bring back the dead but it can give a better life to the man and the innocent child.

In my own opinion, the hospital should be closed. I dont want to imagine the pains of that child. See the cuts, they look deep.

God please keep and bless this child, R.I.P to the dead.

6. Wama Ruth,u be compound fool

14. My God. What kind of stupid hosital was that? I don't know what to say. OMG. That hospital should be shut down and liscence collected from that quack. I have never heard of aboniki on a pregnant woman. People should be careful. Hian!

15. This one na gbege ayakata original gbege.. Lol

1. Lol, for this kind matter? Seriously you need deliverance!

16. Sad sad story. Utterly gut wrenching.

My sympathies are with the poor husband.
    I wish he had moved his wife out when he saw there was no doctor available.
    Nigeria's health care system is bad but I do wish people take advantage of performing government health institutions like Lasuth and some general hospitals.

They are much better than these glorified herbal homes masquerading as private hospitals.

I am appalled that no doctor was available to perform the CS and take care of the newborn, despite the fact that they were there for hours. Only God knows if the nurses were the ancillary type. Registered nurses can't be this bad. I hope the poor baby heals completely and has no permanent scars.

This hospital should be locked up and the keys thrown in the sea.

1. Can u imagine? Even the herbal homes seem a "saint" near this butchery here. Most Nigerians are not aware that the same top notch doctors in private practices also consult in general hospitals. The only difference is the waiting time and money. Waiting longer in general hospitals to see them, as opposed to seeing the same doctor in a private hospital.

I recently registered at St Nicholas hospital, although expensive but they are very good and have kept the same standard for years. Moreover, they have most of the medical equipments that others do not have, and in some cases can only be found there in the whole of Nigeria.
      Ironically my personal doc of over 20 years in our private hospital also consults there. So in the end u get same service. But of course if u can afford to go private one would rather that than wait and wait especially if it's an emergency.

Generally a lot should be done in Nigeria as regards medical malpractices that has killed those who ordinarily shouldn't have died. This is making me so sad. The poor lady.

17. Aboniki balm!!!!!! Who does that? They should pay that amount and more.

18. You say?? Professional manner?

With all these butchering going on, on the baby's bumbum?

You nothing but Doc mekwata

19. Oh my God!!! Wat happened to dat kid?

20. God of mercy,even my local govt hospital isn't as foolish as this! I even slept and eat during labour,not to talk of indian hospital using aboniki on a woman in labour! Jesus!
    They should pay,although it can't heal the trauma but they should pay!

21. this is a clear evidence of quackery at its peak and the doctor had the audacity to say she tried her best using aboniki and cutlass on the baby and her mother together with those sent from hell nurses.OGA pls increase that money to one trillion.they need to be locked up for life and that hospital closed down.holy MARY

22. Cheregodu, nurses carried out the so called CS. Hmm.oriegwu o

23. General Hospital is just d best, u get so much care with so little money. I had my 1st son @ a general hospital n I complained of d induced labour pain, den I used a private hospital for my dota n was also induced, danmmit, d pain was outta dis earth. I realised dat wit my son, d induction drip/injection was diluted n @ a slow speed but wit my dota, na direct oral injection n d drip just dey speed ehn, Summary, general hospitals r far more xperienced than private one n cheaper too

1. @Her Excellency now I gerrit..
      I was induced wen I had my second son nd the pain was hellfire on earth..the drip was running like mad nd I didnt realize it wasn't diluted like u said..
      The third one was also induced but it was much better, I was like "doctor ah ah are sure u put this thing wella...he just laughed nd said don't worry it's working...lol
      I ve always wondered, now I know. I don learn this one today! Lol

24. So what happened to the baby. Atleast the picture still shows that the baby is in the hospital.

25. Oh God Have mercy o, when will all dis stop.

26. it's a well known fact dah foreigners no longer value school..no wonder our pple go there and attain first class at their own expense,apply dah fact to ur daily lives and get treated by ur own country's doctor.

27. Lord have mercy.
    This news broke my heart

28. Jisos see d scars on a baby, haba

29. The health system in some hospitals are quite pitiable.Why use aboniki on a woman in labour. That's why it's necessary before we women register in a hospital for antenatal/delivery we should all make serious enquiries, this could have been avoided. RIP to d dead and quick recovery to baby.

30. Jeez!!!! In this present age! May God save us from evil monsters. May God console the bereaved. Pls over sue them infact

31. OMG! ...WHAT!!!...All the staff involve in the delivery are to blame, including the hospital management for employing untrained or half baked midwives, , Doctor & Nurses.How can they not recognise when a labour is prolong or difficult? Or know when to call in a Doctor to take the delivery? Or know how to use delivery instruments? ..too many unanswered questions that will not bring the lady back.Rip to d dead.
    But the money the man is asking for is too small, just look the the poor baby body?...chai!...

