Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The Stay At Home Wife And The Implications...Blog Visitor Narrative.

Tuesday, July 01, 2014

The Stay At Home Wife And The Implications...Blog Visitor Narrative.

The depression of staying at home is not what you bargained for right?..and then your parents will not stop demanding and asking for things beyond your means...just like blog visitor mamie complained of in the ranting post,some parents can break a home with their selfish demands!...what do you do?

blog visitor says....
 ''I am an only child. I am from delta state and my hubby yoruba. I come from a part of the country where it is Believed it is the responsibility of the children to take care of Their parents Whereas he is from a part of the country where parents work hard to leave inheritance For their childrens children. 

I am a stay at home mum (not by choice.) Had to relocate to another part of the country where my husbands talent is more appreciated.While my husband is thriving in this place (believe me I am happy for him / us) 

I am wasting away at home. 

My temper is melancholy so you can just imagine how unstable and depressed I can be. My husband sends money to my parents weekly for feeding and he never misses the to opportunity to rub it in Whenever we quarrel, even though he was the one that told my dad to stop working. 

My parents do not help matters Because They Are always asking for extra money even though what they are given should be enough. I use to cater for them until I got married. The state where I reside now is a civil servant state so getting a job is not easy.

I told my husband I want to go into a Particular business and he put his weight behind it and started planning for the business in a big way. The business is Capable of gulping close to N2million (it is a fast moving consumer products). I was not planning on spending huge amount because my hubby will never give me that to amount to set up a business. 

My trouble is He Has totally edged me out. 

I do not even have a say in the planning process. My parents are getting very old and I need to be able to gather some money to put aside to help out. My husband is never Concerned When my parents fall sick and I do not blame him Because his parents never ever ask him for money. 

I do not have any money to start a business and my husband will not give me except he takes over the business completely. Most of the time I am suicidal. Just last night He Said some nasty hurtful things about my parents. He can be very mean with his Utterances. I need advice please''. 

*sad sigh*

164 comments:

1. My dear is not easy likewise myself am a house wife, and that is not my kind of person but I will obey my hubby, all u have to do is prayer let God help

1. I promised myself that before I get married I will be very established cus this Is the same story my married friends are telling especially the jobless ones.

Their husbands promised them heaven and earth like, "don't worry I will take care of u" or "I will look 4 a job 4 u" or "I will give u capital to start a business". When they got married it was a different ball game. Cus most of the men started feeling the presure of being married or they are stingy.

Right now I am keeping 2 my promise. So help me God.

2. Eyah poster sorry to hear about your issues oo.. Maybe you two need to talk, be patient with him n explain what your intentions are. Also pray about it. Thank God my Oga likes the fact that I work ooo if not, I no for gree. I like my independence biko

3. How come ur writing my story, I have even turned to a sadist. My husband neva cares abt my parents, in fact I have even asked dem to leave me alone, he doesn't even want to gv me moni for biz, but keeps sponsoring his sisters biz, I want to take a loan from dis loan pple but my frd asked me not to cos dey use means and u wnt b able to pay back. Have been looking for a teaching job and it's not just coming. Am so tired.

4. Little wonder u reason like a mediocre!

5. Nne, you'll kill somebody with grammar thehehehahahahaha

VIRGIN GIRL

6. o! the lovely plans i had for my future but marriage happened and most times no matter how intelligent and amazing a woman you are, for the sake of the children you end up slowing down. Right now its crazy difficult but keep trying to do sumthg by Gods grace it will grow. its terrible depending on a man for what you need. its just insane.

7. Poster I have two questions for you- Do you still love your husband and do you guys have kids? I'm not sure your hubby loves you and if he does, he sure has a very selfish way of showing it. Sounds like a very controlling man who feels he owns you and your folks cos he caters for all of you financially. You need to be independent, you need to have your own thing. If he won't allow you independence then please find your way out of the marriage before you kill yourself.
      What Would You Tell Your Younger Self If You Could? Click my name to read more and share your thoughts.

2. I don't understand ds post. The tenses are not readable at all. Mayb the poster should send a more composed one.

1. Poster,I will advise you to lay low....
      Be a mugu to your husband to get what you want....develop thick skin to his words...
      He is even trying by giving your parents some money for their upkeep which some men don't...
      Allow him to start and take over the business atleast you will be getting some little money from it...
      Start saving up so you can open a small business for your mother...

2. It's in your head dear.
      She has stated herself quite clearly, YOU need to compose and calm yourself down to understand a simple note.

3. Then u must be a daft woman. How can someone write all that lot only for u to say u cant understand. Abeg park well joooooohhhhh.

4. What tenses are you talking about here? Na wa oo

5. Poster Linda is right. He has been saying hurtful things get used to it. Don't let the words hurt you anymore. Just have a game plan & start saving. Allow him to start up the business. Start saving from any money he gives you, even if its money for water make sure you take out a little something. Be strong one day everything will be alright.

Breezy

3. I can't read this abeg. Too many errors

1. Too much error SDK y don't you Edit of tell them to edit before sending them your own na to copy and paste lazy woman

Mr lyca

2. Anonymous July 1, 2014 at 6:37 PM

*Just few words, you couldn't just compose and post. Did you even edit at all??? No Punctuation at all??? And here you are calling someone a lazy woman. I fear the disaster your WORKAHOLISM will cause this honorable blog if u now write an epistle for publication. Mtcheew! Nonsense!! Waka jor!!!

#YourLegacyLivesOnProfDoraAkunyili*7/6/14
      *Prayer For Nigeria in Distress x10 Daily*

3. Sometimes pple can be funny...see anonymous that is complaining of error. Cowards you can't type few words yet you called her lazy woman..show you face..

