-->

Monday, December 22, 2014

Austrian Composer And Singer Udo Jürgens Dies Whilst Taking A Walk.

The Austrian singer-songwriter Udo Jürgens, whose songs enjoy immense popularity in the German-speaking world and beyond, has died aged 80. His career spanned more than fifty years.

Jürgens died of heart failure on Sunday while taking a walk in the Swiss municipality of Gottlieben, his management team said. He was 80 years old.

The death of the Austrian singer, pianist and composer comes as he was on a tour called "In the Midst of Life" ("Mitten im Leben"), named after his album of the same title.

Jürgens, who also took Swiss citizenship in 2007, wrote some 1,000 songs and sold more than 100 million records in a career that began more than 50 years ago. He was one of the most successful figures ever in the German-speaking Among the songs that made him famous were "Griechischer Wein" - covered by Bing Crosby in the English version "Come Share the Wine" - and his greatest financial success, "Buenos Dias Argentina," which he recorded with the German national football team in 1978.

His performances through almost all of Europe attracted millions of fans, who, among other things, experienced his legendary encores sung while wearing a white bathrobe.

Jürgens won the Eurovision song contest in 1966, a feat not repeated by an Austrian until Conchita Wurst took first place in the competition in 2014.culled

This news has sent shock waves all over Europe ......

43 comments:

1. RIP Sir.
    Good morning Stella, how was your Carol Night?

2. BVs pls help me pray 4 my granny dis festive period. We went to pik her after chrch coz shez catholic and she strtd behavin funny. Like mild stroke or sumtin

1. She's healed in Jesus name.

2. God will heal her, speak d word of God to her situation every time

3. Never heard of him...may his soul RIP!

4. May his soul rest in peace!!!

5. ma heart goes to the family of this once lived legend... "exit of a hero" may his soul rest in perfect peace!

6. ma heart goes to the family of this once lived legend... "exit of a hero" may his soul rest in perfect peace!

7. We no sabi am. U think say ur blog visitors are German or Europeans? Abeg bring one okoye and nkiru silvanus husband snatching for here.

8. Such shows the brevity of Life...
    Heart Failure a speedy killer...
    May his Soul rest in the Lord.

9. DEATH NA HIM SURE PASS ,OJO IKU, OJO ISINMI.

REST IN PEACE

10. awwww so sad, May his soul rest in peace

11. In Africa this news won't send one wave of current. Even if a great African musician dies, Europe won't even cough.

12. May his soul rip

Merry chrismas in advance.

13. I can't sleep, I crave gala so bad and I can't get one in this freaking town......

14. Rip jurgen dahs a walk doesn't just end here, it leads to heavenly places

15. Rest in peace sir.
    I pray you are singing with the Angels, praising GOD in Heaven.

16. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

17. Hey ya...may God console d family

18. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

19. God rest his gentle soul. He had a very successful career. He don old nau, he needed rest sef but his love for music wouldnt let him.

20. Rip may his soul b accepted in Heaven. Dat ibibio chic

21. He has finished his course of life. He should be celebrated and not mourned. He tried nao, living past the 70 years stipulated in the Bible. The man try jare.

22. rip to a great legend. your music will ever remain like a sand in time.

23. Tnx Esta and Jenny. It is well. RIP musical legend.