Friday, July 04, 2014

Sally Mbanefo,DG NTDC Allegedly Fights In Brazil Over Allegation Of Fraud

Sally Mbanefo

'The Director General of the Nigeria Tourism Development Commission (NTDC) Mrs. Sally Uwechue-Mbanefo may be doing everything possible to cover up an alleged fraud in her participation in the ongoing Brazil 2014 World Cup after a failed attempt to chew up a piece of incriminating document in a Brazilian hotel on June 18,2014.

She has asked for a meeting with President Goodluck Jonathan to explain her role in the alleged fraud that is threatening her credibility,.

Mbanefo was alleged to have diverted an undisclosed amount of money meant for the sponsorship of a proposed Nigerian Fan’s village in Brazil, after which she asked for the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between her and Za Entertainment, the contractor for the project; tore it and began to chew the paper. 

Her attempt to chew and swallow the MOU led to a physical altercation between her and President of Za Entertainment, Mr. Azania Omo-Agege who held her tightly forcing the papers out of her mouth.

The NTDC in conjunction with the National Sports Commission and Nigeria Olympics committee had planned a tourism village also known as Fan’s village in Sao Paulo Brazil to last the duration of the World Cup, in order to showcase Nigeria’s rich culture, tourism assets, entertainment, cuisine and investment opportunities, as well as, where fans could unwind and have fun.

'A reliable source who spoke to The Nigerian Times disclosed that Mbanefo, who was initially not interested in the project, took it over after she discovered that the efforts of the project committee and the contractors were already yielding financial results.

The source said: “The project committee sent letters to state governments, sister agencies and banks, soliciting sponsorship and partnership since the DG made it clear that the NTDC will not fund or take responsibility for the project.

“A mandate letter signed by the DG was given to Mr. Rufai Ladipo, the CEO of Agile Marketing Company who went around with the brochure, marketing the project and seeking funds.

“After some banks have indicated their support for the project, the DG then changed the receiving bank account from that of the contractors to NTDC account and immediately cancelled the marketer’s contract.

“She then picked about three journalists, her daughter and Omo-Agege, without any member of the NTDC project committee and went to Brazil.

“In Brazil, Omo-Agege took her to the project site which he had committed to paying for, but the DG refused giving him any money but opted to rent a hotel room which she decorated as a fan’s village.

“When Omo-Agege confronted her about the issue, she requested to see the MOU of the contract,which she collected, tore and attempted to chew the paper but Omo-Agege grabbed, twisted her hand and retrieved the part of the paper that has her signature.

“Omo-Agege is now in trouble in Brazil for his inability to make payment for his commitments there.”

'The Nigerian Times contacted Mr. Azania Omo-Agege, President of Za Entertainment who was contracted by the NTDC to build and operate the ill-fated fan’s village in Brazil and he corroborated our source.

He said: “The situation is that I came into partnership with the NTDC board to build the Fan’s village in which we went around looking for funds, as I was told that the funds will have to come from the private sector.

“The monies were remitted into NTDC account and I went to Brazil to secure the venues and hotel accommodations.

“Sally Mbanefo, all of a sudden cancelled all the plans that we had and went ahead to do a sham Nigerian football fans village in a hotel room in Brazil.

“When we got there, we had serious arguments and I told her it was a breach of agreement and she insisted on doing a fans village for one or two days. I told her she cannot do a fan’s village for one or two days as it was not what we had sent out to the organizations funding the project.

“Za entertainment will have nothing to do with a sham fan’s village in a hotel room.

“I didn’t have money to do anything in Brazil as planned as all the money was supposed to come from NTDC.”

'When asked to confirm the alleged confrontation between him and the DG, he said: “We had an altercation in Brazil. When we were at the reception of the hotel, she asked me for my copy of the MOU of the project that we signed and I went upstairs to my hotel room and I brought it to her.

