Calistus Ike… freed after 23 years in prison |
HEARTBREAKING STORY!
A shaft of pain knifed through his facial contours as he recounted the grisly experiences he had in prison for more than 23 years.
Prior to 1989, Calistus Ike had dreamt of becoming a very successful business man.
Little did he know that he was going to spend seven years as an awaiting trial inmate and another 16 years on the death row.
As the first son and bread winner of his family at that time, Ike, had all his dreams quashed after he was sentenced to death following his refusal to pay N200 bribe to the policeman that investigated an allegation against him.
Luck however shone on him when through the intervention of a France- based human right group, Avocats Sans Frontieres, ASFF, also known as ‘Lawyers Without Borders France’, the Edo state government, pardoned him and approved his release from prison in 2012.
Reliving the harrowing times he had in jail and circumstances that led to his conviction with Saturday Vanguard, this disconsolate erstwhile death row inmate, insisted that he was innocent of the allegation that left him at the mercy of the hang-man, even as he called for a total overhaul of the criminal justice system in Nigeria.
Describing himself as a “lucky-survivor”, Ike, who is now in his early fifties, stressed that so many innocent Nigerians are currently languishing in various prison facilities across the federation.
“The unfortunate thing is that some of the people I left in prison did not even have a case-file. Some of them had stayed as ‘awaiting-trial’ inmates for more than 10 years”, he lamented.
Narrating the story of his life, Ike said: “It happened to me in the year 1989. I was resident in Benin, the Edo state capital. There was a man that lived in the same compound with me. His wife had stomach problem and he asked me to lead him to somewhere to collect a root (herbal medicine) for his wife.
We went there about 5pm. After escorting him to the place where he collected the medicine, I returned to my house.
The next day, I went to do my business. I did not know that the same man had engaged police to look for me and the other man that gave him the root, a man I didn’t even know. When I heard that police came to look for me, I inquired about the station they came from and went there myself. ”I reported myself and asked why they came to look for me.
They told me that there was an allegation that I conspired with the man we collected medicine from his house and broke into my neighbour’s house- who was the same man I accompanied to get the roots for his wife- and stole his properties.
I never knew that they had equally arrested the man that gave us the root.
Thereafter, the policeman handling the case insisted that I must write a confessional statement otherwise he would deal with me. I refused to write anything. I told him that I would only narrate the exact thing that happened''.
”It was at that juncture that he started beating me with ‘Koboko’. He flogged me mercilessly that day. I was tortured until the D.P.O in charge of the station asked him to stop and just take my statement.
After I gave them my statement, the same policeman that flogged me, came back and said that he could not find any evidence to pin the alleged crime on me. He said that he had concluded all the investigations and found nothing against me.
”However, he said I should give him N200 so that he would drop the case and allow me to go home. Remember, we are talking about 1989. As at that time, that amount was big money to me.
So, I told him I had no such money to give out. I stood my ground that I was innocent of the charge and even asked them to take me to court if indeed they thought that I had a case to answer.
Within two days, the policeman took the matter to court. We went to court, at the Magistrate court, the policeman freed the other man I was accused with and pinned the whole charge on me.
”From the Magistrate court, he took me to the Military Tribunal where the case changed overnight.
From the original allegation of ‘burglary and theft’, I was charged with armed robbery.Whereas the Policeman and that my compound man whose properties were allegedly stolen, as well as his wife, testified before Tribunal, I had no one to testify for me. I was left with only God and no one else.
”After a long run of the trial, I was convicted and sentenced to death for a crime I never committed or even imagined. I never for once had such dream for my life, but I was condemned to death.Nonetheless, my faith in God never wavered, I kept asking him to vindicate me. I was in death sentence cell in Edo state for over 14 years. After then, I was transferred to Enugu prison.
”One day, I was there, inside the prison with other inmates when information got to me that there were some people from France that were helping inmates in Benin prison. I quickly called my brother and asked him to take my plight to those people, maybe they could help me to regain my freedom.
