Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ebola Spreads To Nigeria Oil Hub Port Harcourt

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Ebola Spreads To Nigeria Oil Hub Port Harcourt

BBC Confirms that Ebola has officially spread to Port Harcourt!

Nigeria has confirmed its first Ebola death outside Lagos – a doctor in the oil hub of Port Harcourt and His wife has been put under quarantine,while a further 70 people in the city are under surveillance.

Ebola was taken to Nigeria by Patrick Sawyer, a Liberian-American man who travelled to Lagos before dying.

One of his contacts evaded Nigeria's surveillance team and travelled to Port Harcourt, where he sought medical treatment, Health Minister Onyebuchi Chukwu said.
Although the man later recovered, the doctor who treated him died and tests showed he had Ebola, the minister said.
The doctor had died last Friday but the results of the tests have only just been announced by the health minister.
The doctor who treated Mr Sawyer also died.

Nigeria schools shut
More than 240 health workers have been infected with Ebola - a rate which the World Health Organization (WHO) said was "unprecedented".
It noted that in many cases protective suits, even rubber gloves and face masks, were not available.
The doctor becomes the sixth fatality in Nigeria, which is Africa's most populous country.

On Wednesday, Nigeria announced that schools would not reopen until 13 October in order to try and contain the disease.

Ebola Virus Disease (EVD)
  • Symptoms include high fever, bleeding and central nervous system damage
  • Fatality rate can reach 90% - but current outbreak has mortality rate of about 55%
  • Incubation period is two to 21 days
  • There is no vaccine or cure
  • Supportive care such as rehydrating patients who have diarrhoea and vomiting can help recovery
  • Fruit bats, a delicacy for some West Africans, are considered to be virus's natural host

88 comments:

1. Na wa o! This ebola should have died here in lagos o, I dont trust the govt n pple of phc atall.

2. One thing I know and see is dat d spirit of nigerians is stronger than ebola!its only here the mortality rate dropped to 55percent.we give God glory!and dats how this evil plague will go back to the abyss where it came from,Amen!#prayer works too!

2. May it never be well with this Patrick !
    See as the son of devil pack national disaster and shared it to innocent people.

Haba ,why Nigeria that have another blood that loves blood more than food and sex.
    I'm still grateful to God,the way Nigeria is handling the issue.By God's grace,we will be saved and live to tell my grandchildren how nwoke Liberia wanted to finish us in Jesus name,Amen.

3. Lord have mercy on us ooooo

4. Lord have mercy on us ooooo

1. And dey are planning TAN south south rally in PHC nxt 2moro,pls avoid crowded places oo

5. Ebola in ph !!! Oya bu NA nsogbu adigo be dt

6. Omg! And I'm preparing to go to ph oo. Chai! What will I do now?

1. Ashawo! What are you going to do there? You mentioned earlier you need 1million naira,i can see where you are hustling to gather it. Oloshi better use condom

GG

2. Bhuahahahahha

7. Na wah ohh...So its true...
    I pity health workers...I thought ebola has no cure,how come some people that are infected are getting better???...
    What of the money the government released?can't they use part of it to get enough protective suit etc or has it gone to someone's pocket??..

1. @ Linda Eze Loves Billie Jean, a little reading will not kill you. FYI, EVD may not have a cure but not everyone who is infected dies from it. If your immune system is strong combined with quality healthcare by treating the Opportunistic Infections (OIs), there is a greater chance for one to pull through. The 'Doctor' who contracted it wasn't following guidelines. It was unethical of him to have engaged in such treatments except he didn't know the expatriate had contacts with P.S and was doing Home Call. If only you even read and digest all the inputs of Dr. Orela Dimples, N. Dr. Agwoturumbe and others here who may not be doctors but are knowledgeable, you won't be parading your ignorance about. Try to read and understand and stop shouting like a Market Woman. Am sorry if you don't like my tone.

2. Nne gi market woman..
      Nna gi onye ori..
      Kitikpa lachapu gi anya ebe ahu..
      Onye iberibe muo...go to hell with your explanation..idiot

8. Hmmm

When I was happy that this Ebola thing has ended, now this one is coming up again. God guild us ohh

9. Hm na wa oooo.... God help us plz

10. Just when we were rejoicing about the report that there's only one case left in Lagos, God help us.
    Imagine the people that the Dr would have come in contact with. RIP Dr.
    I don't envy Dr's at all.