“There were five persons present at the reception with us: the labour leader from NTDC, a journalist form The Nation Newspaper, Omolola from Thisday Newspaper and another lady from NTA.

“Immediately she got hold of the MOU, she tore it into pieces and began to chew it; I then grabbed her and took the remaining pieces from her asking why she was doing that?

“Till today, she has not given me an answer to that.”
He added that the budget for the project was between 40million and 50million Naira.

“Brazil is packed with Nigerian fans and it is just a shame what NTDC has done, she stooped so low to do this.

“I heard from the grapevine that some banks paid some money to her but I can’t confirm that. What I can say is that we spoke to banks like Zenith bank and they promised to partner with us on the project. If there was no money at all, all she could have done was to cancel the event from here but she didn’t do that.

“I was under the impression that there was money, because I insisted that if there was no money given to me, I wouldn’t go to Brazil, but she prevailed on me that she would make the money available when we got to Brazil,” he said.

Mr Rufai Ladipo of Agile Marketing Company who was given the contract to market the project and raise funds for it stated his part of the story to The Nigerian Times.

He said: “Two weeks to the tournament, we had an MOU that includes how much we were going to be paid and I went around seeking for funds for the project.

“From information available to me, about four banks may have paid money to her and we have not seen anything and the failure of the fan’s village project should be blamed on the NTDC.
“We did everything possible to help them but unfortunately it has ended the way it did

“The brochure provided that all payments be made to either our own account or Omo-Agege’s account but that was not done. I also understand that some banks gave them money and the people at the NTDC should be able to account for that.”

When The Nigerian Times called to speak with the NTDC boss, her aide promised that she would call back as she was in a meeting, but instead her lawyer who identified himself as Barrister Mark Ibrahim called to say he had been asked to speak on her behalf.

He said: “The NTDC entered into an agreement with one Mr. Azania Omo-Agege the President of Za entertainment and the agreement provides that Omo-Agege who is the initiator shall source the funds and drive same and shall also construct the village and maintain same for the entire duration of the world cup.

“Her contention is that these two things were not done by them; there was no village built as contracted, instead of that, Omo-agege was now asking for more money after he had already been given $10,000 before leaving Nigeria.

“He was not ready to fulfill his own part of the agreement but the DG had to use one of the rooms in the hotel in which she stayed as a mini fan’s village in order not to disappoint Nigerians.

“According to her the man was supposed to raise funds for all that but refused to do so.”

The lawyer denied any altercation between the DG and the contractor claiming her kind of person would not do such. He however accused Omo-Agege of threatening his client in Brazil.'

*Wow,I am so sure a lot of money is involved,The EFCC should be called into this matter ASAP.he was given 10kUSD to go to Brasil and start preparations?very funny!
Since the village was not built and Nigeria is out of the competition,they should please return the monies to the contributing Banks. EOD

86 comments:

1. na dis fine woman dey chew paper??? Wonders shal neva end o!

Blue IvY

1. This woman is a criminal! Haayyyy chew paper? This is the kind of person that would swallow her phone just to cover her tracks. Wawuuu O_o

2. Ђåª•Ñ’媕ђåª♒ ...‎​.....was wonderin too.Money can make people do things.
      We are hearing this whole story coz the money wasn't shared evenly among them.EFCC oya ohhhh!

3. Miss Jacksy just shut up.

4. See fine woman wey dey chop paper to cover tracks,na wa o. Ds woman go be one kain pro for cheating during her school days. Smh!
      Naija,which way?

5. Ma dear. I tire for the matter...all i see is a beautiful woman, why do such? Maybe that's what freshens her...lol. EFCC over to una.

