Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: UNN Lecturer Dr Bede Opata Commits Suicide

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

UNN Lecturer Dr Bede Opata Commits Suicide

Dr Bede Opata 38, a lecturer at the University of Nigeria, Enugu Campus last weekend  committed suicide over yet-to-be ascertained reasons. OMG!

The academician who is the  son of a former Commissioner in the old Anambra state, Chief Cletus Opata hailed from Nsukka area of Enugu state. According to sources, the deceased had taken his life in his apartment within the town on Saturday night but his body was discovered on Sunday.

Dr. Opata who held a Doctorate Degree in Law was said to have been employed as a lecturer in the university in 2011. He was a lecturer  at the institution’s Law Faculty.

*Suicide just like that?couldnt he have been murdered and made to look like suicide?why will someone just end their life like that?how do they do it?
what clues suggested he took his life?
They should check for finger prints and other evidences abeg....

61 comments:

1. Ha!
    Na wah oh.
    I font even know what to say.
    Rest in peace Mr lecturer.
    You have a point Stella. It could be murder that was made to look like suicide.

1. What really went wrong?
      There is more to it.
      I wonder what he'll tell God wen he gets to heaven..

RIP Dr Opata.

2. Jeez,
      This man taught me International Law just last year!
      #goosebumps
      Rest in Peace Dr. Opata,
      This death is suspicious.
      Suicide ke!

3. Hmnn. Aunty stella.. finger print technology in Nigeria?

4. Guess some students/cultists decided to treat his fcukup, or he was depressed. RIP sir

5. Depression, schizophrenia, bipolar, self harm and other mental disorders can be attributed to his death... Especially where that one feels alone and unloved. It's sad but not everyone out here can handle the life as we know it

2. Chiiinnnneeekkkkkeeeeeee !!!!!!

3. Romeo Without Juliet22 July 2014 at 12:51

Dis is more 2 his death.Rest In Peace.

1. Rip. EVE E UME

2. The guy tire for life. Too many family pblm. You can rest now frm all d pblm. Suicide is never an option! Hell is real.

4. RIP! People don't choose suicide, suicide spirit choose them. That's why you need to pray no matter the situation.

Pepper ose oku

1. Yeah u re right.
      What the devil does is to weight people down, sometimes over frivolities and to limit their destinies.
      Sometimes also, people allow the voice of judgement to drive them into self condemnation, all you have to do is to silent that voice through prayer and praise, cos that voice is from the devil.
      No one is perfect. You must always forgive yourself and avoid whatever will steal your joy. Jesus told his disciples that if any man thirst, let him come unto me and drink.
      Eph 6:18 says: "Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the spirit, and watching thereunto with all preseverance and in supplication of all saint."

5. May his soul rest in peace, suicide is never the best option

6. Rip sir. I don't think its suicide.

7. RIP to the dead.. Haba Stella u sef!!! Finger prints for obodo naija??? For which database dem go check am???

8. No matter his problem suicide is never an option. He should have relocated.

9. He was my leaturer in international law and a very quite man that is always on his own. My friend even went to his office on friday bc he is her project supervisor and according 2 her he was cheerful not knowing he was suffering 4rm depression.

1. My thoughts exactly... Read up depression online and you might save yourself or someone you care about

10. Cassandra baby22 July 2014 at 13:37

Stella, u r right but finger prints for obodo naija,,e no easy,,RIP to d dead,,may God comfort ur loved ones

11. Oh Jesus!!! What could have happened naa? So unfortunate. May God forgive and rest his soul in peace.

12. kinda looks like a set up tho...
    i wonder if an autopsy would be carried out.
    RIP to the dead.

13. Stella, finger prints kwa? For Enugu State, Nigeria? Its like saying North is South and South is West. There could be more to his death though. May his gentle soul rest in peace.

14. This is really sad. There are a lot of people going through different kinds of depression right now, thinking of a way to end their lives, if only they know how much their action will hurt many others. If only they can give life another chance and look up to God in total surrender. R.I.P to the departed.

15. A little correction, if u dont mind. Evidence has no plural form. Nothing like Evidences. Its Evidence, no matter how many. Thank you.

16. Wow, just last week a man about 40+ old in my area attempted suicide by drinking sniper (poison for rodents). A few people saw him and quickly gave him palm oil to drink b4 rushing him to LASUTH. Some people don't just have d emotional strength to stand when all else fails around them.
    N.B: suicide is not advised but if you must indulge kindly drop a note just like the whites you're copying do.