Back to biz...woman , this is your boo we r talking & I guess u know all that makes him happy..play your role very well, if possible form mugu till you get d money for d biz....say no to house wife..if you don't act now he will use u and ur family as rag tomorrow.. Act responsibly.. Goodluck

TOO BAD: Fally Ipupa Posts Nude Pictures Of His Ex Girlfriend Online

4. If you are sure of the business you want to start,then get a soft loan from LAPO. They are everywhere in Nigeria. Also advice your folks to take it easy. I suggest your Parents should be placed on a budget. Like an informal salary every month. That ought to stop your husband from taking your people for granted.

1. @ wide eyed,lapo won't really help cos she has to pay back weekly or monthly,dt will affect her if d biz dnt move quickly@ Poster talk to your parent,mayb if thy knw hw yo hubby is treating yu,thy will adjust,abeg no commit sucide oh,ur hubby will marry sm1 else,the Lord will c u thru!

2. Getting from Lao isn't always easy in most cases and yes they demand for collateral too

3. The people (her parents)are. The ones taking the man for granted,they know their daughter is not working at the moment,my sis in law refused to give her mum (my hubby's')anything when she wasnt working and she understood,why cant the parent take it easy

4. The people (her parents)are. The ones taking the man for granted,they know their daughter is not working at the moment,my sis in law refused to give her mum (my hubby's')anything when she wasnt working and she understood,why cant the parent take it easy

5. i can imagine your temperament with that kind of husband hian you will alway be falling into depression.sorry madam. i thought those were part of the things couples discuss and decide before marriage.ill just wait for experienced wives to leave their comments

1. Since ur unemployment is situational, I suggest u go for a job like teaching...sumtyn to put any lil money in ur pocket and still have time for ur family. Are u the only child? @poster ...talk to your parents, sumtyms u av to take ur stand...once n a yle ma mum gets demanding and trust me when ma mum wan ask her own ehn...na die - I had to tell her to allow me build ma family, it came out real harsh, it hurt her - but it solved the whole ish. Then instead of givin ur dad weekly allw. since it's ur hubby that asked him to stop working, maybe u guys can setup sumtyn for dem. Its a very long journey(marriage) dearie, I wonder how much longer he can continue giving them OR u can as well ignore him, it used to be like that for me...when ma hubby talk finish o, i will tell him to sha give me d money after his rant.

6. So many women r in ur shoes. Do u have kids? If u do make ur plans around then u can wait for then to grow then decide what u want for u. Ur husband is fulfilling his life dream while u languish. Later in ur life if u don't do sumtin about it u regret ur life. Please pray for God's guidance

1. So she shoulsd be depressed till the kids grow??? Are u well so??

7. Why wouldnt he complain when you wanted to ruin him with your family problems. You better start respecting your husband so that he wont send you back to your family.

1. So Bimpe because she is married she can't help her parents abi? What such of man will help the in-laws and still say rubbish, only immature men. For now she doesn't work, atleast the man can help. Besides why did he ask the father in law to stop working? If dem come ask am for money he go dey para abegi.Poppins.

2. I'm married and I don't really care about my parents because they never cared about me. Most times I yimu when their phone call comes in, if not for my husband that loves doing eye service by sending them money and gifts, I don't care.

3. U're a big mugu bimpe with ur stupid grammar. It's idiots like u that leave their old parents to die of hunger. HOELOSHI buruku

4. @Bimpe pls dd u read well? Which one is send her back to her parents? He is immature that's his problem and u Bimpe need to shutit#

*Sweetness*

5. Bimpe 10 flings

6. Most men do it,they pretend to be okay in d'presence of the in laws while the wives suffer when they are alone.i suggest she discusses with her parent to reduce the amount sent to them until things improve

7. Abeg the parents are only being lazy. No matter how old they are, at least they should have relatives or past savings. Where I come from people don't demand for gifts from their inlaws and even when they are given they hardly collect. We also don't visit our female children once they are married. They are free to come home at anytime though. I'm from the north but proudly a Christian. God forbid mek I join boko haram religion

8. Stella post dt comment bcos I've noticed dt u no longer post my comments....u did it 2ice

9. Bimpe, dat u came from a family where ur parents didn't care about u does not mean everybody came from such family. It's obvious u grew up in a family without love and affection. I seriously hope ur children will not grow up in such an environment.

8. I learnt the hard way even from the best man or so I thought until we got married. Unfortunately, I had a breakdown for a whole year myself until I was rescued by a psychologist, who helped me reach within myself and build strength.

Don't believe all is lost. Even though he is taking over this business , ensure that you are still in it to some extent and make your mark.

Bottom line, don't give in to depression. Fight, if he dies, you are on your own still. I came to realize that my husband is not the author of my life, only to the extent I let him. Right now he is pulling out his hair trying to control me! Pull yourself up and move for yourself. Disregard wallowing in self pity.

1. men truly like to control their wives. I just realised this. And I thrive when I am independent, please dear Lord I have learnt my lesson o Trust only God, please let me have my job back please!

9. Sit down and talk to your husband please. Better to move back to your parents' than to kill yourself.

http://wordsofasingleton.blogspot.com/2014/07/end-of-road-for-naija.html

10. First of all beg your husband for 500naira then go and buy dictionary, secondly talk to your parents make them understand that you ain't working and the demands is becoming cumbersome on your husband, discuss with your hubby to put your parents on a fixed monthly allowance let him know you took care of your parents before you had to resign to join him, thirdly let him open the business and take full control of it your work is to be leaving the. House and managing it at least you have somewhere to go. Everyday, and money comes to your pocket everyday with time once he sees you are capable of handling a business he will leave it for you to be in total control, my dear Patience, Prayers, And Wisdom are the 3 keys to a successful home.

1. Lol @buy dictionary. Mrs O

2. Poster, please when you're done reading the dictionary kindly give it to Mrs Chu Chu to use. Nonsense! Your English isn't any better but you're quick to condemn another. Kindly make use of punctuation marks next time honey, that's why they are there.