”By the special grace of God, within three months, I was let loose from the grip of the wicked of this world and I thank God for it. What I however want Nigerians to know is that there is great level of injustice in our judiciary and because of that, many innocent people have died for crimes they never committed.''
”Some of our lawyers are not helping matters. All they are interested in is money. Some cases they know they don’t have the capacity to handle they will just force themselves into them and their clients will be condemned and killed.
Before my very eyes, I witnessed executions that took the lives of over 48 young and energetic men and women . It is a painful thing to experience.
I was released in 2012. After I was arrested in 1989, I stayed as awaiting trial inmate for seven years, and stayed on death row for 16 years.
My case did not go up to the Supreme Court. It was tried by the military tribunal so I didn’t even have the opportunity to go on appeal.
”My experience in the prison was very traumatic. That place is hell on earth! Some of the prison warders are very wicked- even though there are some good ones too. The bad ones are tormentors. They torment inmates at will.
The food inside there is nothing to write home about. Roofs of some of the cells leak badly when it rains.
Getting good medication is rather a luxury too big to imagine, except in critical cases or upon an order of the court.
In the prison, every inmate is left to his own fate. Inmates are suffering badly even the awaiting trial inmates too.
”It hurts me when I see them on TV claiming that they are reforming the prisons. I am telling you today that they are doing nothing. Anyone that is so convinced that our prisons are better now should volunteer and spend a weekend inside any of our prisons. The hardship inside there is better imagined than experienced.I saw hell!
If the government gets up now and say they are reforming prisons, they are doing nothing! I am saying this because I experienced it for 16 years on the death row”.
*I was reading this story and staring at his pic intermittently and i was covered in goose pimples...23 wasted years? 23? wickedness indeed!
How will he start again?this story is heartbreaking indeed,i cant deal!.
Dats 9ja for u
ReplyDeleteJu
DeleteHmm Stella back in the day when I was in Nigeria, I had a friend who liked going to watch executions, she liked it, it excites her and she would say she was going to see the wicked get punished. But can u imagine how many innocent people Nigerians have executed? Who knows maybe that's why we are having so much bad luck right now? Hmmm.. I Just know that the day Nigerians start to value human life, then things will change.*sorry for d rant*
Delete*am out*
Patt OGRE, that's how I read your name. I'm a huge fan of your one liner =)) *congrat*
DeleteSue the darn prison system and the state for 1billion naira. They can't give you back your wasted years, but the money can definitely help ease your pain and suffering. And you are entitled to it! Our legal system is just appalling.
DeleteWicked world
DeleteNigeria judicial system, and Nigeria at large, needs a total overhaul.
DeleteThis brought tears to my eyes.
DeleteNIGERIA!
POLICE MEN! ANIMALS!
One lesson l learned here is that;BEWARE OF FRIENDS!!!!!
#very sad and teary pout...
DeleteWelcome to Naija a land where the evil ones roam around freely and the innocent ones are all locked up
ReplyDelete*Sweetness*
Trust me, a lot of innocent souls r languishing in naija jails. Some were arrested for things as petty as wondering (won ko mo roga), and end up spending years behind bars.
DeleteFamily members eventually believe them dead, after searching without much luck.
Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers
He needs a good lawyer for compensation...dz is unfair
ReplyDeletePls visit my shoe blog
www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com
Compengini??? In Naija?
DeleteHmmmnnnnHmmmnnnn
Smh..
ReplyDeleteThis is my observation....Linda Eze is not very intelligent afterall.
DeleteAnonymous beggi beggi,why don't you use your intelligency to better your life instead of using it to beg for recharge card and phone...idiot
DeleteKai. Intelligency?u r dull sha. Nor dey talk abeg. Oritse!!!.
Delete*intelligence, thank me later
Delete@ Anon 4:50, shey na 2day u know say linda na OO? She's such a dunce. I cant deal.
