Last month,President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan penned an article for The Washington Post on the missing Chibok girls titled ''Nothing is more important than bringing home Nigeria’s missing girls''
His article got a response where he was mocked and the Presidential spokesperson Reuben Abati has replied the editor of the Washington post defending his boss without mincing words.
7th July, 2014
Washington Post: My Letter to the Editor
“Nigeria is aggressively confronting the Boko Haram threat” in response to Karen Attiah’s misinformed July 3 op-ed, “#BringBackMyEasyDays,”.
Washington Post: My Letter to the Editor
“Nigeria is aggressively confronting the Boko Haram threat” in response to Karen Attiah’s misinformed July 3 op-ed, “#BringBackMyEasyDays,”.
Excerpts: “The claim that the president has a “do-nothing” attitude toward rescuing the girls is no different than what was written about President Obama’s decision not to disclose his efforts to seize and arrest the alleged ringleader of the 2012 terrorist attacks in Benghazi, Libya, that killed four Americans — until he did just that.
Mr. Jonathan won’t put the lives of these girls at risk by publicly revealing details of the recovery operation for the sake of satisfying his critics.
Despite Ms. Attiah’s claims to the contrary, even before the abductions, the president was engaged in international intelligence-sharing involving West Africa, Europe and the United States, and he had also launched the Counter-Terrorism Centre in Nigeria.
He has been working intensely on the very challenging situation posed by Boko Haram since assuming office, includingdeclaring a state of emergency in May 2013 in the three most affected northern states.”
Reuben Abati, Abuja, Nigeria
WASHINGTON POST ARTICLE MOCKING PRESIDENT JONATHAN
''Last month, The Post published an op-ed by Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan answering criticism of his response to the kidnapping of hundreds of schoolgirls by the group Boko Haram. This is what he should have written.
I have remained quiet about Nigeria’s continuing efforts to find the girls kidnapped in April from the northern town of Chibok, because, honestly, I hoped the world would ignore it as just another “African tragedy.” But the attention brought by #BringBackOurGirls forced my administration to abandon its usual do-nothing strategy. I admit that for weeks, the Nigerian military was nowhere to be seen in Chibok and aggrieved parents had to resort to venturing into the jungle on foot to search for their children. But I assure everyone, we are doing our best.
I am speaking out now because national elections are in less than a year and my Washington PR firm needs to earn the reported $1.2 million I am paying it to reverse the criticism that has overshadowed all my good intentions.
Nigeria's President Goodluck Jonathan speaks during the ground
breaking ceremony of the Centenary City project in Abuja June 24, 2014. (Afolabi Sotunde/Reuters)
I wish to assure Nigerians and the international community that, even though my military officially wrapped up its investigation into the kidnappings, without locating the girls, we are sparing no resources. We will keep the findings of the investigations secret, since my good-faith assurances are enough.
My heart aches for the missing children and their families. In fact, my heartache was so painful that I canceled plans to visit Chibok. Instead, I eased my pain by flying to Paris for a national security summit. My first lady, Patience Jonathan, shares in my grief for the families affected by the tragedy. She was so troubled by the agitation of protesters demanding their girls back that she told them to stop their actions and allegedly ordered the police to detain several protest leaders.
While terrorism knows no borders, and security threats rage on across West Africa, Nigeria has long been reluctant to accept counterterrorism assistance from the United States and other partners. Nothing is more important than stopping the machinations of Boko Haram, except maybe my desire to keep up appearances and show the international community that Nigeria was winning the war against the group. I know that I have characterized Boko Haram as a temporary scourge, but in the wake of the latest attacks and kidnappings of more women just this week, I recognize that it has effectively exploited the inability of the Nigerian military to put up any semblance of a sustained coordinated response. But in spite of all the challenges, we are definitely doing our best.
Despite Nigeria’s status as a regional powerhouse with a population of 168 million, until now it had not occurred to me to collaborate with neighboring countries to fight terrorism. I wish to thank French President François Hollande for inviting me and other West African presidents to Paris to discuss this. When it comes to strategizing on African solutions to African problems, a European should take the lead. Besides, I do my best thinking in Paris.
My critics say that decades of neglect have led to conditions amenable to radicalization in the north. My detractors will point also to human rights abuses perpetrated by the military. Let the finger-pointing stop. I am sparing no resources. I propose to set up an international summit to organize a fact-finding commission of investigative inquiry to study the progress of ongoing investigations of corruption and lack of development in the north. I have again asked President Hollande to provide a forum for this in Paris, though I would accept the French Riviera.
Something positive can come out of the kidnappings more than 70 days ago. The world has seen what can happen when terrorism is left to run amok and the citizens of a country have little faith in the ability of their government to protect them. But I wish to assure Nigerians and the rest of the world that I am doing my best''.
*Wow,they have started helping us laugh at our President? and President Obama is 100percent perfect?Someone probably had a slow news day mscheeew..we can cuss him out all by ourselves,we do not need international help una hear?