3. Lmao!@go and buy dictionary! U r wiked fa.

4. U r very stupid for such a reply, from the first paragraph only a fool would be interested in whtever msg u have to pass across.. u hardly know ow to use common punctual marks, here u r telling her to beg her husband for 500...I can bet my head u r nt doing beta than her..cow

5. Idiot and Cow(that would be you. Sleek), get off my comment, contribute yours(if you have any) and walk away! Idiots with low IQ and no sense of humour. Ekpa!(you will need Urhobo dictionary for this one)

11. My dear your case is not strange. When a woman is not an asset to a man that is how they treat them. Sit your ass upp and look for something to do, no matter how little. You parent needs you.

As for the yorubas working hard and providing for their children that is not true. Your man might be lucky to have a comfortable parent but that does not apply to all yorubas. Am yoruba myself and am the one taking care of my. parent.

1. Her statement is very true concerning parents in yoruba trying to bequeath legacies to their offspring. That your's is an exception won't change the fact.

12. Dear singles, please try and have deep discussions with your husband to be in other to avoid all this wahala…Discuss how many kids you want and how many himself wants, discuss if he will let you work after marriage , discuss everything and anything. Una story tire me i beg. One thing i HATE about some Nigerian marriages is the fact that once a man marry's you he marry's all the family financial wahala! NOT FAIR!

1. Mine agreed on all dis o, even said he will buy me a tear rubber car instead of a second hand, 10yrs now d car he used and left for me is still wot am using, while his using his clean car. Keeps opening and renting shops and tells me to wait dat he doesn't have moni now, my dear all I do is have patience, and I just got a call yesterday to resume somewer tomorrow. My patience has rely paid. My husband has been frowning since I told him, and I have singing and dancing around. Cos I believe my breaktru is here

2. Gbam!!
      You said it all!

3. I was working and doing business at the same time. Till my husband got a job 4 yrs ago abroad so I stopped everything relocated with him . Now he is working and I can't he is very selfish he told me once we moved abroad he will help me set up something its been 4 yrs and it's just getting worse. Men hates women's progress. when I was in Nigeria I made more money than him. Now I am a stay at home mum I have become the maid, the cleaner, the cook , the driver. I miss my life I feel like running. The luck I have is I still have a bit for savings in Nigeria from which I support my parents. But don't know how long I will take this for. He says he took me abroad so he can control me. My dear poster there are too many things you can do in Nigeria. As little as ice block is, will make you money start something small and God will bless it for you.

13. this my husband my husband matter ehn the burn is took much for him he should take care of your parents ,he should feed and clothe and educate ur kids and you he should also take care of his own side of the family haba ..... did your parents not save money for retirement? Why do they see you as a meal ticket?? abeg Me I'm thankful for my parents they are not rich but at least can feed and house themselves they have never asked my hubby for money he just buys them gifts occasionally without asking..So i have more respect in my hubbys home..Abeg parents too should stop feeding off their daughters

1. Meal ticket;true!
      I think the whole family allowed her to marry the husband cos he had a comfortable background,so there was very high expectations!its very wrong to build ur hopes on that.
      @poster,u urgently need to start up something even if it's to borrow monies from friends,else ur parents will loose value around ur husband and his family,dats if it doesn't end up causing u problems in the marriage.

2. Juxx watched tiwa savage wanted video!!!!!! Dat girl is so disgusting. And she's way over 34.Old fucking hag.

14. This comment has been removed by the author.

1. Your DH is a man...
      That's why I like igbo men...they work hard and go exra length just to make their wives and inlaws happy...
      Infact most igbo men see it as their responsibility....
      Mamie,I don't blame your mum coz most igbo mothers loves money and they their inlaws are mearnt to take proper care of them...you need to follow them to that their august meeting and see things for your self..

2. Ur mama born u well u are copy of ur mother ndoo. Make sure u save ohh before ur mother drives u out.

3. This comment has been removed by the author.

4. Lol. Yes you are.

5. Hmmmmmmm
      Mamie dear did anyone hack your account?
      This should stop already please!
      No matter how much you spill it here, they will never be a remedy so i plead with you to just keep all to you before all this jobless and shameless anonymous haters looking for who to devour hits on you with them now or in a later time...Trust me when i say no one truly cares even when they appear to be....Internet forgets not pls!!! Just quit......
      You can do better than this darl. cheers please#Cyber-hugs

#YourLegacyLivesOnProfDoraAkunyili*7/6/14
      *Prayer For Nigeria in Distress x10 Daily*

6. Mamie is this you?
      Too much information! Make some people no use am against you one day for this blog

15. You see that is why I always tell people to marry from their tribes if God should bless them with a partner from there! You have same culture and all that. My dear take heart and be patient. Start something small so as to help your parents. Poppins.

1. You are part of the people taking this country back tribalistic anonymous fool,

2. My friend will just shush it! Marry from your tribe u say?..when a man wants to misbehave or disrespect his wife or treat her with disdain he will doesn't matter if they both come from the same tribe.

16. Look at Yoruba women well. How many do you see that just sit down? A Yoruba man no matter what will not appreciate a jobless woman. You think the Yoruba women that do Alabaru and such do it because they cant sit at home and eat whatever crumbs they can get from the man? Culturally a Yoruba woman is a hard worker and mostly the provider for that matter. If he was raised by a Yoruba woman he will not respect you.

I think he told you to stop working to have some control over you. Hence the insults. It is Igbo men that dont mind their wives not working. To get your respect, try to find something doing. And tell your parents to respect themselves.

1. Anon 5:14 there is God in everything we do or say...lol. Yoruba Men are good people...I think it's just a personal thing.