DeleteLol.... All this time u are just knowing Linda is just a half baked illiterate? U sef dull..... Linda is just a bitch with nothing upstairs.... If it was a story on sex, adultery, lesbian is she must say something....
DeleteAwaiting trial for 7 years! Which way Naija. I pray he finds his feet and bounce back again. Thank God he's alive.
ReplyDeleteI read this with wet eyes, how heartbreaking. 1989 is even 25years. I can only imagine the pain this Man went thru. What a story, what a life.
ReplyDeleteI have never felt this down in my life before.What a waste and knowing lots of other innocent people go through same issue.I wish to see the policeman and his family now,show them this man & what he did to him & what he have to say.I don't even know what to say or think,thank God for your life my dear.Nobody will blame you if you sell your land to move ahead & build a family.Welcome back from hell .
ReplyDeleteJust like dat? B4 May 2014 I believe anytin but not anymore. Dis just like everyoda story is neva as it's told/written/said.
ReplyDeleteHi Tess. .did u still get in touch with salt for FLP? If you couldn't get to her , u can email me on dala72000@yahoo.com .I also do FLP.Thanks
DeleteNo anon cudnt get 2 her but somebody already did. I've gotten d stuff. Tanx. Will hold on 2 ur address shud I need anytin again cos d person dat got 2 me from dis blog actually dealt wit me b4 I got d products. Hope ull b diff.
DeleteFather please help him to recover all that the canker worm had stolen and multiply his blessings. His latter days shall be better than his former...
ReplyDeleteOga, just thank God abeg!
ReplyDeleteSentenced to death for this disjointed story you narrated? Even Naija can't be this backward.
U are so dumb and daft!
DeleteMadam,you have no idea what's going on in Nigeria especially the magnitude of evil the police is perpetrating.
DeleteI went to kirikiri prisons visit a boy I met and knew back in 2010.His old school friend from secondary school came to visit him and was supposed to squat with him briefly.dude came with a laptop,Gucci handbag he said he bought for his girlfriend...shortly after,d police came to the house but d friend wasn't at home but they met my boy.they found those things the dude brought n he told them the owner wasn't around bla,bla..he was arrested,he tried to reach the boy who has gone back home n seen the police have come,he didn't pick his calls,deleted his account n blocked him on Facebook
My boy was charged with armed robbery and conspiracy Bcos the complainant said they were robbed at gunpoint.this happened last year April!he spent 4months at SARS ikeja and was moved to kirikiri when they didn't see the complainants again after four months.he has been in kirikiri since august 2013..no court appearance,no complainant,nothing.and he is just sleeping,eating dead beans and awaiting trial in kirikiri.
Now he was asked to get 250k to facilitate his release..his people finally got the money n paid o....the lawyer said they are presently on strike and after the strike,they will be on
vacation!just imagine!
What kind of Judiciary goes on vacation when people's life are pending?
To visit someone in prison will cost about 500-600 before you can see whoever u want to see even though it's boldly written "Visit is Free" at the gate but who wants to claim their right when if I insist on seeing the boy free,they can proceed to move the boy to a hell-cell n make life miserable for him after I,right claimer,has left.so I paid..50n for form,100 to collect form back,100to submit form,100 to keep belongings,100 at the point of searching,100 at the inner gate,100 to enter the chief warden's office,where the inmate will come n meet you.
Just imagine...and that's the standard.
it's a pathetic situation,I wish I knew any agency to take his case but I don't n I can't afford the legal fees to help him.I can only visit and pray.
May God keep us from physical and spiritual bondage
Oh my goodness!
DeleteMy heart bleeds for the innocent.
Again, FRIENDS!!!!!
I pray his he is released soon.
Lushchic,are you for real?that's terrible..
DeleteGoldscent is not being insensitive, she noticed what I also noticed in this story. To put it mildly without justifying the gross injustice meted on this man...however, his story doesn't add up.