6. As in ehnn....see her fine face buh ugly heart. I feel like slapping her from here. Nonesense!!!!

7. Ehhhh I knew it. If I give u this woman's gist ehn. Hmmmmm!!! Stella will not post it and I can't waste my energy and battery. Lol

8. Stupid idiot go and slap your ugly mother.... We have not heard from two sides and u all are already vomiting rubbish.. When they say her side una go change mouth.....loud mouthed idiots

9. She looks like someone with mental problem in this pic. Something is funny about her. Bone the fine look, the lady is crazy. This get act proves it. She should be jailed

10. Corruption everywhere.. Chewing paper to cover up..she looks so innocent... May d law catch u

Rev. Father Charges To Court Over 1,555 Pornography Images found in His Bedroom..Click to View

11. Lwkmd@2:37...true!!!!
      Sisi...oya..spill..ooooooo!!!!!

12. We are waiting Sisi Eko,abeg spill . No worry for Aunty Stella,she go post am because Aunty Stella no dey support bad thing..

13. D woman side of story go full wit lies so no nid... D truth is al azania said. Believe me pipol

2. Please, let them give part of the money to Kelechi for her treatment. May God bless them and their hustle. Rose

3. The love of money!!...that's why someone is eating paper like a goat...hahahahahah...Smh...

1. Just like ur brother eh... pple can actually do anything 4 money.

2. Dear anony, could you give Linda a break?...whatever her brother does is none of your business!
      First it was the issue of her husband, and it was soooo over flogged, now its her brother. Why don't you come out of your faceless and nameless shell....I'm pretty sure you won't be able to bear the heat from linda na......cyber bullying doesn't pay biko...and if u want 2 beg her for money, pls be plain about it, maybe she will approve her brother giving you some......

3. @ Anon 7:59 ezigbote ala na ayi gi! Otolo na enwero nne na nna gbapiakwaaaa gi ike there! Anuofia! You are waiting for Linda's brother to give you money, onye oshiiiiii! Na u and him make the money??? How come you want to reap where u did not sow??? Come out from your faceless anonymous and say ur mind! Amadioha piagbukwaaaaa gi there! Shame on you! Ezi ofia!

4. I wonder o! Over-sabi tinz! Do we know your own family ish? Mschewww!
      And to the bad belly relative who spilled out;Go and work for your own money!

5. Kaydybia shut up, her brother is a drug pusher so she shldnt be quick to insult others..... Linda the time u use here take it and go back to school.....

6. get lost kadybia5 July 2014 at 00:47

Shut up your smelling infected mouth Kadybia aka defender of d universe.
      I hate to know that you all lick linda eze's arse that's why she deteriorates by day instead of getting better. Who are you to throw blow at the anonymous? Okay, now i get. Suddenly you have become kehinde whose network only show on sex matters. You don't see your goddess using a 5man rape to insult CeeCee and other bv? No, your network gets bad, but suddenly the network returned when someone insulted your madam?oloshi, you must be sick in the head. Keep seeking favour, but let me tell you, you will get not even ten kobo from this slave called wife incase that's your intention of fueling your last breathe here idiot.

7. And who is this barking dog? As far as i am concerned, you have said nothing so get lost kadybia or kasuya whichever it is i don't give a fuck about it. All lesbian association

8. ROTFL @anon 7:59 u don kolo ooo...haba! Why did u mention Linda's brother's name?

4. Lol @ chews the MOU.This Suarez bug is spreading real fast .The power of money oh puleeeeze after a lil noise the whole drama will die down as usual then the thieving continues.what a country

5. I ve been seeing dis woman's face lately and it reminds me of a masquerade in my place called first lady. Is dis how her face is?

Back to d matter, we all suspected foul play @Brazil. Thank God skeletons are beginning to ''usain bolt'' out of closets.
    Dis money we are sharing dia ris Godu ooooo
    Haney

1. Bloody stupid jealous liar..... She is finer than the ugly twats in your family....lying idiot

6. Pls lovely pple, off-topic question... What do I eat or do to increase my butt and hip size? Pls don't say dick or squats.. Iv tried dem,e nede work 4 me. Thanks.