I still don't understand 'the girls' they want to bring back by not divulging the FG efforts. Are we talking about the ones that have been killed or the ones that have been molested severally or the ones that are traumatised? Those girls are as good as dead and efforts of the 'so called president' are not relevant again abeg! FF
ReplyDeleteRESCUE OUR GIRLS MBOK
DeleteRight now I don't know what to believe. Days ago it was reported that 63 or so escaped the BH camp, days after we hear that 43 have been recaptured by the BH insurgents. C'mon now, what mockery can be greater than this bull shit? Lies, lies, lies.
DeleteThe only true story and latest development is dat:'There are no gals kidnapped!
DeleteOh look who has grounded her ID here lol. Keeps getting better. Oya teach me how o my Sisi
DeleteI trust u GEJ...I know all these are aiming towards 2015 election
DeletePlease visit my blog
www.jaybeenet.blogspot.com
ANGELRAY SAYS
ReplyDeleteHmmmm uncle Jonah maybe ur best is not good enough, i rest my case.
Right now, I wouldn't wish to be in the president's shoe, there are so many forces working against his administration
ReplyDeleteYour comment will be visible after approval
ANGELRAY SAYS
mtcheew Obama that is being termed as d worst President,pple cnt even wait for his tenure to be ova sef.
ReplyDeleteif it was that easy for them to fight terrorist then why did HE ve to exchange 4 Taliban prisioners to 1 US Soldier that was captured 5years ago, n yet d preach abt not negotiating wth terrorist. why didnt their soldiers with all their sophisticated weapon n machinery go to taliban camp n rescue their own
AND yet the expect Nigerian Soldiers with their 2 bullets AK47 to go to sambiza forest.
Guess US r angry cos we rejected their help.And there is more to that offer than rescuing the gals,the know their hidden agenda
Congrat
ReplyDeleteCongrat! I follow stella Asemota say am oo lolzzz
Delete#peace Ambassador #Sdk blog
Lmao!! Patty nwa you see wetin you don cause
DeleteWhat were they expecting? I don't think the President should have written to The Washington Post because the US troops are already here in our country helping out in any way they can.
ReplyDeleteMr Reuben has done what he is expected to do; getting his Boss's back. Its called LOYALTY.
At first i wanted to scream "leave our president d Hell alone! Buh den,it suddenly occurred to me "would i have said dat if (God forbid) my daughter or two daughters(dere r sisters wit Dose evil people) were in Sambisa?! No,i wouldnt! so here goes,Mr President,BRING BACK OUR GIRLS!
ReplyDeleteGBAM!
DeleteOdiegwu
ReplyDeleteI hope he is actually doing something and keeping it secret as he claims because these days he seems focused on 2015 elections. Mr. President.. we are waiting
ReplyDeleteThey should keep laughing at this imbecile. GEJ formerly a national disgrace, now an international global joke. I saw an episode of Real Time with Bill Maher where the host essentially called him in truth a lazy, useless greedy idiot. If we cannot say it ourselves enough to effect change, I have no problem with outsiders doing it for us!
ReplyDeleteExpressing yourself without expletives is a uphill task?
DeleteIf you are ruled by an imbelice then your nation must be a nation of mini-imbeciles
You said it
Deletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
This reuben is sure doing his job and i dont think anyone can replace him, ever....
Living in the US this past year made me realize how thin skinned our leaders are. Obama is abused and mocked daily. His picture is used to depict him as Satan, Hitler and even animals. Senators and Representatives cuss him at every opportunity and demonstrators abound that carry effigies calling him the anti Christ. His policies are criticized by FOX news and upon all that, he understands that the business of governance is more important than responding to every critic.
ReplyDeleteI am disappointed at the Nigerian presidency because they have demonstrated that they lack intelligence. You do not dignify a satiric write up with a response. By so doing, you elevate the writer and his opinion.
Actions speak louder than words, but the presidency believes otherwise.
Note that I say the presidency and not the president because the office of the president deserves to be respected. However a president is as good as his advisers.
President Jonathan is a good man but he is surrounded by charlatans who either lack the intellectual ability to run a complex Nation like Nigeria or are working against him. It is clear from the actions of the government that there is no clear cohesive strategy to fighting Boko Haram. If there is, it is not known. In the US, there is a campaign in Boston where I live. It says "if you see something, say something". It is a campaign to report suspicious activities.
While it is the right of every citizen and commentator to hold an opinion and espouse it, it is foolish to expect that it will all be positive and supportive. Many of those who criticize the president for inaction do not have any proposal of what action should be taken.
They are like the Republican party in the US, "the party of No".
Aboki N'Mallam writes from Harvard Business School.
You couldn't have said it any better Aboki N'Mallam. That satire totally didn't demand a response, but we direct our energies and intelligence to things that don't matter.
Delete@ Aboki...Your intelligence is a big turn on. I'm glad you are back.
DeleteHahahahahaha! The article is hilrious sha! See what GEJ has brought upon himself
ReplyDeleteMadam Sparklingeyez, we did not reject their offer. Stop reading too much nairaland. What are you even talking about? Obama is not termed the worst president by anybody but conservatives and ITK nigerians. Your president stinks, let us be honest with ourselves and then we can move forward. Whose fault is it that our army is not equipped. We have made ourselves an international joke and everyone is in their rights to laugh.