DeleteHis neighbour whom he escorted just accused him and the person they got the medicine from for burglary? How? When? Did the house get burgled at all? Were they friends before they fell out?
Why was it him that the neighbour asked for escort to get the drugs? Sounds like it was this man that knew the drug person.
Read again, he said...'he asked me to LEAD him to collect the root medicine for his wife". Lead...in my own context ooo..means you are the 'sat nav'...the person that knows the place. so when he said he didn't know the person? Errrr...well maybe he only knows the place and not the person.
Then u were just home and the neighbour whom u supposedly helped by leading him now accuses u of burglary? Its either the neighbour is mentally unstable or the police nailed this man for something else. He should just thank God for pardon and mercy and not narrate this story again.
However it doesn't change the fact that many are languishing in prison for a crime they didn't commit, or are over spending jail term for a crime they committed but by now should have been released for.
Sisi eko, ma da won lohun jare.
DeleteI don't join issues with half baked graduates who instead of discussing issues without sentiments, resort to insults.
I will have Lushchic know that I worked with inmates in Kirikiri for several years in a voluntary capacity. My colleagues and I heard all sorts of conspiracy stories from the inmates and usually they were lies. I'm yet to see an inmate who accepted he actually committed the crime even when he previously confessed. Of course there are innocent people in prisons all over the world, I insist this fellow's story does not add up.
The Nigerian police is the butt of all manner of insults. Let's accept the policemen all ganged up to send him to jail over N200. What about the judge? He/she was in on the gangup too?
@Goldscent: did u see where the man said he was tried in a military tribunal? Do u have an idea what it means to be tried in a military tribunal? Do u have anybody that has witnessed a military tribunal? Or has Nigeria started practising democracy in 1989? Try and see if u can contact anybody that has witnessed a military tribunal? Let the person tell u his or her story. Am sure that by the time the person is through, u will be so dumbfounded.
DeleteLike a joke 23yrs?all becos he didnt have 200naira to bribe police.smh!..truely the destruction of the poor is their poverty,and the rich man's wealth is his strong city!
ReplyDeleteWill God ever deliver nigeria from corruption?#pathetic
Osanobua!!!!!!!! Chai! That policeman will never know peace!
ReplyDeleteAmen!
DeleteDis is Soo sad.n so many innocent people r still languishing in prisons.not just here sef buh all over d world.watched dat movie "In Hell" n almost passed out at man's inhumanity to man.chai...bros its well.
ReplyDeleteNawah, that is Nigeria for you, very painful, where is he going to start again, but with God , you will still make it. So sorry
ReplyDeleteThat God dat did nt allow U to waste at d prison yard will surely see U thru, jst believe in him and do ur best
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
I swear this man is a living dead thats for sure but thank God for the outcome nw though.... seriously frm nw on police is my frnd......
Oh Nigeria my country.
ReplyDeleteOnly in Nigeria, God forbid suffering for what you know nothing about
ReplyDeleteWow! That is sad.
ReplyDeleteRead about a day at a typical 9ja salon @ lifeasvira.blogspot.com
ReplyDeleteHow is that related to the issue at hand madam?
DeleteJust before this story was posted I was explaining to a friend how people who commit crimes walk freely in today's society and how innocent people serve jail terms for just Nothing, because she said she can never Give to people who are in prison and I asked her why? And she said they are criminals and that she cannot Give anything to them. Firstly I said to her We cannot judge "as we are not God" and Secondly even if they do commit the Crimes they Do regret later. (not all mind you) and My Point is if only we know our legal rights in Nigeria and Not let ignorance cloud us all!!! If only we can actually stand up for our Rights!!! I'll use the popular Slogan of SDKERS, Which way Niaja???