1. Nuvi, you believed our lying govt? When thousands troop I'm everyday from our porous border!

11. Until the govt begins to treat this problem as something that affects national security, we won't make any headway.

12. God of mercy, this virus is spreading ooh n to imagine that some ppl survives it while it kills others baffles me. It shall never see my household.

13. The ebola in PH is said to be propaganda by the APC government to prevent the proposed PDP south-south mega rally which is supposed to hold on saturday.

1. Are u people 4 real? I knw amaechi will not focus on securing his state but be busy fighting shadows. I pity ph people, they will die faster that lagos people. Incompetent riffraffs

2. How I wish this ur k-leg gist na true

3. Smh!which kain mumu talk be dis for God's sake?...u sef reason am*silence*
      If not that this ebola virus was brought into naija by a Liberian:Sawyer,PDP will claim it's APC dat created it to frustrate Jona's govt!why are these two' always at each others neck?if only they knew we know they are one and same group of thieves split into different factions!#rubbish politicians, but u can only deceive the gullible!

14. i thought we done with EBOLA ,that name gives me high fever

15. Knowing Port Harcourt and how its people are I can say, although unfortunately, that Nigeria now has the Ebola epidermic

16. PD Young Billionaire28 August 2014 at 17:39

God punish Ebola!

17. Is this man not worst than Sawyer? Can you imagine his callousness, thank God he is alive to see what he has caused, endangering your fellow man . Since he can't go to jail for please this publish his name so he will bear the brunt of his wickedness. RIP to the doc and other victims.

18. Hmmm... God have mercy on Nigeria, please...

19. The man should be lock up. We are thanking God we getting out of the situation not knowing there another devil Sawyer in the land.

20. Not surprise. america can nt allow you ppl to be ebola free who are dey going to sell their drugs to. Make una just watch this is just the beginning. We just hope God is on our side because I see More coming.

~~Sir Alpachino sent via Samsung Galaxy TabS~~

1. Heei mr I got a call from yabaleft dt u forgot ur brain there ystd. Now run along n go pick it

21. God please be a safe haven for us.

something must kill a man,but if he knows the something on time,he can stay alive, please name and location of the hospital, we have a RIGHT to be informed and on TIME!

small sanitizers now selling for 2k please politicians,use soaps and sanitizers for ur campaign, its welcomed, keep the rice for later.

Tailor

22. NOW I AM OFFICIALLY TERRIFIED

23. Oh my gosh can't deal and I wanted to go to port Harcourt to see my sugar daddy, I will wait

1. Nelly is that you!

Bwahahahahaha

2. PD Young Billionaire28 August 2014 at 19:26

Sugar daddy kwa? During this Ebola season?Diaris God oooo!

3. No wahala.
      You can come.
      Ebola no dey do sugar daddies

4. Nelly that is preaching no sex before marriage? Bhuahahahaha

24. I get this info from my sister on the EBOLA case in PH

The Good heart hospital is where the Doctor ...Ikechukwu Sam Enemuo..was rushed to after he took ill with symptoms of Ebola. He was said to have operated on a woman on Monday presumably after secretly treating the diplomat. Fell ill next day Tuesday and died last Friday. No one knew about this hotel angle which was a very big risk he took...and unethical thing to do.. He was ill for 3 days...then started vomiting blood with bloody diarrhoea. He was rushed to Prime...where he was rejected and then taken to Good heart whose MD is a Cardiologist ..a consultant physician with UPTH. He died there. Good heart is on EVO road in GRA ph2 THE Doctor that died practices in East West Road Rumuokoro...Sam Steel clinic. The wife also a Doctor has a 3-month old baby. There may have been well over 200 contacts of this devilish diplomat who lured his young Doctor friend to treat him secretly and went back to Lagos. I hear he has eventually submitted himself for Ebola check in a bid to get a clearance certificate to fly out..he tested positive and is now quarantined in lagos..It's quite a calamity unfolding in Ph. Unfortunately Ph health facilities are not quite ready to contain Ebola at the moment. There are American experts and federal and WHO health workers in town however training Drs and other healthworkers and helping out with contact tracing etc .

1. ThankS. Your info is even better than what the Panic Media is reporting ,all in the bid to break the half-truths without confirmation and details

2. Thanks for the information. Kindly update us if you get more info from your sister.

3. Thanks for this. They should start putting people's names up. If you know you had contact, please get tested!

Help save some lives, especially yours. Early detection is key.

25. This is a wicked world, there is no diff btw sawyer, d diplomat and d doctor who treat d diplomat secretly, they are all evil.