ReplyDeleteHmmmmm..........
ReplyDeleteThey came and left. Claiming they saw nothing. Hmmnnn
ReplyDeleteAnonymous 5:34 Obama is the worst president of USA. Go to DAILYMAIL you will see how the americans mocked him too,its a typical case of, if you live in glass house,you don't throw stones.
ReplyDeleteWho runs DM? Have you asked yourself that question. DM that they insult blacks from morning till night. OBAMA can be criticized just like any other past US president that does not make it accurate especially when you are using DM as your yardstick.
Deletemy dear a poll was conducted and it was broadcasted on GMA,EVEN the US said rescuing those girls will be a very risky task due to the terrain.
ReplyDeletei feel the only option left is negotiation to get the girls back safe first then any other decision can follow,using force will not guarantee their safety.
n u dnt expect the Presidency to keep on announcing step by step the measure He is using to bringbackthegirls
When Obama exchanged the Soldier to 4 Talibans no more knew or heard about his plans until the deed was done.
My own is that don't condemn people when you are no better.
Aboki na mallam,such an intelligent comment. Will u marry me?
ReplyDeleteU too ugly. NO
DeleteIs this really Irene? The last time I checked she now has a Google ID. Maybe this is Irene Badmus or Benjamin.
DeleteWe all are responsible one or d other!!lets B our brothers kipper,wat are we as individual doing to beta our country?we need to B carful Bcos US has said it B4 dat in 2015 nigeria will divide...hmmm there's no smoke without fire oh. osalinda
ReplyDeleteAbeg no 4get post my comment. Osalinda
ReplyDeleteMay God show us mercy.
ReplyDeleteNa wah oo. God help GJ oo.
ReplyDeleteWELL, MR.PRESIDENT DIDN'T WRITE NO ARTICLE..HE IS BUSY PUTTING UP COMMITTEES EVERYDAY. HE IS PAYING A PR FIRM IN AMERICA 100,000$ MONTHLY TO SAVE/REBRAND THE ALREADY DESTROYED NIGERIAN IMAGE (SEEMS OUR PRESIDENT LISTENS TO EVERY SINGLE ADVICE FROM THE SYCOPHANTS AND CHARLATANS THAT SURROUND HIM. PLUS HIS WIFE'S. BAD MOVE,A PRESIDENT THAT HAS NO MIND OF HIS OWN)
ReplyDeleteANYWAY, FIRST THING THE PR FIRM DID WAS GET THEIR WRITERS/EDITORS TO WRITE N PUBLISH THE ARTICLE. TRUST AMERICA, A CRITIC RESPONDED WITH A SATIRICAL PIECE. SHE KNOWS!
ABATI, BIKO, PLS TALK TO UR GUY. U GUYS HAVE FAILED REPEATEDLY, PERIOD. FORGET FOREIGN PR FIRMS..DO WHAT PRESIDENTS DO! HABA, WAS THE BLACK MAN CREATED WITH A DIFFERNET BRAIN. LOOK AT THE REST OF THE WORLD, THEN TURN AROUND AND LOOK AT THE MESS CALLED NIGERIA,THE MESS U MADE! DONT U FEEL SHAME?
Mr President is simply clueless. The energy is channeled towards 2015. They even need votes from BH.
DeleteMr President is busy appointing people who will fight his enemies, speak against his enemies... democracy is least of their worries.
ReplyDeleteKeep appointing, keep condemning, keep replying, keep fighting....your contribution to Nigeria's history.
This is not good at all
ReplyDeleteThose girls has over stayed there jona whatever you re doing please do it fast
this GEJ needs to change his stylist....we get it, thats your native wear...but u are representing 100ds of tribes...so dress to suit...
ReplyDeleteI like this man doe..he needs to show all the mofos that hes in power...get Jerry rawlings to be his advicer...we should see results
I thought as much! The Americans sudden silence speaks volume! I believe they have dug up some secrets about this GEJ govt and decided to wash their hands off quietly so as not to increase the fear and anxiety of the masses!
ReplyDeleteNobody is talking about bring back our gals in the international media as before! Then maybe what Asaei Dokubo was saying all along was true?
I am one tired and confused Nigerian! People are afraid to come out with info because of traitors in the security force Who would sell them out for a bowl of porriage or 30 piece of silver! Who wants to die for a country when the leaders are only concerned about themselves? GEJ wants to be the president at all cost come 2015! If he succeeds, then the breakup predicted by USA would eventually happen because BH attacks would become worst and Biafiarians would refuse to be a sitting duck! And if BH makes the mistake to visit Lagos, then OPC would reiterate! Then what do we have at the end of the day? A full blown war, because of one man's deadly ambition!
I am so pissed off!
$100k for PR monthly?
ReplyDeleteDAMN!
How can this govt be so gulliable and stupid behooves me!
A president that can bodly open his mouth and say there is no corruption but only stealing to the global world is enough to make mockery of! With a first lady that would not be quiet when she knows she is speech- challenged! I pray the rumor of a military coup was true! Sanity need to be restored to Nigeria!