32. Omg, this is just too sad. Pls sue their ass and dont drop the case. Other hopsitals will learn from this

33. Chai. Theris God ooo. Poor Baby ehn

34. Oh my God! Wonders shall never seize.

35. .....I had to pick my jaw from the ground. Goodness!!!...RIP to the lady

36. Pls u don't ask such question!!" Where will the money come from" the money can come from any were!! Take a look @ this innocent child, u then imagine what happened to the mother, have u ever applied aboniki b4? Try it just a little today and see if u will not confess ur sins,

37. General Hospital is just d best, u get so much care with so little money. I had my 1st son @ a general hospital n I complained of d induced labour pain, den I used a private hospital for my dota n was also induced, danmmit, d pain was outta dis earth. I realised dat wit my son, d induction drip/injection was diluted n @ a slow speed but wit my dota, na direct oral injection n d drip just dey speed ehn, Summary, general hospitals r far more xperienced than private one n cheaper too

38. Sighs* cant imagine the pain that poor baby is going through!! The hosp must be made to pay that money, even though we know it wont bring back the dead but it will @least save some other ppl from this impending danger cuz they will either be closed down or become more competent!!
    Take heart sir!!

39. JESU christi too bad. RIP to d mama....#sadface

40. @wama ruth, for instance forget about the dead woman, look at the poor baby's back if that was your child how would you feel? if someone did that to your child would you make them pay or not? or maybe you should consider if you were the wife, would you want your husband to seek justice for you or not..
    my dear sister commenting is not by force..
    if you cannot contribute positively, you can do one thing BE QUIET...

41. I always advice any pregnant woman to know her hospital. Also, attend antenatal and dont form big when there. Make friends with other pregnant women, they will share with you to make you know what to expect. Talk with tje doctors, weigh your options. I had my son in a private hospital as i know my pain tolerance level is low, i shared experinces of women i et during antenatal and i was even the one who demanded for the doctor who led the medical team that attended to me. No wonder deserves to die birthing another. I am really angry, the hospital should be closed, the doctor beheaded and the nurses maimed. What a waste. R.I.P to the woman, Lord, please protect this child.

42. Dis is absurd, what sort of carelessness is dis, no human feelings or what??? rather admit I can do a particular thing than to do a bad job. Am sad DAT d poor woman can't come back to life ...just look @ d poor and innocent baby .

43. Jeez! Oh that poor baby. Nurses actually carried out surgery on the woman to remove the baby? My God! What manner of gross misconduct on the part of the hospital/doctor!

44. Wtf! U mean dis baby got d scars from d operation, lord v mercy.

45. So sad!
    When will it get better in Nigeria!!!?

46. Once again I see such comments as' 500million will not bring back your wife...seriously?...People like you, Ruth are the reason this country continues to be backward...

This is why it'll people to shun all these funny ' private hospital' ish, if you cannot afford the likes of Reddington or Lagoon, Biko, carry yourself to a General hospital or that Military hospital....

Nurses performed surgery? Nurses?? We , Nigerians need to know more about how things are supposed to be run so that we can easily identify when something is not going right....

Sue them for all they are worth, sir! Let them sell the buildings and all their assets to pay...in their next life, they will take due and diligent care!!!!

47. This story just made me sad. Some nurses n doctors are agents of the devil. There are some hospitals I just can't step my foot in. I pray God heals the boy n grant dem justice.

*Rmn blessed*

48. Omg!!! oh the poor little baby, look at the scars on his tiny body. Thank father, he lived. I am so deeply saddened by his mother's death, this could have been prevented. Geez did that incompetent doctor use the woman as a guinea pig? Her husband should not only sue, but bring criminal charges against the doctor. oh looking at the baby is making me cry, the pain and suffering they child is going through. God please help the family with this tragedy.

49. shot in the head bawo
    haaaahahhahhahhahahhaha
    oga whirlwind e calm down..

50. I hope this case is brought before my oga. They will surely pay. Haba!! Oh, sweet child. I pray you are made whole in Jesus name.

51. I remembered when my sis birthed her last born at a private hospital owned by a couple,the doctor couple were in a rush to go home that they had to make sure my sister had her baby on that night,then they left for home,my sister started bleeding at night and was left at the mercy of the nurses,the nurse made a call to the doctors who had to tell them what to do via the phone,it was not funny at all,it was God that saved my sister. The moral of the story is that all this private hospital can not be trusted and pregnant women need to be very prayerful and watchful as well.

52. Oh God!!!! Am speachless; I advice pregnant women to register for antenatal in govt hospitals, they work 24hrs and they havequalified midwives .(r.i.p ma)

53. This is so freaking annoying! No single doctor? Her soul rest in peace and pray for the baby to be healed. The hospital should be closed! The Indian doctor should be investigated if truly she is a doctor! Mschewww!

54. If the baby looks like this, I wonder how much they mutilated the poor woman. Why will she not bleed to death. This is really avoidable. A simple ultrasound scan to determine the position of the baby and make a right decision could have saved both. Chai, women are suffering!!

Though sometimes it's the patient's fault when they will decide and bind the devil for not wanting c-section, insisting to deliver as Hebrew woman. Not saying it is so in this case.