Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Guard Fires Shot And Kills Babcock Varsity Student In Hotel

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Guard Fires Shot And Kills Babcock Varsity Student In Hotel

A security guard, Azeez Ibrahim, has shot dead a female undergraduate of Babcock University, Busayo Ogunkoya, during a birthday party in a hotel in Ikorodu, Lagos State.

22-year-old Ogunkoya was celebrating with her friends on Saturday evening, July 5, 2014, at Mambillah Hotel, when the guard fired a shot that killed her and immediately the incident happened, there was confusion as the people fled the hotel.

A source said Ibrahim was drunk.

He said, “The incident happened on Saturday night when Busayo and her friends were having a party.She did not know the person celebrating, but she was invited to the party by her boyfriend.The party was going on fine until the security man, who was holding a gun which he claimed he had seized from some robbers, mishandled the gun and fired a bullet which hit Busayo. The guard was said to be drunk.”

The bullet lodged in the neck region of the victim and she was said to have been rushed to a private hospital in the area where she was confirmed dead.

Policemen from the Owutu Police Division were said to have arrived at the scene and arrested the guard, the assistant manager of the hotel and the victim’s boyfriend.

A large number of security officials was also said to have been deployed in the hotel to prevent attack from aggrieved youths.

PUNCH Metro learnt that the guard, who fired the killer shot, owned a house in Ikorodu.
Our correspondent spoke with one of his tenants, who pleaded anonymity for security reasons.She described Ibrahim as a caring landlord who was only a victim of some “forces.”
She said, “He is such a nice and caring landlord. I have been living in his house for a long time and he has never made any trouble with me.I know he is just a victim of some forces beyond his control. He could not have deliberately killed the girl and I hope the police authorities would have mercy on him.”

The case has been transferred to the SCID.”

*So sad.

81 comments:

1. She was not invited.mogbo moya.lesson to aristos out there.stop gate crashing parties!RIP dear busayo

2. Sad news everyone. RIP dear one.

3. BUSYBODY CORRECTER16 July 2014 at 15:39

QUEEN AMY, lol @ WAISTED life.
      Waste? Waist? , lol.
      ONE LOVE!

4. Na wa o! See as ur spelling dey "waist" sef

5. Na wa o!school,and parties,shows and events!,d too much freedom to do whatever and go wherever can even give u an orgasm(just kidding) now,it's something to give thanks to God for if u passed thru all that without injury or loosing ur life!...her case bad gaan cos na mogbo moya she be for d event sef!what bad luck!
      May her soul RIP

6. Loool I knew you were coming ooops its too late. One love BBC

7. Stella someone must be celebrating their birthday today..do the needful abeg!

2. This is d hand work of 'BLACK' aka 'AIR FORCE'...May God protect us from dem! AYE oooooo.....

Mama sudiq

1. Air force ? Pls explain more

2. Air force means NRC if you still don't gerrit, consult your neighbour

3. Hmmm...! RIP to the deceased.

4. All these gun shot news sef tire me.
    See why I still believe UK is damn safe?
    All you hear of is someone being stabbed cos almost no one possesses a gun.
    Dr.ken was to come to the uk just this week
    He'd already bought the ticket for his flight.
    His murderer knew he'd be travelling out soon
    Sad world
    I hate Nigeria

1. Mamie for real?shey na dis UK we know abi na another one?!and pls stabbing n killing wit a gun,Wots d diffrence?!

2. Stupid nonetity look at ur self u hate Nigeria. The crime I see everyday and hear everyday in uk is even worst than Nigeria. If ur street is safe in uk does not mean everywhere is safe.
      In short uk is the worst murder crime country in the whole of western Europe. I live in uk and I see and watch news hourly so shut up maimie. If you want to talk abt safe countries u can mention iceland, Sweden, Germany and denmark not ur dead uk that lack beta social system with suffer head people.

3. What is this one talking about? Gun, knife, both no dey kill???

4. Sorry for ur loss Mamie. Rip Dr Ken.

5. Oh Em Gee!!! And I thought I had the worst birthday ever. Oh God, a drunk guard? that could have been anybody. RIP

6. OMG!
    May God not let us be at the right place at the wrong time or at the wrong place at the wrong time.

what carelessness!

RIP to the lady.

1. A big Amen to your prayer darling, perfect prayer for the situation.
      RIP to the dead.

7. Very sad.. If only she didn't go for the party. She'd still be alive..
    God console her family..
    How the hotel management want to settle the family still baffles me..
    She is a student of Babcock..Do you know how much is paid per session for her fees?
    What amount will ever bring back the girl? Naija police, investigate well because the story just doesn't really add up..Why will a guard have a gun? He is even a landlord, hian!!

1. Truthteller long tym where hv u been.

2. Shut ur stupid mouth.... Why will the guard not have a gun in this violent times..... So people should stop attending parties? The quard was drunk that was the problem.... He should be jailed and I don't see y the hotel should settle anybody.