2. Shut up abeg Yoruba boys that can leech on women for africa

3. See madness wetin carry tribe enter here!

17. Staying at home can be depressing. Let your parents take it easy with spending, you don't want them to ruin your marriage do you? Appreciate the little your husband is providing since his parents are not dependent like yours. He may not trust you much with the survival of the proposed business because he may be thinking that your family may liquidate the business with their insatiable demands. Ensure that you start something soon. If your parents can start a little trade, that will be good. Be humble and prayerful God will make a way. Life has phases. It is well. Rose

18. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    First of all i will never marry an only daughter no matter hw blind love is i will unblind it..... Lady, ur parents just want ur downfall and thats all it is and if care is not taking ur husband is going to divorce yu, believe me....

1. Edwin childish immature idiot..... Get your head out of your smelly arse do your brain can get some fresh air and function properly.....

2. Edwin when will you grow up?

19. For those complaining about her writing skill, She is already depressed, please do not aggravate her situation. We all have our shortcomings. Thank you for being kind. Rose

20. I reject evry thing dat will make me a sit @ home wife. If Work is good f d "goose", it shud b equally good f d "gander" #myopinion. Dear poster, go t God in prayer so dat he can touch d heart of ur hubby.

21. I reject evry thing dat will make me a sit @ home wife. If Work is good f d "goose", it shud b equally good f d "gander" #myopinion. Dear poster, go t God in prayer so dat he can touch d heart of ur hubby.

22. I reject evry thing dat will make me a sit @ home wife. If Work is good f d "goose", it shud b equally good f d "gander" #myopinion. Dear poster, go t God in prayer so dat he can touch d heart of ur hubby.

23. Hmmmm, I thought these things are normally discussed before tying the knot. Oh well,what do I know.

Aeegurl...

1. You discuss a lot before tying the knot but its not possible to determine it all. if it were oyibo marriages would be more stable.

24. y'all see what I was talking about yesterday when I said a "stingy man is worse than the devil". Madam kindly let your husband understand why you have to work and you don't necessarily need 2M to start a good business. It's all about being Focus and Hard work. God will help you.

25. Poster first appreciate ur husband n de li he does 4u n ur family, stop complaining. It wl shock u to learn dt de r men out de who despite all de money de have de stl don't carter to their wife's family problems. U av a man dt stl remembers to send money to ur folks every month end n u r complaining. It sounds to me like u r jealous of ur husband's success. Secondly mayb ur attitude towards money in de past has led to hm nt trusting u wt a business worth 2mil naira, let him ooen d business n run it tl wen he trusts u enof to let u run it. Besides am sure wen he sets up ds business he wl b busy wt hs oda job thereby u wl be left to run de business urslf. Save money frm de n carter 4ur family, ds business wl also help curb ur depression as u wl find urslf busy taking k of a home n also a business. So pick ur behind up n set out to doing something 4ur future. Xoxo

1. U are a stupid fool walahi... Seems like she is jealous of her husbands success? So. So cos he gives to her parents he should be insulting her? That is not being nice or kind.... He stopped her working to control and subdue her and that is not love.....

26. Have a talk with your parents that you are not working and the burden on your husband is too much, as for your husband just endure the bullshit he hands out to you for now... Since you are in a foreign country and u are kinda helpless... Accept the business agreement of him being in control of the business, at least that will keep u busy BUT be wise oh, make u try dey save from Wetin u get from the bizness. I know it won't be easy but keep praying and have faith. You will be fine okay?? Don't wallow In self pity, believe in urself ... U can do it and will achieve ur dreams... God bless u.

27. Talk to your parents, they should nt destroy your marriage

28. My dear ladies, you better stay employed or busy even in marriage. If your husband has to move and be cheating..na him sabi, you stay in one place and be employed (that is a stupid solution but for our men it is the only way). You sit and let a man take care of everything, he will crack under pressure. They are not like us. We can bear the burden and quietly do it, a man will use that and finish you.

29. This is serious & I feel for you. Why don't you take a soft loan? if you are skeptical about the agencies, why not start from your church? Some churches do that ( for dedicated members sha. Its a big disadvantage for any woman married or single not to have something doing so the earlier you start doing something no matter how menial, the better for you & your sanity cos you say your staying at home is not by choice...we all have a choice, do not chose to stay at home please.
    As for your husband, ignore him & his rantings...this shows how childish he is. He married you & he should know that he accepted you, parents & culture in tow so what is his problem?
    Have one on one talk with your parents, tell them that money can't be coming as usual (its up to you to tell them the plain truth or the sugar coated lie depending how the family dynamics is)
    Save, save, save...little drops of water makes a mighty ocean.
    I pray that your husband turns a new life & loves you right cos he is not doing that.

30. @ anon 5:40, ur the biggest liar on earth. Igbo ladies are the most industrious av ever seen. Am a guy and I love dating dem even tho dey can be a lil tribalistic. Pls don't say dat again. Its jst dat dey believe in taking care of their family which I dnt think is a crime

31. Hmmmm Mamie I see another side of you today,pray you don't turn out to be like your mum in future, it might be Genetic...
    Please poster talk to your parents! But don't tell them what their Son-in-law said, just make them understand being an Oliver Twist is endangering your marital bliss
    Then plead with hubby to asists you with the money.....or start saving little by little from whatever he gives you....

32. My dear, you need to have a chat with your parents to chill with their demands.

At the end of the day your husband is human and not perfect but I don't think he is a terrible person.Maybe he feels they are being unreasonable.

Put them on a monthly budget and let them know they will not get more.
    God forbid if you die today are you saying they will starve to death and not survive? Or they are just of the impression that our daughter is married to a rich man.

Babe, you can start making sandwiches, meat pies, burgers and supply to offices for breakfast .You can make meals in packs as well.

Can you teach? Are there schools around you? The lesson teacher my sister hired for the kids collects 10k per kid, 3 kids is 30k and he has a couple of families he does that for, 2 to 3 hours everyday and he is a family man.