1. Go n buy atificial bombom/hips in d market, #1500

2. Lmaoo!!!!!
      Sdk your Bvs are just hilarious...lemme wait for the experts..hehehe

3. @ dnt hate i have tried artificial bum but it doesn't feel natural. Pls any blog visitor with d secret?

4. U tried dicks??? How many??? Rotflmao! All bcos of bum??? Wetin i no go hear for this blog.

5. @anon 7:54pm aka Uyi,all u need's a big cock in ur ass I told u b4

6. Try taking maca root supplements. It works WONDERS. I grew one inch in less than a week. I tried BOTCHO but I'm not sure it's working.

7. Oh oh, lol @ her attempt to chew up incriminating papers; reminds me of what students do when caught cheating.

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

8. Pls who use uses airtel wit an android, how do I recharge 4 1month? Thank u

1. *440*16#
      Amount 1500
      Data 1.5gig
      :)

2. For those that know, please I use etisalat, how can I recharge for 1 month on Android phone?

9. Ediye ino! Saiiiiii!

10. SHAMEFUL ND DISGUSTING WILL NIGERIA EVER COME OUT OF THIS DEEP HOLE CALLED CORRUPTON..TUFIA

1. Shut up, stop screaming.

11. She go don sabi am from her school days... madam expo

1. Lmaooo @sabi am frm her school days

*sweetness*

2. Boring comment again? Sweetness get a life, urrrrgggghhhh.

12. I need ro hear her own side of the story i beg. This is unbeliveable

13. Hehehe @ swallow a phone 2 cover...
    which means her kind can as well
    swallow a car to cover up an accident lol

Chai, fine chica eating paper.
    She's lucky i wasnt there, I would ve 1st of all used dos
    papers 2 clean my azz b4 handing them back to her...shey she don turn grass eating cow

14. Fine woman like this dey chew paper to cover track!lol

15. May be that's how she got her cert that took her to that position. She's just exhibiting what she knows how to do best.

16. See her face like ojuju!! Dis women of dis day self all in d name of money an power hissing where she come 4rm self

17. Hmmmmmm… Thief's every where.

18. Hmmmmmmm. God continue to disgrace all this corrupt people in Jona's cabinet . Mr president has call it stealing not corruption so continue but remember there is GODOOOO.

19. And why did sally decide to be a mobile flag?Stella,call her!

20. Am I the only one that thinks her face is weird??? Why is her colour like this. Wateverrr. Madam settle well na. E get pple wen u never settle. I trust 9ja sha. Settle and get your peace nd reputation back. Before you end up like ibori. Oya sharp sharp. Dey form strong boss. Those your fush eyes go soon clear. .. kachifo!!

1. You must be a dunce? Go check the meaning of weird before u use it.... She is half caste and a pretty one...... Before any fool come here to say am I saying so cos she is half caste? No

21. This woman again. She was a while back accused of stealing her ministry's funds shortly after she came in. Truly, this is what you get when you choose people that knows nothing about the job.

22. Beautiful madam, pourquoi?

23. The same goats here abusing her will come back and side her when they hear her side of the story...... Loudmouths always quick to judge when they don't have all the facts..... Don't believe the story, desperate people can lie about anything

24. She Is a lawyer with about 3 siblings who are lawyers, the father is a Senior Advocate (SAN) so bring ur case.

1. And so? So lawyers can't be prosecuted? Mcheeeew

25. She Is a lawyer with about 3 siblings who are lawyers, the father is a Senior Advocate (SAN) so bring ur case.

26. She Is a lawyer with about 3 siblings who are lawyers, the father is a Senior Advocate (SAN) so bring ur case.

27. typical of sally, i know her very well, worked with her, she gets anything she wants, a snake, very religious woman, a strong catholic, but very sly and cunning, almost destroyed keystone bank with her devilish ambitions,a sacker of MD's.
    fear sally o, shes a real snake... nothing will come out of this case, she will fuck her way out......