8. GOD pls dont lets b a victim of circumstance o ...amen... rip to d dead... btw couldnt comment on dt HIV post.... pls married women hold ur husbands o...go spiritual if possible bfr these men will bring infection home for u....i have seen alot in this my small life...not evri lady will b sensible not to get down with dem o..imagine one asking to c me on same day he went to d registry with his wife! xclusiv

9. So sad......may d lord keep us all from harm and destructions o....i refuse to be a victim of circumstances.................*enemuwe thelma*

10. So sad......may d lord keep us all from harm and destructions o....i refuse to be a victim of circumstances.................*enemuwe thelma*

11. Replies
    1. Afi waist naa. Hips nko? It's waste o. You're welcome.

2. BUSYBODY CORRECTER16 July 2014 at 15:44

What happened to her WAIST?
      ONE LOVE!

3. Lilian, na only you waka come? I bow for u @waist. What if Yansh?

4. Hain waist kwa!!! It's waste biko

12. what a sad story! SDK babe I Ope u read this properly.... u DAT like plenty waka waka

1. see me see nsogbu..anon be ur brother's keeper so thanks for being my keeper. May God protect us all.

13. Ehya....alcohol is bad

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

14. this SDK babe self! what is she feeling like ..... because she is fine! better go marry.... time no dey again before u turn 30

1. Hmmmmm dis is serious. STALKER ALERT!!!

2. I just pray all igbo gals're not as razz n jobless as d ones on dis blog #CrassBunch

3. Very razz,creating the wrong impression about Igbo girls,Linda Eze,pepper and that mumu ezenwanyi

15. RIP to d dead. This is a case of being in right place at d wrong time.

1. Na wa oh! This unfortunate girl was in the wrong place at the wrong time! rip #One Love#

16. She was at a wrong place at wrong time. May her soul rest in peace. God have mercy on us all. It is well

17. Eeyah, may she rip. May we not be in the wrong place at the wrong time.

18. Rest on peace dear.buh dis story get as e be...it's incomplete...wot was he doing wot d gun in a party? Was he inside in d party venue or he was at his post.and a security man sat has a house wit tenants.oga o!

19. Chimoooooo.... Mouth open... Choi... RIP!!! Ewooooooooo!!! Choiiiiiiii

20. This is bad! I wonder how her parents will be feeling. Rest in peace dear.

21. Omg! How sad. But naija police sef! Why arrest the boyfriend and asst manager? Did the 3 of them pull the trigger?

22. OMG! This is sad. May her soul RIP.

23. What kind of freak accident is this one abeg? Someone just goes to a party and,whoosh! gets shot and dies? This is crazy biko.. and after some people will say they don't believe in witchcraft.

24. RIP to the deceased

25. Hmmm... I,my family,friends and sdk BV shall always be @ d right place @ d right tym IJN I pray. RIP young lady. *sad face*

26. Rip Busayo....untimely death back 2 sender o...my legs will not step where I would be killed by any circumstance. Amen

.....Her Excellency.....

27. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    May the souls of the dead R.I.P...

28. OMG,THAT A SAD ONE may her soul rip

29. So what is the stupidity of arresting the boyfriend when he did not fire the shot..... Nigerian police and their fish brains....

30. @Mamie

I thought your vile, bile filled mind was only directed towards hating the yoruba, darkskinned and people who do not fall in the beautiful category in your own classification. Now you hate Nigeria too? Where in the world do we not have gun related cimes? Not to excuse what is wrong but be careful what you hate...

Ashafa

31. Cassandra baby16 July 2014 at 15:28

So sad!! What a waste of life,,,RIP to d lady,,,may God console ur family & loved one.

32. Awwwww, such a big lost to d family. Its a pity. God have mercy on us oo.

1. Loss* not lost. You're welcome

33. lord plz order my steps..chai,na so girl waka go.she dosnt knw d celebrant,she was only invited.of all d ppl dere.it has to be her..so sad..rip to her...........jenny

34. See what osho free groove has caused. God help us all.

35. Lilian...wetin do WAIST???

So,,so so sad....

36. Itohan Tlove, I been dey o.. Just activated ghost mode for a while..
    Thanks for checking on me..
    xoxo!!

37. What a waste.And to think she went to celebrate with someone who had a year added to her life.God rest her soul.
    * tasha barbie *

38. What a waste.And to think she went to celebrate with someone who had a year added to her life.God rest her soul.
    * tasha barbie *

39. So unfortunate, the celebrant will feel so bad every year remembering someone died at his "once birthday bash"...may her soul rip

40. Lol time to tell God why she died

41. Mambillah Hotel is a well-known hotel in Ikorodu that does all-night clubbing on Fridays. It is also well known that there must be fights every Friday night and blood must be shed. The hotel management makes use of soldiers, police and OPC members every Friday night. These security forces brutalise people all in the name of maintaining security. Remi Aluko can testify to this, as he was beaten blue-black on one of such occassions. On this fateful night, there was a scuffle, and the guard (who is not an employee of the hotel but an OPC member) shot his gun into the air. Due to the fact that he is not trained in handling ammunitions, he shot into the Skye Bar where the party was holding. The Skye bar is an open bar situated on the first floor of the second building in the hotel.
    Please note that the gun used is a licensed gun owned by the hotel owner and licensed in his name. The hotel owner is a well-known clearing and forwarding agent in Apapa and stays in Magodo. The hotel MD is the owner's wife. The owner is popularly called "Chairman". He sometimes personally supervises the brutalisation of his Friday nights customers by soldiers. The guard (OPC guy) was not drunk as stated, he was conscious. The normal hotel guards do not carry weapons. The Chairman is been freed in this case when in fact he handed the guns over to the OPC guys.