ReplyDelete**jagbajantis's gf**
Sharap dia
DeleteHmnn dnt even knw wot to say. Dis is disheartnin
ReplyDeletesometimes I wonder if there is indeed a God meting out justice to the wicked. All I know is there no fairness in life. Poor man
ReplyDeleteSuch is life in Nigeria! ~ Blunt Truth
ReplyDeleteSuch a sad sad tale! Thank God he was eventually released.
ReplyDeleteI even heard that when we visit prisons with goods for prisoners, the wardens share the things and the prisoners don't get any. Soo so unfair.
But why are some people so wicked?
God save us.
No,they allow you bring foodstuff for prisoners but nothing cooked...They don't collect and share.
DeleteSo what next now?where is this man going to start from? did the said police man sleep with both eyes closed all through these years knowing someone was unjustly wasting away in prison?this is the height of wickedness.
ReplyDeleteStella, I heard this man's story 1st hand. I'm a volunteer lawyer with advocates sans frontiers, even though I wasn't opportune to be on his case, but I know the efforts the NGO put into his case. Honestly it's pathetic. As a staff of Legal aid we see a lot of all this injustice. If u go to these maximum prisons, ul weep. Ul thank God everyday for ur freedom. Some these inmates are so innocent that they can't even tell u what their offenses are. Honestly, God will punish corrupt policemen, they will die like chickens, n their children will amount to nothing in dis life. I curse them today, cos corrupt policemen have sent a lot of innocent people to their graves. The justice system doesn't even help matters, they keep adjourning cases till the prisoners die in prison. God help us in this country.
ReplyDeleteA million likes for your comments. You have said it all. I say a big Amen to your prayer.
DeleteHi,pls can you give me lead or contact to someone who can help?
DeleteSame here..im in citizens rights department nd anytime i have to go to yet another prison, it just breaks my heart...
DeleteThank you for your help and Amen to your prayers.
Delete@lushchic, u can contact stella to giive u my Gmail account, so u can send me a mail directly. I'll be very glad to help u, or refer u to someone who can. God bless.
DeleteNnenna Onuoha, I like ur comment. But y curse policemen's children? So so so uncalled for. Curse d corrupt ones n leave dir innocent family alone abeg...
DeleteStella, I was a missionary in Nigerian prisons for nearly 20 years (1990-2009)and I can confirm everything that this man had said and more.
ReplyDeleteI also worked in the death row. Imagine where 4 able bodied men stay in a 5ft by 5ft room barely enough to accommodate their frame and they cook there, sleep there and "shit" there inside potties. They are opened for like 2-3 times a week and stay 2 hrs each.
The buildings had some inscriptions; "built in 1938" (by the colonial masters of course). What had subsequent governments done to expand these buildings while the populations expanded? Congestion is an issue but I will also say that the OBJ's govt. in 1999 did some renovations and little expansions but it was very small; maybe he did it because he was a prisoner and saw this things first hand. You need to see these men (many innocents) brave up to the hang man any day he shows up. Some preferred to die than face the torture of the interiors.
The lawyers and some Nigerian NGOs are ripoffs. The inmates reported giving monies to NGO Lawyers and other lawyers to take their cases to the "visiting chief judges" on the days he visited (once a year) to de-congest the prisons (that's ATM; awaiting trial men). My dear, I was not surprised that French BASED NGO was the one that secured this man's release. I wish that Nigerian civil societies could live up to their bidding.
The Churches are comatose except the Catholic (specifically CAPIO; Catholic Prisoners Interest Organisation -they offer legal, medical and humanitarian helps and I did not see their lawyers mess up like the others did) and very few unknown ones. I wish that the "megachurches" with all their monies and the much hyped about tithes could visit these people and help them breath life.
The prison staffs actually help the criminal elements to buy hemp, and smuggle other contraband into the compound; it is a matter of "can you pay". I once was told by an inmate (they are usually truthful to missionaries) how he and his gang paid a particular influential prison staff to be allowed to spend the Christmas in a notable 5 star hotel with "Ashawos". The staff was handsomely rewarded afterwards and had "his own fixed for him". Do understand that these inmates told us (missionaries)about these things as a form of "confessions" during prayers (in the course of "repentance"). Some were encouraged to table these matters before the "well meaning legal teams" when they visited.