But if it is business you want to do, try and start taking out of the monthly allowance he gives you, inflate prices.if you have kids,then it is dead easy. Start saying they need this or that in school if you are sure he won't go and verify.Am not teaching you to be dishonest oh!

All the best and keep your head up.

1. Good idea, she said she stays in a civil servant state. Civil servants can't pay 10k per child for lesson and the take flask of rice to the office, they don't eat toast bread and the like

33. My mum will be 70 on Saturday. We are over excited in my house. Will send in party pics, abeg Stella.

Oluyomi Odukoya

34. My husband is actually a control freak. Even though he denies it, he wants me to be fully dependant on him. He would rather I work under him so that he can pay me a paltry sum that won't amount to much. Was working in the banking sector way before we met. He doesn't even like me talking about my banking days. he has such a strong hold over. The only way out would be moving back to lagos but that is not an option because I have little ones. And I am also a coward. You know, "fear of the unknown. Any bad decision could land me in a bigger mess.

35. Can't believe it that a yoruba man can tell his wife not to work

36. Pls what's stella's email address

37. If he asked your parents to stop working then he should stop being immature and stop insulting you..... On the other hand go and visit your parents and tell them how their actions is making ur hubby disrespect u..... They should never ask for anything from him other than what he gives them. That will earn u ur respect...... U dnt need millions to start a biz....do something no matter how small

38. There are different types of men.Some get validation from being the alpha and omega in their wives lives,providing all her needs , desires and wants while others believe I am only here to be met half way by my woman. Most Yoruba men do not believe in fending a hundred percent ,.in this case PLEASE and PLEASE talk to ur parents say ur husband is not finding this easy or funny they must cut their coat according to their size pending and even after when you find your feet. Also siit your hubby down and explain to him dat you were once financially active but due to the relocation for his career you have now become redundant, that it is not your desire to be catered to hand and foot.....that you need to do something. Don't address the words he says during arguments deal with dat on your knees. Begin to pray and fast that a door opens somehow that even your stone hearted husband will make decisions unknowingly that will advance you. Then finally Madam an only you Waka o ......stop dulling yourself with depression and anything u call it u need to brace up now. Wallowing in self pity is a long thing. U r. Not alone in this .

39. I am confused - You hate staying at home so you wanna start a business.....erhmm...why is 'who owns the business' a problem??...shouldn't your concern be bout actually doing something??....you haven't even started the business and you are already having a problem with who should/shouldn't be in charge.....hmmmm...your post sounded like you were having troubles buh I see now you don't...you just want things a certain way.....anyhoo...I am under the impression, he is your husband...soo whoever owns the business doesn't matter...if you are really depressed and need to do something meaningful then you won't be bothered bout all that nonsense...

1. This erniesha you are an irritant and don't think before u type.... Go back and read her post then u will know the hubby is a control freak.... How can somebody want a business yet has no say in the planning? It's women like u who think marriage is alpha and omega.... She has genuine concerns and I know men who take care of wife, their families and establish business for them yet don't lord it over them.... So this man hasn't done anything big yet.....go back and read her post again before u come back and accuse her of fighting for position..... Big mouth I too know

40. My dear, allow him to dominate the business as he obviously wants, after a while when he sees you are up to the task, he will gain new respect for you and start withdrawing until he steps out completely. Meanwhile I think he LOVES control therefore even when you are now in control keep acting like he is in charge...seek his opinion, ask for advice, keep him involved. There must be compromise in every relationship; your hubby is still better than many out there. Since no one is perfect, there must be some nonsense every woman who wants a happy home must be ready to endure...a wise woman builds her home...be blessed.

41. Peeps here are just too judgemental! Her English isn't so bad. Cut her some slack. If u have no advice for her, just move on. Live and let's biko! Mz bee

42. Peeps here are just too judgemental! Her English isn't so bad. Cut her some slack. If u have no advice for her, just move on. Live and let's biko! Mz bee

43. Lady please go get a loan and start something. The truth is that is house disrespect enters a home when a woman is not contributing. As much as my husband can insult me..he has a limit because me too i am supporting the home financially (strongly sef). Please talk to your parents, they will understand.Summon up some thick flesh and ask him for a big sum of money for your parents and use in starting something small for your parents so they can stop embarassing you. Ofcourse insults will flow after that request..but thick skin is the answer my dear

44. By the way, Mrs chu chu or whatever you call yourself, please don't comment if you don't have something constructive to say. If you should use the fine tooth pick you used in picking apart this write up on your own comment you will find out you are more in need of this dictionary. You should be sensible enough to realize what typological error means. Oniranu, Anuofia.

45. Ur husband don see u finish.
    U need a miracle.
    When and how did it get this bad??
    My hubby respects my mum and he gives her everything,he practically set my family up despite my shortcomings and he has never insulted,abused nor made me feel inadequate.
    @ poster,am sure u must ve been blabbing about ur family to ur husband hence d see finish.
    There is no problem without solution,u know ur husband more than us,look for his weak points and exploit it ie does he like gossip?food?liquor?sex?anything at all then try and be submissive and attentive before u know it he will give u d money and pls talk less.

1. Her husband don see her finish hence the disrespect.

2. You are too wise. Poster should listen to this advice.
      Spot on on the fact that she must have been saying a lot of negative things about her family to DH.

46. Try to talk to you husband about it and pray. I'm finding way to stop my parent for sending monthly allowance am married over 30 and I have better job. God help me

47. Proverbs 31.

What you can do:
    - Take out a loan. Does not necessarily have to be from a bank. I am sure you can find family members to help. If not, ask your husband for a loan, make him understand you will pay back every penny. That's the only way to win his respect. If he says no, find other means.

NB - if you have daughters, PLEASE for the love of God, teach them a woman must have her own money.

If most women find it hard to respect a man who is not bringing in money or supporting them in any way, why should any man respect a woman who is a liability?

Even as a person, if you have someone you have to give money to constantly, you'll get tired of it.