1. Na so one guy for my area go drink sniper too o cos his gf leave am,but he no die sha...d most annoying part was dat police came to arrest d girl like say na she give am poison drink...dat sniper shldnt be allowed to be sold indiscriminately cos e no be domestic mosquitoes/rodents killer

2. Chai police the police. Always on point.

17. This is shocking. I hope they conduct an autopsy. Na wa o.

18. He is my lecturer and he died out of depression bc he lost his wife and only child some years back in a car accident that he was the driver. He was down on friday when he came 2 class.

1. Kai! So sad! I was about to say they should check for a history of depression.
      Depression is a beast! May God comfort those he left behind.

2. Awwwwwwwwwwwwuu so much to bear alone. Chiaa, nwanne alaa. I feel so sad reading this. @SHB

3. Now that's so sad, if it was in other climes he would have been on counselling to deal with the tragedy and probably have someone clinical psychologist medicate him if necessary

4. Please make sure of what you write. Bede was a God fearing man, single, and had no child. However he had a wonderful mom, dad, and siblings. He had a lot going for him. He was a rare gem, very trustworthy, and highly principled. Whoever did this to him will never go unpunished. I have complete faith and trust in Jehovah. He will surely judge all the wicked. Bede cannot hurt a fly talk more of taking his own life. Bede you will forever live in our hearts and we look forward to seeing you again in Jehovah's promised new world.

19. Strange!!
    RIP to the deceased

20. To think that my hubby said he felt like dying yesterday then i see this suicide post today has got me really scared. God help us! RIP to the dead

21. Losing his wife and only child? That's the worst thing that can happen to anyone. His family should have rallied around him and ensured he was never alone. Depression is really bad. May his soul rest in peace. Rose

1. He was single please. He cannot hurt a fly and did not take his life. Jehovah will surely judge is killers. Bede was a good man and upright. He served God with his whole heart and Jehovah will never forget his good deeds, but will surely judge the wicked ones.

22. The world has lost one of its greatest minds. A fine intellectual, a true gentleman, a great leader and an excellent soul.

Rest in peace my brother.

23. RIP Senior counsel. Wished you actually treated yourself for depression. We know how much you were suffering from de demise of your family, but suicide was the last thing we thought would have happened. RIP sir, so sad.

24. This should be investigated. R.I.P

25. so sad. rip to d lecturer
    AI-DEAREST

26. Stella I concur with you. This is definitely a murder case made to look like suicide

1. Can't you read, didn't you read what his student just wrote 'DEPRESSION'. you must support stella who doesn't know any better(finger print in Nigeria) seriously!!!

2. He was not depressed. Someone evil did this to him. Bede was a happy God fearing and had a lot going for him. He had a wonderful mom, dad, and siblings. Someone did this to him. Our heavenly father will certainly repay.

27. Lord of mercy!!!
    This does not sound ordinary to me,,,Hian
    May his soul find rest.

28. No no no NO WAY
    Sometin tells me there is more to it
    RIP young man

1. There's more to it my dear. Someone did this to him. Bede was a cheerful and faithful servant of God. We live in a world filled with evil and envious people. Some were not happy of his progress. Men can do the unthinkable out of hatred. Jehovah will judge and they will never have any peace.

29. Depression is real likewise other mental health related issues. If only they saw the early symptoms... It's a sad story. Rip!

#peace Ambassador

30. Stella Dr Bede is related to my family.. at this their time of grief reading about the death of their loved one on blogs will not help them. If you can and as are as humane as I have come to bliv, pls take this post down. Thanks

1. A post that is all over the place?

How will reading about this death worsen the family's grief. Afterall they already know he is dead and how he died. They would have to boycott the internet and newspapers for some time.

31. Na wa o. May his soul rest in peace. Amen.

For the record finger prints no dey exist for Nigeria

32. May his soul rest in peace Amen. For the record finger prints doesn't exist in Nigeria

33. Too many loud mouthed hypocrites on this blog.... So cos he is a lecture he cannot commit sucide abi? Is he better than all the other stories we see here u all come and abuse that they are stupid without confirming the story? If u all don't believe too bad.... We should all learn to stop making biased comments when u don't have all the facts.....

34. RIP Dr Bede Opata. Tears will not be enough. So painful.

35. He is so harmless. I heard so many good things about him in Enugu Campus. I think may be somebody killed him and made it look like suicide. Rest in peace Dr.