I think I will stop here for now . . . it is an endless tale of woes.
Hmmmmm
DeleteThings are happening !
Anonymous so u neva knew dat Linda eze is d dullest brain here,even patt better pass her.
ReplyDelete34“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’
ReplyDelete37“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’
40“The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’Matthew 25
Im doing a similar case where my client has been charged for armed robbery and attempted murder, simply cos he refused to give bribe...im givin it all it takes and by God's grace will get him out..
ReplyDeleteInjustice prevails in our society and we have to kick it out!
What a country!
ReplyDeleteThis is heart wrecking! Thankful he is Alive to tell his story.
ReplyDelete#peace Ambassador
Hmm... A lot of things are so wrong with this country that I almost don't see light @ the end of the tunnel.
ReplyDeleteAre other countries so rotten like this or is it just nigeria?
This his story is a very common thing in police stations in Benin. Am sorry to say they are all very corrupt. From the oga to the last man. They force people to write whatever they want you to write as your own statement they detain people unnecessarily. Even when it is written on the bail form that bail is free, they force you to pay for bail and still sign the bail form that clearly says bail is free. If you refuse to pay or sign, they detain you till you cooperate. A lot of innocent people are suffering in police cells. I really don't know if these police excesses can be stopped.
ReplyDeleteWhat a shame. Dats why i always find it difficult to believe all the faces of the pple our security agents are showing as suspects with all the BH bombings and the likes of crimes. If u know d evils these pple do to get appraisal for showing they are working, u'l be amazed. Its always better imagined. Make God dey protect us from 'akoba adaba' o. O.A.K
ReplyDeleteAshafa says:
ReplyDeleteMr. Ike, God will bless you for speaking out. You are a valiant man for not being cowered into silence! May God restore all the years the cankerworm has taken away. May he cause supernatural doors of opportunity to open for you and the right people to walk before you.
May God avenge all the pains you have gone through. I wonder how these wicked people sleep at night!
That said, the injustice level in this land scares even the devil himself. The just languish in pains for crimes they do not commit while the criminal walks away a free man.They not only walk away, they still rule over the people. Gosh!
The law is indeed an ass!!
Hmmmmn..*deep sigh
ReplyDeleteI pray that policeman finds his life and that of his offspring meaningless and useless. How can you do this to someone? Isn't there anyway he can fight for compensation? What job is he going to start doing in his fifties?
ReplyDeleteStella pls find out how we can help this man
ReplyDeleteHahahahahahahahaha see gbagaun.com! gosh Linda eze your illiteracy is personified.
ReplyDeletehome school her or shattap
DeleteMay God restore all that this man has lost. I am one of those that believe that the image of this current NP is irredeemable. That is why i don't feel pity for any policeman that is killed bcos i donkt know what that one might have committed in the past to warrant his present fate.
ReplyDeleteStella so how much was he compensated with? Because I need to hear that he was paid compensation if not, this story is not complete. Useless country. Useless system.
ReplyDeleteOga, dis ur story is one kine oh. Sentenced to death for armed robbery? Hmm. The only crime dat gets dat is premeditated murder. How can a judge sentence you to death. Was there a gun? Did they recover any stolen item? Dis story no gel joor. For it to be armed robbery there must be a weapon nau. Then again you didnt have anyone to testify anything abt ur whereabts dat day? When did the robbery occur? How come its d police man thats d one pushing d case not the robbed? So its now police that takes matters to court? Its d accuser who is ur neighbour and for him to do that he must have reasonable evidence that you committed d crime. So what evidence did they present?
ReplyDeletePls d judiciary sys in niaja may be bad but there's still laid down punishment for every crime and its not death sentence for urs.
Did u see where he mentioned "military tribunal" or u just want to form what u r not?