Do not be discouraged, it may take time and may suffer many insults, but it's possible. If you can't get all the money you need at once, scale back your project and start small.

Lastly, ask/pray for direction. i don't mean this in the pseudo-Nigerian way, because that's what most people say. I mean it seriously. The reason I say this is because you will have setbacks, but the knowledge and conviction that you are on the right track is what will keep you afloat during the dark periods.

Believe me dear, I've been where you are now...

48. Dear poster u are not d only one, my dear single ladies dont ever get married without getting a job except dats wat u want.. am just lucky cos my mum dosent ask hubby for money if not dat wud be another story. While single i was looking for job hubby proposed told him to hold on till i get a job, he convinced abi confused me sef,dat dont worry marriage wont stop u from getting a job. I agreed we got married before i cud say jack robbinson i got pregnant didnt know wat to feel cos my search for job has ended no body will employ a pregnant woman, not minding i still applied but cudnt get any to cut long story short i av accepted my fate. The only annoying thing my sil leaves with us and expects to meet food wen ever she returns from work. It is well......

1. Since you're not working it means its her brother, your husband that provides money for food so what the hell is your problem??

49. Be patient and prayer ful, God will see u thru! Men pls try to be more responsible and stop insulting ur wife's parents simply bcos u are supporting them. They became ur parents when u married her!

50. I feel ur pain dear...i,m in d uk and I just wish I was,nt married...hubby cheats for no reason n it kills me greatly...my child is d only reason I hav,nt gone suicidal cuz I just really failed myself in choosing a life partner..staying home 24/7 sucks badly..i,m just living for my child right now...hopefully by the time i,m 30yrs I would have been able to get out of this housewife disaster.

51. My suppose boo is married wit a kid...thank God we never had sex.hes still telling me he can still marry me....laffin in Spanish its really painful sha..hehehehehehehehe

52. for those dissing the poster for wrong English, i seriously hope you were not in the group who said the answer to the simple bodmas question was 3 or 6 or 9 or 18 cos that would really be shameful.
    Dear poster, you need to be independent, even if you live in a civil service state, the people who live there have their day to day needs. you should start up a small business, an SME will take you a long way if you work hard enough. My mother married a lazy man (my dad)and she decided that her kids were never going to beg for food. she borrowed 5,000 naira from my dad, (which he collected back as soon as he could), started jewelry business and she ended up training 5 of us through school. She is the proud mother of 5 graduates 3 1st class(engrX2 + microbiologist), one medical doctor and a 2-1 economist. it wasn't easy but now, she smiles when she tells her success story. even if its with your allowance, start up a small scale business and pray for God'd guidance.

53. My dear I think you shouldn't let him sideline you in dat biz. Go with him all de way and put in your best to make it a success even if he has high jacked your dream. I promise you if the biz moves he will surely appreciate you by placing you on a salary which you can use and help your parents. Don't let the depression get you cos even those working class wives want to stay home. Dats de irony of life. "Uwa ezu oke"

54. I think it is not a tribal problem but individual , am married to a wonderful man from another tribe and am Yoruba , but it's his parents that is putting all sorts of useless pressure on my husband and their children , parents inheriting their children .while I ask my parents to use their influence to help my husband .
    # Gentle Toyin#

55. Oh mamie d winch, benefitsssss? A whole yellow pawpaw li u? Ur parents are amaka begi begi n u don't allow hard woking pple wt pedigree hear word. In Patience Jonas voice n hand movemt; FearGODoooo

1. No doubt you are a zero constant. You were born for this and will die for this. If her parents begged, they didn't beg from you nor yours, so get lost now before amadioha unleashes his wrath on you now fool!

2. Olodos like u will never read well b4 typing rubbish with ur crooked hands.... She is not on benefit and it's only her mum who loves money? Even tho I hate Mamie had to call u out on this one.....olodo ode buruku

56. What can I say. God is with you

57. I dont think there's any culture that doesnt support a child taking care of his/her parents. I am yoruba and i take care of my parents even though they dont need a dime from me to survive cos both of them are well established but i just think its something i should do "as per beta pikin tinz".....the only problem i see in ur case is that your parents make too much demands from ur hubby. Why did ur hubby stop ur dad from working and now he is complaining about their demands and why did ur dad stop working because someone who is not his biological child told him to do so??? This is one of the reasons i dont support the idea of a woman not working for any reason whatsoever.a yoruba adage says "omo olomo ko le dabi omo eni"....Poster,,the solution is for you to find a means of livelihood so that u and ur parents can be respected by ur hubby.for now,,speak with ur parents to stop making extra demands and manage whatever your hubby gives them and you also get something to do(no matter how little)to support ur parents. You also cant blame ur hubby,,,all the load is on him,,feeding,,clothing,,kids welfare,,and ur parents responsibility too....but that is not enough reason for him to rub it in ur face.

58. U ppl n prayers! Pray pray n pray, abeg God is a busy man. Dere are som tins dat tk common sense.

Madam poster, am a person wu believes in d power of dialogue.
    1st u av to sit ur husband down, n convince him to set u up wit a biz. Tell him its d only way d pressure on him can be relieved.

Anoda tin u must learn is to, cultivate d habit of saving. If u get N500 per day, make a reasonable amount u can put aside witout struggle, say N50 n save, n d day its N100, well fine.

3rdly, how were ur parents faring b4 u got a job, haba! Weekly allowee! Are dey handicapped? Plz u ppl av to teach dem how to fish, stop handing dem the fish.put a rein on dis quick.

1. God bless you for this comment darling.

59. Here the same people that will advice you not to kill urself will be de same people who will advice you to kill urself too,,
    so advice urself good,
    yesterday advice was to marry a rich man forgetting dat de rich people always crying in silents,carry ur crose,
    these wat happen wen u married money,an idiot will say her grandpaa english pass her own grammar

60. If you went to school please go and look for a civil service job in your civil servant stare. Earn something no matter how little and earn your self some respect.
    Even if you can afford salt in your kitchen at least he perceives your hardwork.