26. What's this one again...oh my...

27. I pray that PH works hard to contain this as much as Lagos state did. Why in the world would a Dr. Put so many ppl at risk, not only did it cost him his life, his wife is showing symptoms as well. I don't understand why avoidable deaths have become the order of the day. Let's assume money was his motivating factor in this mess, he did cure the man and paid the price with his life. Vanity!

1. Sharrap!! The diplomat did not disclose his exposure. He was offered treatment and care as one would a patient having Malaria

2. He was offered treatment and care inside an hotel. So hotel is now an hospital. Ewu Liberia.

28. OMG
    Will this ever end?
    Just when I was about to breath a sigh of relief!
    Come to our aid oh Lord.

29. Dat ECOWAS diplomat dat flew and hid himself in PH shuld be arrested and jailed. May God purnish him for dis wicked act of his.

30. I said it before that wickedness is what will make Ebola kill a lot of people in Nigeria, many will refuse to come out.

31. Speechless...!!! hmmmm. Does it mean d doc was aware his frnd he was treating had ebola and was still going abt his daily activities at d same time?

32. May God help us. That man's "diplomatic" status should be revoked.

1. He should also be prosecuted. He committed crime against humanity, in this case,against Nigerians.

33. Chai...PH oooo....Chai
    Nnaa mmadu onakwara ije a oooo!
    Chai... Na to find way commot for PH first because as it is now, no one is sure of who had contacts with the said doctor, the diplomat, their families, friends, colleagues....Chai

34. So our borders are still open? Am I confused or can't comprehend this story, Someone help!!

35. Ebola again God help us oooo

36. Wow. This is really spreading. Please let us all protect ourselves and help spread the message. Hear is an awareness message in Igbo language. It would be nice if the awareness is made in as many messages as possible.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMRE4BlCdvo

37. I HOPE IT IS NOT OUR DR IKECHUKWU OH...HE HAS BEEN MISSING HERE AND I AM WORRIED.....VERY WORRIED.

1. Stellla...dr ikechukwu is not ur BV... Dr. Okechukwu u mean?

Panicking everywhr in Ph oooo. God save us

2. Stella it can't be Dr Okechukwu, he is too meticulous and him head too dey there to pull dis kind backyard stunt. Am sure he is safe and will resurface when he wants. Stay safe doc.

38. Hmmmm,,God pls heal our land

39. God help us. I heard a uniben student that just resumed fell sick and was taken to uniben health centre and was showing signs of ebola. She has been taken to ubth.

1. You don't mean it, What????

2. What?Uniben 4my backyard?To think my younger brother has been goin to school from home since this week, this is sickening!!I hope it's just malaria symptoms,Godhelp Nigeria

40. Our Dr. Okechukwu ke? God let it not be oh, this is serious.

41. I swear human beings are evil and wicked. There's no things as painful as this. People are so wicked. And imagine that devil Jonathan is busy commissioning 2.1billion naira for sanitizer!!! And lying to the masses that the virus is under control. God will punish these evil people that are exposing us to such a deadly disease. Let's use our heads for the love of Christ. If u had any contact with someone that is later discovered to have had the virus. Please!!!! Don't hide urself. Don't endanger others. Am so angry and frustrated. Nigeria pls na. This country is hard enough as it is.

1. For sanitizer alone?
      Ninja!!!!!!
      The money reach to open manufacturing company to produce the sanitizer sef! Mschew!

2. I swear. Is sanitizer the cure?? I heard that FG only imported 1000 protective gear for the whole doctors in Nigeria. Can you beat that??!!!! Evil people.

42. GOD HELP US
    FROM THIS VIRUS

43. WHAT A VIRUS VERY STUBBORN

44. With the awareness of Ebola, any doctor would be cautious of any symptom of malaria! If the diplomat lied to the doctor he had only malaria, I expected better from a professional who should be more enlightened than the layman on the street. This is a death and epidemic that could had been averted!

45. I just hope this ebola doesn't cause an economic recession. Ebola in the oil region, hmmm

Why are Nigerians so strong headed even at the detriment of other people's lives???

46. Another Liberian evaded the surveillance team?! This is pure wickedness!!!why are our borders still open to liberians???? I say every liberian trying to enter Nigeria should be deported back to their country!!!

47. Chikito a.k.a Final Say29 August 2014 at 20:21

The problem with ebola is that many people who have it won't own up. The dishonesty in some people has gone beyond 'be careful'. See as people dey use death play!!!