28. A driver once told me that he saw sanusi dressed in pinjamas in this womans house in ikoyi (then she was an ED in keystone bank). shes that connected....

1. Lol bros no be pinjamas o na pyjamas

2. It's pajamas and not 'pyjamas'anon correcter!

3. Diamondkay, the stupid ignoramus, it can be spelt both ways!!

29. This is a sad attempt to rubbish this woman's image, really sad.
    This is all lies,people have been trying to frustrate this lady out of work so they can get her post because she is not in the business of sharing money.
    Nigerians will not appreciate what is good,,it's only lies that we believe. We really need to think before we start believing and writing rubbish

30. We women are our worst enemies, this poor lady is trying her best for nigerian tourism all she gets is criticism, na wa oh I went to NTDC office in Abuja, it is such a welcoming place , a billion times better than what it was when runsewe was there! she has done a lot in my opinion

31. Please let's hear her side of the story before we start judging

32. I don't usually follow the comment thread on most of these gossip blogs,
    but this is ridiculous. At what point do you as an adult decide that a story does not make sense and move on? I understand a lot of people will not like her, yes she is a beautiful lady, who was blessed with brains and a lot more. All this propaganda boils down to the fact that she is not into collecting bribe or letting people around her misuse public funds, Fools are so quick to jump to conclusion. has any one taken a moment to see what she has achieved as NTDC boss. We are all talking about NTDC because she has made people aware of this govt. agency. There will always be people who will see her and dislike her for attributes she has been blessed with, it is just human nature for small minds to be jealous and envious. If she is that bad how is it that none of the stories that have been told have ever amounted to anything? they just fizzle out, and every one moves on till the next story appears. I am finding out that in Nigeria, if you are not conforming to the norm of chopping money and sharing, you are the bad guy!!
    Before you post any more vile comments, please take a look at some of the work she has done for NTDC both at home and abroad within the short time she has been on the job.

33. To the anonymous comment about Sanusi, may I ask what is Pinjamas?
    This is what you get when you listen to gossip from a driver. Who are you the Janitor?

1. Biko banya na motor rapu ihe fa deh na motor. See this one! You no know say na drivers and domestic staff dem dey know the real gist and character of the high and mighty? Who else would he/she go to for juicy, true gossip? The kids?

Please do not attempt to mount a high horse to speak to a 'janitor'. Your intellect clearly ingloriously disallows you and proudly shows you off as one of the new-gotten rich, much hateful of blue collar jobs BECAUSE they remind you of where you/your family member (s) once was; you are so ashamed of that reminder so you are quick to insulting people with it. That is your palaver.

There is no shame in being a janitor; don't make it sound lepros. It is persons ignorant as you who have contributed to eroding the dignity in that level of labour in Nigeria. This has in turn fuelled the clamour for quick cash because naturally, no one - if he/she can help it - wants to hold a job which places him/her in a position where characters like you would feel good and better at the expense of his/her dignity.

34. Sally biggest kpom in town. Edem Duke's fuck. That anon is right. Snake

35. diamondkay really?
    check yourself before you check someone else!!!

36. diamondkay really?

37. diamondkay really?

38. If sally must succeed she has to get rid of the consultant she employed ; (ola wright) A woman that uses the official car while the Zonal cordinator is left to take public transport
    A consultant that threatens to sack staff , drivers and witch hunt with queries and pulls down anyone dat blocks her way
    A consultant that approves all administrative work( everything must pass through her)
    A consultant that her team can't even work with.. sally sally your problem is ola.

39. You cannot just blame Ola Wright who is based in London. Sally Mbanefo should collect the amount used to build a non existent village or resign. Why has the EFCC and Buhari not gone after her. Return the money in order to keep your job. Simple! She is not clean until she can wash her hands out of this... Ole!!!

I saw her on TV recently; has everything been swept under the carpet? How can a person who studied Law turn to an embezzler in a jiffy? She is now addressed as Dr... Probably honoris causa. For doing what?