61. @ Blog Visitors: There's no need to insult poster's parents here. Address her problem if you will, but don't rub it in.
    @ Poster: Like Anon 5:40 said, it is prolly a cultural thing. You sound young and made no mention of any kids which in this case gives you flexibility to go out and do something with yourself. I'd say you find something to do. Stand your ground, get a job or something. Civil service town or not, there are always options. Look for them. How you stand your ground depends on how your husband is. You should know what approach will work with him. But start doing something. Start earning, even if it's small. Make him respect you. A man who is insulting your family does not respect you. Push yourself, whether it's in business or a job or a trade you learn. Be a strong woman and do not let your life revolve around your husband. Have a life. Find it within yourself to be happy. Your parents are who they are. We didn't choose our parents and sometimes they don't fit our ideal but we're stuck with them. Considering that they're old and retired and you're an only child, your husband will have to get used to the fact that they're now your responsibility. It is what it is. But earn his respect. By all means do not be a pushover or a doormat. I wish you well.

62. Hmmm
    Na wa oh
    Things women go through in marriage!
    Poster advise your parents to adjust themseleves and behave!
    Try and start something even if its small cos that is the only way to gain your respect back from your husband!
    The day i become a housewife with no source of income and solely depend on my husband for everything is the beginning of the end of my marriage!

63. wow! its really not easy being a full time house wife. much as it is a job of its own (clean the house, go shopping for home essentials, cook, do laundry, iron, take care of the kids, bla bla) it could still be saddening and depressing.

when the kids are in school and hubby is off to work, you could just get so depressed.

i've been in that shoe before. when I newly got married. though I was preg then for my first child but mehnn...I am usually very hyper, up and about so the stay home thing wasn't for me at all. depression set in, I became quarrelsome and all of that
    I decided I wouldn't be in that shoe for long cos I was really becoming a nag and an angry soul.

My hubby is a very kind man and strives to provide my every need but i just wanted to spend my own money not ask him for money for every damn thing nor even asking my parents. i felt it was my turn to buy my folks stuff even if they could afford it themselves but at least...

oh well...am talking too much now...thank God i am now a working class woman, a mum and a wife.

Dear poster, pls try to raise some cash no matter how small and start up a biz. Even if its to order stuffs online like aliexpress. they have nice jewelleries/accessories amongst other stuffs like bags, wristwatches etc...all for less prices and some items are free shipping. u could add a little profit to your item and start making gains. sell to ur bb contacts/friends. when you drop the kids in school, proceed to make deliveries.
    A little drop of water makes a mighty ocean.

I wish you well

1. There is nothing like stuffs ugggh.

64. What's your educational qualification? You can work on getting a degree (either first or post graduate). I'm sure your hubby will be more than willing to support you in that quest. That way, you'll be occupied and less depressed. you'll also increase your chances of getting a job since you're not in support of having a business controlled by him.
    All the best

65. Thanks Anon 5:40pm..I love ur realistic non-sentimental comment..ori è wànbé

OLUWÆßÖßßÝ

66. Smtcheeeeeewwww!!! U beta go nd look 4 sometin to do!!bt all these useless broke ass yoruba men sef...na wa!!..like I pity any girl wey go marry bitchplis...na dis kind character hin get!!...................OKIJA® WIFE

67. Nawa o! I can't thank God enough for my soul mate. Okay, my 10th year in marriage, was working in one state as a spinter, I got married had to resign n joined my man. Frm 2004 till date I ve never worked nor did any kind of biz yet my hubby takes every single responsibility in our home n still respects n adores me. Infact he can't do anything wtout carrying me along. What am I saying? If u see me u think I work in an oil company. I ve got 3kids my hubby takes care of us like dias no tomo. Not that I'm so pretty oh nor that I come from a rich background, HELL NO! Well, my dad is late bt mum doesn't disturb atall. He gives my mum Woreva occasionally maybe Xmas gifts, mothers day etc though I give my mum money frm my savings u knw.. He changes my car like anytime I ve a baby, he buys my cars on my name, He hasn't bot a toks car for me buh he drives a tokunbo oh yes! He said I'm meant to be a mirror of him u knw wot he means? Hehe. God I tnk u 4 ds humble, gentle, loving guy u blessed me with. Mke some pple no come decode me here oohh. Meanwhile, he has already bought our tickets for this summer. No brags folks, Ayam blessed. God loves me sooo much.

1. I pray it continues jo. Also continue taking care of him. I work but there is nothing wrong with a SAHM.

2. Madam, pls get over yourself.

3. Not to sound pessimistic but my sis in law was in d exact same position as u,flying 1st class(no be business class oh) but guess what?like that GTB advert,her husband died!Nne,that was an act of God.Get off ur comfy chair and do something.
      My own parents too were living this life but guess what?my father lost his job but cos my mama no lazy,we still went to school but of course NO holidays again......#my2kobo

4. Lazy Madam, later you' ll come and be screaming women liberation. Stella please note this woman o.
      Seriously though, please start a business while the hay shines. I will never wish you ill luck but no one knows tomorrow. If you allow yourself to be pampered so much by your husband how can you stand firmly for your kids if something happens God forbid.
      We live in a world filled with uncertainties, I have learned to never live life as it comes but rather plan for what ifs.
      I'm just saying..... it's non of my business.
      By the way keep on enjoying I'm sure you deserve it.

68. I'm a stay at home mom myself and I know how difficult it can be with only one income coming into the family, especially for those of us living in the diaspora. We've got all these crazy bills to pay : electricity, gas, car note, car insurance, health insurance, mortgage... e.t.c , it's really nerve-racking. Without delay I want to tell these moms they can do something different,like working from the comfort of their homes and being in charge. Two months ago i was introduced into the Travel Agent business and i'm happy to say that as of today, i'm a Certified Travel Agent working from the comfort of my home and i'm loving it. We definitely know family or friends who love to travel, so here is an oppurtunity for you to join in the business. I will leave my contact info with Stella just incase anyone is interested in joining. And yes, our company is worldwide. Thanks!

1. Hi, I am interested, pls drop your contact info with Stella. Phgurl

69. sorry, "stuff"
    Is that why you are 'ughhhh-ing'?
    lol.

70. Can't stop laughing @ 'ekpa'

Can I be the dictionary?

Ekpa = Mumu.

This blog ehnnn? lmao

71. I thank everyone that took out the time to comment on my post. Some of the advice are priceless while some are.......hmmmmmmmn. Anyway for those that want to know my qualification, I am a graduate, and I was in the financial sector for four years before crossing over to a pr/marketing firm where my job designation is "creative writer" for their marketing magazine. I was one of their best. It is worthy of note that when there is an outpouring of emotions when writing, tenses are the least of one's concern. Be that as it may, some of the errors are not of my making. An example is the part I where I said my temperament is melancholy. Unfortunately, through no fault of mine it came out as "temper". Once again I thank everyone for their contributions. It was quite an eye opener. Stay blessed.

1. Our point is start something, if your husband wants to open the business in his name start as long as it is a job, put all your effort in it, generate income for the family business.
      Secondly, get a civil service job if you are not interested in the later, bottom line dear start something/ do something cause it might be see finish and frustration on your husband's part. Besides we are all human.
      You can't kill the poor man with all your family problems and not contribute a dime. Your husband might have promised to look after your parents if they stopped working but do you know his financial struggles now.
      Sometimes I think we know the answer to our problem within us but we just need some sort of validation.
      Be strong and forge ahead.

72. Bimpe May God Bless u with Children that will yimu u in your old age!!
    smh....what kind of a child turns out d way u did??*shudders*you don't send ur parents that brought you up?its really sad...oh well life aint fair...am sure your parents are wondering why they were cursed with such a child as you!

Dear Poster pls find something to do,you can do all with Christ in you..even if its that business he wants to control @least you have where to go and a lil source of income...May God lead nd bless you dearie,pls stay strong.

1. Shut your stupid mouth.... Yimu ko yimu ni.... Did u read where she said they did not take of her? While I agree bimpe is bitter parents should not think they will treat kids anyhow and get love in old age.... U reap what u sow..... If u show love to ur kids even if u are poor they will appreciate it.....her parents cursed themselves with their attitude so shut your mouth there...

73. Go through dat hell my dear just encourage urself dat some are worse dan urs....talk to ur parents and open a small bizness for them....let them know de truth.God will see u through just act like a fool.

74. I got married in 1998 (I was 18 years old). My marriage is arranged marriage. My husband starts cheating on me 2003. I was very upset of course I had a big fight and he promises me that he will never do that again. I took his words and stayed with him. Then I found about his sex affairs in 2010. He never stopped. By 2010 I had 3 children with him. I demanded divorce. Of course another fight. I involved his family and my family they said to me all the men’s do that. He will stop and since I have 2 daughters it would be better if I stay with him. During those years our relationship sucks. We were at point where I will crave for sex and if I ask him he will insult me and he won’t do it. I start thinking about other men’s. I got at the point where all I want to have is sex. Thanks Allah I did not commit any sin. In late 2010 we started consoling. Consoling helps our relationship.Now he will still not come to me but if I ask he won’t insult me anymore and that was once in a month if I get lucky twice a month. A month ago I found out he has been with other women’s and he never stopped cheating on me. My oldest one is 7 years old and my middle daughter is 5 and my son is 3.I don’t know what to do. His family and my family is saying the same thing again that one day he will stop. I should be more pation with him. Since I have 3 kids and I am 30 years old no one will marry me.If I leave him and find other men I will bring a shame to my family and will ruin my children’s life. and one of my friend also advise me to use spell on him long time ago wish i refused before, when i saw that thing is getting bad every day, so i want to search for spell casters online i found a lot of wonderful things DR,Airiohuodion is doing for people out there having different kinds of problem so i explain all my problem to him and he help me out to bring back my husband out of his problem, right now will are together even more than before we started. if you also heed his help contact him direct at: airiohuodiontemple@gmail.com thank you once again DR.Airiohuodion

75. if children are the one keeping you at home, why not find a nursery for them and go back to work? This will stop your husband running his mouth while you're in the best position to financially care for your parents.

76. Na wa ooo if my husband say make I nor work. I will be very happy watchin telemundo evry day

77. Na wa ooo if my husband say make I nor work. I will be very happy watchin telemundo evry day

78. Anon July 2 12:51pm.....Ur babalawo should also help u cure ur "bad English" syndrome. mens and womens ko,,,boyses and girlses ni....mtcheeeewww.

79. Anon July 2 12:51pm.....Ur babalawo should also help u cure ur "bad English" syndrome. mens and womens ko,,,boyses and girlses ni....mtcheeeewww.

80. Chikito a.k.a Final Say4 July 2014 at 19:02

@Linda Eze Queen of SDK blog- gosh!! *claps hands* your 1st comment is da bomb. you have given d best advice.

@Ezewanyi- Correct man u get oh! I tap d anointing iJna.

To add, I am the kind of woman who would run mad if I am to sit at home. dear future husband, just always let me do something.

Poster, please wisen up! my mother was a good quiet house wife and my family sufferd a lot for it. hmmm, I cant sit idel. I will fight for my right till d end. No one should insult Bimpe. you don't know her story. some things hurt deeper than u know. let's ask first before judging her.

@Bimpe- forgive and forget. our parents make mistakes they regret too. pls pick their call and be a better parent for ur kids. it is well.